Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking on your own?

• 15-01-2012 1:11am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭

I love a pint out with the lads!

But i also like my own company at times, how do you feel about drinking on your own..either in a pub or at home?

I sometimes drink at home alone, watch a couple of films or DVDs and i love it, but some friends think it is weird or sad!

Personally i couldn't give a fcuk what they think, it is just most think it is weird or wrong in some sort of way.

How do you feel?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

If you like your own company, and you like to unwind by having a drink or three...

then where's the problem?

Once again, you're never alone with a newspaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Drinking on your own is fantastic. Good company, few fights, nobody hogging the loo and guaranteed sex at the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

At home i'd be fine with it. in a pub i'd be fine with it, if it wasn't late, when people are out in groups. if i'd a book or a paper, I'd like it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Their problem not yours, go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Sometimes its nice to enjoy a few quiet drinks when alone. Once you're in positive mood and you're not just drinking to numb your mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I wouldn't do it myself much but I don't see a problem with it. Drinking to me is socialising and having the craic hence the reason I don't do it alone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

Looks to me like half the country is drinking at home by the booze sales in the supermarkets.

Pubs are too dear to be going to every night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Strangely enough, I've noticed I drink less masculinely when alone. Less beer and more bloody Marys.

Apart from adapting a maxim of nothing to excess, I don't see the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

How do you feel?

Theres nothing wrong with having a few cans by yourself at home. It can be relaxing :)
    Its only a problem if you are then drinking in the company of others, you feel into yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I always drink by myself. But I'm probably not poster boy material for this.

If you enjoy it and you don't go over-board then there is nothing wrong with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Having a can or two is fine but getting hammered regularly on your own would be a bit of a worry.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Having a drink alone at home is fine, And you don't have to worry about drinking and driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

your not on your own , yourr on the computer
    cloptrop slurs this into his keyboard

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

Love having a few beers while watching a movie by myself at the weekend, though I preferr the banter in the pub. Don't always have the cash though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

Nothing bates a few beers, peace and quiet and a good aul rant on boards :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

I love a pint out with the lads!

But i also like my own company at times, how do you feel about drinking on your own..either in a pub or at home?

I sometimes drink at home alone, watch a couple of films or DVDs and i love it, but some friends think it is weird or sad!

Personally i couldn't give a fcuk what they think, it is just most think it is weird or wrong in some sort of way.

How do you feel?
    Your friends are wierd or sad.IMO.Bloody hell after a **** day at work have a can or two.Whats the big deal?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

[FONT=Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif]God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference. [/FONT][FONT=Georgia, Times New Roman, Times, serif]Living one day at a time;
    Enjoying one moment at a time;
    Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
    Taking, as He did, this sinful world
    as it is, not as I would have it;
    Trusting that He will make all things right
    if I surrender to His Will;
    That I may be reasonably happy in this life
    and supremely happy with Him
    Forever in the next.
    Amen.[/FONT]

Might be of use to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭bobbytables

Yeah if you enjoy it & you're not hurting anyone else, go right ahead. No issue as far as I'm concerned. If you preferred doing it on your own & not with others I'd say look in to it.

Don't do it myself. Drinking isn't a big part of my life. I'll go on a session every now & then, but when I'm on my own I like to be able to concentrate on stuff or jump in the car if I need to go somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Most Wednesday evenings I'll drop into the local for some toasted sandwiches, few pints and a chat with the barman.

Get a nice comfy seat, watch the news and watch the football. Home by ten pm or so
    Chill after a day of work

Nothing strange at all with drinking on your own :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Never really thought about drinking on my own but I arrived in town before anyone I knew the other night and had a couple of pints on my own while I waited. Nothing wrong with that but I wouldn't make a habit of it.

Drinking at home on my own I've done once or twice, its not for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

This thread is far too sensible for my liking.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

If I'm staying in on a Friday or Saturday night I'd open a bottle of wine with dinner, and then finish it off over a few hours. 'Tis grand. Your friends are dopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

I always drink alone, even when im out with friends...

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭bicardi19

How do you feel?

With my hands usually!

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

I enjoy drinking on my own. I dont get out much because either I cant afford it or have no babysitter. I love when the kids go to bed on a friday or saturday night and I can open a bottle of wine and curl up with the laptop. Sounds so sad when you type it out lol. The only downside to that is if I over do it and wake up in a panic next morning thinks **** what did I post:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

Seen as nearly everyone is positive / neutral, have you ever got completely sh!tfaced at home drinking on your own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Butterface wrote: »
    If I'm staying in on a Friday or Saturday night I'd open a bottle of wine with dinner, and then finish it off over a few hours. 'Tis grand. Your friends are dopes.

Not all my friends are against it mind you.

Some see drinking as a purely social event, which i don't.

I work so i wouldn't be doing it every day, but at weekends or when im off i drink alone at home if my other friends are busy or working, and if they are free we would go out together. I see nothing wrong with either option.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

I'm drinking on my own right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Seen as nearly everyone is positive / neutral, have you ever got completely sh!tfaced at home drinking on your own?
    yep , more often than i remember , i am quite happpy with my drinking problem though , im a jovial drunk , i dont drink before the kids are in bed ,dont get aggressive , stay away from spirits , why should people judge me