Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

MidlandsM wrote: »
    i'd drive it too, but i would'nt buy it.

I'd buy it before I'd buy a Daewoo

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

that'll be the daewoo......small money, needs a service he says

I've found when the seller says needs a service or needs a good service it means that the car is running in a pretty poor way and has being neglected badly. Just my own experience mind but it has happened more than once.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I'd buy it before I'd buy a Daewoo

that saabs engine will pop, they can't do the big miles like others can, thats why I'd not be bothered with it......grand car and all......

and here.....you've recommended daewoo's/chevey (same) before, so wind yer neck back in will ya..:D:D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77128598&postcount=1022

If you bought a Saab like that, provided it wasnt knocking, and you dropped the sump etc, wouldn't you be safe enough?

yeah, agreed, but I'd rather put me money into something else without that fecking durty messy oily hassle ...but I do DIG those 9-3's, when the diesel 1.9 comes cheap enough in bangernomics, they'll be a good yoke to buy.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

yeah, agreed, but I'd rather put me money into something else without that fecking durty messy oily hassle ...but I do DIG those 9-3's, when the diesel 1.9 comes cheap enough in bangernomics, they'll be a good yoke to buy.

That 2.0 in those 93's is a different ball game to the 2.0 in the 95's no?

to me, I just run.....:D

I think it was the pre 03 93s that were affected

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I'd be more reluctant buying a 10 year old diesel one than a 10 year old petrol one I think. To be fair there is quite a bit more that can go wrong with a diesel and there's a fair few well documented problems with those 1.9 diesels. Same engine as the Alfa AFAIK.

Cracking looking car though always liked them, good find.

Same engine in the Vectra's etc.?

Thought they were fairly alright?

In comparison to a 2002 petrol 9 3 they're a delight in so far as they won't totally sh1t themselves.

RoverJames wrote: »
    In comparison to a 2002 petrol 9 3 they're a delight in so far as they won't totally sh1t themselves.

Are they're not horrendously ugly.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Are they're not horrendously ugly.

I'm only referring to the actual engines :)

A3 , haggle required, but a solid buy.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3973663

View2-14592240.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/damagedcars/3935743

Bit of a bargain, pity out the colour.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/damagedcars/3935743

Bit of a bargain, pity out the colour.

White is cool again now. Just paint the roof black

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3974310

Who was looking for a cheap left hooker?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

I want that Volvo, I want it now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I'd seriously much rather have that Volvo than this Toyota. Why the Yaris is so expensive is beyond me.

Sobanek wrote: »
    I'd seriously much rather have that Volvo than this Toyota. Why the Yaris is so expensive is beyond me.

They're a great, reliable, one litre car and they have so many markets.

yep, they tick loads of boxes, frugal, cheap to tax, insure, hold their value and go for ever........timing chain engine too

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

dgt wrote: »

That 156 is now listed for €450.
    Nearly worth it for parts/alloys. If I was near Galway I'd be taking a look anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Very, very naff though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

Some saloons . . . .

2002, 1.6 Primera, 107k miles, €1000
    View2-14312188.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3862580

98, 1.6 Avensis, 91k miles, €1000
    Full-14613674.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3977207

01, 1.6 Primera, 95k miles, €950
    View2-14618885.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3978330

• Registered Users Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭Bigus

Now that carina is real bangernomics, one owner full history , will go forever, economical

and to give some of the idea of the value of cars in Ireland at the moment same car in Germany would cost 2500 to 3000.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

What are those 1.6 primeras like? Is that model shite, like the one that came after?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

What are those 1.6 primeras like? Is that model shite, like the one that came after?

my da has one since new & still has it, never a bother...he never checks the oil or any of the fluids:rolleyes:...jut drops it to the mechanic for its yearly service.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Nah, quite good. The 1.8 is a better driver but not a half bad car