Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australian Skilled Migration Visa - Megathread

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

I'm currently on a 457, have been for about 6 months and am with my employer almost a year.
    What, if any, options are open to me in the way of an independent visa? The key thing is that I don't want to have to rely on my job for my visa.
    I'm in IT and my occupation is on schedule 2 of the SOL. I looked at a 189 but it says for an occupation on schedule 2 I need to be nominated by a state / territory government or an employer. How does state nomination work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

I have 2 questions

1. Once a person has been invited to apply for a Visa, how long do they have before they actually have to make the application? Does this have to be done pretty much straight away or is there a timeframe?

2.Once a Visa has been granted how long does the person have before they actually have to go to Australia?

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭DeclanClune

beoffthen wrote: »
    Help Advise needed !!

We are a family thinking of emigrating to Australia, and we are not sure if my OH fetac level 6 major award is a recognised qualification in Australia, she runs her own pre school here in Ireland and is looking at applying for a skilled migrant visa, as child care is on the skilled jobs list but not sure if the fetac level 6 is recognised over in Australia if any has done this or has any advise we would really appreciate any help.