Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster v Leicester, 8pm, 13/1/2012; live on Sky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

boynesider wrote: »
    Brewster wrote: »
    Quite frankly that is simply a stupid thing to say...really stupid in fact.

Why? Its a statement of fact.

Henry's been around for a while and he has never been anything more than solid and sometimes impressive club level performer. He will NEVER be a top quality international player and you should reconcile yourself with that or you will be very dissapointed in the future.

POM on the other hand shows every indication of reaching the levels of Heaslip, O'Brien, Ferris and Wallace. They are all world class players and Irish rugby has surely reached a point now where we can expect nothing but top international quality.

POM has the potential to be an Irish captain for years and from what I have seen from him this season he has been far more impressive than Henry in every facet of play. And I'm from Leinster so don't even try to accuse me of bias.

Ok, you aren't biased.

You're just talking rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Well done Ulster! Cracking game tonight, Trimble, Ferris and Henry were fantastic. Great quick thinking by Marshall for the BP try. Really hope they get a result against Clermont next week and get a home quarter final, they deserve it! SUFTUM indeed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Why are TG4 showing highlights of Munster v Northampton?

Where are Ulster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Skid wrote: »
    Why are TG4 showing highlights of Munster v Northampton?

Where are Ulster?

Exactly my question as well. They've shown Ulster before have they not? Even S4C had brief highlights showing all the tries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Well done Ulster. Won a few forum members a few bob tonight!

Is Cave injured? I thought he was class tonight. Always seems to make the right decision.

Henry was probably the man of the match. He seems to have hit form and settled playing at 7. As for Ireland selection, I think POM is a class act. Lineouts, workrate, ball carrying, handling, decision making, consistency, can cover any backrow position... he'll be a future international. I'd pick him now but wouldn't mind seeing Kidney hold off a while. Its not like we're short of backrows. Henrys performance should also have alerted Kidney. He was the main thorn in the Leicester side tonight.

Paddy Wallace also had a good game except for one pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Exactly my question as well. They've shown Ulster before have they not?

I'm sure they have. It seems odd to schedule a programme tonight and then show an old match.

Maybe there are technical or contractual problems, hard to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

So if you were picking a team tomorrow you would honestly prefer to have Darren Cave wearing the 13 shirt ahead of Luke Fitzgerald based on current form?

Do you watch rugby? Fitzgerald has been the form player in Ireland since the world cup while Cave has been very average until the last few games (and I've seen nearly every Ulster match this season).

I've watched a damn lot of rugby but funnily have rarely if ever seen Fitzgerald play 13. Give it a rest you clearly are the one that doesn't watch rugby. Could I compare Fitzgerald and Cave? No. Why? They are two different players who operate in different positions.

Fitzgerald has every chance at winger though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Ok I don't have the time to go through this thread but can people stop the sniping and remember to attack the post and not the poster. Bans will follow otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭DeDoc

some serious Clown-shoes on show here!

On the evidence of this season so far, Cave is by far the best option at 13, till BOD is fit. I say that as a Leinster fan.

Similarly, to my mind, Henry has nailed the back-row sub position.

Most significantly, if Tuohy isn't the Irish number 4, after tonights performance, then something is rotten.

Also - big kudos to Tom Court, who after a sustained period of mediocrity/anonynity had a monster game tonight.

Best, Trimble and Ferris continue their excellent form, and deserve selection.

Nice re-appearance from Wallace tonight, and Gilroy had a decent shift too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Cracking game tonight. Haven't seen Ulster so dominant in a long time.
    Not many teams would get anything in Ravenhill based on tonight's form.
    Surely there's a number of men in white have played their way into serious
    consideration for an Ireland spot. But then it is Declan, so the team is probably
    already picked barring injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Roanmore wrote: »
    Did some pundit predict 5 English teams in the quarters?
    DeDoc wrote: »
    some serious Clown-shoes on show here!

On the evidence of this season so far, Cave is by far the best option at 13, till BOD is fit. I say that as a Leinster fan.

Similarly, to my mind, Henry has nailed the back-row sub position.

Most significantly, if Tuohy isn't the Irish number 4, after tonights performance, then something is rotten.

Also - big kudos to Tom Court, who after a sustained period of mediocrity/anonynity had a monster game tonight.

Best, Trimble and Ferris continue their excellent form, and deserve selection.

Nice re-appearance from Wallace tonight, and Gilroy had a decent shift too.

When Court gets a run of games he becomes pretty good. The time he spends sitting on his hoop for long periods for Ireland means he has to start all over again. Similarly at tight head. Give him 5 or 6 full games at t.h. and he gets up to speed. It's his big weakness. The fact that he has to 'begin at the beginning' every time it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Cracking game tonight. Haven't seen Ulster so dominant in a long time.
    Not many teams would get anything in Ravenhill based on tonight's form.
    Surely there's a number of men in white have played their way into serious
    consideration for an Ireland spot. But then it is Declan, so the team is probably
    already picked barring injuries.

Deccie doesn't like making too many changes but maybe they delayed naming the squad until next week so they could have a final look at some players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭padraig.od

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Cave is a better outside centre than both of these. There is no way Fitz will even be considered for outside centre

So if you were picking a team tomorrow you would honestly prefer to have Darren Cave wearing the 13 shirt ahead of Luke Fitzgerald based on current form?

Do you watch rugby? Fitzgerald has been the form player in Ireland since the world cup while Cave has been very average until the last few games (and I've seen nearly every Ulster match this season).

This is silly, darren 'grease lightening' cave is way ahead of fitz for 13. very intelligent player, i'd have him at 13 for munster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭roycon

fair ****s to ulster winning everybody on boards a lot of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭RickRoll

Fair play to Ulster, I was listening to the game on the radio and it seemed like a great night up North. Hopefully they can pull off a surprise in Clermont, 3 Irish teams in the quaters would be brilliant.

Trimble at 13 for the 6 Nations anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,720 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

padraig.od wrote: »
    This is silly, darren 'grease lightening' cave is way ahead of fitz for 13. very intelligent player, i'd have him at 13 for munster.
    I'd have Darren Cave at 13 for Leinster. He seems to be more aware of whats around him than Mc Fadden does. He's a good passer and has an eye for gaps in the oppositions defence. At times Mc Fadden is guilty of not passing when he should. Mc Fadden can be very frustrating to watch at times.

Cave is the best 13 in Ireland right now. I hope he's given serious consideration when Kidney names his matchday 22.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Clermont have to pick up the try bonus at Aironi tomorrow now. Leicester didn't and Clermont are poor away from home so it's no foregone conclusion!

It looked like a great night up in Ravenhill, for both Ulster and Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

This one feels particularly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Great win for Ulster, seriously impressive giving Leicester that sort of a thumping. Didn't get to see the whole game but the parts I saw Ulster looked very clinical. Glad to hear the Irish contingent in particular did well. Would love to see bigger numbers of Ulster lads involved with the national squad. Could well have 7/8 involved in the senior squad and most of them vying for a spot in the starting 15 or 22. Obviously it's hard to call nailed on starters but if I was selecting the team Best, Tuohy, Fez and Cave would be looking at starting in the 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

The nail in the coffin for me was when Youngs went bananas at Poite, and then Ferris (I think?) came in and shoved him back and then Youngs went ballistic - trying to eat Humph's face off at one point, hahah. It's things like that that say a thousand words, Leicester were never going to get back into the game after that.

Also, do Ulster fans sometimes sing the Charriot? It sounded like all of Ravenhill singing it, I wouldn't imagine there was that many Leicester fans there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I presumed it was ironic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

.ak wrote: »
    Also, do Ulster fans sometimes sing the Charriot? It sounded like all of Ravenhill singing it, I wouldn't imagine there was that many Leicester fans there?
    They were taking the piss...

That's what I was thinking, but didn't think the whole crowd would get in on it. Great to see a bit of tongue-in-cheek humour from 12,000 people simultaneously. :D

Surprised Pienaar isn't getting more praise here. I suppose given the time of year people are focused on Irish players.

I wish we had a 9 of his calibre. Hopefully Marshall continues to learn from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Surprised Pienaar isn't getting more praise here. I suppose given the time of year people are focused on Irish players.

I wish we had a 9 of his calibre. Hopefully Marshall continues to learn from him.

He's top class alright its scary though that he's not even the best scrum-half from his country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,263 ✭✭✭OldRio

Well done Ulster. Pure Class.
    Enjoyed Youngs impression of a spoilt soccer player/ child.

RickRoll wrote: »
    Fair play to Ulster, I was listening to the game on the radio and it seemed like a great night up North. Hopefully they can pull off a surprise in Clermont, 3 Irish teams in the quaters would be brilliant.

Trimble at 13 for the 6 Nations anyone?

Trimble is not a good enough passer for 13. He had a poor game with Shaggy in the centre in Twickenham a few years back. He's just had a motm performance on the wing, keep him there!

Rewatched Ireland v England in the 6N recently, Trimble was excellent as usual. He can truck up static ball much more effectively than Earls, Bowe & Fitz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

The nail in the coffin for me was when Youngs went bananas at Poite, and then Ferris (I think?) came in and shoved him back and then Youngs went ballistic - trying to eat Humph's face off at one point, hahah. It's things like that that say a thousand words, Leicester were never going to get back into the game after that.

he really lost it alright was very funny to see , have never seen poite ref a game so good, he seemed to be enjoying it last night.

duckysauce wrote: »
    he really lost it alright was very funny to see , have never seen poite ref a game so good, he seemed to be enjoying it last night.

I think Poite is a great ref, he gets an unduly hard time on here. He gets the scrum calls a bit wrong at times but at least he is consistent with them and very decisive and clear in the decisions he makes. And outside of the scrum I think his refing is top class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I think Poite is a great ref, he gets an unduly hard time on here. He gets the scrum calls a bit wrong at times but at least he is consistent with them and very decisive and clear in the decisions he makes. And outside of the scrum I think his refing is top class.

He binned POC in Thomond once, Munster fans are still bitter.

• duckysauce wrote: »

If there were no scrums or a dedicated scrum referee then he'd be close to the top of the game.

His sheer refusal to referee scrums hurts his claim to the throne massively though.

If there were no scrums or a dedicated scrum referee then he'd be close to the top of the game.

His sheer refusal to referee scrums hurts his claim to the throne massively though.

I think he allows too much at the breakdown, but that's always contentious I suppose. It is frustrating that he won't listen to the captain. He was at it with Murphy last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Indeed - at one point I seem to remember Poite even telling Geordan Murphy how much he was enjoying the game :-)

Funniest moment when the commentater called Trimble "David Trimble" only to correct himself by calling him "Stephen Trimble"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

I recorded what I thought were TG4 highlgihts - at 11.00 yesterday only to find out all that was a reshow of Northamption and Munster from a while back:mad: Any ideas were I can get highlights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

I recorded what I thought were TG4 highlgihts - at 11.00 yesterday only to find out all that was a reshow of Northamption and Munster from a while back:mad: Any ideas were I can get highlights?

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheUAFC

The tries are here anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

What a great way to spend friday night watching an enthralling game of rugby. Best of luck to Ulster against Clermont next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Stuart Barnes mad a very telling comment last night-he said the Pro 12 was now of a superior standard than the English Premiership.

Second try very interesting. The Ulster scrum was so strong, the Leicester 9 was effectively out of the play. Did you see that? And then Pieenar ran out, let 8 pick which created space?

Comments...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭EmeraldNK

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Stuart Barnes mad a very telling comment last night-he said the Pro 12 was now of a superior standard than the English Premiership.

Judging from Leicester's performance last night, and now the Saints' performance in Wales at the moment I'd have to agree with him. But then Saracens are currently topping their Heineken Cup group, and Harlequins aren't having the worst of groups either. Still, given the opposition (Leinster, Ulster, Toulouse, etc...) I'd very much be surprised if any Premiership team made it to the final this year.

Quint2010 wrote: »
    I don't think any Premiership would be confident winning in Dublin or Limerick and I think Munster / Leinster would beat 2 / 3's away from home no problem.

durkadurka wrote: »
    I presumed it was ironic

It was but back in the really dark ages of the 1950s and early 60s, the days of 'gentlemanly rugby' it would have been one of a number 'rugby songs' that were commonly sung at games.
    padser wrote: »
    Indeed - at one point I seem to remember Poite even telling Geordan Murphy how much he was enjoying the game :-)

Funniest moment when the commentater called Trimble "David Trimble" only to correct himself by calling him "Stephen Trimble"
    David Trimble - the ex politico and Nobel winner is Andy's uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Highlights on TG4 anois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Ferris is just a fcukin monster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

jacothelad wrote: »
    It was but back in the really dark ages of the 1950s and early 60s, the days of 'gentlemanly rugby' it would have been one of a number 'rugby songs' that were commonly sung at games.

David Trimble - the ex politico and Nobel winner is Andy's uncle.

Quinlan was on the radio earlier saying that at first he did think it was a pisstake but that from the tweets he got today his mindset had changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

great performance by Ulster, Trimble, Cave and especially Touhy must all be knocking on DK's door for 6 nations starting berths.

Very impressed with Touhy, just what we need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭chris_d

it was a short and sweet pisstake as leicester were after getting hammered at ravenhill, again. just because stuart barnes couldnt understand that, dont let it fool you.

amazing performance. i thought Terblanche was brilliant, despite an early one [or two?] dropped kick he was a level head for the entire match. seemed to always be in the right position and had some lovely quick hands and an almighty boot on him. i hope d'arcy can take something away from his short stay in belfast.

greatest night of rugby since the austrailia game for me.

put andy on the wing for ireland please declan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭roycon

durkadurka wrote: »
    Ferris is just a fcukin monster!

first name on the irish team sheet. ive yet to see him play a bad game. him and jerome kaino are the two best blindsides in the world. hes so direct in everything he does just a stereotypical no.6 through and through. one of a few shining lights when ireland lost to wales and the much hyped murray was bieng dominated by philips and the much hyped cian healy was being dominated by the welsh scrum

roycon wrote: »
    first name on the irish team sheet. ive yet to see him play a bad game. him and jerome kaino are the two best blindsides in the world. hes so direct in everything he does just a stereotypical no.6 through and through. one of a few shining lights when ireland lost to wales and the much hyped murray was bieng dominated by philips and the much hyped cian healy was being dominated by the welsh scrum

I think to be fair, Healy has much to offer while Murray has, for me, yet to show why he is Munster or Ireland's scrum half. In each game this season, Munster's whole game has risen in tempo and intent when the oft reviled TOL comes on. Murray was dull and inept last week but a bit better against Castres seconds. Reddan didn't have a great game today but Boss did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Great result but could all be undone as far as HEC progress is concerned if Cardiff, Edinburgh and Harlequins all win and Ulster don't get at least a draw out in France or score 4 tries and get within 7 points. At least that's how I read it. Am i correct?