Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Racist Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Nodin wrote: »
    Wheres that part of the Budget you alleged had something to do with training foriegn doctors?

Sorry, please be a broken record and IGNORE the information supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

gbee wrote: »
    Hello Nodin, well it's like this, I will pass any taxi, shop, bus, counter, checkout, off-license, dentist, doctor [unless I'm dead already] that is any shade of Cameroon.

Seems like the committee that is KingVictor prefers confrontation.

So be it.

And in future it is KINGVictor...very important. I am very touchy like that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I read it. For reasons of your own you supplied a segment in Irish which contained no relevant information whatsoever.

Are you going to admit you're wrong and withdraw the remarks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The information supplied is of such a terrible standard, questions are asked.

It may meet the gbee test, but nobody else seems to put any worth in it, either side of the debate.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I read it. For reasons of your own you supplied a segment in Irish which contained no relevant information whatsoever.

What do you mean Irish is irrelevant? Irish is the National language, how dare you say it is irrelevant.

And yet more pathetic evasions and baiting. Try either supplying the info or withdrawing the remarks.

KINGVictor wrote: »
    And in future it is KINGVictor...very important. I am very touchy like that..

You had your chance you blew it, no respect from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Taxi drivers get attacked all the bloody time, my mother works in a taxi cab office on the radio one of the drivers got put in hospital, they some gets attacked every weekend because people are idiots when they are drunk and they are easy targets for junkies etc looking to nab some cash. If the taxi driver is black white ginger or fat im sure the person would be called a black bastard, A c**t, ginger bastard or a fat ****. I dont see race being the issue its just the person who would do this type of thing is scum.

But people avoiding cabs because the taxi driver's black now thats a different story to some one being attacked.

And yet more pathetic evasions and baiting. Try either supplying the info or withdrawing the remarks.

NOW you're saying that the Irish are Pathetic.

How dare you. You withdrawn this remake immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Ireland is not a multicultural society, it's a monocultural society where society enforces sameness. If i was a different race or ethnicity I would not come to Ireland because I wouldn't have the same chances as Irish/white people because of inequality. There is are many forms of inequality here even if you are Irish/white especially now more that ever if you are poor or have a disability, the vulnerable members of this society face alot of ineqaulities. It doesn't surprise me that there are racists here sure the government does not have any strageties in place to build intergration in this society in the communties, the education system etc.
    Anywhere could be a multicultural society if people just stopped having stupid preconceptions about other nationalities and stopped generalising. Look at all the 'scumbag' threads we usually encounter on AH, all or predominantly white, Irish people. Does that mean all Irish are scumbags? Does it fuck. Cop on to yourselves and start seeing and treating people as individuals, be they black, white, yellow or fuckin purple. And don't wait for governments to put strategies in place ffs. When did they start putting people first.

NOW you're saying that the Irish are Pathetic.

How dare you. You withdrawn this remake immediately.

And again, more baiting and evasion.

You stated
    No. We are inclined to be a teaching state for other nations anyway. Doctors, nurses, teachers, huge expense and little or no return and attempts to try and make doctors stay for five years and practice post qualifications have been rejected.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=76370697&postcount=344
    The government bring it up as cost factor often enough. Free? If one listened to some of the ministers, one would be left with that conclusion.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=76371996&postcount=348

You've provided nothing to back up any of these assertions.

You had your chance you blew it, no respect from me.

Oh you cant take obvious sarcasm now?? I thought you were a master at it?

Do you mind answering the questions I asked you?

P.S. I dont want no respect from you, all I want is for you to stop being so evasive, stop making ridiculous assumptions, accept when you are wrong and start been 'transparent'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

There is always going to be ignorant people and people who are not educated, these are usually a small minority this is a major factor in racism. Another small factor is that people fear the unknown so if they see a person that is different to them, they are inclined to fear/judge them, this is human nature but it's also human nature to be curious, interested and learning new things. I think if racism increases here if is the fault is with the government because they have no plans and strageties in place to actively intergrate people from different enthicities into the society because it's their responsibility to do that because the majority of the people here are Irish. In general it is very hard to go to school and try to make friends with one group of people or members from that group because those people may think and behave in much the same way that is different to you. So most of the responsibilty falls on the majority to accept difference, live together and learn together as human beings.

Grow up. He said your 'segment in Irish' was irrelevant. He didn't say Irish is irrelevant. But you know that already. I hope you don't expect to be taken seriously when it's obvious you regularly and purposely ignore anything that calls your reasoning into question. It's a trademark of someone who wants to provoke a response rather than someone who has something to add to a discussion. If we had a troll alert, bells would be ringing loudly.

There is always going to be ignorant people and people who are not educated, these are usually a small minority this is a major factor in racism. Another small factor is that people fear the unknown so if they see a person that is different to them, they are inclined to fear/judge them, is is human nature but it's also human nature to be curious, interested and learning new things. I think if racism increases here if is the fault is with the government because they have no plans and strageties in place to actively intergrate people from different enthicities into the society because it's their responsibility to do that because the majority of the people here are Irish. In general it is very hard to go to school and try to make friends with one make group of people because those people may think and behave much the same way that is different to you. So most of the responsibilty falls on the majority to accept difference, live together and learn together as human beings.
    I would agree with some of that, but I would add that it is not just the fault of the government if racism in Ireland increases, people need to take responsibility for their own actions and not blame it on a poor government strategy, that's providing racists with an excuse.

You've provided nothing to back up any of these assertions.

Take me to court. In the meantime, I'm supporting Irish like a true patriot.

This thread has been enlightening for race relations and your contribution has been considerable. Congratulations.

KingVictor, analyse that.

Both of you have reinforced my feelings and opinions, despite a brief exchange, the stereotypes came flooding back. It's obvious I'm wasting my time.

So I concede, victory to the taxi that no one will get into.

You concede you have nothing reasonable to offer.

Johro wrote: »
    I would agree with some of that, but I would add that it is not just the fault of the government if racism in Ireland increases, people need to take responsibility for their own actions and not blame it on a poor government strategy, that's providing racists with an excuse.

Well if there no intergration in schools then how would people who are raised with uneducated parents who can be socialised into behaving/responding differently to people who are different to them. How would those children know any better? It begins with education and the government is responsible for that.

Well if there no intergration in schools then how would people are are raised with uneducated parents who can be socialised into behaving/responding differently to people who are different to them. How would those children know any better? It begins with education and the government is responsible for that.
    Parents too. All people, in fact, are responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Right gbee, lets put your amazing nigerian detecting skills to the test. You said you can tell a Nigerian by looking at them, well, which one here is nigerian?

http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m557/Meath77/westafrica92.jpg

You concede you have nothing reasonable to offer.

I offered the hand of friendship, it was bitten off. I would not be a fan of black taxi drivers, did you read the whole thread.

Don't bother, this is my fourth night. I actually thought we, as in me a white persona and KONGVictor, a black person were communicating ~ they were only having a laugh.

So I'm the butt of their jokes. Fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Right gbee, lets put your amazing nigerian detecting skills to the test. You said you can tell a Nigerian by looking at them, well, which one here is nigerian?

Jesus, Nelly's let himself go, hasn't he?

Both of you have reinforced my feelings and opinions, despite a brief exchange, the stereotypes came flooding back. It's obvious I'm wasting my time.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Take me to court. In the meantime, I'm supporting Irish like a true patriot.

This thread has been enlightening for race relations and your contribution has been considerable. Congratulations.

So I concede, victory to the taxi that no one will get into.

As usual nonsensical!

If the 'black taxi drivers' arent getting any form of custom, they won't be in business. It tells me that Ireland is not full of racists elements like you would want.

I decided to take a Taxi in Waterford once and yer man had this sticker on his dash board saying - " you do not have to take the first taxi on the rank- support (Irish) taxi Drivers" I asked him if he genuinely meant that and he was speechless, I quietly got down and went to the next driver on the queue-who incidentally was white Irish himself.

You need to grow up Gbee - most people that want to avail of a taxi service are not bigots!- they just want want to get to their destination irrespective of the colour of the driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I offered the hand of friendship, it was bitten off. I would not be a fan of black taxi drivers, did you read the whole thread.

Don't bother, this is my fourth night. I actually thought we, as in me a white persona and KONGVictor, a black person were communicating ~ they were only having a laugh.

No one likes a troll.
    Banned

Parents too. All people, in fact, are responsible.

Well It's not a responsbility to be civilised to other people, this is basic to being human; to accept people as individuals and accept people who are different to you but not all people know that for example uneducated people who may have been raised by uneducated parents themselves and socialise into treating people who are different to you differently.

Alot of what you learn, you learned in your family by your parents, it's not entirely your fault if you behave differently to others or are a racist, that was how you were raised so how are you know it's wrong when you don't know any better. parents and families have a powerful influence on a person's life, they lived with them, they grow up with them.

I did not need to read the whole thread, the last couple of pages gave me plenty of food for thought, and three or four of your posts were enough to see that you, indeed, are not a fan of black taxi drivers. I am not of the same opinion as you, in believing all black taxi drivers are one person. In fact, all of your opinions are not opinions I would share. I'm quite happy about that.
    Btw, you are not the butt of anyone's jokes here. You're the joker, except you're not funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I did not need to read the whole thread, the last couple of pages gave me plenty of food for thought, and three or four of your posts were enough to see that you, indeed, are not a fan of black taxi drivers. I am not of the same opinion as you, in believing all black taxi drivers are one person. In fact, all of your opinions are not opinions I would share. I'm quite happy about that.
    Btw, you are not the butt of anyone's jokes here. You're the joker, except you're not funny.

In fairness to Gbee, he has a right to choose to get into a black mans taxi cab or not. Its no different from someone not wanting to get in a polish, german, french etc taxi. People have a right to choose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Paparazzo wrote: »

Is it a trick question? :pac:
    are any of them nigerian? or are they all?

I go with the girl on the right tho. Her skin tone screams Nigerian to me :pac:

LighterGuy wrote: »
    In fairness to Gbee, he has a right to choose to get into a black mans taxi cab or not. Its no different from someone not wanting to get in a polish, german, french etc taxi. People have a right to choose.
    Oh I'm not taking away his right to be racist. ;)

Indeed. Racists and sexists as good examples, are the last to think they are racist or sexist. Natural order. It's the right order of things.

The silent majority also agree with them as in "voices in my head" or people nodding in agreement or saying nothing. It's like the racist old Granny in the corner muttering away, everybody nods away or says nothing because what's the point? Meanwhile Granny keeps on believing, everybody apologising in the aftermath!

Granny thinks she has it all sussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

gbee is a legend

What does it matter who or what a taxi driver is as long as you get from A to B. What is wrong with people are they that insecure and is their lifes are sad and meaningless that they have to look at other people lives and judge them eg. taxis drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shayno90

There is always going to be ignorant people and people who are not educated, these are usually a small minority this is a major factor in racism. Another small factor is that people fear the unknown so if they see a person that is different to them, they are inclined to fear/judge them, this is human nature but it's also human nature to be curious, interested and learning new things. I think if racism increases here if is the fault is with the government because they have no plans and strageties in place to actively intergrate people from different enthicities into the society because it's their responsibility to do that because the majority of the people here are Irish. In general it is very hard to go to school and try to make friends with one group of people or members from that group because those people may think and behave in much the same way that is different to you. So most of the responsibilty falls on the majority to accept difference, live together and learn together as human beings.

Not a subject for AH, plus the poster Leftist was trolling this thread from the start.

Why should the government be expected to indoctrine the majority to accept new immigrants, are people not entitled to have their opinions instead of having a minority expecting the natives must change. What have you done to integrate into Irish society? Easy to blame the government! Can I ask what country you are from and what integration policies that government has implemented and if they were successful?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

to get back to the main question

No, I will not get into a black taxi for the following reasons

1. Had bad experience with taximan (who later was up in court for assault against a female taxi driver). I was speaking to another passenger, the taximan butted in, and gave his opinion whether we liked it or not. I got out at my destination and he tried to rip me off. I called an alternative taxi company and asked what the price would be for the trip, they quoted me half the price. I told the taximan I would not be overcharged. He caught my bag of chips and slammed them into my face. (by the way he ended up being nigerian)

2. Again got into a taxi into town. Black driver. Took forever to pick me up. I asked him when I got into the cab why it took so long. He said he had just arrived into the country the previous night and was driving his cousins car. He then proceeded to ask me where various "well known" areas were.

3. I have personally seen black taxi drivers jump the rank, and squeeze in at the top of the rank When an Irish man gets out of his taxi to tell him there is a procedure, the white man gets abused up to the high hilt and called a racist for picking on the black taxi man. I have seen this on more than one occasion.

4. I now always make a point of getting into a reputable taxi company who knows where they are going, will issue receipts and has all their paperwork on hand. If I were to get attacked in the taxi at least then I could go back to the company and report the driver. Most of the black taxi men and some irish taxi drivers are "independent" Once you get in you better take their number, car reg, car type because if anything happens in these "indepdendent" taxis you have no come back unless you have ALL the details and description of the car and the driver (who is going to do this after a few drinks). Better safe than sorry.

and finally, I have no problem whatsoever in passing by 100 drivers until I get the one that I want to drive me home. I wouldn't go into a shop and buy the first item I saw, I have a choice. This applies to my taxi home also. Doesn't make me racist. People need to wise up.

So basically you're a racist clutching at straws.

There have been lots of incidents of white, Irish taxi drivers doing all of the above and we all know that there is a major problem with no background or criminal record checking of any taxi license holders in Ireland.

If you're that worried, call a reputable taxi company to a location. The fact that the cab has been radio dispatched means it's at least logged.
    The colour of the drivers skin or nationality does not change your risk of getting into a dodgy cab!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,735 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Why do these debates always end up at black taxi drivers?

I've been in taxis deiven by black, irish and chinese men and usually don't have much prolem with them. I've met black AND Irish taxi drivers who didn't know the way in which case i just directed them to my destination.

Infact the worst experience i had in a taxi was this Irish man who literally started hurling abuses towards me for giving him a €20 note when the fare was like €7 or something. He starting going like "are you ****ing kiddind me? €20 note for this small fare?!" and called me a bastard and stuff. I just took my change which he didn't give before hurling all those abuses, and just left. What a dick head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

thefragile: because people dont seem to get banned for it so it has become the only outlet for the knuckle draggers to blow off steam against black people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

A Galway guy who was meeting us in Drumcondra and is unfamiliar with Dublin geography, was taken from Houston Station via the M50 and down the Ballymun Road!!!

That was a local Irish conman taxi driver.

I also regularly get white, Cork taxi drivers in Cork who don't know where places are! Not to mention absolutely filthy cabs.

I don't know why are on here are so fixated on African taxi drivers. The problems in the Irish taxi industry are down to universally poor regulation, and low standards and lack of enforcement of the regulations that are there already.

I'm all for competition, but I do think the taxi industry has gone from one extreme to the other. It's nothing to do with immigration, it's everything to do with FF & PD botched implementation of Thatcherite policies selectively on an easy target.

• Registered Users Posts: 332 ✭✭Shattered Dreamer

Racism is something that is engrained into the human psych. Everybody is on some level a racist. Whether you're the cross burning KKK style racist or the person that looks behind them in the pub before they tell a casual racist joke to their friends! Everybody is racist! It doesn't matter what country you are from it's human nature to distrust or even hate people just for being different. This of course doesn't make racism right but it is the truth. People who say they aren't racist at all are totally deluded. An African person rudely bumps into you in the street & doesn't apologize in your mind you say "black bastard". A white person does the same you only think "bastard". True story!

As for African taxi drivers, buy in large I have had generally a good experience of them but like with every profession you get a few bad eggs. I have argued with a couple over taking me on a Phileas Fogg & even refused to pay a guy for blatantly taking me a route to a destination I go to frequently that would cost me more money. But at the same time I have had similar experiences with "white" taxi drivers.

I feel sorry for the guy in the OP's story but that happens to all taxi drivers regardless &
    branding the Irish racist for that is well racist! But of course in "PC Ireland" the media doesn't cover things like groups of African taxi drivers throwing golf balls at Irish taxis, I have 2 uncles who are taxi men & this has happened them on more then one occasion, or 3 or 4 Nigerian men driving the same taxi on the 1 taxi license. Not being racist but alot of African taxi drivers, just like the white ones, are bloody chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Why do these debates always end up at black taxi drivers?
    To be fair, this one began with a black taxi driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I'd say certain people are not any better. I get it a lot with taxi drivers, you can smell how stupid they actually are. For example, Stephen's night I got a taxi into town with a group and we got the whole "I'll tell you one fact", the type of fact that only someone with such a low IQ could think was both true and interesting. Only for the passenger in front is a blank canvas and brought that on for a start.

You'll never see a black man with a white woman and a pram.

Little did that stupid baldy braindead prick know that I had literally just given my car to a black friend, after I collected him, his "white" wife and their child from the airport after they spent some time in Switzerland over the Christmas. I was going on a night out and drove to where I was going and asked him to park in my spot in our apartments.

It's not fair to say we're as bad, because I am not and never was but of course there is always going to be an element of people who would be better off going for a career on Jeremy Kyle as a stupid fool used for their (lack of) knowledge on anything for people to laugh at and further diminish their hopeless lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭DubDJ

I was working in a local club a while back. It had a taxi rank right beside it and I used to have to get a taxi home every Saturday night.

Over the space of 8 weeks I got 4 African taxi drivers, 1 Polish, and 3 Irish drivers. When pulling out of the rank there is a t-junction ahead and you either take a left turn which leads on a longer route or the right turn which is the shorter. The 4 African drivers took me on the long route and my fare was €3 - €5 more expensive. whereas the other 4 drivers took me on the shorter route home. After this I refused to get in a taxi with one of the African drivers.

On another occasion I pulled a taxi home and had a small amount of DJ equipment which was extremely heavy. I put it in the boot and then sat in the taxi. I told him the destination which he didn't know, even though it was just a short distance away from where we were. After explaining he then told me ok but he said he wouldn't do a u-turn to go the way of my home and wanted to take an extremely longer route through the Quays. I got out of the taxi and took all my equipment out. The next taxi driver was irish. He said no problem done and u-turn and dropped me off.

I've never had any bad experiences in taxi's with any other nationality other than African drivers. I'm not racist in the slightest and it sickens me when people use racial slurs against others. I'm only half Irish myself.

But I really just avoid African taxi drivers as much as I can. Again not racially motivated just out of bad experiences with them. And I honestly don't blame people who refuse to get in their taxi's if they've had bad experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

DubDJ wrote: »
    I was working......

But I really just avoid African taxi drivers as much as I can. Again not racially motivated just out of bad experiences with them. And I honestly don't blame people who refuse to get in their taxi's if they've had bad experiences.

But that is racist. You should disregard your previous experiences because someday you will get a taxi driven by an african who will bring you home the shortest route. It's not fair that you judge him on the behavior of some of his country mens actions. Think for example, what would jesus do....does he not talk about the shepard who leaves his whole flock so he can save the one lost sheep. This is you. You must find that lost sheep. Anything less than this is racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

A good friend of mine from Ghana worked as a taxi driver for a couple of years. Dude knew the county like the back of his hand and not a single dent on his record. He had to quit because dumb bastards wouldn't get into the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭DubDJ

But that is racist. You should disregard your previous experiences because someday you will get a taxi driven by an african who will bring you home the shortest route. It's not fair that you judge him on the behavior of some of his country mens actions. Think for example, what would jesus do....does he not talk about the shepard who leaves his whole flock so he can save the one lost sheep. This is you. You must find that lost sheep. Anything less than this is racist.

Well I don't fancy getting ripped off a few more times on the chance I might get the shortest route home. I've never had a problem in a taxi other than the incidents i've mentioned. One one occasion I actually pointed the direction when I was explaining it to him and he still took the longer route. :(

I'm not getting into their taxi's coz of their race or religion or colour of their skin. It's all down to bad experience in the past. If I go into a shop and continually the shop assistants are rude to me i'm going to avoid that shop and use an alternative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

America, Canada, the EU. We signed up to international agreements. If we renounce these, why should these states feel obligated to do us any favours? What, for instance, if the US took a more pro-active role in hunting down Irish illegals, withdrew visa arrangements for legals? What if the UK withdrew current arrangements? We'd be fucked.

They'd be within their rights to hunt down illegals I would have thought, although there's still a reasonably strong enough Irish vote to avoid making an issue out of it, not chance of the UK doing it. There's a big difference between visa arrangements and making it as far as Ireland to claim asylum. Tighter immigration controls didn't lead to Japan being isolated, or Australia now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I was working in a local club a while back. It had a taxi rank right beside it and I used to have to get a taxi home every Saturday night.

Over the space of 8 weeks I got 4 African taxi drivers, 1 Polish, and 3 Irish drivers. When pulling out of the rank there is a t-junction ahead and you either take a left turn which leads on a longer route or the right turn which is the shorter. The 4 African drivers took me on the long route and my fare was €3 - €5 more expensive. whereas the other 4 drivers took me on the shorter route home. After this I refused to get in a taxi with one of the African drivers.

On another occasion I pulled a taxi home and had a small amount of DJ equipment which was extremely heavy. I put it in the boot and then sat in the taxi. I told him the destination which he didn't know, even though it was just a short distance away from where we were. After explaining he then told me ok but he said he wouldn't do a u-turn to go the way of my home and wanted to take an extremely longer route through the Quays. I got out of the taxi and took all my equipment out. The next taxi driver was irish. He said no problem done and u-turn and dropped me off.

I've never had any bad experiences in taxi's with any other nationality other than African drivers. I'm not racist in the slightest and it sickens me when people use racial slurs against others. I'm only half Irish myself.

Just tell the guy to take the shorter right turn... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭Amber Lamps

Well I don't fancy getting ripped off a few more times on the chance I might get the shortest route home. I've never had a problem in a taxi other than the incidents i've mentioned. One one occasion I actually pointed the direction when I was explaining it to him and he still took the longer route. :(

I'm not getting into their taxi's coz of their race or religion or colour of their skin. It's all down to bad experience in the past. If I go into a shop and continually the shop assistants are rude to me i'm going to avoid that shop and use an alternative.

I hear ya and it's a shtty situation you have found yourself in but you can't discriminate on skin colour as it is what is known as racism. Suspend your racism, find that one sheep, be they black white or rainbow coloured.