Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Newborn & Toddlers Off-Topic Chat Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

R rolled from back to front once at 12 weeks, once at 14, and once since, and hasn't bothered apart from that!
    He started rolling from front to back at around 20 weeks I think... he got such a fright the first time he did it... hilarious! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

ROLLING BOOTCAMP DAY 1

Well he seems to have some idea of what to do. He's on his tummy with his bum and legs flailing about trying to roll but then he collapses to the floor face first in a very dramatic Gloria Swanson style lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

My darling daughter is 9 months old today - Helen I love you, you have changed mummy, daddy and big brother Shane's life for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

CathyMoran wrote: »
    My darling daughter is 9 months old today - Helen I love you, you have changed mummy, daddy and big brother Shane's life for the better.

Can't believe your daughter is 9 months old already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Zveri

Hi reading through the posts about hair loss. I have a question. My twins are a week off 10 months old.
    I started losing lots of hair at about 3 months post partum. It's now back to sadly thin hair with new 'baby hair' growth.
    I'm still breastfeeding (well expressing) But its the same hormone wise. Will I really lose even more hair when I stop breastfeeding? :eek:
    I think its slowed down the last couple months need to get prepared if it's going to get worse again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

Zveri, it shouldn't go again once you've had the hair loss and regrowth.. the hormone levels are responsible for the loss . . one thing i did notice this time with me is i'm eating a lot of spinach lately..and both my energy levels and hair loss have improved.. iron deficiency can make the hair loss more pronounced. Last 2 times i lost a ridiculous amount of hair ended up having to cut it short which doesn't suit me :( so far so good ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

Hi Ladies :) it's been a little while since I've been on (well a week) grey to hear about all the babies rolling :) hehe very exciting!
    My little man will be 10 weeks on Tues & we're having a hell of a time at the mo.. He's been so very good until he got his injections last Monday & has been in terrible form since, I can't even step out of sight & he's crying for me.. Even Daddy won't do :( he's also feeding every 1.5-2 hours at the moment so I think it's partially to do with a growth spurt too.. He weights 15lb already :o & is over 2 foot long! He's not very chubby just very long!
    For those who were mentioning the Moses basket, my little fella only lasted 3 weeks :o he's a right monster lol.. The Doc couldn't believe his size when I went for a section check up! He told me that he doesn't think I'll last longer than the 3 month mark without going to the spoon as he's so big & so hungry.. The PHN is saying the same! I'm in limbo, I'm not gonna change his formula as it suits him (apart from the hunger) but I don't know if I want to put him on baby rice just yet. The Doc told me that he'll tell me if he's ready if I try it as he won't take it if he's not ready himself..
    I just love him so much & I'm terrified of making wrong decisions for him... Silly I know.. He's gotten really good control over his hands all of a sudden :) grabbing at things & putting them in his mouth lol also if I put him lying on a bed he can roll onto his side but won't even try on the floor! Everyone tells me his head control is great too! He loves tummy time hehe! I went to see my friend with him in Dublin the other day & she has a 5 month old & we put them sitting beside each other (jammed with cushions) to take a pic & she looks older but he's longer & they're the same weight!!
    We've found recently that he loves to have his legs free of clothes lol in the evening before we change him for bed we put him on his playmat in just his nappy & vest & he wiggles like crazy hehe! Loves it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Tigeress congrats on your little fella. From now on their development goes in leaps. Every week brings something new and it's amazing to watch.

I have to say I'm shocked that your gp would recommend giving baby rice to a 12 week old. It's also quite illogical as baby rice is highly processed and has no nutritional benefit nor will it fill him more than milk (formula or breast) which has protein and fat and which provide all the nutrients a baby needs.

The obsession in this country with getting a spoon of rice into a baby as soon as possible baffles me. I had people telling me I was depriving my son because we waited until six months but he wasn't ready. He couldn't sit up and he showed no interest at all so from 5 months on we took it week by week.

I think milk is sufficient until around 5 months at which stage each baby is different and some may be ready sooner than others. However I go by the theory that food is fun until one so its for exploring and tasting and not to 'fill them up.'

Your little lad is going through so many leaps and growth spurts at the moment it's no wonder he wants to feed more often but it doesn't mean the milk isn't satisfying him. Look up the wonder weeks website as it shows what weeks babies go through developmental leaps when their brains are learning new skills. It really makes sense and I know I could see my son being more cranky and clingy and feeding more often during those weeks.

Thanks How Strange :) I feel better about holding off now! The Doc said he'd be surprised but he didn't advise it 'Medically' but he said he thinks he needs to be fed sooner rather than later.. I'm gonna go up to the PHN again next week & have a good chat about it all.. I haven't been feeling myself lately & my OH reckons I should have a talk to her about that too.. I sound like such a moan :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭red fraggle

tigeress any tips on the injections? e is 2months monday and we are heading for the injections. hope shes ok after them :(

They change all the time about these things. When my first son was born we were told not to solid feed until 6 months. I started at 5 months because he was always hungry.

Now it seems its from 4 months for bottle fed babies and 6 months for breastfed. The reason being that they are starting to lose all their iron and vitamins from birth so need other foods to boost it. It's not about rice filling them, the rice is just a starting point.

You know what's best for your son Tigress. The medics are there to give you all the up to date professional advice and then you can decide where to go from there.

There are so many different reasons for him eating so much that your head will be melted trying to discover how to solve it.

The best of luck with it, and sorry you're having such a rough time of it. I know its a cliche, but you will get there. Give it another couple of months and you'll be flying.

tigeress any tips on the injections? e is 2months monday and we are heading for the injections. hope shes ok after them :(

Loose bottoms Red Fragle :) and there are 2 injections.. 1 in each leg! I thought it was just one & got a shock when I went in.. The nurse told me to buy some Calpol when I left too as some babies get high tempratures from them, thankfully Nathan didn't! I did buy some just encase though! Best of luck with them, hopefully she doesn't have any reactions :)

Thanks Hannible, there is so many people saying so many different things with starting to spoon feed! I've decided myself to wait till at least 3.5 months but hoping for 4 months.. I'm so lost with it! Do you have to start on babyrice or can I make my own veg or something instead? I'm gonna go buy a book to read up on what to do if anyone has any suggestions??
    Thanks again Hannible :) you give such good advise & I really do appreciate it x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

Tigress the weaning thread stickied at the top of the forum is well worth a read for when ye start out. I started Ella at just over 4 months and I really wish I had held out a bit longer and just gone straight for baby led weaning. Saying that she was feeding herself finger foods and most things by about 6.5/7 months anyway.

We are heading into tantrums major time! I am trying just to use mostly positive reinforcement and ignore her but she sometimes bangs her head off the floor/wall. It's not particularly hard or anything to hurt her but she has my nerves in bits. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Decided to get off my bottom and join this thread, "little" Aidan turned 3 recently and is a little devil :) Tried calling me Natty today :( Always wanted to be mummy, but he seemed to do it only to see my reaction!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 chillichick

My god tigress your little fella is really coming along!Cant believe how hungry he is an is on the hungry baby formula and everything. I started my little one on solids at 15weeks she was very ready for them.She wasnt drinking her bottles as she was bored of them started feeding her baby porridge and dinners and now she guzzles all her bottles happily and is sleeping 7to 7 every night which is great at nearly 5months. You will definatley know when you cant hold out anymore could b just coming up to the 3month growth spurt he could be drinking like that.

I know its crazy! I'm delighted he's doing so well :) he's such a sturdy baby aswell! He's just perfect :)
    You're so lucky with the 12 hour sleep! Nathan goes 6 hours then 4 usually, sometimes he'll go 8 hours but it's rare lol! I was thinking it could be the growth spurt a little early aswell! I'm hoping to get the wonder weeks book & a book about feeding while in Dublin tomorrow :) it's great your little one is doing so well Chilli! Is she rolling yet?
    I know some people say babies are either walkers or talkers, if thats the case my little man is def gonna be a talker lol he never stops!

Lola92 wrote: »
    Tigress the weaning thread stickied at the top of the forum is well worth a read for when ye start out. I started Ella at just over 4 months and I really wish I had held out a bit longer and just gone straight for baby led weaning. Saying that she was feeding herself finger foods and most things by about 6.5/7 months anyway.

We are heading into tantrums major time! I am trying just to use mostly positive reinforcement and ignore her but she sometimes bangs her head off the floor/wall. It's not particularly hard or anything to hurt her but she has my nerves in bits. :(

I'm so gnna have a look at this thread :) I use my iPhone and didn't realise that there was one for feeding :o should have though!

I hope the tantrums are just a phase and she grows out of them quick for ya! I can only imagine your nerves are shot with the head banging, even if it is light! I hate it when I'm burping himself on my shoulder and he lightly headbutts me!

Our son is 13 months and we've seen some tantrum like behaviour already. He's very dramatic so he throws himself on the floor and cries like he's being tortured and that's just when I say no. What will he be like in a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

my little man also does little tantrums, so funny in a 1 yr old.
    He also 'pretend' cries, head down on the sofa and little looks back up at you, his older brother thinks it is hilarious and is so proud of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

The tantrums can be so funny. Our little girl is 2 & from about 18 months she does this very fake cry, shoulders heaving, eye's squeezed shut, 'boo hoo' kind of crying.
    It's so hard not to laugh when she does this, though she normally ends up laughing at herself when she does it :D

Tigeress I can't believe N is 10 weeks already, where did that time go?!
    I also found it so confusing when it came to starting solids.
    I had one well intentioned friend of the family hound me to start her at 8 weeks on rice :eek: I wouldn't mind but the same child was sleeping a solid 8 hours each night & feeding fine on milk.
    How Strange is right, there does seem to be a fascination with starting baby's on solid as early as possible for some reason!

I didn't start solids til 6 months & she didn't take to them properly til 9 months anyway.
    My mum was advised to start me at 6 weeks on solids & I was being given cheese at 8 weeks. Probably no wonder I had so many food allergies as a child :(

I always found R to be very out of sorts for 2-3 day's after the injections too even with calpol. I was so glad to get the final 13 month one out of the way.
    You don't sound like a moan at all, the first 3-4 months can be so overwhelming, if you're not feeling yourself then you do right to speak to your PHN.
    Sounds like your wee man is thriving altogether!

Wolfpawnpat that's so cute that he's calling you by your name :) R call's her dad 'daddy' or his real name if he's in trouble with her :D She calls me Lawrrrraline :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 chillichick

How strange that sounds like my little girl this week the the developmental leap.She is normally happy on the floor playing away with her gym.But this week she is up and down in my arms.Fusy and cranky and draining all her bottles! Tigress babies are such great work their like a never ending puzzle your always figuring out new things about them.My little one can roll on to her belly but cant roll back gets annoyed then because all she can see is the floor!! as for not feeling yourself that is definately normal think i cried at everything for bout 3months after baby.
    OH was beginning to think something wrong but youl come out the other side its just hormones and tiredness that do it.

Tigeress wrote: »
    Thanks Hannible, there is so many people saying so many different things with starting to spoon feed! I've decided myself to wait till at least 3.5 months but hoping for 4 months.. I'm so lost with it! Do you have to start on babyrice or can I make my own veg or something instead? I'm gonna go buy a book to read up on what to do if anyone has any suggestions??
    Thanks again Hannible :) you give such good advise & I really do appreciate it x

That sounds like a great plan. I think the idea behind the baby rice is that it's a bland taste and very similar to the formula they're used to. For the first few times you're just getting them used to eating from a spoon as opposed to sucking from a bottle so they suggest you don't overload them with a whole new taste as well.

I don't see any reason why you can't start with a vegetable, but maybe you might double check with the professionals before you start.
    I started the little lad on baby rice the other week and last week started him on carrot, mixed with his milk and he loved it more than the rice. I got the Organix Baby Rice, which seems more natural than the others.

I'm going to get banned from here soon enough if I don't stop recommending Annabel Karmel's weaning book :D, but it really was my bible on my first son, and will be again (when I get it back from my sis in law :D ) It gives you guides on what foods to try, pictures of the consistencies so you know what it should look like and even a daily menu at the back, for great ideas.

As for the tantrums, when my son turns three in April, I'm getting my husband and myself t-shirts that say 'We Survived the Terrible Twos'....omg what a tantrum-independence seeking-I want, I want I want filled time it's been :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Our son is 13 months and we've seen some tantrum like behaviour already. He's very dramatic so he throws himself on the floor and cries like he's being tortured and that's just when I say no. What will he be like in a year?

Oh the thing they say about terrible 2's, LIES!!!!!!!!!! It is from 12-36 months! And month 37 isn't fairing too well either!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

Hi Ladies :) it's been a little while since I've been on (well a week) grey to hear about all the babies rolling :) hehe very exciting!
    My little man will be 10 weeks on Tues & we're having a hell of a time at the mo.. He's been so very good until he got his injections last Monday & has been in terrible form since, I can't even step out of sight & he's crying for me.. Even Daddy won't do :( he's also feeding every 1.5-2 hours at the moment so I think it's partially to do with a growth spurt too.. He weights 15lb already :o & is over 2 foot long! He's not very chubby just very long!
    For those who were mentioning the Moses basket, my little fella only lasted 3 weeks :o he's a right monster lol.. The Doc couldn't believe his size when I went for a section check up! He told me that he doesn't think I'll last longer than the 3 month mark without going to the spoon as he's so big & so hungry.. The PHN is saying the same! I'm in limbo, I'm not gonna change his formula as it suits him (apart from the hunger) but I don't know if I want to put him on baby rice just yet. The Doc told me that he'll tell me if he's ready if I try it as he won't take it if he's not ready himself..

Hi Tigress,

Reading your story brings back memories. My fella was exactly the same as yours . He was 15lb at his two month check up the doctor couldnt get over the size of him. I had no choice but to put him on the hungry baby formula. He settled down alot at three months only eating every three hours or so. The midwife told me not to put him on solids until he was four months. If he is anything like my fella he will always be ahead of himself . Especially with clothes sizes and that, Nobody can get over he is only 21 months. He looks at least two and a half. Must be something to do with Nathans thats my fellas name too.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,512 ✭✭✭secman

Must be something to do with Nathans thats my fellas name too.

Hopefully different ones :D

Secman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭car

elaney wrote: »
    For those who were mentioning the Moses basket, my little fella only lasted 3 weeks :o he's a right monster lol..

OMG its like ur living in my life, my little fellow was 10 weeks on Sunday, he too is about 15lbs as he was 14lbs 1oz two weeks ago, he is filling out the 3-6 month clothes and would you believe I tried him in 6-9month vest and pants from next today and he was nearly the lenght of them too! I never had a little baby :( I got a lanky monster!

I'm breast feeding him and today I felt like going down to dunnes to buy milk for him as he hasnt got off me today.

e got her injections today. her cry was awful. big red face followed by the i cant breathe cry. poor little thing. she then held onto my finger and wouldnt let go. then all day shes keepin a close eye on where i am!!

also has anyone heard of babyvac and if so whats your thoughts on it. its suppose to suction the stuff out of babies nose

Aw red fraggle isn't it awful :( My lad got his 12 month vac a few weeks ago and he looked at me like I'd betrayed him. I got him a banana in the shop after and that cheered him a little. I've to bring him for his 13 month vac in the next couple of weeks :(

big red face followed by the i cant breathe cry.

omg that is the worst ever!! The big inhale and you think....this is going to be so loud once they get to scream! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭dublinlady

big red face followed by the i cant breathe cry.

omg that is the worst ever!! The big inhale and you think....this is going to be so loud once they get to scream! :eek:

We have to be so careful not to leave mute than 2&1/2 hrs between feeds or this is the response we get!!!! Pretty much on 2hrs 31...!!! This lady is gonna be high maintenance and v.demanding!!

Well my little man has taken so well tot solids that he's now refusing his bottles:eek: i wait til he's hungry then out with the bottle.. he'll drink maybe 2 ozs and then roars til he gets the spoon... if i try him in between feeds after feeds when he not quite hungry when he's starving between spoonful... he just won't drink his bottle... i'm stumped :( he's getting enough food cos he eats loads but i'm worried he's not drinking enough...what to do.. any advice?? he's drinking about 15 ozs per day as well as 3 spoon feeds
    he's also waking at night hungry again since he's not drinking as much.. thought it was teeth but nurofen last night didn't stop it but 3ozs of a bottle did..

dublinlady wrote: »
    We have to be so careful not to leave mute than 2&1/2 hrs between feeds or this is the response we get!!!! Pretty much on 2hrs 31...!!! This lady is gonna be high maintenance and v.demanding!!

I sympathise with you so much DL. Our guy was the same in the beginning, it is exhausting!

Cybrd How long has he been doing it? I know Simon can go through phases of not drinking much of his bottles, we just have to grin and bear it. Other days he eats/drinks all in front of him.

Last 4 or 5 days...i just don't want him to get dehydrated is all... :o cos with the amount of drool from teething i think i should hook him up to a drip :D

and i'm fed up dumping 6oz bottles that have only had 2 ozs drank out of them...:(

I know! I was sick of throwing out half finished bottles. Is he drinking any with his food? How many bottles are they supposed to have with 3 meals a day? I can't remember and my sis in law is going to get a smack if she doesnt give me back with me annabel k book! Lol

dublinlady wrote: »

oh i know how ya feel. my little one is gona be a handful i would say. shes a i want it and i want it now lady. im bored now move me somewhere else. now i just want a cuddle now i would like to sleep but im too nosy now im hungry etc. very funny tho to see her little attitutude and she so gorgeous that she is gona get away with everything if we are not careful!! ah still shes only nearly 9 weeks :eek: so we hav a bit to go yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Can we have a Newborn and Toddlers moan thread?

I am so wrecked... I would pay a creche to come up with a routine that involves keeping two babies happy and fed.

no matter how well I lay out their clothes and food or how early I get up, one of us doesnt get fed..usually me and I dont think all three of us will ever get out of the house for more than 20 mins....

I have to say I would not recommend having babies so close together. Thank goodness baby 1 is in creche tomorrow afternoon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I still want one more - I love having them close but that is just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

wmpdd3 I was still undecided about whether to send my eldest to creche for a few hours every week while I'm on maternity leave. You've helped me make the decision now!

Do you find you get much done with no. 1 in nursery for a few hours?

I remember with just my little girl alone in the first few weeks it was rare for me to complete a meal or worse again a cup of tea as she always picked her moments *just* as I was chowing down to start crying!

Hopefully thing's will settle down and you will get time to yourself :)

A moan thread a great idea... I really got onto the swing of the pregnancy one!!! ;)

I hope to have no.2 'on the way' asap and my son is now 13 months but if/when no.2 arrives I'll still send my son to crèche. First of all I think it would feel like a punishment for him to be taken out of crèche because of a new baby as he loves creche. Secondly I'd like to spend those few months giving the second child as much attention as my son got as a baby. Finally it means I can nap when the baby naps :)

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    Can we have a Newborn and Toddlers moan thread?

I am so wrecked... I would pay a creche to come up with a routine that involves keeping two babies happy and fed.

no matter how well I lay out their clothes and food or how early I get up, one of us doesnt get fed..usually me and I dont think all three of us will ever get out of the house for more than 20 mins....

I have to say I would not recommend having babies so close together. Thank goodness baby 1 is in creche tomorrow afternoon...

Have you tried the Gina Forde books? ;) She'll have you ship shape to military precision! :D Of course, it won't matter that you have absolutely no time left for yourself, its all about the babies! :D

How old is the first child? Are they old enough to feed themselves? Or at least if you give them the breakkie, a spoon and a pair of overalls, and while they're trying to aim for their mouth you could have your breakkie?

My guy is in creche 3 days a week and they days he's off I very much play it by ear. It helps that he's nearly 3 and in the last 4 months he's become so independent he does everything for himself now, but I don't come up with any agendas that are too mad, just to get out without fighting over where is shoes are is a bonus! :D

I still have the eldest in creche 3 days. It sounds so cruel, but he loves the place. It would kill him if we took him out, plus it gives me and Simon cuddle time. If it wasn't for creche the youngest wouldn't get a look in! Also, it gives me time to get the house in some sort of order!

Cap, when are you due?

I solved the problem of eating in the mornings.. my husband will bring me tea and 2 slices of brown bread toast with the baby's bottle... he does downstairs with the girls and the 2 year old, problem sorted :D it took years of trainiing but its paid off :pac:

Apparently he should be drinking 35ozs per day from 4 to 9 months then dropping down to 21ozs til 12 months.. this is give or take depending on the baby, but the last few days i can just about get 15ozs into him.... so yesterday i did it slightly different and just gave him 2 spoon feeds and more bottles... he was not impressed, and made it quite clear how he felt this morning with the biggest dirty nappy i've ever seen... it was a bath job and burn the babygro :eek::D must've been a bit bunged up too :rolleyes:

i've also switched from the cow and gate to milupa food..on husband's advice 'do you not remember this happening with the 9 year old' . . eh no i didn't.. anyway looks to be on the other side of it now as he slept from 8.30pm til 4.53am had 6oz and was back asleep by 5.10am didn't wake til 9 and then had a big bowl of banana something . . :)

We'll see how it goes today..

Thanks Elaney :) it defo must be Narhans hehe! Thanks Car too :) it's great to hear people are in similar situations to me.. Very reassuring :)

My goodness Cybrd sounds line you're having a right time of it with the feeding :o great that baby took to the spoon so well though!

I feel like um about to explode at the moment.. My little fella is in full on teething & as it turns out the Aptimil 2 wasn't settling in his little tummy :( I feel terrible to have kept him on it so long when he was in such pain :( we've change him to SMA Hungerier Baby now & although he seems to be a little better the screaming continues.. He woke at 3am this morning in tears & it was all to do with him wanting a cuddle & having a poop.. His poop has turned solid! Is that normal?? It was always loose until last night! I'm so wrecked from the constant crying & miss his all day long smiles :( I just want him to be a happy baby but at the mo I don't feel he is.. My poor little fella

Tigress did you wean him onto the stronger milk or just change over fully?? sometimes every 2nd bottle for a few days is better til they get used to it..how old is he?? have you thought of silent reflux? in small babies it can look like teething with hand chewing and drooling and pain. . gavisgon for infants would sort it but have a word with a pharmacist or PHN...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Tigeress, My girls poo was loose until she was 13 months, I remember saying it to the doc and she said, ahh yeah, aptamil!

I wish I never started on aptimil! There seems to be a lot of issues with it. Sorry you're having such a rough time of it Tigress....you will get your smiley baby back eventually...I hope his issues are easily solved *hugs*

cbyrd wrote: »
    Tigress did you wean him onto the stronger milk or just change over fully?? sometimes every 2nd bottle for a few days is better til they get used to it..how old is he?? have you thought of silent reflux? in small babies it can look like teething with hand chewing and drooling and pain. . gavisgon for infants would sort it but have a word with a pharmacist or PHN...

No Cybrd I just changed him over to the SMA and to be honest he's doing much better for it :) I asked the PHN and she said he's definatley teething, bit surprised as he's only 10.5weeks old! She told me to give him Infacol before each feed to help with the reflux aswell (which he does not like lol)

A few people have told me of problems they've had with Aptimil aswell :o but only since we've changed him off it! Could have told me earlier lol!

I was very annoyed after seeing the PHN yest.. We originally had a PHN that was real nice but she left recently to another county :( this other one was so narrow minded & I was very upset leaving.. She told me I was wrong to have stopped breast feeding even after I explained how hard I found it with recovering from the section & the infections I got.. I tried talking to her about me feeling down & she just dusted it off and just dusted it off & said everyone feels like that and no nee to talk about it :( she also told me that I'd be making wrong decisions for my son if I feed him before 16/17weeks even if I feel he needs it! I felt like such a terrible Mum leaving there.. I've to go back in 2 weeks for his 3 month check up & I'm already stressing about the thoughts of seeing her again.. I thought they're meant to be helpful but she wasn't.. She didn't web give me any advise on what to do with Nathan just gave out the whole visit..

Oh tigers as she sounds like a right witch! You poor thing! That's the last thing you needed! Just please remember you know your body, yourself and your baby better than any narky nurse and you made every decision you did feeling it was the best thing to do and no one should make you feel that you were wrong! Breast feeding is great when it works but you being miserable or unwell while doing it is completely counter productive for your baby!! As for your mood - I can't stress how important it is to talk to someone decent about that! You've already identified your feeling a little blue or out of sorts which is 3/4's of the battle! Having a baby, especially one who is crying a lot is completely exhausting and leaves you so vulnerable emotionally! A nurse like that can just leave you feeling more distraught and isolated and it's just not right! Please speak to your g.p about how your feeling, and at the very least come on here and talk about how your feeling and if your finding things tough and unmanageable ad it's so important to get it off your chest and know that there's people in similar situations who understand how your feeling!
    Are you getting sleep? For me that's when I become vulnerable! I have to have 6 hrs a night or otherwise I literally can't cope duri g the day and start to want to get away from my baby :( then I feel guilty. With sleep I can cope with almost anything!

Anyway I'm so sorry you were treated like this and hope your ok, from all your posts throughout pregnancy and now I know your a terrific mum who loves her baby so much - you just need support during what is a rough patch - I'm so disappointed the system is failing to give it to you - and glad you have boards to talk to - we're always here! :)

Tigress if there's one thing I've learned about phn's its to take everything they say with a pinch of salt. I'll never forget one day one if them told me to get the first boy to my gp ASAP because he had mottled skin which was a sign of meningitis. He had mottled skin since the day he was born!

They have very useful tips at times....but sometimes you have to filter through the judgmental crap to get to it! pay no heed whatsoever....you don't have to explain yourself to anyone.

no one should have to excuse why they're bottle feeding