Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

My church-going father turned me off Religion.

• 07-01-2012 4:39am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Both my parents are devout Catholics. My dad goes to mass in St. Mary’s Pro-Cathedral in town every Sunday. My mam prays every night, but doesn't attend mass.

When I was about 15 I wanted to record 'The Life of Brian', on video, as I heard it was hilarious and of course I had seen 'The Flying Circus', so I was a fan of Monty Python. But when I mentioned this to the folks, my Dad let rip. I mean a 20 minute torrent of abuse about defiling 'Our Lord Jesus Christ' and being blaspheming sinners (the cast), etc. All while he was foaming at the mouth and looking like a different person, who wanted to punch my face in. I was scared.

This was a turning point.

If religion could change my very level-headed, intelligent, loving father into a babbling, incoherent and angry man. I knew it was dangerous. Poisonous.

Since then, I've noticed that when he speaks of God his eyes suddenly seem glassy, (out of nowhere), almost like he is drunk. It's like a spell. Brainwashing. He snaps out of this 'state' once the conversation moves in a different direction. (Father Ted will always do the trick)

I suppose I want to get this off my chest ,while simultaneously explaining when and how my eyes were opened.
    To think that I used to actually believe that the Pope was somehow God's representative here on Earth when I was younger makes me wonder.

I don't know if anyone else here can say when they stop 'believing', or if anyone has already. I know this isn't like an AA meeting for ex-Roman Catholics.

I now listen to the Reverend's Hitchens, Harris and Fry and they are both enlightening and refreshing.

I was wondering. Was Spock an Atheist? It seems logical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

Fair play to you.I never really took to religion myself.I'm sure you'll get on grand here!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

In before glassy eyed atheists foaming at teh mouth. ;)

Have you spoken to your father about how his personality changes negativity when he's angry about religion? How it affects you?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

5uspect wrote: »
    Have you spoken to your father about how his personality changes negativity when he's angry about religion?
    We've a relative in our extended family who reacts exactly like this too, but point out the foaming mouth, the glassy eyes, the stratospheric stress levels, the venomous hatred?

All we get back is "Well, would you blame me? God's divine should be the most important thing in your lives and you're rejecting it. The problem with you is you're stupid and narrow-minded and don't have the wisdom to accept the infinite love that's being given to you freely [...] liberal media [...] brain washing [...] abortion [...] moral relativism [...] wisdom of experience [...] EU [...] black people [...] current pope is one of the greatest intellects to have hit the planet [...] islam [...] god is love [...] I need a drink to settle my nerves/wake me up/another reason [...] etc, etc, etc, etc."

So nobody mentions it.

It's not an easy thing to do, I agree. But this isn't some oddball uncle or cousin, this is the OP's father.

To a certain extent getting upset and claiming "God's divine should be the most important thing in your lives and you're rejecting it" should be how exactly how the religious should react - if they really believed it.

The anger is something else however and it's the that anger that should be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

My plan is to travel back in time, and rewrite the Bible, Torah and Quran.

I'll cut it down to one page, which will simply say.

"Thou shalt try not to be a díck to people."

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Sonics2k wrote: »

Some people will still interpret it to mean god hates fags

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Some people will still interpret it to mean god hates fags

Possibly - but we can argue that if that were the case the 'scripture' would say : 'Try not to place thy dick in other people's bottoms'.

Personally I reckon it will lead to more 'discussion' on the role of women in religion:
    'Try not to be a dick' = the penis is the fount of all evil therefore the vagina must be the fount of all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

You shouldn't have to try. It should come naturally. The way nature intended.

I would write the greatest book ever if I had the chance. No one really believes in fiction these days though. There's too much transparency and freedom of information. Boo. :pac:

Logic doesn't entail atheism!

Good for you OP. I'm lucky enough to have never been brought up religiously. I only encountered it in school. My inner 6 year old anti-religious argument: "It's boring!" I stand by that wisdom.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Yeah but they will change that to ''Thou shalt not put a dick in people'' and so it will be back to business as usual .

marienbad wrote: »
    Yeah but they will change that to ''Thou shalt not put a dick in people'' and so it will be back to business as usual .

Or to quote the full text:

''Thou shalt not put a dick in people unless thou art male and the recipient of thy inserted dick is female. And verily, dick insertion shall be for the purposes of procreation only for to feel pleasure is anathema to the Lord. Neither shall thee insert thy dick into a female who is not thy wedded wife for to do so is an abomination in the eyes of the Creator".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I cant even remember when I stopped believing. I know i was an alter boy and a non believer at the same time. It was fun...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Bannasidhe wrote: »

''Thou shalt not put a dick in people unless thou art male and the recipient of thy inserted dick is female. And verily, dick insertion shall be for the purposes of procreation only for to feel pleasure is anathema to the Lord. Neither shall thee insert thy dick into a female who is not thy wedded wife for to do so is an abomination in the eyes of the Creator".

not forgetting '' never erect false idols so never arouse the dick, never touch the dick or allow others to touch the dick. Never (ever) bow down before the dick or allows others to bow down before the dick''

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

Both my parents are devout Catholics. My dad goes to mass in St. Mary’s Pro-Cathedral in town every Sunday. My mam prays every night, but doesn't attend mass.

When I was about 15 I wanted to record 'The Life of Brian', on video, as I heard it was hilarious and of course I had seen 'The Flying Circus', so I was a fan of Monty Python. But when I mentioned this to the folks, my Dad let rip. I mean a 20 minute torrent of abuse about defiling 'Our Lord Jesus Christ' and being blaspheming sinners (the cast), etc. All while he was foaming at the mouth and looking like a different person, who wanted to punch my face in. I was scared.

Hi OP,

What age are you now do you mind me asking? Im 29 and my father has terminal cancer and is also very very Catholic, he told me that he believes the Chinese are going to end the world because in the Bible says "people from the East" will be the cause of it, I told him I had never heard of this "people of the East" idea and he asked what they taught me in school. My father is a very logical man he studied science in college and worked in computers and I respect his opinion, in his case its not that his eyes glass over, he seems the same as always. He goes to Mass every day and when I use the computer after him I see he's been goggling very religious things. I love my father very much and he has great morals which I admire, but I am kind of afraid of organised religion and I feel less close to my father because of his unquestioning belief, sorry that was a rant!

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭sonicthebadger*

Bannasidhe wrote: »

''Thou shalt not put a dick in people unless thou art male and the recipient of thy inserted dick is female. And verily, dick insertion shall be for the purposes of procreation only for to feel pleasure is anathema to the Lord. Neither shall thee insert thy dick into a female who is not thy wedded wife property for to do so is an abomination in the eyes of the Creator".

Fixed that for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

If religion could change my very level-headed, intelligent, loving father into a babbling, incoherent and angry man. I knew it was dangerous. Poisonous.

Religion did not do that. To your Father as to many Christians Christ is a Living person who is present in our lifes. Life of Brian just a mockery of our believes.

I would not say your father was babbling, incoherent and angry, he was defending his faith. Its his choice, His faith.

If you want to watch a movie why not do it on our own time, with your own television? I think you are being ignorant trying to push your whims on your father in his own house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭soterpisc

Since then, I've noticed that when he speaks of God his eyes suddenly seem glassy, (out of nowhere), almost like he is drunk. It's like a spell. Brainwashing. He snaps out of this 'state' once the conversation moves in a different direction. (Father Ted will always do the trick)

I suppose I want to get this off my chest ,while simultaneously explaining when and how my eyes were opened.
    To think that I used to actually believe that the Pope was somehow God's representative here on Earth when I was younger makes me wonder.

I don't know if anyone else here can say when they stop 'believing', or if anyone has already. I know this isn't like an AA meeting for ex-Roman Catholics.

I now listen to the Reverend's Hitchens, Harris and Fry and they are both enlightening and refreshing.

I was wondering. Was Spock an Atheist? It seems logical.

What do did you expect??? " sure son go ahead and watch the movie that makes a mockery of all I believe in."".

There is nothing wrong having faith. ..

I am sure you would not record a porn movie that your father knew about?// Why record a movie that is going to mock his faith.

You don't believe... That yours your choice. you are free to decide what you like.

But the least you can do is respect your own father in his own house. (or did you buy the television?)

I totally back your fathers response (that he gave in private in his own house to his own family) there is nothing wrong with it... Its not like he beat to death. He expressed his strong profound views on his living faith.

alex73 wrote: »
    Religion did not do that. To your Father as to many Christians Christ is a Living person who is present in our lifes. Life of Brian just a mockery of our believes.

I would not say your father was babbling, incoherent and angry, he was defending his faith. Its his choice, His faith.

If you want to watch a movie why not do it on our own time, with your own television? I think you are being ignorant trying to push your whims on your father in his own house?
    He wanted to record it, hardly forcing his views on his father. He was 15 at the time and likely living at home so his own tv probably wasn't an option. And he hadn't even seen it at the time, just heard it was funny. His father could just choose not to watch it, or calmly explain that he would find it offensive and ask him not to watch it.

And I think the OP is the best position to judge if his father was incoherent, angry or babbling, what with being there and all.

He wanted to record it, hardly forcing his views on his father. He was 15 at the time and likely living at home so his own tv probably wasn't an option. And he hadn't even seen it at the time, just heard it was funny. His father could just choose not to watch it, or calmly explain that he would find it offensive and ask him not to watch it.

And I think the OP is the best position to judge if his father was incoherent, angry or babbling, what with being there and all.

Great he gave his opinion. I gave mine.

The role of a parent is to educate this children, and part of this is explaining their faith. That the son does not agree with what his fathers beliefs that is his choice. But I have to say I am on the side of the Father here.

The Father took offence with the son recording and watching the Life of Brian with makes a mockery of everything that Christianity stands for. Son then describes father as babbling, incoherent and angry... Just because he holds fast to his faith.

If the father had let the son watch the movie .. What message would that give.?

I think the son in years to come will come to the conclusion that his father was an honest person who was faithful to his believes.

soterpisc wrote: »

The role of a parent is to educate this children, and part of this is explaining their faith. That the son does not agree with what his fathers beliefs that is his choice. But I have to say I am on the side of the Father here.

The Father took offence with the son recording and watching the Life of Brian with makes a mockery of everything that Christianity stands for. Son then describes father as babbling, incoherent and angry... Just because he holds fast to his faith.

I think the son in years to come will come to the conclusion that his father was an honest person who was faithful to his believes.

If someone loses their temper, because someone wants to watch a movie, even Life of Brian, then they clearly have anger issues.

A proper parent would simply say "Not on my television." or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

If the father had let the son watch the movie ..
    The son would probably still be a catholic... Which, I think, was the point of the thread.

MrP

If someone loses their temper, because someone wants to watch a movie, even Life of Brian, then they clearly have anger issues.

A proper parent would simply say "Not on my television." or similar.

Well all human beings have emotions... Did not read in the thread that the father got angry all the time. I don't think getting angry once at a movie that made a mockery if his faith he should be accused of having anger issues.

What will the son take away from this. That his father was a man who profoundly believed in his faith. He certainly made a impression on the son.

MrPudding wrote: »
    The son would probably still be a catholic... Which, I think, was the point of the thread.

MrP

The point of this thread is that the son never understood his faith in the first place. If he had then he would have understood his fathers point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

The point of this thread is that the son never understood his faith in the first place. If he had then he would have understood his fathers point of view.

I think the OP might be more qualified to say what their point is than you are.

What if the OP was this, would that make a difference?

My dad came home drunk again. I make a joke about him being drunk all the time. [...] my Dad let rip. I mean a 20 minute torrent of abuse [...]. All while he was foaming at the mouth and looking like a different person, who wanted to punch my face in. I was scared.

My should religion have a special place? Why should the religious be allowed to go berserk and embark on 20 minute tirades of abuse that scare their families?

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

The Father took offence with the son recording and watching the Life of Brian with makes a mockery of everything that Christianity stands for.

I have a strong suspicion that Jesus Christ himself would have seen the movie and had a good hearty laugh, seeing it as sharp comedy that it is. It's just his followers who have issues on his behalf.

Well all human beings have emotions... Did not read in the thread that the father got angry all the time. I don't think getting angry once at a movie that made a mockery if his faith he should be accused of having anger issues.

What will the son take away from this. That his father was a man who profoundly believed in his faith. He certainly made a impression on the son.

So, you're saying it's okay for a parent to scream and shout at their child if they dare question their faith.

That's really not a healthy approach.

The Father took offence with the son recording and watching the Life of Brian with makes a mockery of everything that Christianity stands for.

Have you actually seen The Life of Brian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

OP just be grateful that you have not got the same issues as your father and will get to enjoy anything you like (within the law) as you get older. Make sure to watch the holy grail and the meaning of life too!

Have you actually seen The Life of Brian?
    Something tells me the answer is no.

MrP

It's beside the point anyway. It was his fathers reaction that turned him off religion which is the topic of the thread.

I know joes father and honestly the behaviour Joe speaks of is a million miles from the man I know. it seems really strange. Only religion and politics can do that to people. Politics is useful though. or at least can be.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

In before glassy eyed atheists foaming at teh mouth. ;)

Have you spoken to your father about how his personality changes negativity when he's angry about religion? How it affects you?

My father and I get along swimmingly. I believe, we both secretly don't want to get into a heated debate over his beliefs/ my non-beliefs. I suppose you would have to see a theist through the eyes of an Atheist, to understand that there's simply no point even attempting to broach the topic.
    Ellie2008 wrote: »
    Hi OP,

What age are you now do you mind me asking? Im 29 and my father has terminal cancer and is also very very Catholic, he told me that he believes the Chinese are going to end the world because in the Bible says "people from the East" will be the cause of it, I told him I had never heard of this "people of the East" idea and he asked what they taught me in school. My father is a very logical man he studied science in college and worked in computers and I respect his opinion, in his case its not that his eyes glass over, he seems the same as always. He goes to Mass every day and when I use the computer after him I see he's been goggling very religious things. I love my father very much and he has great morals which I admire, but I am kind of afraid of organised religion and I feel less close to my father because of his unquestioning belief, sorry that was a rant!

Hi Ellie. Sorry to hear about your father dealing with terminal cancer. I can't begin to imagine what this involves. I'm 33 btw. You say your father goes to mass every day. That seems like a lot. AFAIK he seems to be missing out on a lot of the joys of life by dwelling on mass and looking up religious content on the net. Mass isn't helping him if he goes every day. The church's teachings on Heaven and Hell is the main reason so many people frequent weekday mass when they get old (closer to death). Apologies if I sound blunt.
    You probably need to distract him. Your guess at how, would be better than mine.

Sorry if I wasn't clear but I wanted it recorded to watch by myself. I never asked my folks to watch it.
    ShooterSF wrote: »
    OP just be grateful that you have not got the same issues as your father and will get to enjoy anything you like (within the law) as you get older. Make sure to watch the holy grail and the meaning of life too!

Thanks. For that I am very grateful indeed. My children will not have to go on the 'hop' from mass.
    I've seen all Monty Python's movies. Very intelligent humour. I love that scene with Death, and the 'salmon mousse'.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YoBTsMJ4jNk

It seems there is quite the few religious persons posting in this thread. I've seen some atheists who posted in the Christianity forum being told to 'go back to your cave, blah blah'. Seems hypocritical. I'm not complaining. It gives us a chance to argue/ debate. And that's the beauty of the world we live in. We have the freedom to openly question what a person says, without fear of being burnt at a stake or beheaded. Surely even the most devout Christian would agree.

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭sonicthebadger*

I think you are being ignorant trying to push your whims on your father in his own house?
    What do did you expect??? " sure son go ahead and watch the movie that makes a mockery of all I believe in."".

I totally back your fathers response (that he gave in private in his own house to his own family) there is nothing wrong with it... Its not like he beat to death. He expressed his strong profound views on his living faith.

If this isn't trolling I don't know what is. But just in case, just in case, please go watch the film, you'll see Jesus in it giving the Sermon on the Mount. The scene is used to give a historical setting for Brian's life. Brian is not Jesus, sure his own mother says it in the film. It doesn't mock Jesus or Christianity it mocks the Middle East and all the factions and factions of factions and hatred and making up rules based on signs as bizzarre as lost sandals and a refusal to haggle. The fact that the three major monotheistic religions sprang from this region is not mentioned at all in the film, though the viewers I'm sure can take from that situation what they will.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Ellie2008

Hi Ellie. Sorry to hear about your father dealing with terminal cancer. I can't begin to imagine what this involves. I'm 33 btw. You say your father goes to mass every day. That seems like a lot. AFAIK he seems to be missing out on a lot of the joys of life by dwelling on mass and looking up religious content on the net. Mass isn't helping him if he goes every day. The church's teachings on Heaven and Hell is the main reason so many people frequent weekday mass when they get old (closer to death). Apologies if I sound blunt.
    You probably need to distract him. Your guess at how, would be better than mine.

.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for replying to that OP, I think I was venting. To be honest he seems to get a lot from it, he's a very unselfish man in that he's quite young to have his condition (65) and I've never heard him wonder at the fairness of it all and he's never acted frighted in my presence and I am so grateful to him for it as I think I would find it hard to hold it together if he couldn't. I think he mixes it with a general spirituality and mindfulness as people say, my Mum would definitely not share his views and goes to Mass at Christmas as she likes the atmosphere and singing but has no time for the rest of it so they are two extremes almost. The downside that I see is that he has very strong views on homosexuality which he doesn't mind sharing (!!) and other such things and would very much abide my the CC's teachings no matter what the subject. I suppose when the end is in sight, maybe believing this is not it is the only way to stay sane.

My father and I get along swimmingly. I believe, we both secretly don't want to get into a heated debate over his beliefs/ my non-beliefs. I suppose you would have to see a theist through the eyes of an Atheist, to understand that there's simply no point even attempting to broach the topic.

That's good to hear. I got the impression that it was a bigger problem. Better to just carry on and ignore it so.

Ellie2008 wrote: »

Thanks for replying to that OP, I think I was venting. To be honest he seems to get a lot from it, he's a very unselfish man in that he's quite young to have his condition (65) and I've never heard him wonder at the fairness of it all and he's never acted frighted in my presence and I am so grateful to him for it as I think I would find it hard to hold it together if he couldn't. I think he mixes it with a general spirituality and mindfulness as people say, my Mum would definitely not share his views and goes to Mass at Christmas as she likes the atmosphere and singing but has no time for the rest of it so they are two extremes almost. The downside that I see is that he has very strong views on homosexuality which he doesn't mind sharing (!!) and other such things and would very much abide my the CC's teachings no matter what the subject. I suppose when the end is in sight, maybe believing this is not it is the only way to stay sane.
    [/QUOTE]

It's good to vent. I hope you felt a little better for it.

There is a great video on youtube, I'll link it below, which features Christopher Hitchens and Stephen Fry. They are debating whether or not the church is a force for good. Fry states that the church is 'obsessed with sex'. It's something I hadn't really thought about until he said it. I'm mentioning this because, of all your fathers religious views, you mentioned his views on gay sex.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCdnh7G87m4

BTW, the state of Ann Widdecombe. 'She' could turn ANY man gay. I use the term 'she' lightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

My Dad is very religious, he is the caretaker for the parish Church and a Sacramental Minister.

The Life of Brian is one of his favourite movies because he has a sense of humour.

It should be noted though that his favourite movie of all time is The Quiet Man starring John Wayne.

That one makes him laugh as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I find it very creepy that you, having not been there to witness the scene in question, nor knowing the father from Adam, have decided to side with him, despite the fact that all we know about him is that he deeply upset his own child by screaming at him for twenty minutes for wanting to watch a film.

You are in no position to say if he was babbling, incoherent and angry or not, only the person who was there can say that. The fact that you assume, without evidence or reason, that he was none of these things, only shows another layer of blind loyalty and deference to religion and the religious that you have.

Super creepy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Have you seen it? My mother told me it was blasphemous and a rather awful film when I was younger. Alas, she had never watched but recently she did watch it. She found it to be rather funny and did not consider it to be a mockery of her belief. So, yes, the father does seem to be irrationally at annoyed at Terry Gilliam and the gang and his son. :D

Corkfeen wrote: »
    Have you seen it? My mother told me it was blasphemous and a rather awful film when I was younger. Alas, she had never watched but recently she did watch it. She found it to be rather funny and did not consider it to be a mockery of her belief. So, yes, the father does seem to be irrationally at annoyed at Terry Gilliam and the gang and his son. :D

Yes I have seen it.. when I was a teenager myself. All religious aspects aside it didn't seem like a great movie or comedy.

The Romans killed a lot of people by crucifixion ( Many thousands) Life of brian has them singing "always look on the bright side of life...".....

Can you Imagen say a movie in making a comedy of the holocaust?

Anyway the whole controversy on the movie is old news. The success of the movie was built on this fact.. Something like the Clockwork Orange which was banned and which we as teenagers also wanted to see and when we saw it could not for the life of me see any talent at all in the movie.

Drumming up viewers based on controversy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,092 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

How does one 'Imagen'?

CiaranMT wrote: »
    How does one 'Imagen'?

One starts by Imagening there's no heaven. It's easy if you try.

CiaranMT wrote: »
    How does one 'Imagen'?
    Ask Ryan Giggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

There is nothing wrong having faith. ..

I am sure you would not record a porn movie that your father knew about?// Why record a movie that is going to mock his faith.

You don't believe... That yours your choice. you are free to decide what you like.

But the least you can do is respect your own father in his own house. (or did you buy the television?)

So because the Christian faith was offended the father had carte blanche to shout torrents of abuse and scare the **** out of his children. I'm sorry but no matter what the issue was be it pornography, drugs or alcohol such abuse is not acceptable. All it serves to do is make the adolescent feel more isolated and less deterred. As a grown adult the father should have been able to keep his composure, explain why the film is a bad influence to his child. I'm sure such behaviour towards coworkers working under him would not be tolerated, the family home is no different.

The fact that you back the fathers response is just, well, staggering. :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Yes I have seen it.. when I was a teenager myself. All religious aspects aside it didn't seem like a great movie or comedy.

The Romans killed a lot of people by crucifixion ( Many thousands) Life of brian has them singing "always look on the bright side of life...".....

Anyway the whole controversy on the movie is old news. The success of the movie was built on this fact.. Something like the Clockwork Orange which was banned and which we as teenagers also wanted to see and when we saw it could not for the life of me see any talent at all in the movie.

I actually enjoyed a clockwork orange but preferred the book. Just because you don't particularly like a work doesn't mean that should dictate that no one else should like it (Similar in fact to the OP's father condemning the film as if it was some sort of a snuff film). So Monty Python films are viewed to be comedy genius purely because of the controversy that ensued around their film, as we all know they were imbeciles with no sense of humour, I don't think they've had succesful careers outside of Monty Python. :pac: This thread needs examples of their lack of a sense of humour. I wasn't alive when the controversy was an issue btw...

Yes the success of the film was built on the controversy, which is why people my age love it, people younger than me, that weren't around for the film launch.

Comparing some two thousand year old Roman execution style to an event mid last century with people still alive that remember.

I could take a ban for what I think of that but I enjoy this forum too much.

Hope this annoys you:

34ea4450.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

You what? Are you dead inside? Watch it again!

Springtime For Hitler from The Producers was a good start. Just needs some fleshing out and bam, instant hit.

Plus that other slice of comedy gold - the Spanish Inquisition ;)

Corkfeen wrote: »

I would hazard a guess that, at the time when you were younger, maybe there was a little less freedom. Your mother may have been frightened into 'not' watching it. In this more open society, anyone can just stick it on for a laugh. I know my parents have certainly softened in regards to their beliefs.
    My Dad is very religious, he is the caretaker for the parish Church and a Sacramental Minister.

The Life of Brian is one of his favourite movies because he has a sense of humour.

It should be noted though that his favourite movie of all time is The Quiet Man starring John Wayne.

That one makes him laugh as well.

Having one's cake and eating it too. ;)

My father loves 'The Quiet Man', has played the video for years and created a fan in myself. It was on tv last year and it gets better with each viewing, just like 'Spinal Tap'. (Spielberg loves it too, hence the clip in E.T)