Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the bord na mona ad about?

• 07-01-2012 10:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

The son tells the father that he's gay (assumed) while in the sitting room. Then the narrator says while throwing in a briquette (sp?) "It's gonna be a long night"

What's it about? Is he insinuating the son is having hanky panky with the other fella?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

its about selling you stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Daddy will have to beat the gayness out of the son and it will take all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

As in the longevity of the log. *heh* Because they'll be talking?

I haven't seen the ad so I'm going on your account of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I think its about a homophobic man who likes to keep the fire going with briquettes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

^^ sure is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Colmo52 wrote: »
    Daddy will have to beat the gayness out of the son and it will take all night.
    May as well do it in front of a nice warm fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It's a bit of a gay ad to be honest.

Not really an ideal way to come out to your folks when you have your partner sitting beside you and intend to share a bed that evening.

And the ad is insinuating Daddy will take the news badly.

I think its about a homophobic man who likes to keep the fire going with briquettes.

Which, when you think about it, is quite a homo-erotic act in itself. Picking up a long object and throwing it in to an opening to keep a fire going.

Freud'ing it all up in this place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

"Its going to be a long night with Peat Briquette quality time"

I have never called my joy department my Peat Briquette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I think he's going to burn the two lads, but briquettes aren't ideal for getting humans alight, hence the slogan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

He could have been telling his dad anything.

Assuming they are gay, pfft, how stereotypical of ye.

*takes off scarf*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Flaming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Maybe the Dad was banging the Young Lad's boyfriend all along?

Briquettes are for gays,real men use turf.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I wonder will there be a follow up episode to the saga, kinda like Daz used to do with their 'Cleaner Close' ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

He could have been telling his dad anything.

Assuming they are gay, pfft, how stereotypical of ye.

*takes off scarf*

Cold?

*throws briquette into the roaring fire*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

For effect he should have dropped the tray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

If Briquettes were any good he wouldn't be wearing a scarf inside.

I wonder will there be a follow up episode to the saga, kinda like Daz used to do with their 'Cleaner Close' ads.
    In the next episode the mother reveals her secret lesbian lover with the strap on briquette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

For effect he should have dropped the tray.

Then he'd have to bend over and pick it up.

With two gays in the room, anything could happen with that scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

The father is also ghey and those briquettes are going to be shoved somewhere.

Alternatively if you don't buy their briquettes, you're gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

cocoshovel wrote: »
    The father is also ghey and those briquettes are going to be shoved somewhere.

ironic post considering your username is cocoshovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭TrixIrl

In fairness, the dad is both making the tea and preparing the spare bedroom. He obviously has no problem with non-traditional gender roles....

The ad certainly has people talking tho - the aul wans in the office were only scandalised by it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Meaning there's a lot to be discussed I'd imagine? Hence, a long night?

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

As Irish ads go it's not too bad at all.

****s all over anything Meteor, Lyons Tea et al have offered up in recent times.

As Irish ads go it's not too bad at all.

****s all over anything Meteor, Lyons Tea et al have offered up in recent times.

Ah, have you seen the new National Dairy Council ads? Blatant plagiarism of an old Fatboy Slim music vid, but they're hilarious.

I wish I could get a still image of yer ones face when she drinks the milk. Herp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Cold?

*throws briquette into the roaring fire*

I was hoping you'd warm me up, ;)

Da, fcuk off to bed will ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I've figured it out. They're actually in David's house. The oul lad is demented and thinks he's in his own house so he has spent the past half hour rummaging around David's gaff. The mother looks at the oul lad's son in a "poor old b*stard" kind of way.

This is the night they're going to convince the oul lad to move into a home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

A few days in the bog cuttin turf will sort the two of them out, unless they come across a nice bed of heather of course.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

It's Ireland's answer to 'shock tactics' in advertising

But like everything else.. we're about 10 years late..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

A few days in the bog cuttin turf will sort the two of them out, unless they come across a nice bed of heather of course.

Brokeback Bog?

xzanti wrote: »
    Brokeback Bog?
    Splitarse Bog

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

It is quite a strange way to advertise turf i thought

the aul fella looks like he's going to say "get out of my house you fcuking fags"

but anyway that dad should be proud, david is way too good looking for his son, he's done well

I've figured it out. They're actually in David's house. The oul lad is demented and thinks he's in his own house so he has spent the past half hour rummaging around David's gaff. The mother looks at the oul lad's son in a "poor old b*stard" kind of way.

This is the night they're going to convince the oul lad to move into a home.

oh god im crying laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

xzanti wrote: »
    Brokeback Bog?

Indeed, it's out near Mullingar

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

chin_grin wrote: »
    Ah, have you seen the new National Dairy Council ads? Blatant plagiarism of an old Fatboy Slim music vid, but they're hilarious.

I wish I could get a still image of yer ones face when she drinks the milk. Herp!

I haven't no, will keep an eye out for it.

Ah I don't think this BNM ad is good by any stretch, just that it's above average for this country.

"it wrecks the cheese" etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Isn't it saying that the dad is a bit homophobic and not equal to a straight person if he's gonna be talking about it all night.

The ad is trying to be bold and mentioning this area which was a grey one in the past, 10 years too late as most people have accepted the fact gays are ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭suzzi

the real news is... daddy is too old to be the dad....camera swings to mammy.......and the briquette hits the fan......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Briquettes are for gays,real men use turf.

What about the Irish gay boggers spending their nights up to their balls in pete .....

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭suzzi

galwayrush wrote: »
    What about the Irish gay boggers spending their nights up to their balls in pete .....

it's just too ridiculous - the cold man...................think of the cold?.....brrrrrrrrrrrrr........

galwayrush wrote: »

poor pete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

David and the son are mass murderers, on the run from the Guards and about to be caught (the house is being surrounded). The son can't hold in the secret any longer, and is going to come out to his parents, so they don't find out when bullets are coming through the windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I think it's about turf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,517 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

It will take a long time to burn the two gays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I like the ad, clearly whats going to take so long is to explain the details of rimming and fisting to the dad and moving the harness back into the son's room, from the spare room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

bluewolf wrote: »
    lucky pete
    fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭some random drunk

This is the ad in question for anyone who hasn't seen it.

Best thread all weekend.

I haven't no, will keep an eye out for it.

Ah I don't think this BNM ad is good by any stretch, just that it's above average for this country.

"it wrecks the cheese" etc

Found it. I p!ss myself laughing at her face when she's drinking the milk.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

chin_grin wrote: »
    Found it. I p!ss myself laughing at her face when she's drinking the milk.

Eyes rolling into the back of the head whilst consuming white liquid......no, they couldn't have, could they?