Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

what do you do?

• 07-01-2012 9:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭

what do you work wise?

and if you are a student and work part time, say student as this is your primary vocation.

poll to follow..

actually its all about the poll :p

just bump every so often, if you are voting and its falling off the first few pages. :)

what do you do? 128 votes

student
    0% 0 votes
    student secondary school age
    27% 35 votes
    work in public service [non admin! front line only] doctors, nurses ect, teachers, the worker bees!
    3% 5 votes
    civil service
    6% 8 votes
    work in private sector [anything but the first 4 categories]
    2% 3 votes
    unemployed
    49% 63 votes
    unemployed longer term [more than 3 years]
    10% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Saila wrote: »
    what do you work wise?

and if you are a student and work part time, say student as this is your primary vocation.

poll to follow..

just bump every so often, if you are voting and its falling off the first few pages. :)

What poll? edit. Just read the full post and saw "poll to follow" *facepalm* *blushes*

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭lar203

im a poll dancer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

What do you do Saila?!!

I'm a Social Care Worker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭seantorious

I play a millionaire at parties.

At least I like to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I have slaves who do all my work for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

Corporate drone by day.

World's most devious snuggler by night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I work full time, gone back for a degree part time, and also studying German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I am a black taxi driver... oh no wait sorry, I am an african american taxi driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

I do my best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

You first OP!

I'm an amateur Dark Knight interpreter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I do mind my own business.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭suzzi

smuggle diamonds.....it's only a day job though....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I'm a student, and I work in retail. So.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭markc1184

I'm in college at the minute studying electronic engineering. But I'm also a qualified electrician.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

So far, no civil servants.

Sounds about right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

I am Commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

forgot a category: public service in administration

if a mod could add it in please :(

under the public service option there now would be great :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

-.-

Hey it's Saila.

Ding-a-ling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Enough of this "front line" already. They are not fighting in Afghanistan.

Retired people don't count?

kincsem wrote: »

not again :rolleyes:

feckin add poll later nonsense, dont post the thread until the poll is done :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

No they don't, they're only a burden to society.

forgot a category: public service in administration

if a mod could add it in please :(

under the public service option there now would be great :)

you also forgot self employed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I shovel gravel for a living.
    later10 wrote: »
    So far, no civil servants.

Sounds about right!

Wait 'til monday morning.

ThePower11 wrote: »
    No they don't, they're only a burden to society.
    I worked for 37 years in the private sector, paid 6%+ into my pension each year, and for the last 15 years paid 20%. I didn't get a large lump sum gift from the state when I retired like the "front line" workers. The state pays me nothing.

BBDBB wrote: »
    you also forgot self employed

private sector ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭victoriaa

I'm a student too. And I'm delaying real life for a bit. Yay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Does the OP by any chance work for SW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭Encrypted Pigeon

Scrubber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

i was hoping for interesting replies about what people actually do.
    I'll start.
    I work several jobs, one of which is a children's entertainer, which is quite challenging!
    Trying to hold a group of twenty five or more sugar-filled kids attention for over an hour is not easy at all!

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭yogi beer

god have mercy on the first person to click "unemployed long term"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

I worked for 37 years in the private sector, paid 6%+ into my pension each year, and for the last 15 years paid 20%. I didn't get a large lump sum gift from the state when I retired like the "front line" workers. The state pays me nothing.
    Course they don't :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

yogi beer wrote: »
    god have mercy on the first person to click "unemployed long term"

Polls private.

:(

irish-stew wrote: »
    Polls private.

exactly! and thats why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭Encrypted Pigeon

ThePower11 wrote: »
    Course they don't :rolleyes:

It begins :D

time for the popcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'm a human rights solicitor by day. Pimp by night.

views 37, votes 61 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

views 37, votes 61 :confused:
    Ding-a-ling

private sector ;)

Im a self employed management trainer, I do work in the public sector & private sector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

Needs to allow multiple entry....

Student / Private Sector

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭ashblag

I'm a tiny dancer, dancing for money, do what you want me to do;)
    Boo ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

I work in an exporting private sector multinational company.

I believe that we are your only hope.

Lay down and worship me ye unworthy.

Robdude wrote: »
    Needs to allow multiple entry....

Student / Private Sector
    what do you work wise?

poll to follow..

this ^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Out of work ATM, hoping to change that sooner rather than later. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Qualified as a solicitor although I don't work in the legal profession at the moment. I'm also on a waiting panel for the Gardai so when the moratorium on recruitment finishes I see myself joining, although life and circumstances could change in the meantime.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Student studying Early Childhood Studies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Im on the dole, but i also do a nixer doing deliveries for a take-away...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Back scrubber in the YWCA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Student studying Early Childhood Studies.

Are all your primary texts written in crayon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Roma gypsy by day, Boards poster by night.