Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racist Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Cherry bomb

I saw this post and joined up so I could respond...

Having moved to Dublin from London I find Ireland is a racist country and people just accept it. Instead of trying to deal with it the attitude is "well every other country is too" or "I'm just having a laugh." People use the N***** word without a seconds thought, and will make sweeping statements about other nationalities (the usual comments about black taxi drivers *yawn* when to be honest the Irish ones have been some of the worst I have _ trying to take me on some long route because I have an English accent.)

But, I do think it’s getting worse as a result of the recession and there is an increase of racist attacks. I have heard first hand accounts of the racism that occurs on a daily basis, from random people to the Garda who threatened one man saying "I can get you deported like that." I have also been refused entry in to a club in the city when I was with a black friend from London, when I asked why they refused to give us an answer.

There is also the idea that all black people are all African _ Africa is a huge continent not a country, then you have Afro_Caribbean people, South Americans, black people who consider themselves from a European country _ France, British, Danish...

I think it comes down to the fact that immigration is a new thing to Ireland _ until about 20 years ago people left Ireland for work rather came to seek work here. Not many people over 20 had many classmates who were from an ethnic minority and so as there are now more in the schools now perhaps relations between different ethnic communities within Ireland will with the next generation.

As someone in my late 20s I don't know one Irish person who has a black friend, mainly because they have never really had the opportunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Nodin wrote: »
    You seem to be confusing immigration and asylum. The poster in question wanted us to refuse all asylum seekers and remove all non-eu persons in the country. Thats rather different than "tighter immigration controls".

That doesn't change the point that we should very few or no people being granted asylum here when the country can't afford it. Your example is stupid, say if Austria for example decided to follow this route, do you think they'd suddenly become an international pariah with countries refusing to deal with them and all Austrian nationals being deported back to Austria?

• Registered Users Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

Having moved to Dublin from London I find Ireland is a racist country and people just accept it. Instead of trying to deal with it the attitude is "well every other country is too" or "I'm just having a laugh." People use the N***** word without a seconds thought, and will make sweeping statements about other nationalities (the usual comments about black taxi drivers *yawn* when to be honest the Irish ones have been some of the worst I have _ trying to take me on some long route because I have an English accent.)

But, I do think it’s getting worse as a result of the recession and there is an increase of racist attacks. I have heard first hand accounts of the racism that occurs on a daily basis, from random people to the Garda who threatened one man saying "I can get you deported like that." I have also been refused entry in to a club in the city when I was with a black friend from London, when I asked why they refused to give us an answer.

There is also the idea that all black people are all African _ Africa is a huge continent not a country, then you have Afro_Caribbean people, South Americans, black people who consider themselves from a European country _ France, British, Danish...

I think it comes down to the fact that immigration is a new thing to Ireland _ until about 20 years ago people left Ireland for work rather came to seek work here. Not many people over 20 had many classmates who were from an ethnic minority and so as there are now more in the schools now perhaps relations between different ethnic communities within Ireland will with the next generation.

As someone in my late 20s I don't know one Irish person who has a black friend, mainly because they have never really had the opportunity.

Talk about sweeping statements:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Do us a favour and Google "race riots UK" then do the same for Ireland. Its pretty funny actually, the top stories for "race riots Ireland" seem to be about racism against Irish people. London and the UK are waaaay more racist than Ireland is or ever will be.

You trollin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Leftist wrote: »
    I used to get a late night taxi from Dublin to the outskirts alot in my early 20s.

I'd say 9/10 times the taxi driver would drop hints about how he or the garda would catch runners or how he might have a crowbar under his seat if anyone tried anything. Never really threatening me but always giving me the idea that running or hitting him would be a bad idea.

Seems like they were ****ting themselves.

Started making a bit of fun out of it. Was great when there was one of the lads in the car with me.

Just take a turn into this estate. it'll be over soon etc.

never did anything but they would sweating by the time I paid. They were actually delighted we paid.
    had to drag this up from all them months ago to say ,
    sir you are scum , scaring a man on his own while you are with your mate , while he just tries to earn a wage , har har how funny you are , you come on here spouting racism is wrong and look how you get your cheap thrills , would have been so hilarious if he was so unnerved by you and your mates scaring the **** out of him that he savagely attacked you before you got him , youd probably accuse him of being racist because you have an eastern european wife ,
    What a man you are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

That doesn't change the point that we should very few or no people being granted asylum here when the country can't afford it. Your example is stupid, say if Austria for example decided to follow this route, do you think they'd suddenly become an international pariah with countries refusing to deal with them and all Austrian nationals being deported back to Austria?

All? No. Anyone that can be without changing the law? yep. Funny you should mention Austria....
    http://www.independent.ie/world-news/austria-now-pariah-state-382164.html

That's what happened when xenophobia got elected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Who was that racist who took the drugs there, saw it on the news Fagan was it?? criminals name.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 smdylan

Not many people over 20 had many classmates who were from an ethnic minority and so as there are now more in the schools now perhaps relations between different ethnic communities within Ireland will with the next generation.

Im 22, when i was in secondary the majority of the class were from other countries then again this was an inner city school.. i actually hung around with the "foreign nationals" all from different countries, all the time.
    I'd go to their houses after school, eat their food, sleep in their houses etc.. and even after my school years id very often be the only white guy in a house full of black people... funny thing was when id walk down the street with a load of Nigerians or whatever the looks I'd get from my fellow Irish men and women were ****ing hilarious..
    now some other irish people from that same school and class are full blown racist.. its something that isnt that easily changed.. sure theres still strong racism in england *AHEM* BNP and they had people immigrating there alot longer.. there's so many factors that raise a racist.. ignorance and an us vs them mentality being the strongest so get off your high horse he looks mighty tired.. kinda like your argument ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Having moved to Dublin from London

and people just accept it. Instead of trying to deal with it the attitude is "well every other country is too" or "I'm just having a laugh." People use the N***** word without a seconds thought, and will make sweeping statements about other nationalities (the usual comments about black taxi drivers *yawn* when to be honest the Irish ones have been some of the worst I have _ trying to take me on some long route because I have an English accent.)

BNP/EDL ring any bells, Enoch Powells rivers of blood speech ? Internment / Prevention of Terrorism ACT 1974/1989. ? All British.

Most of us know very well that not all black people are from Africa.

"I find Ireland is a racist country" There are some racists in Ireland,like every other country...we're not all racist.

mattjack wrote: »

Most of us know very well that not all black people are from Africa.

Mein Gott!!!!! Zey are spreading?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I'm a child of the 70s and I was lucky enough to have been schooled with people of all colours and creeds. And I had friends who had come from other lands. My eyes were opened pretty young to the disease of racism, I can tell you. I still see it on my return to Dublin.

It's true, we have the BNP and EDL and other unpleasant types but we also have the strength and resolve to stand up to them and the minority of their followers. We don't patronise people of a different colour or creed and we are (despite the naysayers and Enoch lovers) a successful multicultural city. I believe Ireland has some way to go before the racism dies down. Dublin is making some amount of progress & I can't condemn it because it's the place that made me. There's just some bad memories that I can't quite dispell.

Upwards and onwards!

All? No. Anyone that can be without changing the law? yep. Funny you should mention Austria....
    http://www.independent.ie/world-news/austria-now-pariah-state-382164.html

That's what happened when xenophobia got elected.

Which basically amounts to some condemnation and no real action, with the sanctions lifted later in the year. And its ridiculous to compare Austria to the likes of Libya and Sudan.

Which basically amounts to some condemnation and no real action, with the sanctions lifted later in the year..

...because they got the message. An extreme right agenda isn't welcome in Europe anymore. That's what a ban on all asylum seekers would be read as.

old hippy wrote: »
    I'm a child of the 70s and I was lucky enough to have been schooled with people of all colours and creeds. And I had friends who had come from other lands. My eyes were opened pretty young to the disease of racism, I can tell you. I still see it on my return to Dublin.

It's true, we have the BNP and EDL and other unpleasant types but we also have the strength and resolve to stand up to them and the minority of their followers. We don't patronise people of a different colour or creed and we are (despite the naysayers and Enoch lovers) a successful multicultural city. I believe Ireland has some way to go before the racism dies down. Dublin is making some amount of progress & I can't condemn it because it's the place that made me. There's just some bad memories that I can't quite dispell.

Upwards and onwards!

You're roughly the same age myself,but I grew up in an Ireland with very few foreign nationals living in it,the annoying thing is the blunderbus approach where people make annoying sweeping statements saying that Ireland is racist.

I've experienced racism and I put it down to knuckle dragging thugs who'd find fault with anybody and anything.

Onwards and upwards indeed ..good post , sir.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

You're roughly the same age myself,but I grew up in an Ireland with very few foreign nationals living in it,the annoying thing is the blunderbus approach where people make annoying sweeping statements saying that Ireland is racist.

I've experienced racism and I put it down to knuckle dragging thugs who'd find fault with anybody and anything.

Onwards and upwards indeed ..good post , sir.

Yup. If we had no newcomers, there would still be a grouping of people to be the focus of ire and venom.

I can't say which country is the most racist, tbh. It depends where you're at and who you're with, I reckon.

I can understand if someone was the focus of constant racism, they may well form the opinion that the country they live in is racist.

Many years ago, I knew a black Dublin girl who I'd often have a pint with. But oh, she had experienced so much weirdness and contempt growing up in the town. Men trying to buy her favours, others treating her as an exotic accessory... I would have gone mad, if that were me.

old hippy wrote: »
    Yup. If we had no newcomers, there would still be a grouping of people to be the focus of ire and venom.

I can't say which country is the most racist, tbh. It depends where you're at and who you're with, I reckon.

I can understand if someone was the focus of constant racism, they may well form the opinion that the country they live in is racist.

Many years ago, I knew a black Dublin girl who I'd often have a pint with. But oh, she had experienced so much weirdness and contempt growing up in the town. Men trying to buy her favours, others treating her as an exotic accessory... I would have gone mad, if that were me.

yessum..Like I've said before ..I've a wife with mixed race blood and of Jewish ancestry... and the comments range from " where are you from ?" all the way up to "how come your sons are blonde haired ? " and everything in between.When you hear the Northside Dublin accent ,then you should see the reactions ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

yessum..Like I've said before ..I've a wife with mixed race blood and of Jewish ancestry... and the comments range from " where are you from ?" all the way up to "how come your sons are blonde haired ? " and everything in between.When you hear the Northside Dublin accent ,then you should see the reactions ?

I don't understand the majority of jewish people are caucasian. They looked european and some of them look Irish with their red hair and freckles! They could be easily passed many of them of as Italian

Hi Rainbow......she has two differant ancestoral backgrounds.Some of her ancestors are African...and some are East European Jewish descent.

There is an Ethiopian Tribe too called Falash's ? who were an ancient Jewish tribe.

If Ireland is really not racist then who here has friends of different colours and cultures? Do you socialise with them. Actions speak louder than words and talk is cheap.

Or who here would form relationships with people who are different colours and who here or have a relationship with a guy or girl who is a different colour and culture? Or who is in a relationship with someone of a different colour.

Hi Rainbow......she has two differant ancestoral backgrounds.Some of her ancestors are African...and some are East European Jewish descent.

There is an Ethiopian Tribe too called Falash's ? who were an ancient Jewish tribe.

Well she is mixed enthicity then. It's hard to find a clear distinction between jewish culture, religion and ethnicity because historically, there were jewish communities formed in africa, asia and europe.

...because they got the message. An extreme right agenda isn't welcome in Europe anymore. That's what a ban on all asylum seekers would be read as.

Not really, they were lifted because they were seen as fueling nationalism and anti-EU sentiment in Austria. The Freedom Party entered coalition again in 2002. It was more of an EU climbdown than an Austrian one.

Well she is mixed enthicity then. It's hard to find a clear distinction between jewish culture, religion and ethnicity because historically, there were jewish communities formed in africa, asia and europe.

yes ?

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

The "avoiding the black taxi driver" is widespread..it is in Drogheda town anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

bastados wrote: »
    The "avoiding the black taxi driver" is widespread..it is in Drogheda town anyhow.

Do you mean getting into a vehicle that you feel safe and comftable in ?

I'm sure it's not based on race merely that persons level of comfort in the vehicle.

What about other foreign taxi drivers?

Is it widespread ? or does it happen occasionally ? If its widespread would that not mean that driving a taxi for foreign national is pointless , surely by the time insurance,fuel etc is paid then its hardly worth it to go on the road at all...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

If Ireland is really not racist then who here has friends of different colours and cultures? Do you socialise with them. Actions speak louder than words and talk is cheap.
    Yup. More than I have fingers and toes. I find it can be a little difficult to get talking to them at first since they tend to be wary, but once you've shown you aren't some kind of nut there are lots of very warm communities more than happy to embrace you regardless of where you come from.
    Or who here would form relationships with people who are different colours and who here or have a relationship with a guy or girl who is a different colour and culture? Or who is in a relationship with someone of a different colour.
    Yup. Quite a few. Plenty of Irish women too, I play no favourites. :D

Yes to your first and second question,lots of friends and family members in relationships or married to foreign nationals.

Second paragraph ? N/A.

Yes to your first and second question,lots of friends and family members in relationships or married to foreign nationals.

Second paragraph ? N/A.

I am not talking about foreign nationals I am talking about people who are of different COLOURS and CULTURES. Many of the foreign nationals are caucasian, large precentage of the foreign nationals that are here are polish, eastern european, russian and europeans.

Calm down..I misread your question.Its still yes.

I am calm how did you think i am not? I wrote like THIS to make it clear what I was saying

To err is human,

to forgive is divine.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 little feat

Anti racist is a codeword for anti white.

Whats the codeword for antifreeze , i have a fear of engines getting too cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,118 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

are you posting some sort of spam code?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

That's two words.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭My_left_leg

why do people insist on calling them "foreign nationals"?
    the word is FOREIGNERS.:(

Millicent wrote: »
    That's two words.

Huh?

why do people insist on calling them "foreign nationals"?
    the word is FOREIGNERS.:(

The word is foreigner and there is nothing wrong with it. Non national is a silly word though.

The band that sang "cold as ice" copyrighted the named foreigner so the foreign nationals had to come up with something else . I think non nationals is racist , it sounds like they have no nation . They arnt from anywhere .

cloptrop wrote: »
    The band that sang "cold as ice" copyrighted the named foreigner so the foreign nationals had to come up with something else . I think non nationals is racist , it sounds like they have no nation . They arnt from anywhere .

Copyrighting the word foreigner:rolleyes:
    antifreeze :rolleyes:

You will get a lot of horse shyte in a thread called racist Ireland I suppose ;)

You should try the horse shyte thread if you think this one is bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Huh?

"Anti racist" is two words, not a codeword. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

cloptrop wrote: »

You sure will, Billy. You sure will.

Millicent wrote: »
    "Anti racist" is two words, not a codeword. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,118 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

indeed. Horse shyte about codewords spring to mind.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Indeed! ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Once they're here should probably just accept em as your own you can't be racist. Certainly not to those born here.. And their parents should leave any cultural baggage at home. Never know could be the next Phil Lynott, but with all these indigenous modern day minstrels anyhow seems like black culture is already native

Should just do our damndest not to let em in in the first place. Unique geographic opportunity.. I guess racists serve as a deterrent, but I wouldn't wanna be one

LH Pathe wrote: »
    Once they're here should probably just accept em as your own you can't be racist. Certainly not to those born here.. And their parents should leave any cultural baggage at home. Never know could be the next Phil Lynott, but with all these indigenous modern day minstrels anyhow seems like black culture is already native

Should just do our damndest not to let em in in the first place. Unique geographic opportunity.. I guess racists serve as a deterrent, but I wouldn't wanna be one

Why?