Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Newborn & Toddlers Off-Topic Chat Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

My OH has finally started painting N's new bedroom :) we're moving him from the back bedroom to the front bigger bedroom and bought all new furniture and washable paint hehe! It's prob not gonna be fully painted till next weekend as he only has weekend days to do it but its very exciting! Then to start on the nursery..
    He's been taking steps daily now and managed 4 steps in a row :D he wants to walk everywhere holding just one hand :) he must be close to just taking off and walking himself! He's 1 in 26 days and I'm really hoping he'll be walking by then! He's coming out with all sorts of new words and his cheekiness just cracks us up daily :) I'm so in love with him!!

Hope everyone is having a good weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Suucee

A cut her 2 top teeth last night. 2 in one night d poor divil. 1 was kinda peeking through before but now there both out. She was a little unsettled around 11.30 so we gave calpol then not a peep until 7.30 which is a lil early 4 her. She had such a dirty nappy. Have never seen the like. Up her back and everything. I actually wretched and ive a pretty strong stomach. I ran a bath n put her in it she was that bad. Has had a sore bum for about week now but now its raw. Left nappy off as much as possible todayand wasnt 2 bad going to bed. But shes in great form all things considered. Can stop singing "all i want for christmas is me 2 front teeth" now.

Suucee wrote: »
    A cut her 2 top teeth last night. 2 in one night d poor divil. 1 was kinda peeking through before but now there both out. She was a little unsettled around 11.30 so we gave calpol then not a peep until 7.30 which is a lil early 4 her. She had such a dirty nappy. Have never seen the like. Up her back and everything. I actually wretched and ive a pretty strong stomach. I ran a bath n put her in it she was that bad. Has had a sore bum for about week now but now its raw. Left nappy off as much as possible todayand wasnt 2 bad going to bed. But shes in great form all things considered. Can stop singing "all i want for christmas is me 2 front teeth" now.

Corn flour or bread soda is apparently amazing at clearing up raw bums in a day! Our PHN advised (thankfully eve never had the need to use it) and midwives are saying its great too! Might be worth a shot hope she feels better soon poor little mite :( N broke through his 2 top teeth in 24 hours and it was a nightmare but he's in great form since :)

Tigeress wrote: »

Corn flour or bread soda is apparently amazing at clearing up raw bums in a day! Our PHN advised (thankfully eve never had the need to use it) and midwives are saying its great too! Might be worth a shot hope she feels better soon poor little mite :( N broke through his 2 top teeth in 24 hours and it was a nightmare but he's in great form since :)

Oh never heard that. Was talking 2 both nannies tonight a different times and both suggested whipping up an egg white. Never heard of that either but sure first timer here never heard of any of these old wives tales. Ive been using caldesene and thought it was doing the job until today.
    I may give something a go tomorrow. It is red raw the poor thing and she has about what looks like 4 bursted blisters on it.

That sounds awful :( the brea soda is meant to be amazing and clear it within a day but like I said I've never used it.. I never hear of the egg before either.. I was actually at one of the Mothercare evenings and they suggested the bread soda (midwife) and they had a specialist there that helps clear sinuses for newborns (can't remember the name of them) and they suggested it too! Worth a shot if she's that bad perhaps?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

I don't know if baking soda and bread soda are the same thing but my son had impetigo earlier this year and I put him in a bath with a little baking soda every morning to dry out the blisters.

That sounds awful :( the brea soda is meant to be amazing and clear it within a day but like I said I've never used it.. I never hear of the egg before either.. I was actually at one of the Mothercare evenings and they suggested the bread soda (midwife) and they had a specialist there that helps clear sinuses for newborns (can't remember the name of them) and they suggested it too! Worth a shot if she's that bad perhaps?!

And what do i do with it.

Just put a tablespoon in the bath water and let it dissolve. Then sit her in the water for a few minutes.

My little monster turned darling ;) has started sleeping for Ireland after 6-8 weeks of absolutely terrible sleep. Yesterday morning it was 8.10 and a 3 hour nap, this morning it was 8.40!! I felt like I'd won the lotto! He's eating all round him too so I expect him to grow a few inches very soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

My girl is still teething badly and she was 1.5 yesterday, her brother is 32 months today. My daddy is still in ICU on a ventilator :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭dublinlady

My little monster turned darling ;) has started sleeping for Ireland after 6-8 weeks of absolutely terrible sleep. Yesterday morning it was 8.10 and a 3 hour nap, this morning it was 8.40!! I felt like I'd won the lotto! He's eating all round him too so I expect him to grow a few inches very soon.

That's brilliant!! Gives me hope ye last 3 months of wakeful sleep and midnight screaming is a phase.... Last night was up from 12-1.30 then awake for the day at 6!
    That was an improvement on 4....!!
    Hope it's a phase... This too will pass... 3 months tho seems a long time for this kinda Craic to be persisting!

Hope the bum is better today succee? Baking soda is meant to be very soothing!

Cathy hope your dads ok, x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Took J is see Santy today, he loved him, got a great pic too. Really looking forward to Christmas now :-)

Ms2011 wrote: »
    Took J is see Santy today, he loved him, got a great pic too. Really looking forward to Christmas now :-)

Awe :) I really wanna bring N but my OH thinks its silly as he doesn't know who he is :( and I won't bring him for his 1st visit without his Daddy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

My little man has an ear infection :( had to bring him to doctor on call on sat and now the poor little thing is pumped up on bloody antibiotics :( I hate giving them to him, only 16weeks. Hopefully he will be back to himself soon! He is loving Sophie the Giraffe too! :)

Feel like the sleepless nights will never end....
    On the plus side I think she might crawl soon, or bum shuffle... Think she's havin trouble deciding which option suits her best!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭movingsucks

I wish my crittur would get on board with Sophie the Giraffe. She just wants to suck her fingers and is making them very sore. I had mits on her over the weekend and I felt like the meanest mammy ever. She'd go to put her hand in her mouth and then she'd remember she couldn't with the saddest little look on her face. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

I wish my crittur would get on board with Sophie the Giraffe. She just wants to suck her fingers and is making them very sore. I had mits on her over the weekend and I felt like the meanest mammy ever. She'd go to put her hand in her mouth and then she'd remember she couldn't with the saddest little look on her face. :(
    Ah the poor pet. Well now he only chews it if we put it there! Other than that he'll hold it and not pass a bit of remarks. He sucks his hands like mad too, knocks his dummy out to get them in! Have you tried putting Vaseline on her hands? To act as a barrier, not to stop her sucking obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The colic has gone, but now she's decided that 9pm to 5am is playtime and 5am to 6pm is sleeptime...

She'd be a wonderful sleeper if she just slept at the right bloody time.

Awe :) I really wanna bring N but my OH thinks its silly as he doesn't know who he is :( and I won't bring him for his 1st visit without his Daddy..

Ah that's a pity. I'm sure N doesn't understand what Christmas is all about either but he'll still get pressies, it's all about tradition ;-)

Decorations & tree are now up, J spent most of today sat in a pile of tinsel :-)

I ♥ Christmas :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭movingsucks

Gee_G wrote: »
    Ah the poor pet. Well now he only chews it if we put it there! Other than that he'll hold it and not pass a bit of remarks. He sucks his hands like mad too, knocks his dummy out to get them in! Have you tried putting Vaseline on her hands? To act as a barrier, not to stop her sucking obviously!
    Yeah I put Vaseline on under the mit and it really helped. She had a big blister but its gone now thankfully :)

She rolled from belly to back today for the first time, sadly she went off her nice play mat and onto the wooden floor :( she cried, then laughed.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭skit490

My babygirl does that to if I put mitts on. N her hands always cold too even though rest of her is warm. But the way she scrunched up her face is terrible. N its then followed by a roaring cry. N I give in n take the mits off. She has me well trained. Hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

My little fella is now able to sit well without support. The little divil discovered though that it is really fun to fall down from the sitting position! And as he can't sit up by himself, he shouts to get us to pull him up again!

N has been taking loads of steps :D I think he's just about ready to go! I had him going 6&7 steps by himself yesterday loads and this morning it's like he forgot it all lol and won't step without my hand! Cheeky little monkey! He'll be 1 in 3 weeks :( it's all gone so quickly! Is there a pause button to keep them little for longer?!

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Xdancer

A will be 1 tomorrow. Press pause now! The year has gone way too fast!!!

When I went to collect her from nursery earlier she came out with a big smile on her face and waving a little Spanish flag she had finger painted while she was there. I am so proud :)

Aww happy birthday little A!! Have you anything planned?

N is officially walking :) he took 29 steps today and hasn't stopped since :D very proud Mammy & Daddy here!

Aww happy birthday little A!! Have you anything planned?

N is officially walking :) he took 29 steps today and hasn't stopped since :D very proud Mammy & Daddy here!

Nothing planned really. Just a cake and presents :)

Congrats to N!

Bread soda worked on A's bum. Put it in her bath sun evening and put sudocream and caldesene on it all day monday. Left the nappy off as much as could too OH got pee'd on :D
    Yesterday looked so much better. Theres still little marks from the blisters but there fading. The top teeth are coming down more every day. It looks like theres going to be a little gap between them. Maybe when they come down fully it might not be the case.
    Put up the christmas decorations today. Im so excited, had xmas music on and A laughing her little head off. She had great time playing with tinsel and just stared at the lights on the tree open mouthed.
    I had a routine doc appointment today and decided to mention that over past few months ive been getting very bad pains in my knees and in past month or two it has got worse. Doc reckons its the start of arthritis due to hormone changes from pregnancy :eek: (it has only started since having A). I was pretty shocked to say the least. She recommended swimming and walking which i do alot of but dont get to actually swim much anymore as always bring A . Hopefully it doesnt get any worse.

Xdancer happy birthday to A!!!
    Enjoy the celebrations!

Tigress - yeah to N!!! So good he's walking so early!!! ESP with the new arrival coming so soon! Hope A does similar!!

Sucee - that pain sounds awful :( hope you get some relief, frightening stuff! Glad the teething is going better tho and the rash improved!

A is still not sleeping :( no sign or anymore teeth yet either tho! Think we could be in for the long haul!

dublinlady wrote: »
    A is still not sleeping :( no sign or anymore teeth yet either tho! Think we could be in for the long haul!

DL she wouldn't be cold would she?
    J started waking at 6:30 after usually sleeping until 8, I was blaming his teeth too until someone advised that he might be cold. I initially didn't think he was as I wrap him in a blanket & put him in a 2.5 tog gro bag & his room would be at 15.8 ºC at it's lowest but I figured it was worth a try so I added an extra blanket there 2 nights ago & he has gone back to sleeping until 8 again :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭MintyDoris

Been plucking up the courage to jump in here

My little L is nearly 9 weeks now.

Suucee, I am in bits with joint pain!! My ankles, knees, hips, back and shoulders are really stiff and sore. I must say it again to the doc next week. I had mentioned it in passing at the 6 week check up and she said to get out walking to start getting back in shape but with these low temperatures its just not safe to go out if I don't absolutely have to

DL she wouldn't be cold would she?
    J started waking at 6:30 after usually sleeping until 8, I was blaming his teeth too until someone advised that he might be cold. I initially didn't think he was as I wrap him in a blanket & put him in a 2.5 tog gro bag & his room would be at 15.8 ºC at it's lowest but I figured it was worth a try so I added an extra blanket there 2 nights ago & he has gone back to sleeping until 8 again :-)

Thanks ms - don't think she's cold tho as room 19-20 degrees and she's in a 2.5 tog with one cellular blanket! I've noticed tho she's grown so much in last 2 weeks ( doesn't explain the 2 months previous sleepless nights tho!!) her 9-12 month clothes were big 2 weeks ago and now are getting small!!!!!! She's only ten months on 14th! Between that and the crawling starting I'm hoping that's what it is and that she'll settle again soon!
    She's never slept past 6.30 / so I don't mind that - think she's an early riser!! But I just hate her being up hysterical for an hr or 2 at 3 am!! If she would go 7-6 like she used to I'd be a very very happy girl!!!
    That's amazing J sleeps til 8!!!!! A has her first nap at 8.30!!!! Hehe!!
    I'm muchos jealous :)
    Maybe baby number 2 will be a better sleeper......although with the kicks I've been getting at night it doesn't look that way!!!
    All good tho - have a long weekend off work this weekend so will just spend my time like a slob snoozing at any given chance!!!

MintyDoris wrote: »
    Been plucking up the courage to jump in here

My little L is nearly 9 weeks now.

Suucee, I am in bits with joint pain!! My ankles, knees, hips, back and shoulders are really stiff and sore. I must say it again to the doc next week. I had mentioned it in passing at the 6 week check up and she said to get out walking to start getting back in shape but with these low temperatures its just not safe to go out if I don't absolutely have to
    Oh at least im not the only 1. I googled it last night and apparently not that uncommon . I was taking glucosamine but doc said try not take it if not that bad. Didnt take it yesterday but took it this morning. I was like an auld 1 trying to get out of the bed this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Suucee wrote: »
    Oh at least im not the only 1. I googled it last night and apparently not that uncommon . I was taking glucosamine but doc said try not take it if not that bad. Didnt take it yesterday but took it this morning. I was like an auld 1 trying to get out of the bed this morning.
    My joints are mostly fine by now (baby is 9 months old), but my back is wrecked! I can't sleep on my tummy or my back, my lower back kills me! It was never like that before I had him!

There's still a lot of relaxin (spelling?) in your body for up to 18 months after the birth so you can develop aches and pains in all sorts of places. I had awful pains in my elbows and wrists and thought the worst but my Physio gave me gentle stretching exercises to do which fixed that problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Oh God, I'm really a mother. My husband just rushed in from the kitchen and gave me a big kiss. I was just about to ask him what had brought that on when he pointed out it was midnight and said happy birthday. I had completely forgotten my own birthday.:P

iguana wrote: »
    Oh God, I'm really a mother. My husband just rushed in from the kitchen and gave me a big kiss. I was just about to ask him what had brought that on when he pointed out it was midnight and said happy birthday. I had completely forgotten my own birthday.:P
    I am have not got to that stage yet - I celebrate my birthday on my son's one as he was born less than two weeks after my birthday, him and my daddy (who's birthday is 2 days after mine) are the best birthday presents that I have ever received.

On daddy he is still in ICU on a ventilator. I was very upset yesterday when I heard that his heart rate had gone down to 29 beats per minute overnight (they intervened). I can not see him as I still have this terrible cough.

On another note I am trying to see if I can go on the insulin pump, should know today if I qualify. I also got tested for daddy's overactive immune disease...

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

iguana wrote: »

I still get taken by surprise that I'm a mammy now. :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Little man is only just over a dose of vomiting bug and now he's coming down with a cold/flu... funny nose, chesty cough and fever... and his Birthday party was booked for Sunday and it's looking like it's going to be cancelled because of this..

Talk about timing. :(

xzanti wrote: »
    Little man is only just over a dose of vomiting bug and now he's coming down with a cold/flu... funny nose, chesty cough and fever... and his Birthday party was booked for Sunday and it's looking like it's going to be cancelled because of this..

Talk about timing. :(

The poor little mite. A is just over a bout of tummy bug/ cold. It's horrible to see them so unwell. I hope he feels better soon.

Got J's appointment for his exploratory surgery, it's 3 days before his first birthday & the day before I was going to have his birthday party :-(
    I'm glad we are finally moving forward but I just wish it could have been either a week earlier or a week later.
    He spent the whole time we were in hospital after he was born in special care & now he'll be recovering from surgery for his first birthday :-(:-(

Got J's appointment for his exploratory surgery, it's 3 days before his first birthday & the day before I was going to have his birthday party :-(
    I'm glad we are finally moving forward but I just wish it could have been either a week earlier or a week later.
    He spent the whole time we were in hospital after he was born in special care & now he'll be recovering from surgery for his first birthday :-(:-(

Awh Ms such a pity. I remember reading about him being in special care unit after he was born and nearly getting choked up reading about your whole experience.
    I'd still go ahead with the party take your mind off things.

Hugs.

Aww so sorry to hear J will be in hospital for his 1st birthday :( just make his party extra special :) on the plus side you must be relieved that something is finally happening?!

N was up all night roaring crying :( can't figure it out at all.. Calgel, Nurofen nothing worked and as the night went on you could tell his voice was going hoarse from the crying an coughing :( I love that he goes to crèche and that he loves it himself but bloody hell he doesn't half catch things from it!
    As of tomorrow I'm starting to wean him off bottles.. Any advise? I've already starte weaning him onto cows milk, he has it in his cereal daily and I wanna get him fully onto it by the end of the year as new baby will be here by then and one of them on bottles will be enough :o I'm thinking of making his morning bottle a beaker and giving him cows milk.. I've been looking online but there are so many places telling ya different amounts of how much milk they should be getting?! It's all very confusing :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

hi tigress ...I think there are new guidelines on how much milk to give...its a certain amount of ounces a day as more than that effects icon absorption or somethin. I just hand him a bottle if milk and he drinks what he drinks.

our guy seems to have had a similar illness to N...screaming not eating or sleeping...its taken him 5 days to recover and to pass it on to the rest of us! ;)

our fella is still has no teeth and isn't walking either...14 months next week. he'll walk along furniture and will take a few steps independently but just won't walk

ms2011 hope j's surgery is ok and you find answers to whatever the problem is. special events are moveable dates...kids will always fall sick when its least convenient! lol

happy belated birthday iguana and best wishes to you and your family cathy

N is really sick :( on stronger antibiotics and steroids to try boost him back! I feel like I've been living in the Doctors with him the last few weeks.. Darn kids bringing stuff into the crèche :(

14 months already Hannibal? Wow! N started walking along the furniture at 8 months and didn't take his 1st step until the start of Oct and would only take the odd one here and there and in the last few days has properly taken off! He'll be flying in no time :) maybe some dentures too hehe :p

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭td1

Anyone give some advice on encouraging a 10-month old to crawl?

N is really sick :( on stronger antibiotics and steroids to try boost him back! I feel like I've been living in the Doctors with him the last few weeks.. Darn kids bringing stuff into the crèche :(

Poor little thing. I hope he feels better soon.

Hope N is feeling better Tigeress x

What a day, discovered a third tooth on the bottom this morning, was so busy keeping an eye of the ones coming down on the top I completely missed the one on the bottom.
    One the bad side J's been like a bag of cats all day, not helping was me deciding to get him new soothers & throw his old ones, he hates to new ones & threw a fit for his old ones :-\
    So that's me throlling round the shops tomorrow trying to find repleciates for this old soothers!!!
    NOTE TO SELF - in future don't throw out the old soother until you're sure the new soothers are ok!!!

Tigeress i hope poor lil N is feeling better soon. Poor lil thing getting a bad time of it lately.
    Ah Ms thats typical he didnt want the new ones and you thought you were doing a good thing eh. A's top teeth are flying down now. Looks so cute. My niece was the same as J got 3 along the bottom before got any from the top.
    Brought A to santy sat. She didnt bat an eye lid to him but thought the elf taking the photo was hilarious. Got a lovely photo.
    Im so tired this evening. OH has an awful bug. Was up half the night last night getting sick, woke A at one stage . Lucky she went back asleep handy enough. I was wrecked this morning though and had get up try get A sorted get our 4 dogs sorted get my self sorted and out the door for work at 8.30.
    Then started feeling unwell in work myself but think was tiredness because grand now.
    Joints are so achy today (worse than usual) as well probably because so cold and im so tired.
    Early night for me i think. I dont know how any of you can function without full nights sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭foodaholic

td1 wrote: »
    Anyone give some advice on encouraging a 10-month old to crawl?

Plenty of floor time with toys that they have to reach for. Each baba is different and they do it in their own time