Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

You no likey? What's wrong with that bus? I was really fecking contemplating it. :(

ViewThumb-16567841.jpeg

No tax or test, but if she's clean it might be worth a punt for €700

2001 1.4p with 129 miles.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4375071

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Jayop wrote: »
    You no likey? What's wrong with that bus? I was really fecking contemplating it. :(
    1.4 golfs are best avoided. They have a very soft engine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4467188

View2-17012791.jpeg

Poor photos, but a 2000 1.4p Golf just tested today with 135k mls for €1200.

I'm thinking about it!!

Isn't there talk that the 1.4 is under powered?

None the less they're a nice car.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,616 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Baseline (I think), lots of miles, due a t/belt (every 40k if I'm not mistaken), looks crap, over priced, 1.4l suffers hgf,

Completely over rated.

The again if you REALLY want a Golf go ahead

Same with many of people selling cars though!

Gas thing is he'd probably sell it quicker in the main motors section:pac:
    He more than likely would :D. Many people would dismiss that ad straight away thinking the car is well bashed :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 73,455 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Just to restate where I'm at.

I have up to a limit of €1500 to buy a motor tomorrow as my old focus is on it's last legs. I need a decent cleanish car that I can use as a family car (2 kids) and bring to work. Preferably from Connaught/Donegal/Longford/Cavan/Monaghan so that I can get a look at it without too much driving.

I would like to buy this weekend though.

4/5 doors
    petrol up to 1.6
    NCT would be good
    tax would be nice
    presentable
    not gonna cost a bomb to keep

What about that Octavia? I know there's no test, but even if I budgeted another 400 for putting it through it looks a decent buy.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Had a 130bhp 6 speed one of those a while back. LOVED IT but the road noise was very tiring

Sold with warranty so nct should be no issue, bit expensive admittedly. http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4053384

Picked one up last march for my sister, a 99 for 650, rough enough physically but mechanically sound, she only wanted it for a month or so temporary yoke, she still has it, grand bus to be fair.

1450 is a bit tasty for a 13y/o car though.

They might knock a few quid off, it is expensive no doubt but looks genuine. Only a suggestion based on your location and needing to buy quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

jharr100 wrote: »
    Those Mitsubishi GDI engines can be very troublesome,
    Tread carefully.

GDI is 1.9, this one is 1.8

I appreciate all the help. My head is wrecked looking at adds the past week or two. I had my mind made up on a 03 Laguna in Galway but it just seemed off to me. The add was put up on 3 separate occasions and a different price each time.

Alloys on one side and hubcaps on the other?:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭Fuh Q

Just to restate where I'm at.

I have up to a limit of €1500 to buy a motor tomorrow as my old focus is on it's last legs. I need a decent cleanish car that I can use as a family car (2 kids) and bring to work. Preferably from Connaught/Donegal/Longford/Cavan/Monaghan so that I can get a look at it without too much driving.

I would like to buy this weekend though.

4/5 doors
    petrol up to 1.6
    NCT would be good
    tax would be nice
    presentable
    not gonna cost a bomb to keep

What about that Octavia? I know there's no test, but even if I budgeted another 400 for putting it through it looks a decent buy.

If you could go up to a 1.8 then I recon the best bang for your buck out there at the moment is the Honda Accord. Get one with a decent NCT on it and the only thing you need to worry about is road tax and fuel. Will out live the Focus, Octavia ect..
    Im a Jap car fan so I would automatically dismiss Fords, VW's ect but thats just me.

If you wanted to save money then go for the 1.3 Corolla, very economical and more reliable than the 1.4 vvti.

Good luck with the search...

Alloys on one side and hubcaps on the other?:pac:

:) That's why I'm on here!! I'd never spot that in a million years.
    Fuh Q wrote: »
    If you could go up to a 1.8 then I recon the best bang for your buck out there at the moment is the Honda Accord. Get one with a decent NCT on it and the only thing you need to worry about is road tax and fuel. Will out live the Focus, Octavia ect..
    Im a Jap car fan so I would automatically dismiss Fords, VW's ect but thats just me.

If you wanted to save money then go for the 1.3 Corolla, very economical and more reliable than the 1.4 vvti.

Good luck with the search...

Thanks, could be good advise. I'll have a gander for them now!!

:) That's why I'm on here!! I'd never spot that in a million years.

Thanks, could be good advise. I'll have a gander for them now!!

Probably too far away from you ? http://www.gumtree.ie/cp-cars-in-kerry/honda-accord-01-nct-11-2013-447345306

I have a lot of time for those 323's. 1.5 drives better and is more economical.

Corolla VVTI's are a good, reliable (they may burn some oil) and cheap to run.

The Mazda will be more fun but we are really splitting hairs as both are fairly bland

lol, my ould focus would never make it all the way from Sligo to Kerry and back. I'd have to thumb it down!!

That looks a lovely motor though, but would the insurance crowd start moaning about a 'boy racer' yoke like that??

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I have a lot of time for those 323's. 1.5 drives better and is more economical.

Corolla VVTI's are a good, reliable (they may burn some oil) and cheap to run.

The Mazda will be more fun but we are really splitting hairs as both are fairly bland
    The Mazda will have a slighly sportier drive as you say. But the Corolla especially with the 4e-fe engine definatly has the edge in terms of quality.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    The Mazda will have a slighly sportier drive as you say. But the Corolla especially with the 4e-fe engine definatly has the edge in terms of quality.

Agree on both counts but I've never had an issue with the VVTI apart from the oil burning.

I've had both engines and just found the VVTI a nicer drive. In fact i always liked the engine and gearbox. I felt the overall package was let down by numb steering and suspension.

Either way I'd give a 323 or Corolla a thumbs up for cheap no nonsense motoring or indeed the Carisma RJ linked to earlier

lol, my ould focus would never make it all the way from Sligo to Kerry and back. I'd have to thumb it down!!

That looks a lovely motor though, but would the insurance crowd start moaning about a 'boy racer' yoke like that??

Give them a call, you might be suprised.

Jayop any of these?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4420935

NCT
    No tax mentioned
    Tidy looking.

View2-16786590.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4393769

950e
    No tax mentioned, but could use your left over money for that
    6months test

View2-16654257.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4423710

No tax- bargaining tool?
    3 months NCT
    Its a mondeo :D
    1.8 petrol though

View2-16800595.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4452450

1200e
    Tax and NCT for 5 months
    1.4 petrol

View2-16939360.jpeg

The miliage on that Astra is incredible!!!

I had a look at that Laguna and was seriously considering it. She looks clean, I was a wee bit worried about the miles, but it's what I have to expect given what I'm going to pay. Might go to see it tomorrow morning.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Agree on both counts but I've never had an issue with the VVTI apart from the oil burning.

I've had both engines and just found the VVTI a nicer drive. In fact i always liked the engine and gearbox. I felt the overall package was let down by numb steering and suspension.

Either way I'd give a 323 or Corolla a thumbs up for cheap no nonsense motoring or indeed the Carisma RJ linked to earlier
    You are correct the vvti is a nicer drive. I find it to be a quieter engine through the rev range than the 4e-fe and it's more nippy also. The 4e-fe ages better though and can withstand more abuse.

Jayop any of these?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4420935

NCT
    No tax mentioned
    Tidy looking.

View2-16786590.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4393769

950e
    No tax mentioned, but could use your left over money for that
    6months test

View2-16654257.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4423710

No tax- bargaining tool?
    3 months NCT
    Its a mondeo :D
    1.8 petrol though

View2-16800595.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4452450

1200e
    Tax and NCT for 5 months
    1.4 petrol

View2-16939360.jpeg

OP, if reliability is important to you I would avoid all of the above...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

avoid Avensis? why, if you don't mind me asking?

Avoid of all the avensis? The army could use them to clear land mines and it'd be grand on the other side :pac:

The astra and the laguna I can understand to an extent, but why the ford?