Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Shouldn't occupy Dame Street be in the IFSC?

• 11-01-2012 8:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭spagboll

The other protests around the world, like the one on Wall street are outside the likes of Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan, not outside the nations central bank, like is the case on Dame street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

There's no Starbucks near the IFSC anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

WindSock wrote: »

Is there even free wi-fi? :eek: These hippies need somewhere to use their electronic devices that living in a western capitalistic society has afforded them.

Mod Note: Re-reg Banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,620 ✭✭✭Blackjack

There would be fook all sympathetic onlookers in the IFSC for them.

Anyone know what they hope to achieve by hanging around outside the Central Bank?.

Does anyone know what they're about at all?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

There is a Starbucks in that big shopping mall (the one that is nearly empty from everything closing down)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

Dotrel wrote: »
    Is there even free wi-fi? :eek: These hipsters need somewhere to use their electronic devices that living in a western capitalistic society has afforded them.
    fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

There's one in CHQ shopping center thing.

OP, I imagine it's because their main gripe is with the central bank and fincnail regulations. Not individual firms.

Anyway, who cares? They're just a bunch of socialist hippies. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The IFSC is private property owned by Dublin Docklands Authority.
    It's not a public street like O'Connell St or Grafton St

The security would shift on those hippies within minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Why don't they just blow something up?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

But then it would be 'Occupy the IFSC' which basically just sounds like something for XBox

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

They may not achieve anything in the end, but at least they're doing something, i wish i could do something like that, im all talk though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

fedor.2. wrote: »
    They may not achieve anything in the end, but at least they're doing something, i wish i could do something like that, im all talk though.

That would be the Lyons Tea you're drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,443 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Well considering that Dame Street is a very busy street, while the IFSC is all the way down near the docklands. It's possible they have their camp outside Central Bank because it gives them more attention. There are more people going by Central Bank throughout the day, then there are going by the IFSC. So it's a better way, plus it's not as out of the way as the IFSC.

They're trying to make a statement and send a message. Dame Street, is a better street to send that message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

spagboll wrote: »
    The other protests around the world, like the one on Wall street are outside the likes of Goldman Sachs and JP Morgan, not outside the nations central bank, like is the case on Dame street.

No thanks, i work in one of the above banks in the IFSC so last thing i wish to see when im trekking into work each day is a bunch of hippies blocking my way!

They will get more results occupying institutions linked to our state, as opposed to foreign banks who probably dont give a flying fu*k about what these people are protesting over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Well considering that Dame Street is a very busy street, while the IFSC is all the way down near the docklands. It's possible they have their camp outside Central Bank because it gives them more attention. There are more people going by Central Bank throughout the day, then there are going by the IFSC. So it's a better way, plus it's not as out of the way as the IFSC.

They're trying to make a statement and send a message. Dame Street, is a better street to send that message.

The IFSC: more wind, colder, wetter, further from cafes to defrost and McDonalds for toilets..

Throw in the north inner city scumbags and they'd be gone in 2 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,443 ✭✭✭Riddle101

The IFSC: more wind, colder, wetter, further from cafes to defrost and McDonalds for toilets..

Don't think so. National College of Ireland is right behind the IFSC building. There's plenty of shops and cafes near it, so I think they'd be set. As for scumbags, well i'm sure there are a fair few of them in Dame Street as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Security all over the IFSC

Scumbags are scarce, they stick to their own areas

Well I suppose it was their area but it was pulled it down and rebuilt it

• Registered Users Posts: 87 ✭✭Dead Kennedys

Blackjack wrote: »

Anyone know what they hope to achieve by hanging around outside the Central Bank?.

http://www.occupydamestreet.org/ There ya go. Have a read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

The answer is obvious. The IFSC has very little to do with the Irish economic crisis.

The Irish banking crisis was related largely to poor regulation of the domestic retail banks in their day-to-day operations. As the regulator's office is once again back inside The Central Bank, this seems like the most appropriate body towards whom the protest ought to be directed.

The urban geography is a factor too, the IFSC is not a regularly traversed part of the city for most Dubliners.

And I wouldn't neglect the fact that the protest was designed to be evocative of the Occupy Wall Street movement. Occupy Dame Street just sounds a bit like Occupy Wall Street.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I am the 98%

I do not wish to be associated with the 1% bankers or 1% hippies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

when did they get that shack built ?

whats in it ?

did they have planning permission for it ?

this is a joke.

too many knobs hanging around here now on a saturday !

bad enough with those emo/goth knob goblins on top of these hippies that cant get a job !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Fair play to the for doing something though

Blackjack wrote: »

there's none in DS for them either
    heard them mumbling incoherently into some mic as i walked past last night, and nobody was standing around to listen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I did your ma.... I am the 99%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Because if they buy a coffee in Starbucks their protest is negated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭FunGoose

Because if they buy a coffee in Starbucks their protest is negated?

Correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Dublin City Council need to send in the clampers and tow that hippie camp out

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Why not occupy both?! Sure its all a bit of craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

I actually clicked into this thread to mention starbucks!

FunGoose wrote: »
    Correct.

So they can't raise concerns about financial irregularities if they drink coffee? I guess this would apply to buying anything in a capitalist system. In which case nobody should be able to raise concerns at all. What an absurd argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭FunGoose

So they can't raise concerns about financial irregularities if they drink coffee? I guess this would apply to buying anything in a capitalist system. In which case nobody should be able to raise concerns at all. What an absurd argument.

Incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

IFSC security are quite vigilant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Words cannot express how much this thread depresses me. F*ck's sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

They can.

But the Central Bank protest, like in London, is as much about anti-capitalism as it is domestic issues.

Starbucks is a multi-national, capitalist, designer brand.

Much like the iPhones and iPads that I've seen the protestors in London waving about.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    I am the 98%

I do not wish to be associated with the 1% bankers or 1% hippies.

What about the people who are pissed off about what's being done in our country and around the world and actually want to do something about it instead of moaning on Boards and on Joe Duffy?

Why does being a protester or activist = being a hippy? Was Rosa Parks a hippy too? How about Michael Collins? :mad:

They can.

But the Central Bank protest, like in London, is as much about anti-capitalism as it is domestic issues.

Much like the iPhones and iPads that I've seen the protestors in London waving about.

It's not anti capitalist. It's anti crony capitalism, which is a different thing.

In a real capitalist system, Anglo Irish Bank, Bear Stearns, etc would have been let rot into the ground, rather than stealing money from ordinary people to pay for it because the directors are personal friends of the lawmakers.

EDIT: Starbucks has not helped to destroy the economy or the Western world. If Starbucks had become insolvent and the government had taken money out of the pockets of every citizen regardless of whether they have ever had a single dealing with Starbucks in order to save their sorry asses after they completely f*cked up of their own free will, it would be a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

If they do that I'll have to put my foot down, Tabitha and Fiachra will not be camping out on the northside.

hmmm wrote: »
    If they do that I'll have to put my foot down, Tabitha and Fiachra will not be camping out on the northside.

Who the hell are Tabitha and Fiachra...?

They can.

You're labeling it an anti-capitalist protest, which it's not (necessarily). Any ethos I've heard espoused is that it's about rethinking the current (failed) system of banks and bank bailouts. There may be a general anti-capitalist ethos, but you can't say that the people with the iPads etc are the one's making those claims.

So, it's an invalid argument.

If Starbucks failed and demanded money from every citizen in the country to pay for its mistakes, then you might have a valid argument in suggesting that Starbucks has anything whatsoever to do with the Occupy movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Are these loons still even camped there. When ive walked past the last week ive seen no tents just the little barriers they've built.

If Starbucks failed and demanded money from every citizen in the country to pay for its mistakes, then you might have a valid argument in suggesting that Starbucks has anything whatsoever to do with the Occupy movement.

Jaysus, it was a joke...hipsters are known to gravitate toward Starbucks, no need to take it as an attack on the movement.

But I must ask isn't it a TNC which is part of what the anti-globalisation thing is about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

No it should definitely be on Dame Street. The clue is in the title. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

The "movement" is close to where I work and they always happily take ****e that no-one else will take off of our hands so they're alright in my book. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

You could ask them except you'd have to somehow get them to emerge from behind the fence/mini-homes they've set up. If you do spot one be prepared to be ignored because questioning them is not cool. They are just messing at this point. Bunch of outcasts trying to bone the one or two hot girls who are about.

Jaysus, it was a joke...hipsters are known to gravitate toward Starbucks, no need to take it as an attack on the movement.

And therein lies why it pisses me off. We are not "hipsters". We are citizens of Ireland exercizing our right to protest against the corruption which has brought this country to its knees and kept it there. If you're happy to pay billions of euro in tax to cover a bunch of corrupt banksters' mistakes then so be it. I'm not. If that makes me a hippy, hipster, or whatever else you want to call me then I'm f*cking proud of it. SOMEONE has to stand up to them or they will continue to milk us for all we've got while they walk away with the cash.
    But I must ask isn't it a TNC which is part of what the anti-globalisation thing is about?

Occupy is not anti globalization. So it's irrelevant. Globalization has absolutely nothing to do with Occupy - Occupy is protesting against the amount of undue influence corporate money has over politics. You know, like how we're paying the debts of Anglo as payback for our former ministers getting no questions asked loans from them for the last decade. :mad:

scopper wrote: »
    You could ask them except you'd have to somehow get them to emerge from behind the fence/mini-homes they've set up. If you do spot one be prepared to be ignored because questioning them is not cool. They are just messing at this point. Bunch of outcasts trying to bone the one or two hot girls who are about.

Well I for one am happy to answer any questions you've got provided you don't attack me with condescending generalizations or downright insults. I am not a full time camper but I fully support the Occupy campaign worldwide and I stop by whenever I get the chance.

Domo230 wrote: »
    Sometimes AH, you make me sick

If you think this is bad try the Politics or Irish Economy forum. No wonder the country is in the mess that it's in. :(

You guys all just as bad as Bertie telling detractors of the Property economy to go and kill themselves. Exactly what part of the anti financial system message is it that you object to? Do you object to the idea of politicians representing everybody and not just the people willing to give them €€€? Do you object to the idea of asking banks which go under to clean up their own mess without involving people who had no dealings with them? Do you object to the idea that cronyism in government should not be allowed?

If not, what do you object to about the protesting???

And therein lies why it pisses me off. We are not "hipsters". We are citizens of Ireland exercizing our right to protest against the corruption which has brought this country to its knees and kept it there. If you're happy to pay billions of euro in tax to cover a bunch of corrupt banksters' mistakes then so be it. I'm not. If that makes me a hippy, hipster, or whatever else you want to call me then I'm f*cking proud of it. SOMEONE has to stand up to them or they will continue to milk us for all we've got while they walk away with the cash.

I have respect for the movement. Not everyone involved is a stereotypical hippy of course. I have been there a few times talking to people from all walks of life but unfortunately the image of the movement gets hijacked by the stereotypes which makes it easier for the general public to dismiss it.

For instance, i was there one evening having a look about, as were a few others, next thing this bunch of people dressed in colourful clothes go an sit in a circle holding hands and chanting 'ohm'.
    I mean, ffs. Way to make the movement look inviting and inclusive to Joe Public instead of perpetuating a charicature of itself.

Occupy is not anti globalization. So it's irrelevant. Globalization has absolutely nothing to do with Occupy - Occupy is protesting against the amount of undue influence corporate money has over politics. You know, like how we're paying the debts of Anglo as payback for our former ministers getting no questions asked loans from them for the last decade. :mad:

Corporate money influencing politics has a lot to do with globalisation, and while you say ODS is specifically about our problem with Anglo etc, I understood the Occupy movement worldwide was protesting about the larger problem of globalisation and neo liberal free trade. So I assumed it to be fairly relevant.

I have respect for the movement. Not everyone involved is a stereotypical hippy of course. I have been there a few times talking to people from all walks of life but unfortunately the image of the movement gets hijacked by the stereotypes which makes it easier for the general public to dismiss it.

So let me get this straight, if there are 100 people in a room and 5 of them are yobs, that means it's ok for you to call the room itself a yob fest?
    For instance, i was there one evening having a look about, as were a few others, next thing this bunch of people dressed in colourful clothes go an sit in a circle holding hands and chanting 'ohm'.
    I mean, ffs. Way to make the movement look inviting and inclusive to Joe Public instead of perpetuating a charicature of itself.

And have you stopped by at any of the general meetings where we talk about how to make the movement bigger and reach more people, or at any of the workshops where the stupidity of the system we use to govern our world is demonstrated? I, BTW, have never seen anything of the sort at ODS and I stop by there regularly during my lunch breaks at college and on my way home in the evening. I've spent literally hours at the camp and not once have I seen anything like what you describe.
    Corporate money influencing politics has a lot to do with globalisation, and while you say ODS is specifically about our problem with Anglo etc, I understood the Occupy movement worldwide was protesting about the larger problem of globalisation and neo liberal free trade. So I assumed it to be fairly relevant.

To be honest if you look at Occupy Wall Street, what they're mainly protesting about has nothing to do with globalization and more to do with how the clique at the top get ridiculous special treatment from the government and don't have to play by the same rules as everybody else. Globalization itself is not necessarily a bad thing. How do you define it, in fact? The problem is when government policy is dictated by a small clique in society rather than by everybody.