Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mixed-race couples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Oddjob

seanybiker wrote: »
    Get in there as quick as you can. Supposedly after you she wont go back. Best of luck with her

The stereotypical all blacks have massive cocks. Lovely. Next you'll be calling his sister a whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Jude_2010

Any pics?

Just to compare of course.

she'll kill me if she ever finds out but feck it lol
    this is from her facebook

Beautiful isn't she? my mates are all like .. how the f*ck did you pull her?
    I say.
    "because i'm a musician, chicks totally digg musicians" yes sir i am one lucky man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Buceph wrote: »
    I don't think Ireland is as racist as some people make out. I think we're still a bit backward for that. In places like London and America they have a long history of different races being part of their culture, so you get true acceptance as well as true racism. Over here, we don't have a history of other cultures coming here (apart from the fecking Brits raping our potatoes and stealing our women.) We have some Asian/Chinese immigration from the 50/60/70s, and the odd story like Paul McGrath and Phil Lynott popping up, but broadly most people of different ethnicity are recent immigrants and their children, and that's where I imagine most of the difficulty is. But for some people that just comes out as a "race" thing.

An example would be the stories you hear of an asylum seeker about to be deported from Ballybogtown, Wesht Kerry. You have every local marching on the Dail demanding that the family are allowed stay, that they've done well in the community and are good people, and didn't she help with the junior infants nativity play and isn't the young fella on the under 10 football team, and sure he might be the first black player to win the Provincial Club Trophy for Ballybogtown. Then they're asked what about immigrants in general and they all say, "They should all be kicked out, but our local immigrants are grand people, lovely family, and they're ok to stay."

I wouldn't have a problem with it, as long as you're an alright lad. I just think that parts of Ireland have yet to encounter many people of a different race, and when they do they see them as "our people" while thinking the rest of that race is different and scary. Eventually they'll figure out that they're alright. And part of them figuring that out would be you going out with this girl and showing them that it's normal and nothing to be scared of.

If it's a problem with her parents or family that you're having, and you're looking for advice, then maybe you should try posting in the Personal Issues forum. If you're just looking for discussion on the average Irish attitude, then I think broadly some people are just a little scared of this new happening in Ireland. Most will be grand in time.
    I know a guy whose girlfriend is black and American - he says the two of them got far more hostility in the deep south of the U.S. than on the streets of Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Jude_2010 wrote: »
    Basically, lets say you're a parent and your daughter says she's dating a black guy. What would be your first reaction. May be you've been in that situation before.

Wouldn't care about someone's colour, ethnicity, religion* as long as they weren't a bollocks.
    Pherekydes wrote: »
    That's still a social construct.

Even if that's true it doesn't mean that people don't discriminate based on someone's race which makes it a bit of a moot point.

*I'd be more concerned about a person's level of 'devotion' to their religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

seanybiker wrote: »
    Why did you have to mention the colour of the herring? you racist:mad:

And then you throw in heap big redskin face. Him racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I say.
    "because i'm a musician, chicks totally digg musicians" yes sir i am one lucky man :)
    Lovely, but not really a cool thing to do, tbh.

Best get rid of the link.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I say.

Dude, she's gonna kick your arse.

She's very pretty though. :)

Dudess wrote: »
    I know a guy whose girlfriend is black and American - he says the two of them got far more hostility in the deep south of the U.S. than on the streets of Cork.

I'm not stereotypical but southern US are quite the racists :/

Thing is there this girl at school that I'm into and she's into me too but to cut a long story short I'm getting the feeling she's reluctant cause I'm black (i dont mean because she's had bad experiences before, just cause of the whole mixed thing) and I understand that, sort of..
    We do get a couple stares when were together, which pisses me off cause, I mean what's the big deal here haha.

Basically, lets say you're a parent and your daughter says she's dating a black guy. What would be your first reaction. May be you've been in that situation before.
    Also any advice would be appreciated very much :D

Thanks for reading

God you'd imagine in the year 2012 it shouldnt be an issue but sadly in some minority quarters, it probably is.

I mean we have been represented globally by alot of black people in different disciplines who were very much renowned and cherished, not only by the irish public, but even on a world wide scale and on top of it these people are considered as been bonafide Irish, not that its relevant. My point is the majority of our populations attitudes have changed toward colour. Yes idiots still roam at large but generally it matters squat what colour or race you are.
    Paul Mcgrath, Phil Lynott, the late Darren Sutherland to name a few who have done this country proud with their achievements.

Personally if it isnt an issue for you or your girlfriend then f*ck what everyone else thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

I say.

You are one lucky man because if she finds out you re-post pictures of her over the internet without her permission, maybe she won't stick around :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,076 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If there's one thing to be learned from this thread it's that everyone should become a musician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

In my personal experience mixed race relationships fail, but it wasn't down to skin colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I say.

Heh, you have to be the first person who ever posted a pic and didn't GTFO :P

I removed the link. The internet is full of weirdo's :pac:

If there's one thing to be learned from this thread it's that everyone should become a musician.
    *scrambles up to the attic to get his guitar.*
    The internet is full of weirdo's
    I think I see what you did there.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Lovely, but not really a cool thing to do, tbh.

Best get rid of the link.;)

hahaha i will now, dont want this to turn into a perv hotspot

Or that everyone should meet a girl with low self-esteem who's rebelling against her parents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Agento.T.o wrote: »
    Soc the destruction of the White&Irish genotype in this country

This poster got banned,
    Gnobe wrote: »
    In Britain, a mixed race majority is certainly possible. 22% of primary schoolchildren are not white, and this is increasing, and I'm glad.
    This is my belief why the world is going mixed race. I believe if we don't stop immigration we should have a fairly beige country ourselves in time hopefully.

They're talking about Britain having a non-white majority by 2066, whether that will happen or not is another thing, but if it does, hopefully we're not too far behind.

You've three examples of hopes you have.
    But are you not doing the exact same thing as Agento.T.o?

You have a view of how Ireland should be racially, just yours is the opposite of Agento.T.o

Your posts are doing the exact same, just pushing different agendas

Just struck me, that's all

Young Jude, I must say, you seem like a lovely lad. Honest sincere advice, if you think maybe being part of a mixed race couple is bothering her, why not ask her (in a nice way) if it does in fact bother her. It could turn out that there's nothing at all bothering her or there's some other minor thing that you can maybe work on with her that's not related to race at all. No point tormenting yourself wondering otherwise. :) You won't know until you ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭teaandtoast

I think there are people that cannot accept difference to intentify with a person as a human being and relate to them as a person and get to know who they are as a person so what does if the person is african,filipino, indian whatever nationality they are really as long as they are a decent person.

Oddjob wrote: »
    Or that everyone should meet a girl with low self-esteem who's rebelling against her parents

Oh yeah, let's rebel with the nice bloke who thinks I'm beautiful and is totally smitten with me. :rolleyes:

hahaha i will now, dont want this to turn into a perv hotspot
    Too late... there's always the "Recently Closed Tabs" menu on my browser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

I would have no problem with it as long as the other person was decent and good for them, skin colour wouldnt come into it. I think you should go for it. If you are friends already itis probably just your own paranoia that is making you think she has a problem with it.

Not good posting a pic though thats a major invasion of her privacy. I hope a mod can remove the quoted link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Thing is there this girl at school that I'm into and she's into me too but to cut a long story short I'm getting the feeling she's reluctant cause I'm black (

Clearly you need to enlist the help of a strike partner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

im telling you now buddy.. Write a couple songs and claim its for her and BAM! chicks galore ;)

here a link to the song that won her over, she thought it was adorable
    http://soundcloud.com/yjentertainment/i-get-lonely-clean-yj

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Thing is there this girl at school that I'm into and she's into me too but to cut a long story short I'm getting the feeling she's reluctant cause I'm black (i dont mean because she's had bad experiences before, just cause of the whole mixed thing) and I understand that, sort of..
    We do get a couple stares when were together, which pisses me off cause, I mean what's the big deal here haha.

Thanks for reading

Just ask her out, she may think because she is white you dont fancy her, as a parent wouldnt care if my son came home with a black or white girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

mikemac1 wrote: »
    This poster got banned,

You have a view of how Ireland should be racially, just yours is the opposite of Agento.T.o

Here's something to consider. Sometimes you don't see the full picture. It wasn't for one single post the poster was banned.

In future, if you wish to question or comment on a decision by a mod, PM them to ask. Making an observation on thread is off topic and derailing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,212 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Do these strike you as being contradictory? Because they should.

Seriously? One poster is promoting a racially divisive agenda, the other is not promoting any agenda, just saying what they expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

I'm Danzel Washington black ..
    hows that for you? ;)
    Thats fairly black OP but not as black as his blacker cousin Denzel.

Good luck to you OP.
    bone the freckly irish arse off her.;)

Millicent wrote: »
    Oh yeah, let's rebel with the nice bloke who thinks I'm beautiful and is totally smitten with me. :rolleyes:

He might be a nice bloke, he might be the nicest of blokes, he might equally be a thieving scumbag, how are we to know? All we know is that he's black, which seems to be enough for half the posters here to pawn their daughters to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

In Britain, a mixed race majority is certainly possible. 22% of primary schoolchildren are not white, and this is increasing, and I'm glad.

Because you are nordie and want the Brits wiped out? :pac:

You want 100% of the population mixed? Dont get me wrong, probably my favourite type of girl looks wise is mid eastern or half Indian- half white but a world with zero blondes or zero *insert any other attractive look* here? Cmon lad, variety and all that!

As for me personally, from previous exp my oul man was in the "well played you ugly fcuker!" camp. My mother would be a funny one- half white- half Indian yes. Anything further to the east or further dark and she would be a bit odd.

Which I wouldnt really care about. Ive seldom listened to her in the past so Im not about to start. Alot of my mates, while maybe finding them attractive, would treat women of certain nationalities with a degree of suspicion in terms of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I'd imagine that to be the case. I don't think there's much racism problem in Ireland. We don't have many black Irish people for that to be the case (although I'm guessing the OP grew up here, at least.) What we have is "different" people. We have/had a lot of immigration. And people aren't generally fussed that someone has different skin colour, but that they're from a different place or culture. A huge proportion of people of different ethnicity living here is not from Ireland. And it's the not Irish part people might have a problem with, as opposed to the not-white. The not-white part is easier to categorise, but as I brought up, there's tonnes of examples of black people going to a small town and the small town deciding they're grand but the immigrants in general (or even people from the big shmoke) are the problem and they're different to us.

In America racism is people presuming that black people are different to the average American becaue they're black. In Ireland the average black-person is different to the average Irish person, because they didn't grow up in Ireland. That will change, and then we'll see if we have a problem based on melanin amounts rather than simple cultural difference.

Thats fairly black OP but not as black as his blacker cousin Denzel.

Good luck to you OP.
    bone the freckly irish arse off her.;)

thank you and btw what does OP mean?? I'm sitting here trying to figure it out, but to nothing sensible comes to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

As I've said humanity is becoming mixed race. There should be no white, black, or asians eventually. In Europe, America and Australia this is certainly should be the case.

Non-whites in europe have higher birth rates and the more that immigrate here, the bigger the potential numbers that will occur in 20-30 years time.

IMO I'm certain within 50 years or so, Britain could well be on the verge of having a non-white majority, which IMO is a good thing overall.

Around 25% of children born in Britain are not white, if this increases to above 50% ever, that will be brilliant.

Here its 7.3%, it's not as much, but at least its a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

thank you and btw what does OP mean?? I'm sitting here trying to figure it out, but to nothing sensible comes to mind

OP= Old Pervert

He might be a nice bloke, he might be the nicest of blokes, he might equally be a thieving scumbag, how are we to know? All we know is that he's black, which seems to be enough for half the posters here to pawn their daughters to him.
    How is the girl lacking self esteem and rebelling against her parents?
    And who said anything about "pawning their daughter off"?

Just because you wouldn't like it (and that's your view which you can't help having) doesn't mean everyone else has it or should have it.

The OP asked what people would think of it, others answered him.

im telling you now buddy.. Write a couple songs and claim its for her and BAM! chicks galore ;)

here a link to the song that won her over, she thought it was adorable
    http://soundcloud.com/yjentertainment/i-get-lonely-clean-yj
    Pfft. You're no LL Cool J.

As I've said humanity is becoming mixed race. There should be no white, black, or asians eventually. In Europe, America and Australia this is certainly should be the case.

Non-whites in europe have higher birth rates and the more that immigrate here, the bigger the potential numbers that will occur in 20-30 years time.

IMO I'm certain within 50 years or so, Britain could well be on the verge of having a non-white majority, which IMO is a good thing overall.

Around 25% of children born in Britain are not white, if this increases to above 50% ever, that will be brilliant.

Here its 7.3%, it's not as much, but at least its a start.

I'm putting my hand out to be slapped here but do you think this is a good thing because you think the UK will suddenly become a racial paradise?

The OP asked what people would think of it, others answered him.
    ^^^^^^
    does that mean everyoine here is refering to me as an old pervert?? :confused:
    or am i just being gullible ahahhaha

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Pfft. You're no LL Cool J.

hahah im sorry .. im working on it though just need the 'LL Cool' part ;)

Go away would ye? He clearly seems quite smitten with the girl and speaks very highly of her. If you read some more of his posts, maybe you'd see that and not alight on the only nugget of information you've gleaned to push whatever agenda it is you have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

^^^^^^

Yeah pretty much, shower of bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭teaandtoast

Thanks for reading

Well you can ask her out to see but don't get your hopes up because this society is not that open in general to mix race relationships but that really shouldn't matter if she does like you but some alot of Irish people are influenced by their family, the society and those around them so don't be shocked if she says no.

If i was a parent and my son or daugher wanted to go out with a person of a different race or a black person I wouldn't mind as long as they are decent. I know an Irish girl who is a mixed race relationship, her partner is not black but I know what you mean I suspect It can be socially awkward and frustrating when people stare at mixed race couples and are indifferent to them but it's the people's problem it they cannot treat everyone the same so if i were you I wouldn't care if anyone is staring.

^^^^^^
    or am i just being gullible ahahhaha
    A little from column A and a little from column B.

OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

I'm putting my hand out to be slapped here but do you think this is a good thing because you think the UK will suddenly become a racial paradise?

I want racial identity to be blurred, I don't want race essentially recognised and so miscegenation can help destroy it.

I also don't really believe in nationality, I'm a bit of an anarchist and believe miscegenation will help destroy national identity as a construct. I prefer if no nation states existed, personally because I can't stand patriotism or nationalism.

Europe should become mixed race. IMO there's every chance western europe will become mixed race within 100 years, at least some of it will.

Go away would ye? He clearly seems quite smitten with the girl and speaks very highly of her. If you read some more of his posts, maybe you'd see that and not alight on the only nugget of information you've gleaned to push whatever agenda it is you have.

I have no agenda, I don't know the bloke, but I have no idea about certain stereotypes being posted.

1. He has a huge cock
    2. He's musical
    3. Ireland is a better place if we're all half coloured, and he's the man to do it.
    4. In fact we're not breeding children of a certain hue at the right speed.

I have no agenda, I don't know the bloke, but I have no idea about certain stereotypes being posted.

1. He has a huge cock
    2. He's musical
    3. Ireland is a better place if we're all half coloured, and he's the man to do it.

But you assume that the girl, without knowing all that much about her bar her age & appearance, has low self esteem and is rebelling because she might want to go out with a pleasant young lad who happens to be black? No agenda there at all.

1. He has a huge cock
    2. He's musical
    Some of those are jokes. And none of the above indicate the girl is lacking self esteem/rebelling against her parents.

I want racial identity to be blurred, I don't want race essentially recognised and so miscegenation can help destroy it.

I also don't really believe in nationality, I'm a bit of an anarchist and believe miscegenation will help destroy national identity as a construct. I prefer if no nation states existed, personally because I can't stand patriotism or nationalism.

Europe should become mixed race. IMO there's every chance western europe will become mixed race within 100 years, at least some of it will.

That's your view, and you're entitled to it, I fail to see the benefits of Western Europe becoming mixed race, though I don't see a downside, I just don't see it happening. As for the nation states argument, that's just studenty nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Do these strike you as being contradictory? Because they should.

Seriously? One poster is promoting a racially divisive agenda, the other is not promoting any agenda, just saying what they expect.

But it wasn't realy what they expect like a few predictions and cold hard facts.
    It was what they hoped for what, what they would be glad to see

And the following post is clearly an agenda

Good for them to have a belief but it's very strong and just struck me, that was all