Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

LM, can you point out to a 'tard like me what I'm looking at on the Vehicle Status Enquiry Details?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

LM, can you point out to a 'tard like me what I'm looking at on the Vehicle Status Enquiry Details?

That the car has changed hands recently indicating the current owner maybe bought it and found a serious fault/issue with it and as such is attempting to flog it on to the next punter.

Well spotted LM, apologies for answering the question directed at you. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Cheers for that. Sorry, having a dumb day.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,424 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

2ndcoming wrote: »
    I think there needs to be a second thread for badge fanboys who want to drive the 20 year old version of a car they can't afford.

Not that again...
    2ndcoming wrote: »
    To use a football analogy, it's a bit like signing Roberto Baggio for £1m cause he would have cost 10 times that 20 years ago.

You're missing the point entirely. Some of us prefer to sign a 45 year old Baggio for €1,500 per season rather than someone's blind and deaf 90 year old grandma for €500 per season ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Wasn't there something about that IS300 not so long ago?

Or was that an Is200 estate?

That was a CE reg 200

• Registered Users Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Bit of a mixed bag.!

Test, Low miles. Looks well minded.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4156425

View2-15513326.jpeg

T/B, Test, Leather, Auto, Low miles.
    Are they any good??

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4152327

View2-15492376.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Saab Ed wrote: »

Includes fleece steering wheel cover :D

Awful , awful, awful .... but you cant take from the fact that its a 2005, 7 seater, 2.0 litre turbo diesel jeep and its got lots of test. Asking €1750, you'd surely take it home for 13 or 1400 quid. If you needed a jeep..... ;)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4130791

View2-15388754.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Jesus. Lead balloon depreciation there.

Clean though.

EDIT: Just had a look on wiki, the 2.0l diesel in the Safari comes with a mind blowing 85hp. My 95 1.4 clio comes with 4 less lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

If I was looking for a jeep and that was the best I could afford I think I would buy some wellies and walk instead. :p

BX 19 wrote: »
    Jesus. Lead balloon depreciation there.

Clean though.

EDIT: Just had a look on wiki, the 2.0l diesel in the Safari comes with a mind blowing 85hp. My 95 1.4 clio comes with 4 less lol.

Oh I've driven one. Slower than agreement on Middle East Peace settlement but you still cant argue with the value.

Ah here we go. Bloody honest motoring in stellar package ( no hyundai jokes please :D) . Probably one of the best all rounder cars in the world.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3985633

View2-14653305.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Ah here we go. Bloody honest motoring in stellar package ( no hyundai jokes please :D) . Probably one of the best all rounder cars in the world.

View2-14653305.jpeg

Now that is proper 4wd bangernomics. Good find.

Saloons dont seem to cut it like the estate version, but still ....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4096233

View2-15217386.jpeg

Ok, not strickly bangernomics i.e. on a budget , but check ths out. Close to 100k new, yours for 2% of that today .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4049677

View2-14982671.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

and taxed till Feb '13!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

^^Not saying its in bad condition per se but the think the seller needs to get a grasp of the proper meaning of "mint condition"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

View2-14653305.jpeg

Irish car from new but a square plate?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4154894

Pity about the obvious lack of pictures but should be pretty cheap hassle free motoring if it is as the seller describes....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Irish car from new but a square plate?
    Fashion victim? Has the proper length-ways numberplate at the rear anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Ok, not strickly bangernomics i.e. on a budget , but check ths out. Close to 100k new, yours for 2% of that today .....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4049677

View2-14982671.jpeg

these lads are always "Selling the car because leaving the country"

.......like I give a fcuk where you're going.......but I would give a fcuk if the air suspension managment light was showing a malfunction......because then the car is worth 2 tonne in SCRAP!!

MidlandsM wrote: »

.......like I give a fcuk where you're going.......but I would give a fcuk if the air suspension managment light was showing a malfunction......because then the car is worth 2 tonne in SCRAP!!

Bad day hey! ...... we all have them.

Cheap as chips leg up on to the motoring ladder. Jappo so 200k is probably closer to the mark but lots of good signs like same owner for years, good tax and test ( showing its upkeep) and best of all a full tank. People who look after cars have full tanks :p

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4162054

View2-15542815.jpeg

Only for the mechanics among us ...... ( with a big discount first of course ;))

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4161153

View2-15537871.jpeg

RJ - Where are you!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

MidlandsM wrote: »

That's the kinda that would have me worried. Is the secret with luxobarges to have a few grand(atleast i guess) on top of the purchase price in the kitty incase something goes bang? Or buy them super cheap and then run them into the ground.

Full-14410811.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3935524
    I'd love to bite the bullet on one of these someday. (If I had the cash :rolleyes:).

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4159598

This was my old car, Has a lot of history and was the nicest car to go across country in that I have owned.

It only passed the nct about 5 months ago and was backdated,
    When I had it there was a good bit of lacquor peel on the boot but the fella who bought it off me was saying he was going to spray it.
    Was a very nice car.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4159598
    View2-15529612.jpeg

This was my old car, Has a lot of history and was the nicest car to go across country in that I have owned.

It only passed the nct about 5 months ago and was backdated,
    When I had it there was a good bit of lacquor peel on the boot but the fella who bought it off me was saying he was going to spray it.
    Was a very nice car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Remmy wrote: »
    I'd love to bite the bullet on one of these someday. (If I had the cash :rolleyes:).

I damn nearly bought a 95 4.2 quattro a few years ago.... What a car it was!

I'm still a hunting for one. At my price, of course ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Bad day hey! ...... we all have them.

me no, :D ..I;ve bought several of those S's for export, you got to know whats what with them..;) ...rust, suspension issues, electrical issues, the lot....