Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Newborn & Toddlers Off-Topic Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭bulmersgal

foodaholic wrote: »
    Where is the best place to go to get baby passport photos ?

I just went my local chemist sat her up in chair held onto her so she couldn't move then I got somebody to hold fav noisy toy above girl taking pic n got it on second go. Was delighted as its a beautiful pic, dont want passport to expire its that nice

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

foodaholic wrote: »
    Where is the best place to go to get baby passport photos ?

Some of the pharmacies specialise in getting baby photos for passports (the one we're going to use in Merrion is one of them). Its a 20 mile trek for us- but if it works, it'll be well worth it. I should have guessed it would be a nightmare trying to get them to stay still for 2 seconds........ Oh well.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

For me it was trying to get him into a sitting position when he is not able to sit yet...also he can hold his head for a while but he still needs support but obviously you can't have your hand in the photo either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

You'd imagine the easiest way would be to lay them down on a white background when they're not able to sit. . :)

cbyrd wrote: »
    You'd imagine the easiest way would be to lay them down on a white background when they're not able to sit. . :)

If you changed this to 'tie them down on a white background so they couldn't escape' it might work. I've nicknamed our two Mr. Houdini and Miss Mischief! I swear they are conspiring with one another the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

the maple pharmacy in Cabra did that with my baby for photos.

smccarrick wrote: »
    If you changed this to 'tie them down on a white background so they couldn't escape' it might work. I've nicknamed our two Mr. Houdini and Miss Mischief! I swear they are conspiring with one another the whole time.

I let my 2 year old out of the buggy in Tesco today.. i don't know why i did :rolleyes: .. but he really likes going up the down escalator outside the store.. while i'm still struggling at the checkout..:eek: thank god there's lots of people who know me..and him and the center wasn't too busy :D he's lightening fast back to tesco online me thinks ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

That's what I was expecting, but they put him on a stool (an adult size one!) and me and one of the staff held him up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

Hi, we're bringing our 4 month old back to Ireland next week, could anyone tell me how much the Aptamil first milk (box) is in ireland, don't fancy dragging it back with me but don't want to get fleeced (or without it).

4 months old and she'll have had 4 flights under her belt, think I was 18 before I could boast that ! :)

thanks

growler wrote: »
    Hi, we're bringing our 4 month old back to Ireland next week, could anyone tell me how much the Aptamil first milk (box) is in ireland, don't fancy dragging it back with me but don't want to get fleeced (or without it).

4 months old and she'll have had 4 flights under her belt, think I was 18 before I could boast that ! :)

thanks
    It's normally around Euro12 a box, possibly a little cheaper in Boots (the supermarkets all tend to price match on under 6 month formula, Boots don't though)

Vouchers/coupons tend to be readily available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I'm going to post this on the breastfeeding support thread aswell because I can't remember who was looking for gripe water; I got a mail from pharmacy2u saying you can preorder gripe water which they'll have back in stock soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭Ms2011

growler wrote: »

thanks

I pay €11.69 for it

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭Twinkleboots

Have today off and have had my 8 month old son to myself all day :) House is like a bomb hit it but I couldn't care less we've been playing and dancing to rihanna all day! Love, love, love days like this with my little man! Happy weekend everyone :) xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

just checking back in after out holiday back home - and can I say that I LOVE Aerlingus?! Flying with them was absolutely fantastic, staff was so friendly and baby-focussed, it was unreal! Makes you want to travel with small children a lot more, I must say! :D I was dreading the whole experience, but I really needn't have worried. Mr E was a right little trooper as well, no screaming or shouting, just smiles and giggles - loved it. Perfect show-off baby for his grandparents - spoiled him rotten, so they did.

And we're on solids now as well - can any of ye wise women tell me how to best remove carrot stains from white clothes? (I know, I know, silly mammy...won't make that mistake again...:rolleyes::o)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

galah wrote: »
    just checking back in after out holiday back home - and can I say that I LOVE Aerlingus?! Flying with them was absolutely fantastic, staff was so friendly and baby-focussed, it was unreal! Makes you want to travel with small children a lot more, I must say! :D I was dreading the whole experience, but I really needn't have worried. Mr E was a right little trooper as well, no screaming or shouting, just smiles and giggles - loved it. Perfect show-off baby for his grandparents - spoiled him rotten, so they did.

And we're on solids now as well - can any of ye wise women tell me how to best remove carrot stains from white clothes? (I know, I know, silly mammy...won't make that mistake again...:rolleyes::o)

Vanish fabric spray is amazing for stains! It works on everything! A must have for sure, even gets out poop stains :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Our little 10 week old girl gave me her me her first real smile today:) I'm pretty sure she turned her head when I called out to her on her playmat but then I'm biased...coulda been anything!

Just back from doc as babs has got German measles!:( was shocked to hear he had them cos I thought they were really rare now that there is a vaccination! Anyone else hear of them going around?

German measles is Rubella and unless he's had the MMR he's not protected.. there's a huge amount of measles outbreaks around especially in Europe.. they're advising anyone going to the football in the summer to make sure they're vaccinated .. poor pet .. i hadn't heard of a rubella outbreak but they usually go hand in hand.. i think my 2 year old has slapped cheek and passed it on to me.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Quins5

German measles is Rubella and unless he's had the MMR he's not protected.. there's a huge amount of measles outbreaks around especially in Europe.. they're advising anyone going to the football in the summer to make sure they're vaccinated .. poor pet .. i hadn't heard of a rubella outbreak but they usually go hand in hand.. i think my 2 year old has slapped cheek and passed it on to me.. :(

God twinkleboots that's awful, its very rare to hear of someone with rubella, where r u living? Has d doc seen many other case's?
    Wot r the symptoms? Hope yr little fella is ok :-(

Sorry to hear about ur slap cheek also cbryd

Yeah May I supposed to be peak season for slapped cheek :( Good thing is that people tend to only get these things once in their lives. My son is only 8 months old so he hadn't got his MMR yet. He's in good enough form just cough and runny nose and the rash is just so angry looking I feel sorry for him!

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭red fraggle

my daughters pee smells awful. anyone have any ideas? shes 4 months. shes teething too. could this affect pee? i know wierd question:rolleyes::o

Yes.. teething and watch out for dehydration too can make wee smell pungent .. and asparagus :D

I agree with cbyrd. I had an asparagus incident this time last year and his farts and pee stank for a couple of days (tmi :S)

You're breastfeeding so as long as she's still nursing as much as ever she shouldn't be dehydrated. If her nappies are wet then she's hydrated.

It could also be teething as they make extra acid which sometimes makes pee smell or can cause awful sore bums.

I agree with cbyrd. I had an asparagus incident this time last year and his farts and pee stank for a couple of days (tmi :S)

You're breastfeeding so as long as she's still nursing as much as ever she shouldn't be dehydrated. If her nappies are wet then she's hydrated.

It could also be teething as they make extra acid which sometimes makes pee smell or can cause awful sore bums.

shes def feeding enough, extra actually cos nursing is the only thing thats settling the teething pain at night and she was sleeping through :rolleyes:. bum is a tiny bit red so mayb its the extra acid causing the smell cos she is eating her fists all day and drooling constantly. :rolleyes:poor thing

Ah the poor little thing; it's a tough first year for them.

Well N seems to be back sleeping properly thankfully! It was a rough few weeks plus he got his 4 month injections last Thurs so that threw the poor little fella for a loop aswell! He seems to be getting back to himself since yest, fingers crossed he's back in form :) I hate injections btw :( they're just awful on the poor little man..

We're in a little shock at the mo.. Turns out I'm 5/6 weeks pregnant again.. My OH is just on cloud 9 & I'm happy but I'm just so scared! I'm back in the hospital on Thurs for a section check up just to make sure everything is ok after all the infections so I'll talk to the Doc then & go from there really.. I'm still in shock! I think it's not gonna be real till I get a scan to confirm lol! I know we'll all be ok :)

Sorry to hear about the sick baba's! Hope they feel better soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

Wow Tigress congrats!! :) Hope everything goes well at the doc's.

Ella is dying with a cold at the moment and teething pretty bad too, poor thing is just miserable. Hoping she'll be rid of it soon because I have an interview tomorrow and would hate to leave her sick :(

Lola92 wrote: »
    Wow Tigress congrats!! :) Hope everything goes well at the doc's.

Ella is dying with a cold at the moment and teething pretty bad too, poor thing is just miserable. Hoping she'll be rid of it soon because I have an interview tomorrow and would hate to leave her sick :(

Thanks Lola! Hope Ella feels better soon! And best of luck at your interview tomorrow x

Congrats Tigeress!!!!

We just found 2 teeth!!!! I thought they get the front ones first but he has 2 very obvious teeth at the top, right side! One is a K9!! I had no idea! I was watching for front ones lol!

Thanks How Strange! It's still very surreal!

Congrats Tigeress!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭ash_18x

Wow tigress, congrats, that is brilliant news :)

LO is 27 weeks old and been off since Friday. She developed a rash yesterday but the care doc said it was a viral infection. It has spread all over her face now and she is just miserable. We can't leave her out of our arms. It's the first time she's been unwell. We think its the teeth too because she is off her solids and is chomping on her dummy like mad. She was meant to get her 6month injections tomorrow but we'll have to wait....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

@tigeress, i nearly fell off my seat!! Congrats, wow you have a mad year ahead of you! my girl was 7months when i got preg with the baby currently asleep on my lap. Cant believe 2 teeth, my girl got her first at 10 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Quins5

[Quote=Tigeress;

We're in a little shock at the mo.. Turns out I'm 5/6 weeks pregnant again.. My OH is just on cloud 9 & I'm happy but I'm just so scared! I'm back in the hospital on Thurs for a section check up just to make sure everything is ok after all the infections so I'll talk to the Doc then & go from there really.. I'm still in shock! I think it's not gonna be real till I get a scan to confirm lol! I know we'll all be ok :)[/Quote]

Oh my god Congrats tigeress!!! I cant believe it, so happy for u even tho ur a little shocked. This time last year we were all just leaving d TTC thread!
    Exciting times ahead :-)
    X

Quins5 wrote: »

God twinkleboots that's awful, its very rare to hear of someone with rubella, where r u living? Has d doc seen many other case's?
    Wot r the symptoms? Hope yr little fella is ok :-(

Sorry to hear about ur slap cheek also cbryd

Sorry only saw this now quins5. It was the Shannon doc so he hadn't heard of any other outbreaks. We're living on the North Tipp/ Offaly border. Symptoms came in very quick a runny nose, cough, high temp and a very angry rash! I got an awful fright thought it was meningitis as he got sick so fast!

Although he was a bit better today he gave me a few smiles but won't eat his food or play or anything :( its awful when they are sick you feel so helpless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭dublinlady

Aaaggghhh tigeress! Fantastic news! I'm so delighted and excited for you! Were u trying again? Seems no time since we were on the TTC thread ! It's such lovely news - I just know you'll manage two so well - itd almost ( but not quite!!) make me try again! You must be so excited and overwhelmed ! Great news!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Tigress you mad thing! Congratulations...hope all goes well at the doc xxx.

dublinlady wrote: »
    Aaaggghhh tigeress! Fantastic news! I'm so delighted and excited for you! Were u trying again? Seems no time since we were on the TTC thread ! It's such lovely news - I just know you'll manage two so well - itd almost ( but not quite!!) make me try again! You must be so excited and overwhelmed ! Great news!

Thanks DL! No we weren't trying! We spent 2 years waiting for a BFP for N & this one got through birth control! We had said we'd start trying again at the end of this year but never expected this! I'm crapping it! 2 babies within a year!!! Terrified!

What's a bfp? You'll be great tigress...you can get all the icky stuff like potty training over and done with at the same time! Imagine if it was twins :eek::D

Bfp = big fat positive!!!

Tigeress you'll be great!! And think what good friends they'll be!!!! It'll be so lovely! And sure what's one more little person around the house!!! Plus all the babycare will be fresh in your mind so it'll be a breeze!!!!
    I'd be tempted myself..... No no no no no no no no must not have a glass of wine and think its a good idea until at least Christmas!!!! Hehe!
    Enjoy it!!!!!

dublinlady wrote: »

Bfp = big fat positive!!!

Tigeress you'll be great!! And think what good friends they'll be!!!! It'll be so lovely! And sure what's one more little person around the house!!! Plus all the babycare will be fresh in your mind so it'll be a breeze!!!!
    I'd be tempted myself..... No no no no no no no no must not have a glass of wine and think its a good idea until at least Christmas!!!! Hehe!
    Enjoy it!!!!!

There's something in the air for sure, I'm getting really broody again :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

Congrats Tigress! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭doubletrouble?

Tigeress wrote: »
    We just found 2 teeth!!!! I thought they get the front ones first but he has 2 very obvious teeth at the top, right side! One is a K9!! I had no idea! I was watching for front ones lol!
    nice one tigeress, how are you and the little man coping with the teething? the twins are teething to baby J ( little man) his two showing one either side of his mouth, baby K (little woman) you can just make out her two front teeth. shes constantly chewing on her hands, fingers, baby J hands and finger to, basically anything that'll fit into her mouth. we're using teetha gel and powder as well as calpol for the pain.
    poor littles man's bum must be on fire. we started him on baby food in a jar 4m+ last week. so far today we've changed his nappy about 6 times :eek::eek::eek:
    by the way congrats on a B.F.P. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

wow, congrats Tigeress! Must have been a shock - but you'll be grand! :D:D:D

getting slightly broody again here, too, but defo want to wait until the end of the year at least - don't think my body (or my boss, for that matter) could handle another pregnancy this soon again!

doubletrouble - same here, ever since we switched to solids, we're changing nappies a LOT more often...couldnt believe the amount of dirty nappies!
    Anyone else taking an odd pleasure in colour experiments? :p So far, it's been single food colours only, but next week I'll try greens and orange together, and bet on which colour wins in the end...:pac:

galah wrote: »
    wow, congrats Tigeress! Must have been a shock - but you'll be grand! :D:D:D

getting slightly broody again here, too, but defo want to wait until the end of the year at least - don't think my body (or my boss, for that matter) could handle another pregnancy this soon again!

doubletrouble - same here, ever since we switched to solids, we're changing nappies a LOT more often...couldnt believe the amount of dirty nappies!
    Anyone else taking an odd pleasure in colour experiments? :p So far, it's been single food colours only, but next week I'll try greens and orange together, and bet on which colour wins in the end...:pac:

Ah hahahahahaha!!!! That's hilarious!

Ouch stopping breastfeeding hurts.... Think I'm making more milk than ever.... I look like dolly Parton!!!

dublinlady you can hand express just enough to ease the swelling. Also ibuprofen is good for inflammation so take some if you find any lumps or bumps. Most important of all is to take it slowly to avoid blocked ducts and/or mastitis. You definitely don't want to get either!

congrats tigeress!! you must be soo excited and a teeny bit scared:rolleyes:

not sure im ready to be pregnant again just yet!! my teething 4 month old is enough for now. she even manages some smiles through the pain. poor thing :)

Well N seems to be back sleeping properly thankfully! It was a rough few weeks plus he got his 4 month injections last Thurs so that threw the poor little fella for a loop aswell! He seems to be getting back to himself since yest, fingers crossed he's back in form :) I hate injections btw :( they're just awful on the poor little man..

We're in a little shock at the mo.. Turns out I'm 5/6 weeks pregnant again.. My OH is just on cloud 9 & I'm happy but I'm just so scared! I'm back in the hospital on Thurs for a section check up just to make sure everything is ok after all the infections so I'll talk to the Doc then & go from there really.. I'm still in shock! I think it's not gonna be real till I get a scan to confirm lol! I know we'll all be ok :)

My god- sounds like you're going to beat our 14 month gap.
    The very best of good luck to you- everyone keeps telling us that its called 'Irish Twins'- may as well be.....

Best of good luck on Thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Omg congratulations Tigeress!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fantastic news!!!!

Brill that N has 2 teeth too, big week for you!

Lola92 I hope the interview went well today :)

Twinkleboots I'm sorry your little guy has such a rotten dose :( I hope he recovers very fast x

Dublinlady I was advised by my doc to make sure not to get my boobs wet in the shower are this stimulates more milk production.
    Definitely agree on the ibuprofen being a God send too for reducing the inflammation.

I thought it'd be much harder surviving on little sleep with the frequent night feeds, but strangely I'm finding it easier this time around.
    My body must be used to the lack of sleep or surviving on less! that said, I am looking forward to whenever I do again get 8+ hours of uninterrupted sleep!