Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

Redsoxfan wrote: »

Just curious, what are these cars like to live with? Generally reliable mechanically/electrically? How is the 2.0 petrol to drive?

The leather looks fine to me, it's nice soft stuff so can look a bit off in photo admittedly.

When I was a rep one of the other lads had a 2.0 petrol 406 Coupe, not really fast or anything but adequate enough. Mechanically and electrically etc there's be little worry really, very decent yokes.

In general much more practical than the likes of a Celica or a Prelude, more chilled out, comfy sort of a Coupe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

taxed, tested and something a little different :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3594711

• Registered Users Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

andyseadog wrote: »
    taxed, tested and something a little different :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3594711

They are some of the worst pictures I have seen, I am sure the car looks great but those pics would put me right off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 69 ✭✭Jumpaddict

RoverJames wrote: »
    The leather looks fine to me, it's nice soft stuff so can look a bit off in photo admittedly.

When I was a rep one of the other lads had a 2.0 petrol 406 Coupe, not really fast or anything but adequate enough. Mechanically and electrically etc there's be little worry really, very decent yokes.

In general much more practical than the likes of a Celica or a Prelude, more chilled out, comfy sort of a Coupe :)

How thirsty are they Rover?

Jumpaddict wrote: »
    How thirsty are they Rover?

Dunno, wouldn't have been too bad I'd say as he had it a few years and like most companies expenses were curtailed within reason :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

They are some of the worst pictures I have seen, I am sure the car looks great but those pics would put me right off.

Agree totally. Dreadful ad.. No mention of mileage! It really frustrates me when I look at Ads. on Done Deal, sellers don't know how to promote their car's properly. (There are a few exceptions of course.)
    It is a shame they cannot produce a few decent photos of the interior and exterior, together with a factual script describing the car and it's history.
    It isn't Rocket Science!:mad:

This chap has got it right !
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/donedeal/classifieds/viewFullPhoto.jsp?cid=12667995&ad=3569848&s3=true
    Probably one of the best ads.I have seen on Done Deal to date. Decent photos, proper description and detailed history. Well done!
    I believe due to the effort the seller has gone to in describing the car and the history in the Ad., the seller has been equally fastidious in looking after his car.
    Definitely a car worth considering !!
    A very nice car

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Agree totally. Dreadful ad.. No mention of mileage! It really frustrates me when I look at Ads. on Done Deal, sellers don't know how to promote their car's properly. (There are a few exceptions of course.)
    It is a shame they cannot produce a few decent photos of the interior and exterior, together with a factual script describing the car and it's history.
    It isn't Rocket Science!:mad:

That's true but for the non car enthusiast, they probably don't give a sh1t about the ad.
    Of course we see it in a certain way but sometimes you can nearly tell from the ad if the owner was an enthusiast or not. This works out for us sometimes when we see a well laid out ad with lots of pictures and information. On the other hand, you could get a diamond of a car on DD with little or no info on the car. The price could be right but the seller might to just want rid of the car.
    I bought a Mazda 626 from a fella who said it was taking up space in the driveway. There was two lines in the ad. Car was a minter (at the time)..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    Not really my idea of Bangernomics as the feckin' tax will cost as much as the car, but this seems like a beauty

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3283953

Dunno much about these, seems that there may have been a Nikasil issue with them at some point?

A very nice car. There were Nikasil issues between 1998 and 2000. I guess at this stage any issues have been rectified. The only other issue were timing chains. If in order, one could waft around in complete luxury, for very little outlay.

Oh if it is an an import , check underside for signs of corrosion, may not be an issue, car appears well looked after.

Regarding the motor tax you are simply paying the difference on top of what you may already be paying on your 2 litre and the tax rate for this fine motor.

Go on treat yourself. You only live once!:):)

what do you reckon is wrong with this? i wouldn't mind owning it for 500 quid :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3598619

... no NCT and lots of miles I'd say, might be little actually wrong with it.

RoverJames wrote: »
    ... no NCT and lots of miles I'd say, might be little actually wrong with it.

thats exactly what i thought.

is that model C class the last of the good mercedese or the first of the **** ones :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭Top Dog

andyseadog wrote: »
    what do you reckon is wrong with this? i wouldn't mind owning it for 500 quid :pac:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3598619
    Isn't that the engine without a turbo? Making it a wheezy diesel with 2.2 road tax to go with it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Top Dog wrote: »
    Isn't that the engine without a turbo? Making it a wheezy diesel with 2.2 road tax to go with it?
    Normally aspirated Diesel engine, 16 Valve, 95HP. Excellent engine with a crappy fuel injection pump made by Lucas (weak point of this engine).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,326 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

A very nice car. There were Nikasil issues between 1998 and 2000. I guess at this stage any issues have been rectified. The only other issue were timing chains. If in order, one could waft around in complete luxury, for very little outlay.

Oh if it is an an import , check underside for signs of corrosion, may not be an issue, car appears well looked after.

Regarding the motor tax you are simply paying the difference on top of what you may already be paying on your 2 litre and the tax rate for this fine motor.

Go on treat yourself. You only live once!:):)

Thanks but I was purely curious. Paying tax on a 2 litre and a 3 litre at the moment, so that'll have to do for now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 26 190E2.516

Ive a Toyota Celsior, japanese version of the lexus ls400. Driving perfect. No Nct, but only 1000miles since last nct. Taxed as a limousine till 5/13. Id her go for €700 no offers if anyone was interested pm me. Photos here:

http://s1050.photobucket.com/albums/s412/skan01/Toyota%20Celsior/

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

190E2.516 wrote: »
    Ive a Toyota Celsior, japanese version of the lexus ls400. Driving perfect. No Nct, but only 1000miles since last nct. Taxed as a limousine till 5/13. Id her go for €700 no offers if anyone was interested pm me. Photos here:

http://s1050.photobucket.com/albums/s412/skan01/Toyota%20Celsior/

Thats a very conveniently placed reg screw! 89 i assume?

C5 hdi with test for a grand

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3564919

• Registered Users Posts: 26 190E2.516

I Was VB wrote: »
    Thats a very conveniently placed reg screw! 89 i assume?

yes 89. that was the way the previous owner left it. trust me it annoys me too. must change the plates if I get a chance or even the colour of the screwholders would do i guess. By the way 180,000km on this car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

View2-11645794.jpeg

NCT June 2012

no tax, no NCT higher mileage than 100k blah blah blah. :pac:

Not bangeromics

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭markens2

Anybody got any advice on a van for bangernomics money.

Looking for something like a caddy/kangoo or even as big as a Mercedes vito.
    Nothing too big and nothing in white.
    I'm moving house and have no need for a second car. It would make moving the dogs around much easier too.

Any advice/links appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

markens2 wrote: »

I'm moving house and have no need for a second car. It would make moving the dogs around much easier too.

How are you going to fair out with insurance tax?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭Bigus

A good example of an OXYMORON
    one to add to the list below "A van but not white"

open secret
    larger half
    clearly confused
    act naturally
    alone together
    Hell's Angels
    found missing
    liquid gas
    deafening silence
    seriously funny
    living dead

How are you going to fair out with insurance tax?

Shouldn't be too much of a problem. 26 full clean licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

So you need a van because you're moving house and it can't be white? Well why the hell not?

I think most vans are white :o

I don't like white vans. I know, not ideal, but it's what I'm after.
    I'm moving in with the girlfriend so no need for two cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

No-one should actually buy this car, but for rarity value alone...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3599623

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3606146

Nce looking punto with abarth skirts for €1150