Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government on a rampage ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Not realy, hundreds of travel agents have become unemployed in Ireland the last few years

I believe there was a sit in protest in Dublin

You can DIY these days over the internet

Because taxes were raised and people have less disposable income.

I know you can buy it over the internet. We live in a free country and can do what we want. I'd rather this than communism or socialism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Davy r

9.10 for 20 smokes shocking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Chuck,
    No offense. But you are an idiot :)
    I order 12 euro worth of food. Total is 13.90 to get delivered. That 1.90 (etc) is the drivers cut for doing the work. The driver also gets a standard flat rate from the takeaway that night. Irregardless of how many orders he may get or not. But flat rate is chump change. Money is made from orders on the night.

You didnt know that did you :)
    you thought a driver only works for tips right?

You are talking absolute ****.

So people should be allowed do jobs tax free? They're perfectly right to be going after people not paying tax. Why should they be allowed to earn decent money and not pay tax when everyone else gets taxed to the hilt?
    Your weird delusion that because people use the service they are somehow condoning it is just that, ****ing delusional. Take aways as businesses pay tax. Therefore you would expect their employees to be be paying tax. Not all delivery drivers get away without paying tax.
    You are coming across as an absolute moron, calling other people idiots because they dont assume all delivery driver jobs are nixers. Why would anyone assume that? You pay a business money you expect them to abide by the law of the land. How the hell is the whole world supposed to know whether the delivery drivers are paying tax. I dont go into tescos and ask to see PAYE records and prsi payments before i go to the till I shouldnt be expected to do it for a chicken curry when I'm half cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

BOHtox wrote: »

A fact proven by history; President Ronald Regan lowered taxes and the economy started to climb and climb and climb. The government actually collects more money with a lower tax rate because business and the economy boom; when taxes are raised the exact opposite takes place.

He cut taxes and unemployment shot up, he then raised taxes for middle earner every year he was in office bar the first. He protected and move wealth to the high earners.
    He was very short sighted, his initial cut in taxes needed to be rectified in every budget afterwards. If i knew enough on the topic i could argue that his dismantling of the unions pushed productivity up and industry prospered. His deficit was only really wiped out by the boom under bush/clinton.

I think in the situation we are in, Regannomices would destroy the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Chocablock wrote: »
    I am actually working as a delivery driver at the moment and I got paid 500 for two weeks work. My petrol costs were around 70 euro a week which left me 180 a week. I have also had to pay for other car maintenance things like a new tyre because of a puncture. The only way that most other drivers can make an amount of money to pay for their rent, food costs etc is to claim the dole as well. Delivery places hire you as a contract worker and therefore only pay you a fiver an hour plus 1.50 a delivery. About one in every three deliveries are 3-3 and a half miles away which means i make no money off it unless a get a tip as its a seven mile round trip costing roughly 1.50 and theres not many deliverys as they hire extra drivers and we have to also help out in the kitchen when their isnt much deliveries and seeing as there is 4 drivers on a Saturday we spend most of our time as cheap labour working in the kitchesn. On Saturday and Sunday we start at noon and there are no deliveries till four and you have to do prep work constantly in the kitchen so your working for 5 euro an hour until 4 and about 7 euro an hour there after. If their gonna clamp down on people like me then they should introduce legislation for minimum pay for delivery driver or whatever area of work they are clamping down on. I wasnt able to claim the dole as they pay into my bank account and i would have to apply for it as I had just lost my previous job and the dole want bank statements but i would of, if i could. Ive been working this job for 7 weeks as it was the only job i could get but thankfully have now got a job in a call centre for minimum wage. Sort the legaslation out before you start screwing the more vulnerable people in society. They cant take sudden hits like the wealthier can. Sorry about the rant :(

Hey Chocablock,

The reason you were being paid below minimum wage is because you were effectively being treated as self employed. This means that you are supposed to send in a form declaring all your income and expenditure related to your job and then pay tax on the profits.

Basically if you were spending money on petrol, repairs, punctures or whatever you could offset that against whatever you earned. People can be creative enough in declaring expenses that they avoid paying tax altogether, you are not taxed on income alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

somefeen wrote: »
    You are talking absolute ****.

So people should be allowed do jobs tax free? They're perfectly right to be going after people not paying tax. Why should they be allowed to earn decent money and not pay tax when everyone else gets taxed to the hilt?
    Your weird delusion that because people use the service they are somehow condoning it is just that, ****ing delusional. Take aways as businesses pay tax. Therefore you would expect their employees to be be paying tax. Not all delivery drivers get away without paying tax.

Life is not fair baby :) Get what you can.
    You are coming across as an absolute moron, calling other people idiots because they dont assume all delivery driver jobs are nixers. Why would anyone assume that? You pay a business money you expect them to abide by the law of the land. How the hell is the whole world supposed to know whether the delivery drivers are paying tax.

Everything aside for a second. How can a person not know that? ... its common knowledge. I can go out tomorrow and ask everyone I know did they know that? and they would look at me like I am the last person to get it.
    I refuse to believe people on here did not know that. I maintain that people are playing the whole "i didnt know that! BS" .... no one can surely be that stupid.
    I dont go into tescos and ask to see PAYE records and prsi payments before i go to the till I shouldnt be expected to do it for a chicken curry when I'm half cut.

Well, above you mentioned "you would expect..." so you are posting that you would have expected the drivers to be paying tax. Your assumption. Thats cool.

But here is another news flash for you :) ... see tradesmen? They dont declare all tax. See minibus drivers? they too dont declare all tax too :) .... See taxi drivers? they do the same :) This world is big and its bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Sure isnt that what the politicians are thinking....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

- Over 5,600 child benefits suspended.
    - VAT now 23%
    Yeah it's a ****.
    - Household charge.
    About time
    - Pensions over 18k a year getting taxed.
    Like they were meant to be all along?
    - Accordingly over 16,000 reports made to the social welfare (I mention this because I think thats a bogus official figure. To entice more people to report rather than the genuine number of reports)
    Mate works in a dole office on payroll and smokes, over the summer people started coming up to him asking about how to report people.
    - Nixers are getting cut down on. I know a bloke who does deliveries for a takeaway in Ballyfermot and the tax man went into the takeaway asking them to give names of their drivers. Two other takeaways in the area were visited by the tax man on the same day.
    He was breaking the law?
    :eek: ... what next?
    Next they might actually do something like catch murders and have a tax system that doesn't depend on people contacting them.

Scary, I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

mikemac1 wrote: »
    You already pay DIRT on it

And now you want to seize even more of it?

And income tax was already paid on it. With the pensions thing there was no tax at source to prevent double-taxation, just the last government decided to not tax it whatsoever. Now there's a suggestion of single taxation it's suddenly abhorrent!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

But here is another news flash for you :) ... see tradesmen? They dont declare all tax. See minibus drivers? they too dont declare all tax too :) .... See taxi drivers? they do the same :) This world is big and its bad.

So you're saying it's all people who drive as part of their job...
    Feckin private sector chancers

This thread is ridiculous.

One guy on here trying to claim that income earned as a delivery man should not be taxable (because it's a 'nixer'), and by default that everyone who happens to accept a delivery from him is supportive of his position!!!!

I really have never heard such crap in my life.

If you actually re-read my post. I was talking about how the government are stepping things up. People were doing nixers be it in 2002, 1992, 1982 etc. But now its more of an issue. They are stepping things up.

LighterGuy, If you were the delivery man would you pay your own tax?

No.
    But before you get back to blast me! Hold on! We share something in common! ... I too would lie through my teeth and officially say how I wouldnt do a nixer while 100% willing to do one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Everything aside for a second. How can a person not know that? ... its common knowledge. I can go out tomorrow and ask everyone I know did they know that? and they would look at me like I am the last person to get it.
    I refuse to believe people on here did not know that. I maintain that people are playing the whole "i didnt know that! BS" .... no one can surely be that stupid.

Well, above you mentioned "you would expect..." so you are posting that you would have expected the drivers to be paying tax. Your assumption. Thats cool.

Pffft dont you sit there and try tell me how life is.
    I'll say this and no more

We work we pay tax, if your supposed to and you dont, your a sponger simple as. Your getting services your not paying for, the fact that most of it is wasted or you pay too much is the unfair bit.
    Yes I know lots of self employed people dont declare tax, but how am I to know in general when I employ their services wether they are being honest or not? I'm not the revenue commisioner.
    Also sometimes what you assume is common knowledge isn't. Just so happens the people you associate with know about it.
    If I was to ask the majority of people I know tomorrow, if they knew what thermohaline meant they would know. Doesn't make it common knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Chuck, No offense. But you are an idiot :)

Lol. You're calling me an idiot?

How unfortunate for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Chocablock

BOHtox wrote: »
    There is a minimun wage of €8.65 an hour. They either pay you that at minimum or they're breaking the law

They get around that by hiring you as a contractor which is why they should bring in some sort of legislation to make you an employee rather than a contractor. The owners are taking advantage of the system as they are allowed to do this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Chocablock

ColHol wrote: »
    Hey Chocablock,

The reason you were being paid below minimum wage is because you were effectively being treated as self employed. This means that you are supposed to send in a form declaring all your income and expenditure related to your job and then pay tax on the profits.

Basically if you were spending money on petrol, repairs, punctures or whatever you could offset that against whatever you earned. People can be creative enough in declaring expenses that they avoid paying tax altogether, you are not taxed on income alone.

But I wasnt decalaring tax. Im not going to declare that 180 a week to have a tax man possibly take some of it away. And if i did declare it but ended up losing my job or if something happened to my car and i needed to claim the dole i wouldnt be able to as I would have been self employed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭EUSSR

We are moving ever closer to a police state. The unification of the european union is a prime example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

If you actually re-read my post. I was talking about how the government are stepping things up. People were doing nixers be it in 2002, 1992, 1982 etc. But now its more of an issue. They are stepping things up.

No.
    But before you get back to blast me! Hold on! We share something in common! ... I too would lie through my teeth and officially say how I wouldnt do a nixer while 100% willing to do one :)

Whatever. I never did a nixer, and I hope I never do. I pay every penny of tax I am supposed to. I do a full return every year and keep supporting documentation / evidence to support each element of the return.

To come on here and openly declare that you would evade tax says its all as far as I'm concerned.

That attitude has contributed a fair bit to the mess this country is in, and as far as I am concerned it constitutes treason.

As I said already, I hope your mate is caught for defaulting and that he has the book thrown at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

EUSSR wrote: »
    We are moving ever closer to a police state. The unification of the european union is a prime example.

Police state ? In case you hadn't noticed, the cops have done a disappearing act. They're all hiding in the stations

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Let's not pay stuff we don't have too.
    Good thinking!

Lets start by not paying for the quangos, jobs for the lads, the massive middle management in the civil service, redundant HSE and Health boards, people in the welfare office that don't answer the phones, about half the wages of TDs, those passport people, and I'm sure if we put our heads together we could come up with a few more.

Whatever. I never did a nixer, and I hope I never do. I pay every penny of tax I am supposed to. I do a full return every year and keep supporting documentation / evidence to support each element of the return.

To come on here and openly declare that you would evade tax says its all as far as I'm concerned.

That attitude has contributed a fair bit to the mess this country is in, and as far as I am concerned it constitutes treason.

As I said already, I hope your mate is caught for defaulting and that he has the book thrown at him.

ah here man. you're being melodramatic. fair enough if you disagree with what i am saying. But "treason" ? seriously? ... I can only imagine what you think of bertie :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

My God. The poor people were only given 42 days to respond to a request for information to establish whether they were entitled to Children's Allowance.

It's an outrage. They should have been given at least two years I suppose???

THE COUNTRY IS BUST.

Let's not pay stuff we don't have too.

How long were Seanie Fitz, David Drumm and the rest of the Anglo Irish Bank clique given to declare their hidden loans and gigantic taxpayer funded pensions, I wonder?

This would all be fine if it was just and if equality was applied. But of course it isn't, and it won't be. If you're in the political clique you get an easy ride, if you're an ordinary person you're f*cked.

How long were Seanie Fitz, David Drumm and the rest of the Anglo Irish Bank clique given to declare their hidden loans and gigantic taxpayer funded pensions, I wonder?

This would all be fine if it was just and if equality was applied. But of course it isn't, and it won't be. If you're in the political clique you get an easy ride, if you're an ordinary person you're f*cked.

Far too long, if they actually have committed a criminal offence. But it might just be that the legislative framework that existed in Ireland when they were in their prime was such that that they didn't. You need to be able to distinguish between a crime and something that you as an individual really don't like.

In my opinion there are plenty of people who would have these guys (incl Bertie) behind bars if they could stick it on them at all. But it just seems like they can't prove that they actually broke the law.

One way or another, that doesn't justify tax evasion or welfare fraud by anybody now (which clearly is a breach of the law).

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Good thinking!

Lets start by not paying for the quangos, jobs for the lads, the massive middle management in the civil service, redundant HSE and Health boards, people in the welfare office that don't answer the phones, about half the wages of TDs, those passport people, and I'm sure if we put our heads together we could come up with a few more.

I agree all the way. Just gotta get the exchequer figures back in balance.

I fully support:
    1.) Cutting all unnecessary costs (including the few items you have outlined)
    2.) Imposition of property and wealth taxes
    3.) A serious crackdown on the fraudsters who are ripping off welfare and/or not paying there share of taxes.

BTW, for what's it's worth, I believe that anyone caught stealing from the country (or betraying the country as I see it) should never be eligible for state support again. I would also impose massive fines & I would support deduction at source. That way our 'friend' doing his nixers might cop on to himself.

2.) Imposition of property and wealth taxes
    Can't really agree with the property tax, but I've argued this out on the Irish economy forum so not getting into it again here. Whats a wealth tax?

A tax on other forms of wealth - e.g. if you have a whack of money on deposit or in investments / pensions other than property.

A tax on other forms of wealth - e.g. if you have a whack of money on deposit or in investments other than property.
    Were taxes not already paid on acquiring that wealth, like income, DIRT, capital gains and inheritance? Can't be taxing people twice on the same transaction now.

Yes, but in terms of affordability people who have amassed large pools of wealth are best placed to make an increased contribution. It generally serves an economy better than increased taxes on labour and/or spending. It also encourages expenditure rather than wealth accumulation.

It's pretty standard in most parts of the world.

Never attractive if you're in the super wealthy class alright.

Yes, but in terms of affordability people who have amassed large pools of wealth are best placed to make an increased contribution. It generally serves an economy better than increased taxes on labour and/or spending. It also encourages expenditure rather than wealth accumulation.
    Thats where you make expenditure deductable, which is already is. Then you run into problems of diminishing returns and capital flight, which will cripple the banks, putting the bill right back in front of the taxpayer.
    It's pretty standard in most parts of the world.
    No its not, where are taxes levied on a deposit account beyond a certain amount?
    Never attractive if you're in the super wealthy class alright.
    Here's the situation as I see it. I'm Jimmy the factory worker, I put together stents for heart patients in the US and Europe, and I earn €30k a year, say €24k after taxes. He used to earn €40k but the company cut back with the recession.

Problem is I'm spending €40k a year on domestic help and related stuff besides the essentials, the wife likes to show off to the neighbours.

Now that isn't sustainable, so Jimmy needs to either cut back or pull in more. Pulling in more isn't possible without making strongarm robberies a regular feature of his life, jeopardising everything Jimmy is doing otherwise, BUT if Jimmy fires the domestic help they will trash his house and the wife will divorce him.

What I'm saying is that Jimmy should fire the help and find a wife that actually cares about Jimmy.

Thats where you make expenditure deductable, which is already is. Then you run into problems of diminishing returns and capital flight, which will cripple the banks, putting the bill right back in front of the taxpayer.

Only if you hit people with rates higher than other countries.

No its not, where are taxes levied on a deposit account beyond a certain amount?

e.g France, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland are ones that I am aware of.

Here's the situation as I see it. I'm Jimmy the factory worker, I put together stents for heart patients in the US and Europe, and I earn €30k a year, say €24k after taxes. He used to earn €40k but the company cut back with the recession.

Problem is I'm spending €40k a year on domestic help and related stuff besides the essentials, the wife likes to show off to the neighbours.

Now that isn't sustainable, so Jimmy needs to either cut back or pull in more. Pulling in more isn't possible without making strongarm robberies a regular feature of his life, jeopardising everything Jimmy is doing otherwise, BUT if Jimmy fires the domestic help they will trash his house and the wife will divorce him.

What I'm saying is that Jimmy should fire the help and find a wife that actually cares about Jimmy.

Totally, and Jimmys wife will have to get used to living within her means, or else find a way to make some money.

Ah but she signed a Croke Park prenup so she doesn't have to do that. :D

e.g France, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland are ones that I am aware of.
    No they don't - have you any evidence of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Patri

I too would lie through my teeth and officially say how I wouldnt do a nixer while 100% willing to do one :)

I'm agreeing with seemingly the vast majority of posters in saying that your views are not only delusional but downright wrong.
    Firstly you work, therefore you pay tax. "Nixers" as you say, should pay tax, like everyone else, I'm delighted to see these visits from the taxman that you speak of.

Secondly everything that you have put forward about this tax evasion (that's what it is btw) is so very bare, you haven't given anything to make you appear an even remotely intelligent individual, you are in no place to call anyone "an idiot" when in fact you are ironically showcasing your own stupidity in doing so. If you must revert to a rather childish form of arguing then it's not worth confronting you in the first place. You look moronic.

Thirdly your argument finds its foundation on a list of assumptions; that every delivery driver in the country does not pay tax on their income, that everyone knows what a nixer is etc. I didn't know what a nixer was, as did many apparently, so your jaundiced views that it is "common knowledge" lacks a bit of evidence right?

Are you a nixer trying to scam a few more euros? Seems likely.

No they don't - have you any evidence of this?

I think if you did basic research you could find these, but anyway,

France
    It’s called:
    L'impôt de solidarité sur la fortune or ISF

Go away and do some research.

Netherlands

Forget the name, but you can rest assured it’s there.
    Talk to any Dutch person who has a few Euro and they'll be happy to tell you all about it.

Norway

It’s called:
    formuesskatt

Switzerland

Each Canton has its own arrangements.
    www.lowtax.net/lowtax/html/jswpetx.html#wealth

In each case all deposits and Investments are included in the calculation of wealth. All that said, I have a feeling that you wouldn't need to worry too much about its introduction in Ireland.

Interesting, did not know that. I'd still oppose its entry into Ireland for reasons already mentioned, the wealth has already been taxed upon changing hands.

Patri wrote: »
    I'm agreeing with seemingly the vast majority of posters in saying that your views are not only delusional but downright wrong.
    Firstly you work, therefore you pay tax. "Nixers" as you say, should pay tax, like everyone else, I'm delighted to see these visits from the taxman that you speak of.

Secondly everything that you have put forward about this tax evasion (that's what it is btw) is so very bare, you haven't given anything to make you appear an even remotely intelligent individual, you are in no place to call anyone "an idiot" when in fact you are ironically showcasing your own stupidity in doing so. If you must revert to a rather childish form of arguing then it's not worth confronting you in the first place. You look moronic.

Mate, I accept peoples opinions that differ from mine. But in that post so far you have called me stupid 3 times and called me childish. .... Once maybe. 3 times? :pac:
    Thirdly your argument finds its foundation on a list of assumptions; that every delivery driver in the country does not pay tax on their income, that everyone knows what a nixer is etc. I didn't know what a nixer was, as did many apparently, so your jaundiced views that it is "common knowledge" lacks a bit of evidence right? Are you a nixer trying to scam a few more euros? Seems likely.

Its funny. You call me stupid 3 times. But you didnt know what a nixer was? ... are you middle class or something? (or middle class wanna be?)
    How can you be calling me a fool? You dont even know a nixer when you see it.

Are you that foolish to think that everytime you pay for a service you believe that person is paying tax? .. mate, its rife in the tradesmen industry. I could call out a plummer tonight to fix a tap. Most wouldnt declare it. .... bet you didnt know that too :pac:

Its funny. You call me stupid 3 times. But you didnt know what a nixer was? ... are you middle class or something? (or middle class wanna be?)
    How can you be calling me a fool? You dont even know a nixer when you see it.

Are you a troll? Seriously? Everything you're saying is laughable, don't take my word for it, take it from everyone who thus far has disagreed with what you've said. "Middle class wanna be?" That gave me a chuckle thanks!
    Are you that foolish to think that everytime you pay for a service you believe that person is paying tax? .. mate, its rife in the tradesmen industry. I could call out a plummer tonight to fix a tap. Most wouldnt declare it. .... bet you didnt know that too :pac:

Nope but your assumptions are really killing you here, I mean with your ridiculous knowledege of every single euro of tax paid by every single individual in the country you must either have the worst superpower of all time or you're just talking out of your ar*e. Facts again please? Because afaik most plumbers (they're the ones who fix the taps, not some group who pick plums) would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Jaysus this topic is full of shíte. If Lighter Guy wants an example of what happens when people don't pay tax, just look at Greece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Whenever I talk to someone from Greece it really puts our cuts in perspective, although I'm expecting not to be able to buy food in a few years. Hold tight everybody.

Are you a troll? Seriously? Everything you're saying is laughable, don't take my word for it, take it from everyone who thus far has disagreed with what you've said. "Middle class wanna be?" That gave me a chuckle thanks!

Nope but your assumptions are really killing you here, I mean with your ridiculous knowledege of every single euro of tax paid by every single individual in the country you must either have the worst superpower of all time or you're just talking out of your ar*e. Facts again please? Because afaik most plumbers (they're the ones who fix the taps, not some group who pick plums) would.

Dude, no one likes a spelling-nazi.
    But since you are being rude to me. I'll be the same.
    You have no clue what you are talking about. You are living in your own little fantasy world. You are not sharp enough to realise what goes on outside of your little bubble.

The only way you can disgree with me is by trying to insult me. Rather than trying to correct my statements (delivery drivers, tradesmen etc not declaring tax etc) ... because you have no knowledge of whats really going on under your nose.

If I actually asked you to name 5 jobs that the average person knows to be a 'nixer', you couldnt :) ... You would just get back to me further trying to make me seem stupid whilst totally ignoring my question ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The government should create jobs, they are **** at it.

Dude, no one likes a spelling-nazi.
    But since you are being rude to me. I'll be the same.
    You have no clue what you are talking about. You are living in your own little fantasy world. You are not sharp enough to realise what goes on outside of your little bubble.

The only way you can disgree with me is by trying to insult me. Rather than trying to correct my statements (delivery drivers, tradesmen etc not declaring tax etc) ... because you have no knowledge of whats really going on under your nose.

If I actually asked you to name 5 jobs that the average person knows to be a 'nixer', you couldnt :) ... You would just get back to me further tryng to make me seem stupid whilst totally ignoring my question ;)

Far from factual again, and once again, you make assumptions based on.....well nothing really? :rolleyes: The only thing you've said in return to anyone outlining your faulted, tainted views is that they must be stupid.
    I'm going to repeat this one and once only because there is no point arguing with a child and someone so thick as yourself. I think everyone has not only "tried" but succeeded in correcting your statements. Why shoudn't a "nixer" pay tax? It's a job, job=tax, case closed.

Ya I couldn't name 5 jobs I hadn't heard of these nixers before you brought it up I thought I went through that? "Average person" :pac: define an average person for me? The person down the road from you in Dublin? (Educated guess you're from Dublin right?) or the person living in the kerry mountains, or the person in Galway or Mayo or Cork well? What are they like? You have no idea of how things work, and you are only being a burden to any sort of prosperity when you support tax-evaders, which is what you're doing.

Oh and you really have no basis to call anyone an idiot, when you kicked it off with Chuck Stone I think it was, and haven't stopped since, it's fair to say you are indeed the real idiot.

...etc .... etc .... etc .....Oh and you really have no basis to call anyone an idiot, when you kicked it off with Chuck Stone I think it was, and haven't stopped since, it's fair to say you are indeed the real idiot.

Blah blah blah,
    You have no idea what you are talking about. Just insult, insult, insult :)
    You got nothing to add. But feel free ;)

Blah blah blah,
    You have no idea what you are talking about. Just insult, insult, insult :)
    You got nothing to add. But feel free ;)

Pots, Kettles, Black (and all that).

Quiet you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭ROFLcopter

Quiet you.

Would you like a bigger shovel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

a 1c tax on farting. id be fucked

I do half my farts under the covers, so presumably this would be self assessment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

- Over 5,600 child benefits suspended.
    - VAT now 23%
    - Household charge.
    - Pensions over 18k a year getting taxed.
    - Accordingly over 16,000 reports made to the social welfare (I mention this because I think thats a bogus official figure. To entice more people to report rather than the genuine number of reports)
    - Nixers are getting cut down on. I know a bloke who does deliveries for a takeaway in Ballyfermot and the tax man went into the takeaway asking them to give names of their drivers. Two other takeaways in the area were visited by the tax man on the same day.

:eek: ... what next?

I'm sure someone has said it in 10 pages of responses, but there is a big difference between attempts to reduce welfare fraud and tax evasion versus tax increases.

What next? Maybe people will pay their taxes and not blame others for the countries problems.

If we ignore the banks and bailout costs for a moment, we are still running a massive deficit that has to be cut.

ROFLcopter wrote: »
    Would you like a bigger shovel?

I honestly dont care if loads of people get back to me saying I am wrong. This is all shite out of people. The same people giving me loads about someone else doing a nixer being wrong, would be the same people to do one themselves.

Its all just official bs. Yeah, i know people will get back to me yet again saying how I am further wrong :rolleyes: but open your feckin eyes people. So many tax free jobs and services happen every single day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭ROFLcopter

I honestly dont care if loads of people get back to me saying I am wrong. This is all shite out of people. The same people giving me loads about someone else doing a nixer being wrong, would be the same people to do one themselves.

Its all just official bs. Yeah, i know people will get back to me yet again saying how I am further wrong :rolleyes: but open your feckin eyes people. So many tax free jobs and services happen every single day.

What I mean is that everyone in this thread is so morally correct that none of them ever put down a bit of flooring or fixed a leaking radiator without driving at full speed to the revenue to tell them about it.