Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why Do Culchies Love ........

• 10-01-2012 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭

Can anyone tell me why culchies love Podge & Rodge.
    That's the way it seems anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Ok who else thought "milk tray" at the title?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

just......oh whats the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

Just one of those things. It's like city folk being unable to talk anything but shíte all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

I wouldn't know op, shur Im from Limerick :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Their sisters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Their sisters
    Dosent everyone love their sisters :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I like Podge & Rodge and I'm not a culchie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

imme wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me why culchies love Podge & Rodge.
    That's the way it seems nallandanyways.

ah that's better

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

chin_grin wrote: »
    Ok who else thought "milk tray" at the title?

I was thinking "....bacon and cabbage" when I saw it. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

dublin vs the rest of the country in 3....2.....1.....

Why do dubliners love heroin so much :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Why do Dubs love this
    The dish is semi-boiled, and semi-steamed in the stock produced by boiling the rashers and sausages. Some traditional recipes favour the addition of a small amount of Guinness to the pot, but this is very rare in modern versions of the recipe. The dish should be cooked in a pot with a well-fitting lid in order to steam the ingredients left uncovered by water.

Just boiling fatty meat and calling it a meal
    Sounds absolutely vile :p

There is a reason the rest of Ireland doesn't make coddle
    And I never heard of it before boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

smash wrote: »

we'll be the judge of that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

Im no mulah but il love podge and rodge too.

Why to country folk like to rip the end of their jeans?

And why do the women like to wear O Neills track suit bottoms?

Not having a go BTW sure The Dublin women wear their P.Js to the shops!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ahem.....

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Why do Dubs love this

Dont you DARE say a bad word of coddle, tis the finest of all the meals the mammy makes :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Its just the way it is just like all dubliners loving Fair City because it portrays all their lives to a tee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Winning all Irelands...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

smash wrote: »

Are you from ireland? the you're a culchie....Ireland doesn't have any real cities, just a few big(ish) towns that we called cities.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

Ha ha Fair scity.........what a terrible terrible show!!!! Reminds me of alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

cloneslad wrote: »
    Are you from ireland? the you're a culchie....Ireland doesn't have any real cities, just a few big(ish) towns that we called cities.

except for Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Culchies love Killnascully and Pat Short
    Dubs love Mrs Browns Boys and Brendan O'Carroll.

We're all idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Martyn1989 wrote: »
    except for Dublin
    Nope, Dublin is just a big town inhabited by a wierd human-pigeon hybrid race.

Dubs have a city centre and they call it town

Sligonians have a town centre but many insist it's a city centre :confused:

Quick google gets me
    Sligo City Hotel a Sligo Hotel in the heart of Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Why do Dubs love this

Haha the first time I ever had coddle I had a whole room of coddle lovers staring at me awaiting my reaction "oh isn't it just sooooo tasty"? etc.

It was probably the blandest food i've ever had in my life!

Bland :confused: the stuff dosent even need salt. you need a bowl of me mammys ;)

Coddle = liquid fat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Dublin is a culchie capital compared with other capitals in Western Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Why do culchies love culch so much?

What is it about culch that makes them dedicate their lives to following it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Martyn1989 wrote: »
    except for Dublin

It's a small town???

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Viral Vector

Why do culchies love Mrs. Brown's Boys?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Dubliners eat their own shins and fart god save the queen every tuesday or theyre fed to lions

culchies are a single celled organism that reproduces asexualy

...when does this crap get boring to some people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

OSI wrote: »
    I would have thought your own shite would have earned that honour..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭SisterAnn

I love visiting Dublin. I get the train out to Bray to look across at Howth, have the sneer, turn around, go to Howth look back across at where I came from, and have the sneer. I look up the quays, down the quays, and snigger. Then go home by the airport where I decide which of the TWO terminals to go through and laugh into my sleeve.
    Dubs - you ARE culchies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

wearing trousers too short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

OSI wrote: »
    I would have thought your own shite would have earned that honour..

How do you know Tayla's shíte is bland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Why Do Culchies Love............Dinner cooked on a 'range'
    They have an ability to see moving statues too.....and can enter any public place wearing wellies covered in shite......the majority of their car (Toyota Corolla E30s) journeys are spent with thumbs pressed against the windscreen as a result of 'loose chippings'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Dubliners love coddle because they are gourmets :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

CJC999 wrote: »
    Its just the way it is just like all dubliners loving Fair City because it portrays all their lives to a tee

especially the exaggerated long pauses in between sentences along with our over emphasis on "sighs" and "tut's".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭spagboll

is it just me or is there a certain type of young dub that no one talks about? forget Ross O Carl Kelly, Damo and Ivor, but a kind of everything-about-me-screams-gay-but-I-have-a-girlfriend type with a twist of suffering teenager and a dash of living in a molly-coddled bubble?? typically seen with a long fringe combed to one side

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Culchies love eating hang sangwiches and drinking flasks of tay from the boots of Toyota Corollas parked up on the side of the road after a match in Semple Stadium.

Dublin gangs get blamed for everything

Robberies over the weekend in Meath, Kildare and Wicklow? Clearly it was Dubs who did it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

spagboll wrote: »
    is it just me or is there a certain type of young dub that no one talks about? forget Ross O Carl Kelly, Damo and Ivor, but a kind of everything-about-me-screams-gay-but-I-have-a-girlfriend type with a twist of suffering teenager and a dash of living in a molly-coddled bubble?? typically seen with a long fringe combed to one side

Is there an interpretor available ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

spagboll wrote: »
    ...a kind of everything-about-me-screams-gay-but-I-have-a-girlfriend type with a twist of suffering teenager and a dash of living in a molly-coddled bubble?? typically seen with a long fringe combed to one side

Thats just an extension of Teen culture emenating from the UK, Dubs love that shíte, then they laugh at the rest of the country for being 'generic' because apparently all we wear is our local GAA club's jersey and torn jeans. They're very bad for it in places like Derry and Belfast aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭Fourteen

deccurley wrote: »
    because apparently all we wear is our local GAA club's jersey and torn jeans

You don't?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I suppose Im a cluchie seeing as I dont live in Dublin and I hate podge n rodge, and that ****ing show Kilnascully (or whatever the F*ck its called). Actually, I just hate all Irish tv and havent watched it in at least 3 years.

Anyway, its only the culchie-culchies that like that kind of shíte.
    You see, there are normal people living outside of Dublin too (not that Dubliners are normal by any standards :pac:), and just like your heroin problem we have a dirty culchie problem and we dislike them too. So now you can start referring to them as culchie culchies, ok?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭blue note

Coddle - it's a boiled fry. I can't understand it. Maybe it's something you have to have with a side of herion to appreciate.

When I was growing up we called the lads from the country culchies. We were from a town so were therefore not culchies. It was when I came to college that I was educated by a Dub from Rush that I was in fact a culchie because I was not from Dublin. She informed me that people from Rush were not culchies, but you could be from the centre of Cork and you would be.

I don't understand it - might be something that's easier to understand if you're high on herion.

The 8th of December (culchies day out) was new to me too. People told me that they were avoiding town because of the day it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Do you really have to ask why they identify with a TV show that has two half-witted, unwashed brothers living in a remote tumble-down house that are possibly sleeping together?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Why is everybody obsessed with heroin today ?