Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaming News

• Registered Users Posts: 29,845 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

• Registered Users Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Zero-Cool wrote: »

Ffs. I only just bought dark souls remastered based on the fact the trilogy wasn't coming to eu.
    Now that it is can I buy the trilogy and use my current saved progress ? Or do I have to start again. Also can players who play the dark souls remastered play coop with the trilogy version? I know bandi are feckers for separating servers.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,180 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

I've played each of them multiple times, I think I've had my fill of Souls games now. Plus that DS "remaster" left a bad taste in my mouth.

Nice cover art though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

gimli2112 wrote: »
    EA and Activision don't seem to understand you can monetise a game successfully by giving people what they want and not simply charging for everything they want. COD started charging for red dot sights last week and a corner of the internet exploded.
    I'm pretty sure that's the antithesis of monetisation. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,845 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

J. Marston wrote: »
    I've played each of them multiple times, I think I've had my fill of Souls games now.

Nice cover art though.

Yeah I'd much prefer DS 4 or Demons Souls remaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,787 ✭✭✭✭Penn

J. Marston wrote: »
    I've played each of them multiple times, I think I've had my fill of Souls games now.

Nice cover art though.

Never played one of them. Might pick it up further down the line but don't think I'd get it at launch. Too much else out during that general period.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Randy Pitchford (Gearbox guy) allegedly stole embezzled money (in the millions) and held 'underage' porn on a USB. There's a Kotaku article of it up who usually defend him but I guess the agenda points he earned for his bigot song finally dried up.

Catherine popped up on steam out of nowhere. No 3rd party DRM.
    https://store.steampowered.com/app/893180/Catherine_Classic/

You can now go to prison in Japan for editing a save file and other nerd stuff
    http://www2.accsjp.or.jp/activities/2018/pr6.php

• Registered Users Posts: 27,324 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Never trust someone that's really into magic.

Still though, that Kotaku article spells out a slightly different story to your headline. Gearbox sue a guy for for fraud and a month later he comes back with a lawsuit of his own, and a whole mess of stuff about childporn, which seemingly didn't bother him enough to contact the police five years ago when he claims he found it.

I'm no Randy Pitchford fan and his game studio have been guilty of all kinds of nonsense, but this seems like a disgruntled ex-employee throwing grenades with little evidence.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,478 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Bizarrely, Pitchford himself has actually discussed the USB video publicly. This Ars Technica article has some of the strangest details I’ve ever read in a video game news piece :pac: https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2019/01/gearbox-ceo-allegedly-kept-underage-porn-on-usb-stick-new-lawsuit-alleges/
    “Before I know it, I think the entire office looked at it. And there was one piece of content on here. And it never occurred to any of them that the reason why there was just that single porno was because of the magic trick, not because of [pause] I don't know whatever the **** they thought."

“It’s not just porn, it’s magic” is certainly an interesting defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,324 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jaysus! That's......wow. Randy Pitchford is an looper.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,071 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

gimli2112 wrote: »
    EA and Activision don't seem to understand you can monetise a game successfully by giving people what they want and not simply charging for everything they want. COD started charging for red dot sights last week and a corner of the internet exploded.

I had to Google that and holy crap! That's some cheek to monetise that! I'd say something if it was very different, but it's literally the red dot sight, but the dot is actually an open circle. I don't agree with the way BlOps 4 have changed the system, I would still have preferred random loot boxes from gameplay, but with the option to buy anything directly if you wanted. The current system is pants, as I'll never have the opportunity to get the better stuff because it's locked behind progression. In previous games, I'd usually end up with one or two 'Premium' items that I got through loot boxes. Not any more.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,464 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

new console on the way called the Mad Box

• Registered Users Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Skerries wrote: »

It will fail badly. You cannot compete against the likes of Sony and Microsoft in this area.

Hardware design is just scratching the surface. Its well known that the hardware is sold at a loss and the money is made back on software sales. I cant see a new company being able to absorb massive losses without proper backing from software developers.

I just don't see this working.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,441 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Well people said the same about Sony in the 90s. However the three key players are too strong at the moment and the madbox offers nothing the big three don't unlike the PlayStation at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Rob2D

LOL, what a clickbait article. If that yoke ever does materialise it'll just be another Steam box type thing. Nothing to see here folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭Robert ninja

Consoles as hardware are on their way out anyway.
    Rob2D wrote: »
    LOL, what a clickbait article. If that yoke ever does materialise it'll just be another Steam box type thing. Nothing to see here folks.

Possibly not even. With a steambox or steamOS you can access steam and every game with linux support (which is bigger than all 3 consoles combined). With this new yoke there's no info on what OS is actually running inside.

But move over all of that because we've got the SOULJA GAME handheld! Surely the pinnacle of consoles.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Sony are approaching 100million consoles sold. I dont think there on the way out. Not for a few gens anyway.

Different versions ie disc less consoles and streaming consoles will be a thing and just like people want a PC to play PC games,a lot of people want a console to play games even if they buy content digitally.

For years people said PC gaming was dying,look at it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Argh... A console that "will be released in three years" and only exists in the mind of some CEO looking for investors...

Here's another scoop: I'm releasing a new console in seven years called the Romp Comp. It will run at 8000fps and support ultra virtual 10k reality. Here's an exclusive pic (design not final):

1zbc7mb.png

• Registered Users Posts: 21,390 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

That’ll sell better than the Wii U at least.

• PaddyBomb wrote: »

Sony took there time. Similarly with Fortnite

• Registered Users Posts: 12,464 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

totally impractical but I want one

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,441 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

EoinHef wrote: »
    Sony are approaching 100million consoles sold. I dont think there on the way out. Not for a few gens anyway.

Different versions ie disc less consoles and streaming consoles will be a thing and just like people want a PC to play PC games,a lot of people want a console to play games even if they buy content digitally.

For years people said PC gaming was dying,look at it now.

Consoles will die before PC. Next gen could well be the last console gen. All three console manufacturers are pushing streaming and subscription services.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Next gen could well be the last console gen. All three console manufacturers are pushing streaming and subscription services.

I wouldn't think so. As long as Sony release a console, people will buy it. Streaming and subscription services aren't for everyone.

Notorious wrote: »
    I wouldn't think so. As long as Sony release a console, people will buy it. Streaming and subscription services aren't for everyone.

People said the same about xbox live, Netflix and microtransactions.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭EoinHef

Consoles will die before PC. Next gen could well be the last console gen. All three console manufacturers are pushing streaming and subscription services.

I disagree. A gen where we might have the most popular console of all time is not the time to write consoles epitaph.

If it were true i dont think MS and Sony be developing new consoles with gusto.

Anyway,where do you think sony would get the hardware to emulate 100million playstations?

EoinHef wrote: »
    Anyway,where do you think sony would get the hardware to emulate 100million playstations?

Same place they get the servers for PS Now. And with consoles moving towards PC architecture there's very little emulation involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Which is perfect for the world we live in. The average person doesn't want to have to update Windows, Software, Apps etc and sit in-front of a monitor with a keyboard and mouse to play games or stream TV. Yes I know you can hook a PC up to a TV but maintaining a PC requires considerably more effect compared to a console.

Consoles are the perfect solution and I am completely in favour of them becoming a multi function device that you use for gaming, streaming, tv, subscriptions etc. It makes sense. I say this as a hardcore PC gamer that dropped the PC platform in favour of the console platform years ago.

The console market has been growing year on year for the past 10 years, what makes you think it will die?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,787 ✭✭✭✭Penn

ZiabR wrote: »
    Which is perfect for the world we live in. The average person doesn't want to have to update Windows, Software, Apps etc and sit in-front of a monitor with a keyboard and mouse to play games or stream TV. Yes I know you can hook a PC up to a TV but maintaining a PC requires considerably more effect compared to a console.

Consoles are the perfect solution and I am completely in favour of them becoming a multi function device that you use for gaming, streaming, tv, subscriptions etc. It makes sense. I say this as a hardcore PC gamer that dropped the PC platform in favour of the console platform years ago.

The console market has been growing year on year for the past 10 years, what makes you think it will die?

I agree. I don't think streaming/subscription services and consoles are mutually exclusive, as we can currently see already. Streaming/subscription is already here, and will only become a bigger part of the service. That doesn't mean the delivery method of that service (in this case, consoles) are going to be phased out. It's more likely the subscription-based services will be extended and more widely-available on PC and consoles, but consoles will still be sold as the flagship delivery method of that service.

It doesn't need to be, and likely won't be, an either/or scenario. I think both companies will continue making consoles for at least the generation after next.

ZiabR wrote: »

I'm not saying PC will replace consoles. PC will stick around as it has uses outside of playing games.

Also aren't overall console sales down compared to previous generations? They were at the beginning of the generation.

It's more that the playstation and xbox consoles will more likely become playstation and xbox services playable on anything that can stream. PS Now is already available on PC. Subscription services are far more lucrative than single game sales and you reduce development costs of hardware and hardware supply when everything can be handled server side. The big three will be looking to save vast amounts of money if they can get these services off the ground.