Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Car

• 14-01-2012 1:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭

Did you keep up with the Joneses this year and buy a brand spunkin new ozone friendly ,low emission,low tax car?
    I certainly didnt/couldnt.In fact ,I only saw my first 2012 today.

There was a time when it was easier to change my car than my tyres.
    My own is 03
    Havent upgraded in 5 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭RickRoll

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,919 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

BMW brag thread.
    GTFO
    I love my 03 Fiesta :/

BMW is the iPhone of cars

EDIT: VW Golfs are the Blackberrys

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

callaway92 wrote: »
    BMW brag thread.
    GTFO

Does someone see BMWs where 'there are no more'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Did you keep up with the Joneses this year and buy a brand spunkin new ozone friendly ,low emission,low tax car?

There was a time when it was easier to change my car than my tyres.
    My own is 03 btw.
    Havent upgraded in 5 years.

its 2012 not 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

its 2012 not 2008

Buying second-hand, only poor people do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

My own is 03 btw.

What county is BTW?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

BMW brag thread.
    GTFO

I think he said "btw" - i.e. "by the way"

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭cul-2008

BMW brag thread.
    GTFO

He said bTw - as in 'by the way', not bMw.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Motorist

Great thing about driving a piece of $hit like me is that you can park it wherever you want without worrying about it getting keyed, broken into, etc.

I can take hit a pillar , scrape it and dont even bother checking for damage.

My push bike is worth more than my car.

(Desperately trying to accentuate the positives there.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

fixed
    never had a bmw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

OP finds it hard to impress his wife without the latest car in his driveway

Maybe I'm wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

You have only seen one 2012 since the turn of the year??

You haven't changed your car??

So, eh, you did keep up with the Joneses then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

The indicator fluid never works on BMW's. Fact!

Feck no, I love my '01 car. It gets me from A to B and even Z, why da fluck why should I keep up with the nob neighbours??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

A neighbour of mine got a beauty of a 03 407 for feck-all today.

Yes, he'll have to give our ethically-challenged money-grabbing coalition extra moola (something that would sicken me) but if you saw the car you'd wonder why anyone would buy new and throw away €4,000 minimum in the first year.

I bought new back in '03, and I still have it.....I do feck-all mileage most months, and it's going fine.

No need to waste cash just to keep Jones & Co happy. Life's far too short!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

I saw someone in a D 12 Porsche tonight.

Someone is not paying enough tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Feck it, I'd go down the years if a particular car caught my eye.

Only in Ireland is "what year is it!?" the first question some gombeen asks when they hear about someones car.

Gimme an '83 Manta over a 2012 BMW any day.

Manta ...nom nom nom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

born2bwild wrote: »

Someone is not paying enough tax.

The notion that everyone should be taxed so hard that we all have to drive old cars is absurd.

If someone can afford a new 2012 Porsche, then fair play to them. I'm sure they paid a shitload of tax on it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I did and not because of the jones but because of the scumbags who burned my old one out.

Its great, I went for economy and 104 tax and I think peaugeot sends a tanker around and refills my tank at night, its the only logical explanation, either that or it makes its own fuel.

I kid you not, with the reduced tax and incredible economy this car will save me a grand a year.

born2bwild wrote: »
    Oh,thats the missus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Oh,thats the missus.

I seen that to. She's good she somehow managed to take four spaces while paralel parking with a porsche

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

anyone who buys a car to keep up with the joneses is severly retarded :o

Id say there are hardly any to be honest for the sake of having what someone else has and more about just wanting nice new things/toys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Just like a Golf. . .

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

Currently awaiting my new car that should arrive next week... I think it's fair to say I fcuked the brakes and the clutch in my old car... :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Erica<3 wrote: »
    Currently awaiting my new car that should arrive next week... I think it's fair to say I fcuked the brakes and the clutch in my old car... :/

Tyres wore out on mine, that's why I changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Only new car I bought in 93 I wrote off after 2 weeks.Never again!
    Anyone waiting on or getting a new car fair play, tip o' the hat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Always think its crazy people buy upto date cars, surely its better to wait a few years and buy a nice apartment in a sunny spot? cars are just worthless instant loss as soon as you sign on the dotted line.

Erica<3 wrote: »
    gearknob?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

There's a local lad who's in his 60's, and he has to be the first to have a new car every year in his area. Thing is, he can't drive it for medical reasons. His friend drives it for him...

I never bought a new car, still on the 02 i got 3 years ago. It's a 2l petrol thirsty Galant, but i couldn't get rid of, love it too much. And if i could afford a new car, i still wouldn't get one, you'd notice every scratch and scrape and it would sicken you...