Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

3344853http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3344853

33448531997 LOW MILEAGE 1.6 Nissan Primera. PWO
    80,000 Miles
    Great service History
    TAXED till 03-13.
    NCT 04-13
    Midleton Area
    Chain drive so no timing belt, tyres good
    No silly offers please as i just spent 478euro on TAX and put it through the NCT last month.

Looks like a good deal!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Jaysus! A years tax! Why tax it for a year and then sell it?

• Registered Users Posts: 65,423 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Jaysus! A years tax! Why tax it for a year and then sell it?

Why oh why?

Last August the owner of my Saab spent €2k on a lot of work in a Saab main dealer. The car then passed the NCT and he sold it for €1,850 a few days later. The next owner sold it to me less than 3 months later for €1,350

Car just passed NCT with flying colours. These things don't make sense, they just happen...

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

Why tax it for a year and then sell it?

Its part of the new Austerity Law...seller and buyer will have to tax for a year.
    Seriously though, its probably only worth 400 without the tax, so new buyer is paying for it anyway. Having said that - it'll sell quick enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Quazzie wrote: »
    Not always. Some people have it turned off.

Aw, I see.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,307 ✭✭✭✭Esel

3344853http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3344853

33448531997 LOW MILEAGE 1.6 Nissan Primera. PWO
    80,000 Miles
    Great service History
    TAXED till 03-13.
    NCT 04-13
    Midleton Area
    Chain drive so no timing belt, tyres good
    No silly offers please as i just spent 478euro on TAX and put it through the NCT last month.
    Looks like a good deal!
    Looks like a shill to me.... :D

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Lets see if I can still do this.

Almera and a Polo with long NCT. 575 and 500 respectively.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3345548

View2-11605182.jpeg

I'm a sucker for these Laguna's, just NCT'd, 650.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3345484

View2-11604945.jpeg

A pot luck Fiesta but cheap at 375, 325 would take it and you could drive it into the ground til the NCT is up.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3279418

Full-11284031.jpeg

A diesil laguna, 99, 500euro, taxed and NCT til next year.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3344981

View2-11602628.jpeg

And a ford Ka for 500 with NCT til the end of the year and tax for 2 months.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3344665

View2-11601208.jpeg

Okay, lots of bangers, but ****, been off this a while, just thought I'd bring a little fun back. That Ka looks like good craic!

Esel wrote: »
    Looks like a shill to me.... :D

That's why i asked about the tax!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Well, nobody will know until someone drives the car and sees the logbook. Until then, its a bargain. (To me anyway).

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

cadaliac wrote: »
    Well, nobody will know until someone drives the car and sees the logbook. Until then, its a bargain. (To me anyway).

if someone checks it up on cartell.ie or silimiar it will say what tax catagory its under.. ie PSV/Taxi or Private:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Car is sold now but the op's name is Peter and his location is Cork. The ad had the same details so yes my money is on shilling..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

barura wrote: »
    A diesil laguna, 99, 500euro, taxed and NCT til next year.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3344981
    Wow that Laguna didnt last long!

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Car is sold now but the op's name is Peter and his location is Cork. The ad had the same details so yes my money is on shilling..

i honeslty don't mind shilling when the car is suitable!

To those who post their 2 grand over priced, taxless cars, the ban stick awaits :pac:

i honeslty don't mind shilling when the car is suitable!

As long as the poster is open about it being their car!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Saw that 166 earlier and for a second, just a little sliver of time, I actually thought about calling him ........ then I caught a hold of myself :D

Lovelyoke but i'm not sure I'd give 2450 for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

Full-11626592.jpeg

Probably about four times what its worth, but these were smashing cars back in the day.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3350137

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Much as I like those XMs, they were junk when they left the factory and its a miracle its running today. At that price it should be in the dreamers thread. Would I love it ? ... Yes. Would I pay more than 200 quid for it? ... No.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    ......... ... Yes. Would I pay more than 200 quid for it? ... No.

I saw a petrol one go for less than that at auction in 2003, 'twas running grand but the indicators and brake lights were flashing on and off iirc.

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Saw that 166 earlier and for a second, just a little sliver of time, I actually thought about calling him ........ then I caught a hold of myself :D

Lovelyoke but i'm not sure I'd give 2450 for it.

You'd be buying the straightest 166, my dad owned it from new up until 18 months ago. The current seller has done 40k km in 18 months! The old man want's it back... Cannot believe wheels changed for those yokes..

look familiar

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75253085 :D

Holy mother of god the wheels?!

Jesus wept

It's NCTable in less than a month and won't be fetching any more than the asking price tested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

Good price for a diesel Golf these days...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3350336

V480 wrote: »

If it sounds too good to be true etc etc....

V480 wrote: »

300 worth of tax too :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

166man wrote: »
    You'd be buying the straightest 166, my dad owned it from new up until 18 months ago. The current seller has done 40k km in 18 months! The old man want's it back... Cannot believe wheels changed for those yokes..

look familiar

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75253085 :D

The wheels on it now are shocking...:(:mad:

166man wrote: »
    If it sounds too good to be true etc etc....

You'd have a look see before buying :)

RoverJames wrote: »

Scam/fake!

The wheels on it now are shocking...:(:mad:

Aren't they? I really am lost with the wheels but the rest of the car looks ok for 18 months spent on Cork Roads. :p
    RoverJames wrote: »

Of course I was pointing out that Golf TDI's are in high demand now and that one with the right engine, low mileage and long NCT and Tax just seems a little too good for the money.

If she's genuine though it's a bargain.

FrontDoor wrote: »
    Probably about four times what its worth

About that :)

And a diesel car with a full service history needing a new engine at 100k miles? What's that all about?