Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time to Get in Shape

Options
  • 11-01-2012 10:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭

Hello fitness people! ;)

I started studying software development 18 months ago and the weight has been slowly crawling on, as you can imagine it's not the most active lifestyle! Didn't have any regular exercise in my schedule. So if I'm to be working in this area I've decided to get in shape, lose some weight then keep a healthy lifestyle.

I'm currently 26, 6ft and 15.5 stone. I was around 14.5->15 for a good few years but gone up to 15.5 with all this computer work.

The plan - get down to 14 stone.

I know there's a lot of variables with body fat and stuff but does 14 stone sound about right for 6ft med build? Not overly bothered about the numbers, so long as I find my healthy level.

A week ago I joined the gym & pool. Never been much of a gym user so I've been concentrating on getting my exercise from swimming. I'll move on the gym as well I'd say.

So 7 days in I've gone for 20 lengths in the pool every day. When this starts being easier I'll up the lengths.

I've no plans for any crazy diets, just common sense, such as replacing the 11am sausage roll and coke for a banana or soup! Not too up to speed with the nutritional end of things so must look into that too.

Anyway I'll update the log every week at least. If you don't see me here, give out. :o

Joe

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Just realising weight is the only thing I think of in imperial units. Must go metric and move to kg!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73