Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

00833827 wrote: »
    A few lads before last winter up around Wicklow way were looking for a commuter wagon if the snow came again.
    For something like that an older Subaru Legacy, Outback or Forester would be nicer ;).

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭aodhan2

Hellrazer wrote: »

Im in the same boat.Lookign for a really really cheap estate just for my Newfie.

The inside of it is going to get wrecked so what a better place than this thread to find one!!!

I think that Alfa might be too "good" for my doggy!!!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4664015

Not sure if that's been posted . It's in stoneybatter ,

Hopefully link works !

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

aodhan2 wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4664015

Not sure if that's been posted . It's in stoneybatter ,

Hopefully link works !

Close to where I work.I might make a call tomorrow.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Saab Ed wrote: »
    What a cool daily driver. Tiny tax, tiny mileage, run's on fumes, classic insurance and nobody else has one.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/4697564

View2?id=18173819

I see a mint looking one of these parked in a garden in finglas everyday. Keep meaning to knock in and see if he wants to sell!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭W123-80's

These won't be around forever..!
    This one looks good.

View2?id=18179040

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4698616

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

such a great recession car is the carolla! ride out the recession in one....

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭thedarksh1te

kceire wrote: »
    I see a mint looking one of these parked in a garden in finglas everyday. Keep meaning to knock in and see if he wants to sell!

My dad had two of these when I was a kid, two ****eboxes! Good memories though one clutch went in the Dublin mountains and the other ones exhaust fell off on the motorway. One time the window wipers packed in and my dad had to drive home with his head out the window in the pissing rain! Much to the amusement of the rest of the family smile.pngsmile.png

Nice looking Subaru with a new test.
    No mention of miles. Looks pretty unmolested though.
    http://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/3-series/swap-or-sale-bargin/2758533

ODc3ZTQ4NzVkOGUyOWIxYzg5MjYxN2E3NWJjY2UwYmJhdMfSwN5U_xaHnRLaOCg2aHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vZmI4ZDQ4NGU3YTcwYzQ1Yjc2MzcwNGQ3MGQxZGQxNDM5ODJkN2JhNDFjNjU0ZjExNWI3Njg3NjM3OTE4NjZiMC5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9jYXItaW1hZ2UuanBnfA==.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

NCT till April 14, 950

Full-18021573.jpeg

NCT till Jan, 900

Get the owner to knock a few quid off for that crap engine and metric boots ;)
    Full-18179508.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭maidhc

Full disclosure here (it is my car). It must go because I got something else! (hint in the Photos!). There is room for discussion in the price given the back tyres aren't wonderful.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4700679

Full-18188964.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Nice honest car!

maidhc wrote: »
    Full disclosure here (it is my car). It must go because I got something else! (hint in the Photos!). There is room for discussion in the price given the back tyres aren't wonderful.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4700679

Full-18188964.jpeg
    Good luck with the sale and well wear with the Mercedes..(I think!)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

dgt wrote: »
    Get the owner to knock a few quid off for that crap engine and metric boots ;)

Tyres alone might be worth €900. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Tyres alone might be worth €900. :D

Better to pick up a set of 15s and use them instead!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

W123-80's wrote: »
    Nice looking Subaru with a new test.
    No mention of miles. Looks pretty unmolested though.
    http://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/3-series/swap-or-sale-bargin/2758533

ODc3ZTQ4NzVkOGUyOWIxYzg5MjYxN2E3NWJjY2UwYmJhdMfSwN5U_xaHnRLaOCg2aHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vZmI4ZDQ4NGU3YTcwYzQ1Yjc2MzcwNGQ3MGQxZGQxNDM5ODJkN2JhNDFjNjU0ZjExNWI3Njg3NjM3OTE4NjZiMC5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9jYXItaW1hZ2UuanBnfA==.jpg

all 1.5 and 1.6 Subarus Should be SHOT in a face and burried somewhere deep in ocean.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

all 1.5 and 1.6 Subarus Should be SHOT in a face and burried somewhere deep in ocean.

It's not their fault they have bigger "spoilers" than you.

Are they that unreliable?

They are that "shiet" i would put.

Putting 1.5/1.6 engine in to heavy AWD chassis is the dumbest thing anyone could do.

*It is as thirsty as 2.0 turbo WRX, but totally gutless
    * It is all show and no poke. Like having A Porn Star, but with all holes plugged up.
    *Some people call Boxer engines "soft", Some poeple can feck off. Though 1.6 is not the best choice for the job in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Putting 1.5/1.6 engine in to heavy AWD chassis is the dumbest thing anyone could do.
    Models with the 1.6l engine came only as 2WD AFAIK.
    For most of people looking for that model, cheaper tax, affordable insurance and reliability is higher on the priority list than the racing pedigree ;).

* It is all show and no poke. Like having A Porn Star, but with all holes plugged up.
    *Some people call Boxer engines "soft", Some poeple can feck off. Though 1.6 is not the best choice for the job in the first place.

I see. So from a bangernomics point of view its a bad choice due to poor fuel economy.
    I don't put to much emphasis on poke when looking for bangernomics.
    But that's only me. Different strokes I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭maidhc

Good luck with the sale and well wear with the Mercedes..(I think!)

Thanks. Correct on the MB!

Seweryn wrote: »
    Models with the 1.6l engine came only as 2WD AFAIK.

For most of people looking for that model, cheaper tax, affordable insurance and reliability is higher on the priority list than the racing pedigree ;).

Only the newer ones are 4WD then. So it makes it even worse. a 2WD subaru...

Cheaper tax? by 200eu per year? Its MPG is as bad as WRX. Reliability wont be any better.

At work there are 2 Subarus. My one 2.0 WRX and 07 1.6 STI replica ( or 1.5 cant remember ). The fella Who owns it get so much slagging even today. His car already has problems and he puts same amount of petrol in to it. His car is only 400eu per year cheaper then my one. ( tax+insurance ).

For the love of god, if someone wants Subaru, then at least you should go for WRX. In my case i wanted WRX ( even if i could aford STI ), because it has Leather heated seats, all electrics, normal non agony range suspension, enough power to over take micras. Sti is lovely, but not for daily use.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,074 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4701511

ready to roll for
    Not bad 5 door

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4700909
    sold one minute ago
    Fair play
    Piece of crap :P

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Nothing worse than wannabe artsy photographers...wtf is that chap on?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I've driven two 1.6 Subaru's and there was plenty enough poke for what it is.

As regards a 2.0 turbo being the same as a 1.6 on fuel, frankly that's utter bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

• Registered Users Posts: 65,409 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Nothing worse than wannabe artsy photographers...wtf is that chap on?

Nice
    afla
    though :D