Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

wonski wrote: »
    Also notice the hubcaps? Could at least put two matching in front, and another two in the back. And a 9'o clock deadline?
    ??

Disagree, you only see one side of the car at a time.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Saab Ed wrote: »
    I fcukin hated those Carinas.

Anyway, Here's one that I''m sure was up for sale only last week ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3716122

View2?id=13360187

It was, here's the original €1300 ad
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3687889

I'd be a bit wary if theyre selling it this soon, if it even changed hands, these can have rust problems and that one has no nct.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,310 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Cannot understand why they were called carina 11 , there were two previous mosels as fa as I am aware, first was in mid/late 70's, second was in early 80's,third was in early late 80's ,4th in mid/ late 90's and so on .
    Perhaps some Carina fans could fill in more details?
    Nevertheless all these cars were fantastic in terms of reliability:):):)

[speculation] there's a seperate JDM carina which is a little larger. There was also a JDM corolla II which was smaller than the corolla. Methinks when the original of the species moved up in size, the II designation applied to a successor model of the original size [/speculation]

I could of course be talking through my hat. To get back on topic and atone for my ramblings, I give you a sleeper for the traffic light grand prix. Not pretty and no NCT (priced accordingly) but the smiles it might generate while embarrassing Hondas could make it totally worthwhile
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3717211

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cgal093

alias no.9 wrote: »
    [speculation] there's a seperate JDM carina which is a little larger. There was also a JDM corolla II which was smaller than the corolla. Methinks when the original of the species moved up in size, the II designation applied to a successor model of the original size [/speculation]

I could of course be talking through my hat. To get back on topic and atone for my ramblings, I give you a sleeper for the traffic light grand prix. Not pretty and no NCT (priced accordingly) but the smiles it might generate while embarrassing Hondas could make it totally worthwhile

If thats not far I'd offer him the whole €400

cgal093 wrote: »
    alias no.9 wrote: »

If thats not far I'd offer him the whole €400

Tempted myself as I need a runaround soon but not back in Dublin for another week.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Garage not too far from me had a similar car on sale for a lifetime. Turns out the cills and arches where in a pretty bad shape with rust. Not implying that's a common trend but worth checking!

the reg makes it Irish, a swimmer would be more susceptible but good info

• Registered Users Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

It also means that this day next week it will be 1750....until 9 o clock:D

That corollas gone up to €2500 :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Jesus he's not messing about. Maybe he sees the aggressive sales pitch as the best ploy. The previous time waster must've pulled the pin at the last minute.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Carina II's :o

I have an 88 one (I've mentioned here a few times), 230,000 odd miles, absolutely faultless car, pretty comfortable too, lovely blue velour/suede interior with blue door cards and dash etc, real nice retro feel inside.

They will go forever, I have had to do nothing with mine except for oil & filter changes etc, incredible reliability that just does not come with modern cars.

Mine is a 1.6twin cam carburettor like the one linked below, nice and responsive engine, and actually pretty economical!

Going for nct again in a few weeks, should be ok, plenty of life in the aul doll yet.

The ones linked are pretty expensive though,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3650723

You wouldn't really want to pay asking price, but you can guarantee if minded properly and rust was safeguarded you could use one as a daily for the next 20 odd years.

I feckin love these cars

Rare Diesel

media?id=2083517350

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭Top Dog

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Meh away lad ......but a carolla is like a washing machine to people who don't give a fcuk - A 2 B motoring is all they want with no frills and no hassles.....so its a perfect banger to many, hese why its one of the worlds most popular cars ever in sales terms.
    Also, for dealers, its a bread and butter car, thats why I like em, as they tick boxes, serve purposes and they sell. :pac:
    While I agree that to many a Corolla is like white goods - this is bangernomics. It was overpriced at 2k, and its definitely overpriced at his revised 2.5k now! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Rare Diesel

media?id=2083517350

Very nice car!:)

Top Dog wrote: »
    While I agree that to many a Corolla is like white goods - this is bangernomics. It was overpriced at 2k, and its definitely overpriced at his revised 2.5k now! :eek:

Seller is codding himself!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,667 ✭✭✭maidhc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Top Dog wrote: »

yes, this is bangernomics.......well spotted.

/\ - decent looking reno there....leathers an all.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Fresh NCT 800

View2-13356270.jpeg

Taxed till December and NCT'd till Oct, 1450...

No tweek no reek :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:
    Full-13362296.jpeg

I just had to throw that up there...

maidhc wrote: »

Sot on. Good car , realistic price!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Nice clean looking Saab for €1250. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2302429

View2-13325878.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3720642

tidy looking escort 00 reg, the guts of a years test and taxed until the end of november, serviced and 4 new tyres, asking €900.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3719827

potentially not bangernomics but its €500 and looks fresh enough, although i'd say a farmer ploughed a field with it at some point. even if you spend another €500 taxing and testing it, it'd still be a below average price for that car and reliable (if dull, and green) motoring.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Another Saab. 1999 9-3 for €750. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3658305

Check out the guys video. Great effort, hope he sells it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Daniel S

<Ollie> wrote: »
    Another Saab. 1999 9-3 for €750. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3658305

Check out the guys video. Great effort, hope he sells it.
    Great effort, shíte video! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,667 ✭✭✭maidhc

andyseadog wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3719827

potentially not bangernomics but its €500 and looks fresh enough, although i'd say a farmer ploughed a field with it at some point. even if you spend another €500 taxing and testing it, it'd still be a below average price for that car and reliable (if dull, and green) motoring.