Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sayings.....Rural/Regional even Funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Muckit wrote: »
    About a nosey hoor...

"He's that nosey, he'd go up in your hole for news!!'

Live in your ear and rent the other out for space

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I heard a gas one the other day " that fella is so mane he'd swap his shìt for a bigger one"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

About a bore:

"That lad would wither a weed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

She has a face on her that would turn milk sour.
    The head on your man and the price of turnips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭kk.man

Tell that to an ass and he would kick ya......person telling lies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Patients is a virtue possess it if you can often in a woman but never in a man.
    My gran used to say this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

'May he die roarin' is a popular one around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,470 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

'May he die roarin' is a popular one around here.

Or screaming for a priest or doctor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

If his brains were dynamite, he wouldn't blow the wax out of his ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭DX85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

If there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭cute geoge

A small little hardy hoor i used work with used always say when he saw a big lad '' He makes a big shlt i would say''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭kk.man

Heard this one anout a dodgy character a few years back...he can't lie straight in the bed.

This one about making a mess of a task...he is making a pigs mickey of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

A clumsy fella.....that fooker would bend a crowbar in the bog.

A brave lad (usually gaa lads saying this)......that lad would put his head where you wouldnt put a shovel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

A brave lad (usually gaa lads saying this)......that lad would put his head where you wouldnt put a shovel.

Another variant on that one, being careful when when operating machinery:

"Don't put your hand anywhere you wouldn't put your mickey!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

My dad came out with a beaut this week, the ould starting price negeotations by insulting the animal.
    'How much do ya want for the ould frame'
    '€€ and I'll throw in the handlebars for free'

Handlebars meaning horns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

Im flat out like a badger on the bypass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Dupont wrote: »
    Im flat out like a badger on the bypass

Flat out drinking like a lizard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

my mother in law has some great ones.

Leave half an hour early, just to allow for the cow on the track.

She came from 9 acres and now she's the biggest snob in the town.

In response to the weather observation 'it's close ', she stated 'it is if you're near '.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Worked for a company back in the 90s down in Tralee. A member of staff was acting as a witness in a compo case involving the company. He was accompanied by the company's legal rep. Yer man had never seen the inside of a courthouse in his life and couldn't get over the bedlam and chaos both inside and outside the courtroom. He mentioned it to the legal rep at lunchtime. The answer he got back was this.

"Tis like Puck Fair below in Killorglin with Duffys Circus thrown in for good measure."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tail painter

He/She has a face like a well beaten arse

Remember the old shiny toilet paper from school. We used to call it John Wayne, cos its rough and its tough and it takes no ****!

You wouldn't get the likes of that/him in a lucky bag.
    Something/one truly unique usually considered ridiculous.

You wouldn't get the likes of that/him in a lucky bag.
    Something/one truly unique usually considered ridiculous.

If pricks were scarce he'd make two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭red bull

If I won her / him in a raffle I would'nt take them home

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Heard this one yesterday in relation to a digger stuck in a bog, ''I never saw so many experienced 20-25 year olds running around''.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

https://twitter.com/Down2earth_john/status/885004193282621441

"The problem with closed minded people is that their mouths are always open" - anonymous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,219 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Someone who visits an ill person, or visits without bringing a cake or a bottle of wine or a few sweets for the kids : "He always turns up with one arm as long as the other"

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Someone who visits an ill person, or visits without bringing a cake or a bottle of wine or a few sweets for the kids : "He always turns up with one arm as long as the other"

Or his hands hanging to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Took me a while to find this thread again!
    Yesterday I was pulling our empty milk tanker out of the field to attach it to the quad and Dad pipes up from the road ''If you had bigger ears, you'd be as good as a donkey''