Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Funny, rude and old expressions/sayings

• 10-01-2012 12:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

So I did a bit of a search on this and all I could find was this.

Think we could do a lot better than that ;)

One that comes to mind was a few years back, one of the lads hopped out of his seat and exclaimed "I must drop the kids to the pool", took me a minute to cop that one :pac:

Another random one I can think of is "You wouldn't drive a nail into the bog with a frying pan".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

How queer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

"shes a face like a bucket of smashed crabs"

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭dipper.meath16

Em in sports "Ya wouldnt hit a barn door with a shovel" referring to the goals!
    "Havin a Tom Hank"

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭CiaranMcDCFC

She would suck c*ck off a conveyor belt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

"Oh, it's this thread again."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

S/he was like a goat staring at lightning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

She'd suck a bowling ball through a Wavin pipe.

• Registered Users Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

chin_grin wrote: »

Oh quit your whining your lucky to have a job!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

"You can blow it out your h0le" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yes, the first time the thread appeared, "cad" and "bounder" were very popular, and "unhand me you scoundrel".

I remember it as if it were yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'll bate the snot outta ya.

Elba101 wrote: »
    Oh quit your whining your lucky to have a job!

Makes no sense.
    "You can blow it out your h0le" :P

Thank you, I will. Although the word 'hole' doesn't need a zero in it seeing that it isn't a rude word.
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    Yes, the first time the thread appeared, "cad" and "bounder" were very popular, and "unhand me you scoundrel".

I remember it as if it were yesterday.

Thank you, I will. Although the word 'hole' doesn't need a zero in it seeing that it isn't a rude word.

This is very true, had the mindset that it was been used a rude word, habit i guess :cool:

In all fairness it does make the word look different. Almost...............feel different. Like it shouldn't be exciting, but it is.

Makes no sense.

It's all relevant

Back on topic: The tide wouldn't take her out. Always makes me laugh :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Ellian

One that comes to mind was a few years back, one of the lads hopped out of his seat and exclaimed "I must drop the kids to the pool".

A lad I used to work with once said he was "off to release a chocolate hostage."

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭Ellian

It's all relevant

Back on topic: The tide wouldn't take her out. Always makes me laugh :pac:

Or the variation - a sniper wouldn't take her out.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

She's quiet for a diesel

someone should take the hat off that one and s**t in it

my granny
    randomly used to say this when no one was wearing a hat ( usually aimed at people she didnt like )

It's all relevant

I still don't see it! :confused:

Ellian wrote: »
    A lad I used to work with once said he was "off to release a chocolate hostage."

Haha skitting myself here :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

She has a [EMAIL="Ph@nny"]Ph@nny[/EMAIL] like a stab wound on a gorilla.

" " " " " " " " " " Like a wizards sleeve.

Or my favourite one from Jim Royle Himself "im off to have a chat with the arabs.........mustafa crap"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I'd smash her back door in

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

She has a fanny like a badly packed kebab

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭dipper.meath16

Lads, I woulnn't ride her inta battle! or was like ridin a sack of spuds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

"She has a face on her like a bulldog that's after licking piss off of a nettle"- to describe a non too pleasant looking woman

"He's like a blind skunk that fell in love with a fart"- a description of a particularly clueless footballer

"Stop your messing chaps or I'll redden your arse"- a warning of impending disciplinary procedure should children continue their unruly ways.

All from the tongue of a colourful uncle of mine throughout the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Go rim a donkey! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Ormus

As wet as an otter's pocket.

How about........ " he was beatin like a red headed step child"

Ya couldn beat it with a big stick!!

yupyup7up wrote: »
    I'd smash her back door in

A mate of mine uses this almost on a daily basis :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

well doesnt that bate banagher

"She wouldn't even get ploughed at the championship"

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

"She's a box on her like a sailor mans beard after eating a bowl of stew"

To describe someone cross eyed - " One eye was going for the shopping, the other was coming back with the change"

I still don't see it! :confused:

Nothing to see here, move along please.

When caught off guard "a face like a slapped arse" makes me laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

You'll never be half the man your mother was !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I left her fanny looking like a bulldog chewing mayonnaise

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Nyan Cat

S/he could chew an apple through a letterbox (buck teeth)

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Welruc

she looked like her face was on fire and someone put it out with a shovel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭ROFLcopter

"I'd rattle the box of her"

Nothing to see here, move along please.

Honestly. How do you make a link between having a job and posting on boards about sayings? Colour me curious.

Im going to pot the brown. Plop!

Id give her one in the pink and two in the stink!!

He has a head like a well chewed toffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ellian wrote: »

Going to free Nelson Mandela :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

About a 'hairy' one:

"She had a gee like a stab wound in a gorilla's back"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭ROFLcopter

She has a box on her like a loose rasher counter in tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

"Ya have your ****e"
    Said this to my housemate the other night and she had no idea what I was on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

"There's a wind out there that'd blow a kna**er off his sister!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

The morning after a particularly ferocious night out 'He had an a*se like the Japanese flag'

Jim Royle lumbering out the door 'I'm off for an Eartha Kitt'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Someone I used to work with was a regular for stinking the jacks out, and when we used to complain he'd say "something crawled up my arse and died".

That sticks out like a blind chippys thumb.

As sure as ****e sticks!!

As sure as my arse faces the ground.

One i havint heard in a while, a savage for a cabbage.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭talullah

"ya'd lick the *rse of a low flyin duck"