Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man City v Man United (FA Cup) Thread - MOD NOTE post #1,#1141, #1177

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭DoctorGonzo08

I'd guess at the following line ups, but I would hope City would go for 2 up front.

(4-4-1-1)

De Gea
    Valencia; Ferdinand; Jones; Evra
    Nani; Carrick; Anderson; Park
    Rooney
    Wellbeck

(4-2-3-1)

Hart
    Richards; Kompany; Lescott; Kolarov
    De Jong; Hargreaves
    Johnson; Silva; Milner
    Dzeko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'd like to see him start Kun, but I don't think he will. I see him coming on with about half hour to go for Dzeko, and Nasri for Johnson (or vice versa).

Hargreaves is just me hoping he starts and scores :P But seriously though, I think Mancini has certain players in line for cup games, and Hargreaves is one of them. I wouldn't be too surprised if he was drafted in to play Barrys role, which he is good at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

Hart
    Richards; Kompany; Lescott; Kolarov
    De Jong; Hargreaves
    Johnson; Silva; Milner
    Dzeko

no clichy? aguero will start, cant see hargreaves starting this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

This should be harrowing viewing. 5 or 6 goal win for city i'd be inclined to think :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Xavi6 wrote: »

Hart

Richards----Kompany----Lescott----Clichy

De Jong

Silva
    Milner
    Nasri

Aguero
    Dzeko

Subs: Pantillimon, Kolarov, Savic, Zabaleta, Hargreaves, Johnson, A N Other.

The above is what I'd like to see but it'll probably end up different.

Suarez maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

I can't see anything but a City win, don't care about the score too much but a hockeying would be nice. Our home form has been incredible this season.

There's always some anxiety because it's a derby but it would need to be a huge performance from united and a crap one from us for us to lose. I predict 3-1 to the blues.

Strange feeling like favourites. C'MON CITEH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Xavi6 wrote: »

Hart

Richards----Kompany----Lescott----Clichy

De Jong

Silva
    Milner
    Nasri

Aguero
    Dzeko

Subs: Pantillimon, Kolarov, Savic, Zabaleta, Hargreaves, Johnson, A N Other.

The above is what I'd like to see but it'll probably end up different.
    What's the craic on De Jong's contract goings-on? I've high opinions of him, I think he's a very good player, annoying considering we only just gladly seen the back of Yaya for the game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

spiralism wrote: »
    This should be harrowing viewing. 5 or 6 goal win for city i'd be inclined to think :(
    I just can't see Ferguson allowing that to happen after he got so annoyed with the players for pushing on when 3 down last time. City are favorites though and we can't afford to concede early for us to have any chance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'd love to see Pogba or Morrison start but it'll never happen in a game like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Barr

Yaya will be a big miss but still cant see past a city win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

this is a good thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

Be nice to see Tevez get a run-out and a standing ovation for his last days with the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭CR 7

Be nice to see Tevez get a run-out and a standing ovation for his last days with the club

I'm sure both sets of fans would be delighted to give him that.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

spiralism wrote: »
    This should be harrowing viewing.

Nice turn of phrase - got a real chuckle out of that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭colly_06

Word that Dzeko is injured now, wtf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

All the training in the world couldn't prepare the Riot Police for the aftermath of that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

colly_06 wrote: »
    Word that Dzeko is injured now, wtf!

I've been reading in the Guardian that he is receiving treatment for a knee problem but don't know if it's serious enough to rule him out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Interesting to see the first match for City without Yaya. Should be revealing.

Frankly, I think another demolition by City could actually increase our chances of winning the league, which is a ****ing weird state to be thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭carlcon

I'm predicting 4+ goals in this one. Majority for City.

It'll take next to a miracle for United to come out of this one without another embarrassment. They might as well just rest the 6 players they have fit, and pass the buck to the mostly-useless reserves/kids. Play down the inevitable defeat before-hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

I just can't see Ferguson allowing that to happen after he got so annoyed with the players for pushing on when 3 down last time. City are favorites though and we can't afford to concede early for us to have any chance.
    Agreed, the amount of people saying this could be 5/6 is ridiculous (and you can quote me on that after). It was a freak result, there are a few every season. Yes united have a weakened, yes city are prob better than them at the moment but no it wont be 5 or 6 nil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

It may be blinded loyalty or just an early sign of dementia
    but I wouldn't be ruling Utd out just yet , Yes we've been crap in the last few games , but this is a great chance to stop the rot and get back to business ,if the Utd players can't rise themselves for this game then we are truely f**ked ,

Weirdly I think the performance is more important than the result for Utd on Sunday ,
    Anyway hoping for a miracle :D 1-2 Utd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    It may be blinded loyalty or just an early sign of dementia
    but I wouldn't be ruling Utd out just yet , Yes we've been crap in the last few games , but this is a great chance to stop the rot and get back to business ,if the Utd players can't rise themselves for this game then we are truely f**ked ,

Weirdly I think the performance is more important than the result for Utd on Sunday ,
    Anyway hoping for a miracle :D 1-2 Utd.

Anyone who counts ManU out of it is a fool.
    Although I do hope they get pumped silly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

From Opta

481 - Manchester City have gone eight hours and one minute since they last conceded a goal in the #FACup. Miserly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,213 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I gets a good laugh off all the City fans. Last year not a word from them and fearing the worst playing United and Chelsea. Now this year they dont shut up and the jerseys are out in force. The two people i know who are City fans are just annoying. Last year and the start of the season oh it will be tough to finish ahead of United this year. Then they hit form and started sulking at drawing at West Brom and saying United are finished. I dont mind a fan shouting on their team but the amount of City fans who only started opening their mouth this season is unbelievable. Look at Liverpool for example their fans scream and shout and roar on their team no matter what happens to their team.

Now even in this thread people saying it will be a mauling. You would swear United are a championship team the way people are going on about things. Even some United fans fearing the worst. Being honest if City dont win the league this year its a disgrace. United and Chelsea are going through transition and City have a much better team. The amount of injuries United have i cant believe how well they are doing being honest. Its going to be tough for United Sunday and im not confident but people would really want to get a bit of perspective. The only bad thing if City dont win the league is they will bring in a good mananger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,213 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

carlcon wrote: »
    I'm predicting 4+ goals in this one. Majority for City.

It'll take next to a miracle for United to come out of this one without another embarrassment. They might as well just rest the 6 players they have fit, and pass the buck to the mostly-useless reserves/kids. Play down the inevitable defeat before-hand.

Who do you support by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,585 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

this will not be a mauling.

no way in hell Ferguson will allow that to happen, even if he has to bring out his miserly, European, 4-5-1 formation.

this end 1-0/2-1 either way, or is a draw.

i'm going to go for a marginal Utd win. no Toure gives Utd a big chance tbh. de Jong will stop you, but he won't batter you going forward like Toure does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Nuts102 wrote: »
    I gets a good laugh off all the City fans. Last year not a word from them and fearing the worst playing United and Chelsea. Now this year they dont shut up and the jerseys are out in force. The two people i know who are City fans are just annoying. Last year and the start of the season oh it will be tough to finish ahead of United this year. Then they hit form and started sulking at drawing at West Brom and saying United are finished. I dont mind a fan shouting on their team but the amount of City fans who only started opening their mouth this season is unbelievable. Look at Liverpool for example their fans scream and shout and roar on their team no matter what happens to their team.

Now even in this thread people saying it will be a mauling. You would swear United are a championship team the way people are going on about things. Even some United fans fearing the worst. Being honest if City dont win the league this year its a disgrace. United and Chelsea are going through transition and City have a much better team. The amount of injuries United have i cant believe how well they are doing being honest. Its going to be tough for United Sunday and im not confident but people would really want to get a bit of perspective. The only bad thing if City dont win the league is they will bring in a good mananger.

F**k it ! your right ,
    We're the daddy ,
    We're what city long to be ,
    Lets take this chance to quieten these noisy neighbours once and for all ,
    One cup in decades and they have thoughts of grandeur:rolleyes:
    Rooney to run riot... 0-3 Utd ..

Rooney first goal ,Utd to win 0-3.... 150/1 Thats the bet for me ....

you heard it here first ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

United to win this 2-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

What a load of shite. City fans have been roaring on their team, as you put it, for a long time, don't blame us if your memory doesn't stretch as far back as Division 2 in 1999.

If you knew anything about being a City fan, which you clearly don't, you'd realise that being a blue means having inbuilt negativity and pessimism due to years of false dawns and let downs.

Finally we have a team worthy of shouting about and one that looks to have found a bit of consistency, so yes we're going to go on about it and the more people like you it frustrates the better.

Isn't that just the contradicton? You say that if City don't win the league it's a disgrace yet wonder why some fans are predicting a strong win and why United supporters are fearing the worst. You've answered your own question - City are a very very good side.

As for your last line, a very good manager is already in place thanks very much.

Continue to get annoyed by us though, we love it.

Mario-Balotelli-I-Love-MCR-city.png

Hard to sift through such a nonesense rant, but are you giving out about yourself?

I agree I have seen more City jerseys out this year all of a sudden, but these are the fans that will pull on a Chelsea or Utd jersey next year if either win the league.

Hard to make out who you support yourself with all the Utd love, yet you use Liverpool as an example of how great loyal fans are. Problem is I don't know any true Pool fan that will up a defend Utd, nor any Utd fan that will stand up for a Pool fan.

Suck it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

its a shame that someone had to start posting rubbish, it would be nice to see sensible discussion about the match, not childish rants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

its a shame that someone had to start posting rubbish, it would be nice to see sensible discussion about the match, not childish rants.

Unfortunately that's all the soccer forum is full of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Only one winner here lads I'd say City 2 or 3 nil

city could easily match the 6 they put through us the last time round

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

conno16 wrote: »
    city could easily match the 6 they put through us the last time round
    Would you ever stop talking such fucking shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Think this going be much closer game then people think.

City by odd goal.

Think United will go 4-5-1 for this.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Would you ever stop talking such fucking shite.

If Yaya was playing he wouldn't be far off.

SantryRed wrote: »
    If Yaya was playing he wouldn't be far off.

Yaya is very overated to be fair. I'm looking forward to De Jong back in the side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

United to win this 2-1.
    Did you fall on your head lately.......or lose a bet??? :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Yaya is very overated to be fair. I'm looking forward to De Jong back in the side.

He really isn't. If De Jong plays the game will be sh1te. City won't be any where near as fluid.

De Jong v Carrick will be hilarious
    something tells me mick will develop a bad dose of diarrhoea over the coming days
    wimp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Am I alone in not really giving a ****e about this game, the only reason I will pay a slight bit of attention is because its City.

The cups are just never a priority to me these days, more of a hinderance due to extra games we may have to play :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

conno16 wrote: »
    De Jong v Carrick will be hilarious
    something tells me mick will develop a bad dose of diarrhoea over the coming days
    wimp

As both will be playing in a DM role they might not see alot of each other.
    De Jong better watch out for "The Tank" ploughing through though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,524 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

kryogen wrote: »
    Am I alone in not really giving a ****e about this game, the only reason I will pay a slight bit of attention is because its City.

The cups are just never a priority to me these days, more of a hinderance due to extra games we may have to play :)

No its the FA cup. Its priority. The Carling Cup I could take or leave.

Possible Trophies in order of importance.

1. The league
    2. The Champions league
    3. The FA cup
    4. Europa league
    5. World Club championship (if your lucky enough to be involved in it)
    6. Carling cup (might even take the one below over this, really doesn't mean much)
    7. Super Cup (same as five)

The importance of the PL and CL changes sometimes but I think the league will always just tip it as its harder to win and to stay the course. The CL usually only gets harder after the group stages.

As we have no CL this year the FA cup is prioity number two now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

The only priority for me this year is the league tbh, it is each and every year, the league is my number 1

The champions league is number 2 and the rest are just meh to me tbh

Just shows how spoilt with success I have been over the last 20 years I guess :)

I know its a chance to win a trophy, but any season we have just ended up with the FA cup to me has been a disappointment. I dont mean to disrespect it and the Carling Cup, they just dont hold any pull for me anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

SlickRic wrote: »
    no way in hell Ferguson will allow that to happen
    You can set out the perfect game plan, and still get hammered if the other team gets all the luck. Ferguson not "allowing it" is bull. Once the match starts, he hasnt a lot of say in it. It's down to the players to do the job. I highly doubt Ferguson goes out and "allows" other teams to beat United. Im guessing he wants to win every game regardless of who it's against. How come he "allowed" Newcastle to win? Because they arent City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    SlickRic wrote: »
    no way in hell Ferguson will allow that to happen
    You can set out the perfect game plan, and still get hammered if the other team gets all the luck. Ferguson not "allowing it" is bull. Once the match starts, he hasnt a lot of say in it. It's down to the players to do the job. I highly doubt Ferguson goes out and "allows" other teams to beat United. Im guessing he wants to win every game regardless of who it's against. How come he "allowed" Newcastle to win? Because they arent City?
    I think you are taking it too literally. Of course anything can happen but after the 6-1 Ferguson, without precedence I believe, said he was furious that the players were going gung ho when city already had 4, therefore 'allowing' city to pick us off. He'll set us up more defensively this time and they'll have strict orders to remain disciplined if we go behind. One drubbing was a freak,a second would be careless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭carlcon

It's amazing how people forget United had 10 men for a whole half that game, then City scored 3 in the 90th, 91st, and 93rd minute.

City are better than United, yes. But they're not 5 goals better than United.

3-1 to City sounds about right to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,674 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood