Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

all time favourite film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭FlashD

The happening

You didn't read that post from the mod about giving a reason did you?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Dog Day Afternoon. I think I favour it over something like Goodfellas (which i think is the best film ever) because when I watched Dog day Afternoon for the first time I knew literally nothing about it. Watching BBC late one weekend night, the announcer said "and now crime action starring Al Pacino"

The tone of the film is pitch perfect, from the levity of Sonny's bumbling of the bank robbery, to the genuine heartbreak on his face as it all slips away from him. Brilliant acting throughout by Pacino and a very strong support cast. I've watched it dozens of times since and its never less than enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Conan The Barbarian - To see the brilliant opening attack on the village featuring the tremendous Basil Poledouris Soundtrack as a boy was just incredible I felt like I wanted to be a warrior, featuring some of the best sword play and fight scenes ever seen on Screen. Its a very underated movie owing to the fact Arnie is in it. I think the likes of Gladiator and Braveheart owes a lot to that film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Julie London

All time fav movie is, The Burbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭sillo

Impossible to pick one, but probably Casablanca (just perfect in every way plus I'm a huge Bogie fan), Dr. Zhivago (Julie Christie never looked better) or Blade Runner (best sci film ever).

God, I haven't seen Dr. Zhivago in FOREVER. I think I have it on DVD somewhere *wanders off to have a rummage*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I'd probably have to go with pulp fiction.

Why? Well there's the action, the blood, the fantastic actors, the interconnectivity of the various storylines, but mostly it's down to the fantastic script.

I could watch it over and over again and pretty much never get bored with it. True romance would be up there too.

This is good.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Technocentral

sillo wrote: »
    Impossible to pick one, but probably Casablanca (just perfect in every way plus I'm a huge Bogie fan), Dr. Zhivago (Julie Christie never looked better) or Blade Runner (best sci film ever).

God, I haven't seen Dr. Zhivago in FOREVER. I think I have it on DVD somewhere *wanders off to have a rummage*

Worth buying on blu ray, the cinematography and especially the sets (Lean built a part of Moscow in Spain with two working tram lines!) look amazing, as well as of course Julie Christie the most beautiful woman in cinema at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Really gotten to like Di Caprio over the years.
    The Aviator would be my pick of his films, just the period look of the sets,the dynamic story of a fearless entrepreneur back then,the mental breakdown and those bleak days in a darkened room.
    All acted unbelievably by Di Caprio,of course Cate Blanchett's inclusion as the love interest was always gonna be a winner imo.

staker wrote: »
    Really gotten to like Di Caprio over the years.
    The Aviator would be my pick of his films, just the period look of the sets,the dynamic story of a fearless entrepreneur back then,the mental breakdown and those bleak days in a darkened room.
    All acted unbelievably by Di Caprio,of course Cate Blanchett's inclusion as the love interest was always gonna be a winner imo.

Totally underrated and Scorcese's last great film in my opinion, also the first time I noticed that Di Caprio could act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭killabban182

I think its very hard just pick one film, a lot depends what mood I'm in, so I have several,
    Best comedy, Step Brothers
    Best Si-Fi, Blade Runner
    Best sports, Remember the Titans

All the Lord of the Rings.

Thats all I can think of at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

It’s always an impossible choice really as many have said, it depends on what humour I am in. One film I watch regularly and never get bored with is THE FIFTH ELEMENT. It has it all for me, tongue in cheek humour, great action scenes and aesthetically some fabulous sets/ costumes. Not to mention imo Bruce Willis best roles excluding Die Hard. And with the exception of the obvious Karl Gruber, Zorg is the best baddie I have ever seen for the sheer ridiculousness that Oldman brings to the character. I know many who hate the film, I just love it all.

Another movie I will watch time and again is Mel Gibson's APOCALYPTO, when done right chase movies have all the tension I enjoy and this is one of the best imo. Love the fact that because of the nature of the movie all the actors are unknowns.

One of the best scripts in movies I have ever seen is 'CITY OF GOD'. Brillant storyline and again mostly unkowns.

I also love most of the obviois movies already mentioned, well most anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

All time fav movie is, The Burbs.

i love THE BURBS...one of my favourite flicks of the '80s... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

what is your all time favourite film?

in no particular order
    these are merely my opinion.

Terminator 2
    Ferris bueller's day of
    The last Samuari
    Michael Collins
    Gladiator
    Beautiful mind
    Boyz n tha Hood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

It's a Sunday afternoon in September. Lawrence of Arabia comes on. :D

The whole backstory of the production!
    The pitch perfect casting!
    That iconic score!
    The robert bolt screenplay without a single bum note!
    The genius that was Freddie Young!

Nothing may be written, as Lawrence himself pointed out but it's my favourite movie that's for sure.
    It's just a great MOVIE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

Well I am an oldie fan,my favourite would have to be "roman holiday" starring audrey hepburn,just love it,also love any spenser Tracy movie,"Adams rib" probably my favourite. John Wayne in "rooster coburn". Ronin also a good one,great car chase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭bullpost

Probably The Third Man.

Post-war Vienna with Orson Welles and Joseph Cotten and some amazing cinematography.

Oh and that music.

bullpost wrote: »
    Probably The Third Man.

Post-war Vienna with Orson Welles and Joseph Cotten and some amazing cinematography.

Oh and that music.

Have it on DVD but seen it again in a restored 35mm print in the IFI about 2 years ago, simply glorious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭WoundedRhino

Amelie. Beautiful film, recommend it to anyone who hasn't seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

Dead Man, directed by Jim Jarmusch with Johnny Depp as William Blake, the unsuspecting accountant traveling west in mid 19th century. Genre is 'Acid Western', Iggy Pop makes an appearance, and Neil Young wrote the unique and haunting score.

Its shot in black & white, which would normally put me off but think it adds to the atmosphere of the film. Lots of other good actors in it too, Billy Bob Thornton, John Hurt, Alfred Molina and our very own Gabriel Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I have three.

The Shawshank Redemption

"Uh Jesus not this again" Yes well I don't give a ****. This film is pure brilliance. The acting is faultless, for a long film it's beautifully paced and the characters are interesting. It's a thought provoking, gritty film that has an uplifting spirit that cant help put a smile on your face. Oh and it's narrated by Morgan Freeman, enough said :D

Goodfellas

"As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a gangster"

This is the best gangster film ever made in my opinion. The Ensemble cast is amazing. De niro and Liota give a great performance but for the majority of people who have seen it Joe Pesci is something else. It's beautifully shot and at its simplest level is just a hell of an entertaining film.

One of the most memorable shots in cinema for me.

12 Angry Men

Apart from one or two scenes it takes place in one place, the jury room. The fact that a black and white film set predominantly in one location relying only on the interactions of the jury members could keep me entertained like it did for 90 minutes is a true testament to it. Lee J. Cobb gives an outstanding performance as does his peers. Each juror is significantly at odds from his peer but all but one start with a guilty verdict. The director uses the position of the camera to his advantage throughout the film.
    At the beginning of the film, the cameras are positioned above eye level and mounted with wide-angle lenses to give the appearance of greater depth between subjects, but as the film progresses the focal length of the lenses is gradually increased. By the end of the film, nearly everyone is shown in closeup using telephoto lenses from a lower angle, which decreases or "shortens" depth of field. Lumet, who began his career as a director of photography, stated that his intention in using these techniques with cinematographer Boris Kaufman was to create a nearly palpable claustrophobia

If you have not seen this film yet I would implore you to do yourself a favor and do so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

All The President's Men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭mikeyboy

"The Outlaw, Josey Wales". An almost biblical story of a man's journey from violence and hatred to redemption.
    Also has the greatest parley scene in any Western

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Patri

The Godfather, the first one for sure can't believe it hasn't been mentioned yet! It's gold for me, I just love the whole portrayal of italian-american crime and it's hard to see anything better! Al Pacino was amazing also.

Few noteworthy ones aside from that; the Prestige, the Usual Suspects, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Goodfellas, Godfather part 2, Its a wonderful life, Pulp Fiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

For me it's The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. Love it!
    Where do I start? The entire film is amazing. Love the atmosphere throughout, characters and dialogue is brilliant, great casting, music is top class and an epic story with some funny moments and the greatest ending to a movie of all time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭da_hambo

Has to be Back to the Future!

So much so I now own a DeLorean!

da_hambo wrote: »

referee%20pics%20or%20gtfo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭da_hambo

Keno 92 wrote: »

referee%20pics%20or%20gtfo.jpg

I4T4T4B9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

quadrophenia,Phil Daniels,sting,and an extremely hot Leslie ash.first seen it aged 9 and instantly became a lifelong mod!starts off slowly,but once the mods and rockers hit brighton it all kicks off.final scene Phil Daniels driving off the white cliffs of dover on stings fancy scooter.classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

final scene Phil Daniels driving off the white cliffs of dover on stings fancy scooter.classic.

but was he on the Lambretta or not?

I always thought thought that scene signified his realization that the life he was living was a joke and crashing the scooter was his way of moving on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭paulosham

My favourite film is if....
    Mick Travis is my favourite cinematic anti-hero, and Lyndsay Anderson's Britannia/Mick Travis Trilogy is just brilliant.

Was lucky enough to see it in the Savoy on the big screen a few years ago.
    Have it on DVD but seen it again in a restored 35mm print in the IFI about 2 years ago, simply glorious.

bullpost wrote: »
    Was lucky enough to see it in the Savoy on the big screen a few years ago.

In the Savoy! Never thought they would show something like that, was it during a film festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

as i mentioned in a previous post,it Will always be quadrophenia for me.however,withnail and i would be a close second.im surprised nobody has mentioned it.anyone ever seen the great rock and roll swindle?sid vicious singing 'my way' on stage,then shooting half the audience!brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

quadrophenia,Phil Daniels,sting,and an extremely hot Leslie ash.first seen it aged 9 and instantly became a lifelong mod!starts off slowly,but once the mods and rockers hit brighton it all kicks off.final scene Phil Daniels driving off the white cliffs of dover on stings fancy scooter.classic.

Was over in Brighton a few times, always a few lads around on a sunday with their customized lambrettas. Class looking bikes!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Green Street 2 which is one of the best films ever made is far better than The Shawshank Redemption its a travesty it didnt win any oscars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

im sorry there is no answear to the question you have asked, its an impossible choice to make,

fair play to anyone who can say definitely what there favourite film is,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Jumboman wrote: »
    Green Street 2 which is one of the best films ever made is far better than The Shawshank Redemption its a travesty it didnt win any oscars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭practice

Serpico for me.

The music, Al Pacino is great in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

Watership down.

The animation was basic but the storyline was enthralling as a child and into my adult years it still brought me back once a year.
    The theme tune is Bright eyes by Art Garfunkel which helps.

I4T4T4B9

You absolute hero!

*Nerd Boner*

Cant recall but as far as I remember it was a one off to commemorate something or other.
    In the Savoy! Never thought they would show something like that, was it during a film festival?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

sgb wrote: »
    All The President's Men

Mine too. Still cant put my finger on why I like it so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Hart

Escape from New York. A masterpiece and the finest B movie ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Saw Platoon in the cinema when i was 11. Best film ive ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭OldeCinemaSoz

M cebee wrote: »
    Magnum Force

harry callaghan versus a rogue unit within police force

harry asking a criminal for directions:)

Harry: Say, excuse me. Could you help us out?

Driver: What do you want?

Harry: Maybe you cold help us, we seem to be lost. We were looking for the entrance to San Quentin. You know where that is?

Driver: It's back there. Don't you see too good?

Harry: Yeah, I see fine. I just wanted to know whether you knew where San Quentin was. And you do, don't you, a@*hole.
    :Dnice one!

a good man has gotta know his limitations...

some yoke of a film i first caught tail ended with the enforcer in the stella sho has me up in arms...

i can't for the life of me remember the title...was only interested in the main feature...

should've gone to catch first run the aldephi i suppose...??? :rolleyes: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Cinema Paradiso

Reason for this, besides it being an absolutely excellent film, is that I also had a whirlwind romance with an Italian girl, called Marilena, and how I broke the ice was that I mentioned I had seen Cinema Paradiso and I loved it.. The part where Toto is lying down in the rain and Elena shows up unannounced and they embrace. The film gets me everytime. I love it for many other reasons but I'd be here all night!