Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    @Rover James trading up for one of these?..............

Not far off it maybe :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

RoverJames wrote: »

Funnily enough, I always liked those cars, had it been a manual and you'd been selling it over the summer I probably would have been very interested.

Best of luck with selling it anyhow, thoughts on a replacement?

166man wrote: »
    Best of luck with selling it anyhow, thoughts on a replacement?

Cheers :)

I bought the replacement today but I won't be collecting it until Thurs or Fri, paperwork etc won't be done 'till than either so mightn't go to plan, fingers crossed it does though, I'm happy enough with what I'm after hopefully ending up with, my shortlist (that I didn't elaborate on) some weeks back made grim enough reading..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83037626&postcount=7771

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83037887&postcount=7776

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Cheers :)

I bought the replacement today but I won't be collecting it until Thurs or Fri, paperwork etc won't be done 'till than either so mightn't go to plan, fingers crossed it does though, I'm happy enough with what I'm after hopefully ending up with, my shortlist (that I didn't elaborate on) some weeks back made grim enough reading..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83037626&postcount=7771

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=83037887&postcount=7776

You didn't buy an Alfa did you? I notice that my dad's old 166 which was for sale in Cork has vanished off donedeal...;):D

You didn't buy an Alfa did you?............sale in Cork .........

Nope.
    Had to go outside of Cork too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Such a tease :P What is it ya fecker? You went it did the right thing didn't you, you bought a TDi Octavia. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Soarer

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    OK well lets go through the facts.

2000 to 2013 is 13 years old not 12 (1995 to 2013 is 18 I think this is the car you are referring to?)

The tax is €1809 a year.

The second car is a one owner car with only 95000 miles and a full Lexus service history. Even though it is 13 years old I would say it is still faster, quieter, more comfortable and better equipped than 99% of the cars on the road today, new or old.

As for being a "guzzler" 2 people on here (http://www.fuelly.com/car/lexus/ls400/2000) have averaged over 28mpg.

Why do they fukk things up with outrageous tax like that?
    That car deserves, and it more than capable, to be driven everyday. If they put the top rate at €1000 and got that car driving daily, surely they'll make near enough tax back on the fuel it'll use?
    And that's just one example. There are plenty of excellent, slightly older, big engined cars in the thread that'll end up rotting because of an antiquated tax system.
    I'd buy that LS in a heartbeat, but there's no way I'm giving that shower of cnuts €1800, on top of everything they're taking from me already. I'd fill it with petrol every week though.

/rant

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Such a tease :P What is it ya fecker? You went it did the right thing didn't you, you bought a TDi Octavia. :D

When she's landed on the drive I'll break the news :)
    Tdi Octavia? Well, the new thing is diesel, chaayp tax and has a big boot :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Well, the new thing is diesel, chaayp tax and has a big boot :o
    Hmm..., sounds like a downgrade to me, unless you got something like this ;).

Ups... Sorry, you mentioned the tax. Not sure about the definition of chaayp :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I am tempted, they're great cars and I know you're an enthusiast. Those KV6s are great engines and I love the interior. MPG isn't too bad either, I've heard reports of 28mpg in normal driving and 32 on a run. If it's not sold by my March payday I may well pay you a visit.

Edit: I may well be missing something, but I don't see a cambelt change (due at 90k I think) in the list of stuff done. I know a cambelt change on a KV6 is expensive though, maybe too expensive on a car worth maybe €950 in the current market.

Cambelts confab, 3 of them, not done, wasn't worth it imo on her when she was bought 30 months ago.

I see 30 mpg on a run, low 20s mixed.

When she's landed on the drive I'll break the news :)
    Tdi Octavia? Well, the new thing is diesel, chaayp tax and has a big boot :o

Is it one of these !!!!!

Fiat-Palio-weekend-stile16-mpi-200905280241496.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

What. The. ****. Is that thing?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiat_Palio

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Looks like a Fiat Palio Weekend. What a beautiful name for a sh8 box :).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Cheap reliable motoring assuming it doesn't need much for a test.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4661715

View2?id=17994955

Nice looking diesel with plenty of test.
    decent reliable motor.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4661642

View2-17994579.jpeg

Boring as they come, but do a little deal on the price and its sit in a drive away.!
    Tax & Test.
    Decent runaround for less than €1k.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4661478

View2?id=17993755

Maybe a little expensive, but its got a heap of tax & test. Low miles and clean.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4661231

View2?id=17992523

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

W123-80's wrote: »
    Boring as they come, but do a little deal on the price and its sit in a drive away.!
    Tax & Test.
    Decent runaround for less than €1k.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4661478

View2?id=17993755

Having owned one of these, I can't tell enuf people to run a mile. Shocking engine, bad handling and a nightmare to have, especially compared to the 98 model. That had sub par handlin too but a great twin cam engine.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,412 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Are those the ones that the timing chain fails on after 4 years / 40k miles? Disastrous. That car ended Nissans reputation for reliability...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4659559

View2-17984225.jpeg

Now this looks familiar...:D

Nice looking car for the money though to be fair.

Sold, more or less :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,616 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Sold, more or less :)

Hope the new owner enjoys it.

Lovely cars

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

mondymike wrote: »
    Having owned one of these, I can't tell enuf people to run a mile. Shocking engine, bad handling and a nightmare to have, especially compared to the 98 model. That had sub par handlin too but a great twin cam engine.

I agree with you there mate, I had the exact same problem, Plus a wheel bearing, gearbox and then an engine mount. heaps of scrap, I only had it 9 months :(

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Pitty it's the 1.4 not the 1.2. When did they change over to the 1.2?

Any way NCT till late november and timing belt done :) how bad could it be.

Full-17992710.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4659563

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Saab Ed wrote: »

if you got it for 1500 it would be a grand car. Its petrol so theres haggle room.

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

unkel wrote: »
    Are those the ones that the timing chain fails on after 4 years / 40k miles? Disastrous. That car ended Nissans reputation for reliability...

Yep. I bought it based on my experience with a mk1 almera and my brothers with a primera. Big mistake

• Registered Users Posts: 65,412 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

My last Nissan was a P10 Primera 1.6SLX hatchback. I still see it around sometimes :)

I've no interest in any newer Nissans except one, and that one will never be bangernomics money :D

2009_nissan_gt-r_base-pic-46599.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

Low miles, a years nct and taxed until august
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4664543

View2-18008546.jpeg