Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running Events in Wexford

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭wextipp

Sorry , it was not meant to offend Wextipp. I'm simply quoting a post on FB from one of their top runners.!!!??!!!
    Apologies to you, I just saw the FB comment there now. I'm sure that is just that persons opinion and not the whole club. There has been enough enter-club feuds down this end of the county and we surely don't need more starting. Puts runners in SBR in an awkward position as they have to take a side on it.

Latest list
    Name|Distance|Course cert no/year|Chip|Date|Organizer|Location|Entry Fee
    Ballygarret 8k|8k||?|Mon, 21st April|Macamores AC|Ballygarret|10
    Rosslare 10k|10k| |?|Mon, 21st April|Wexford Tri Club|Rosslare|13
    Wexford Half marathon|13.1 Miles| |yes|Sun,27th Apr|Ryano Event Management Ltd|Wexford Town|30
    Wexford 10k|10k| |yes|Sun,27th Apr|Ryano Event Management Ltd|Wexford Town|20
    Taghmon 10k|10k||No|Mon, 5th May|Taghmon Action Group|Taghmon|?
    County Master Road Race|3k/6k||no|Fri, 9th May|Wexford Athletics|Enniscorthy|5
    Vinegar Hill 5 mile|5 mile| |?|Sun, 18th May|St.Senan's Primary School.|Enniscorthy|?
    County Senior Road Race|5k/10k||No|Fri, 23rd May|Wexford Athletics|Kilmore|5
    Pearse Road 6km road race |6km||?|Sun, 1st Jun|Sacre Coeur boxing club|Enniscorthy|?
    Strawberry Half Marathon|13.1 Miles| |?|Sun, 8th Jun|Slaney Olympic AC|Enniscorthy|25
    Strawberry 5 mile|5 mile| |?|Sun, 8th Jun|Slaney Olympic AC|Enniscorthy|15
    Mick Murphy 4 mile|4 mile| |?|Sat, 14th Jun|Sliabh Buidhe Rovers AC|Ferns|?
    [URL=""]Monageer 5k[/URL]|5k||?|Fri, 20th Jun|Slaney/Monageer school|Monageer|?
    Kilmore Quay 5k|5km||No|Sat, 14th Jul|Kilmore AC|Kilmore Quay|?
    Terrarath 5 mile|5 mile||?|Sat, 23rd Aug|United Striders AC|New Ross|?
    Kilmore 10k|10k||?|Sat, 13th Sep|Kilmore AC|Kllmore Village|?
    Ferns Half Marathon|13.1 Miles||?|Sun, 28th Sep|Sliabh Buidhe Rovers AC|Ferns|?

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

If you could stick in the Monagear 5k on Friday June 20th Wextipp that'd be great....... From what I know it's basically the same course as last years race that was put on jointly between Slaney Olympic and the local school - I don't have any more details really, but the race permit was put before the county board at the last meeting and was approved.......:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

Hey Wextipp,

Just a small note regarding the Taghmon 10k - It's Monday 5th, not 4th - Not being pedantic, but I'd hate to see someone lining up on the 4th!!! Keep up the good work!!!!

Thanks guys (or ladies :D) . Thanks for the feedback. The more the better.
    If you could stick in the Monagear 5k on Friday June 20th
    Done
    Podge83 wrote: »
    Taghmon 10k - It's Monday 5th, not 4th
    Done

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭66_Lad

Just noticed on FB that the Ballygarrett 8k planned for Easter Monday 21st Apr has had to be cancelled...think will be rescheduled for later in the year.

The 10k is on again this year in Kilrush (between Ferns and Bunclody) - last year was its first outing - the Mogue O' Neill memorial Church to Church 10k.

Not exactly the easiest course in the world but around that neck of the woods it's probably as good as it's gonna get - pity it's clashing with the Vinegar Hill 5 miler but the calendar is becoming so congested, clashes are bound to start happening.

Facebook page is here https://www.facebook.com/pages/Church-to-Church-Mogue-ONeill-Memorial-10-km-Run-and-Family-Walk/299571533541552
    - you def won't run a PB but for anyone who likes a challenge (and hills!!) and a local race put on for runners by runners, then this is up your street :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭SusanneKn

My first race ever today in Rosslare and what can I say...I totally loved it. Great weather, lovely atmosphere and very well organised.

While I didn't beat my PB,(I didn't try anyway) I was just enjoying the run, without any pressure.

Can't wait to do another run now.

Another race has popped up - the Kilmyshall 10k and 5k on Sunday May 25th. It's being run as a fundraiser to help with the school extension. Plans are in place to have the race AAI-permitted and to have the course measured officially. They have a facebook page here https://www.facebook.com/GetMovin4KilmyshallNS

I'm sure plenty more info will emerge over the coming weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭webpal

Is strawberry half using the same route as previous years? What's it like in comparison to wexford half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭eoinín

There's a 5k and 10k fun run /walk in Kilmuckridge on May Bank Holiday Monday
    at 12pm

Scroll down here for details

http://lovegorey.ie/do-see/whats-on/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭eoinín

Also there's a 10k and 5k in Blackwater on June 22nd, organised by Blackwater GAA

http://www.runireland.com/events/blackwater-10k-road-race5k-fun-run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭pointer28

webpal wrote: »
    Is strawberry half using the same route as previous years? What's it like in comparison to wexford half?

A lot tougher but also a very beautiful route. Up and down constantly.

Good for the soul but not so good for PB's

I would definitely go back

The ''Run with Ray for 5k'' in Craanford has been pencilled in for Saturday evening August 16th so stick it in your diaries - a nice course, with the only hill worth talking about coming at the start when ur good and fresh, so not a bother to anyone :D

By the way, seeing as some people were waxing lyrical about the banana, cuppa soup and finger roll after the wex half/10k on Sunday, why don't ye give any of the good club races a shot and ye'll be bowled over the by the lovely grub at any of these - home baking, all the hot tea/coffee u can drink and lots more yummmmmmmmmm :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

By the way, seeing as some people were waxing lyrical about the banana, cuppa soup and finger roll after the wex half/10k on Sunday, why don't ye give any of the good club races a shot and ye'll be bowled over the by the lovely grub at any of these - home baking, all the hot tea/coffee u can drink and lots more yummmmmmmmmm :)

Very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

The ''Run with Ray for 5k'' in Craanford has been pencilled in for Saturday evening August 16th so stick it in your diaries - a nice course, with the only hill worth talking about coming at the start when ur good and fresh, so not a bother to anyone :D

Could not agree more.
    Ferns half I ate my fill. Oylegate plenty of grub. Even the short races.
    All I can say is if people want to pay double the price and very little grub let them off.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 fowler1

And quite a fill it is too village runner

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Cooldog

Hi has anyone got any info on the course(s) for the races this Friday, I know it's on the old dublin road, but is it the small loop, big loop, combination of both or a us there a link to the route anywhere...Thanks.

Cooldog wrote: »
    Hi has anyone got any info on the course(s) for the races this Friday, I know it's on the old dublin road, but is it the small loop, big loop, combination of both or a us there a link to the route anywhere...Thanks.

Slaney Olympic are hosting the races and speaking to one of their members yesterday at the Taghmon 10k, they're thinking two laps of the small route for the women (4k) and three laps of this for the men (6k), which would make sense from a spectators but I'm sure this will be confirmed (or changed) on athletics wexford facebook page during the week....

as an aside, i see the ''Trip to Cullenstown'' is now a 5k this year, maybe it'll encourage more people to run it as the 12k was a fair oul slog :)

Slaney Olympic are hosting the races and speaking to one of their members yesterday at the Taghmon 10k, they're thinking two laps of the small route for the women (4k) and three laps of this for the men (6k), which would make sense from a spectators but I'm sure this will be confirmed (or changed) on athletics wexford facebook page during the week....

as an aside, i see the ''Trip to Cullenstown'' is now a 5k this year, maybe it'll encourage more people to run it as the 12k was a fair oul slog :)

Thanks Bewleysberry, yes great for the spectators but 3 times up that main road for the men, maybe sometime some club will do something crazy and put a race on a course that's actually about the runners and not the spectators (novel idea eh), these county races seem to be all on multiple lap courses and hard courses too the novice and int this year were prime examples, I know it's the same for everybody but not everybody will be in line for medals or positions and a nice course that you could run a good time on surely isn't too much of an ask.

I see in the paper that an Irish 10k record was set in the Rosslare 10k. I don't think it will count though as it was not a AAI certified race. It's a pity that more road races don't get an official measurerer certificate to allow for this. I'd say very few races in Wexford have one, even some of the ones with an AAI permit. Can anybody list them here.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭j0hn1

wextipp wrote: »
    I see in the paper that an Irish 10k record was set in the Rosslare 10k.

What record was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭druss

j0hn1 wrote: »
    What record was that?

The female Over-55 record for 10k, I presume.

Any Wexford races that have recently been made public have now been added to the fixture list on www.sbrclub.com - there's a large variety of short and long distance road races in the county now - wonder will we see any trail/off road races cropping up over the Summer?

Hi just looking for a bit of advice thinking of doing a half marathon soon and I am caught between the Enniscorthy Half and the Viking Half in Waterford, just wondering if anyone has done either or both of these and if so which one would be considered the fairest course or even if either would be a PB course, did the Ferns half last year and found it not too bad, would either be similar tp that one...Thanks.

.... Enniscorthy Half .... Viking Half in Waterford,

The Enniscorthy Half of course :D

Hi just looking for a bit of advice thinking of doing a half marathon soon and I am caught between the Enniscorthy Half and the Viking Half in Waterford, just wondering if anyone has done either or both of these and if so which one would be considered the fairest course or even if either would be a PB course, did the Ferns half last year and found it not too bad, would either be similar tp that one...Thanks.

I've only done the strawberry half so can't comment on the Viking half. Once u've got the long work done for the strawberry half it's a great race, but the first half of the course is fairly undulating and much tougher than the second half, so try to start a little conservatively if possible. It always seems to get great weather too, which is a bonus as it's great finishing back in the main wexford road with the sun scorching ya out of it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭RAFA B

Anyone know anything about the Jim Carton 10k memorial in Gorey on July 6th please?

RAFA B wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about the Jim Carton 10k memorial in Gorey on July 6th please?

I'm giving a small hand out in the organisation so here's what I know so far - it'll start and finish in Ballyfad village, which is 8 or 10 miles north of Gorey. The route hasn't been tied down yet because there's no exact 10km course around Ballyfad, but being honest it's going to be a tough hilly course no matter what direction they go in that area, as you're in the shadow of Croghan.

It's the committe of the local hall in Ballyfad, along with members of The Worx gym in Gorey (where Jim Carton was a fitness instructor before he passed away) that are organising the event. Seeing as Jim was a native of Ballyfad, they want it held around the village, with the foothills of Croghan probably being taken in during the race.

As soon as I get a route I'll post it here........

I'm giving a small hand out in the organisation so here's what I know so far - it'll start and finish in Ballyfad village, which is 8 or 10 miles north of Gorey. The route hasn't been tied down yet because there's no exact 10km course around Ballyfad, but being honest it's going to be a tough hilly course no matter what direction they go in that area, as you're in the shadow of Croghan.

It's the committe of the local hall in Ballyfad, along with members of The Worx gym in Gorey (where Jim Carton was a fitness instructor before he passed away) that are organising the event. Seeing as Jim was a native of Ballyfad, they want it held around the village, with the foothills of Croghan probably being taken in during the race.

As soon as I get a route I'll post it here........

Many thanks for the reply. I remember Jim briefly from the forest park gym in Courtown. Any idea how to enter please?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Screenshot_2014-06-07-21-01-07_1.jpg

Hi folks, we are hosting a charity run / walk with all proceeds going to Crumlin Hospital. This promises to be a spectacular event.

It's in memory of my son Ben who died in 2012 after a brave battle with cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,546 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

It's in the calendar Bernard. Looking forward to it.

Does anyone have a link to a route for the Ferns 4 Mile this weekend? Just wondering what the course is like.
    *Edit* Scratch that. Found a link here

It's in the calendar Bernard. Looking forward to it.

Does anyone have a link to a route for the Ferns 4 Mile this weekend? Just wondering what the course is like.
    *Edit* Scratch that. Found a link here

Nicely found KC :) If yourself or anyone has any other queries on the Mick Murphy memorial four miler in Ferns this coming Saturday (June 14th @ 5pm) there's plenty of info on www.sbrclub.com or just leave a comment here and I'll answer it as best I can. Looking forward to seeing a large turnout on Saturday evening :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,546 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Nicely found KC :) If yourself or anyone has any other queries on the Mick Murphy memorial four miler in Ferns this coming Saturday (June 14th @ 5pm) there's plenty of info on www.sbrclub.com or just leave a comment here and I'll answer it as best I can. Looking forward to seeing a large turnout on Saturday evening :)
    Fab race. Really high standard. Fantastic value too, at just €15. I'm feeling very full of cake. :) Well done to SBR. Will definitely be back. A proper runner's race.

Thanks KC - good to hear. And thanks for all the support from Sli Cualann, there were a great gang of ye :)

Results are now up on www.sbrclub.com, while there's plenty of pics on Sliabh Buidhe Rovers' facebook page.

RAFA B wrote: »
    Many thanks for the reply. I remember Jim briefly from the forest park gym in Courtown. Any idea how to enter please?

The Jim Carton memorial road race is now a five miler........and you can run or walk the five miles distance.....entry will be on the day (there won't be online entry) and it'll be fifteen euro...... everyone will get a medal too..... route is being worked out, but it looks like starting at the school, taking a left turn up Croghan for a mile, then turning right and back around to the village, with the last 2or3 km being flat and downhill...but will post up as soon as I have proper confirmation :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭SusanneKn

Hi.

Has anyone got the route for the Blackwater 10k?

Haven't done much trainng lately and unsure if I will be fit enough for it, especially with the recent temperatures we are having.

The Jim Carton memorial road race is now a five miler........and you can run or walk the five miles distance.....entry will be on the day (there won't be online entry) and it'll be fifteen euro...... everyone will get a medal too..... route is being worked out, but it looks like starting at the school, taking a left turn up Croghan for a mile, then turning right and back around to the village, with the last 2or3 km being flat and downhill...but will post up as soon as I have proper confirmation :-)

Thanks very much.

SusanneKn wrote: »
    Hi.

Has anyone got the route for the Blackwater 10k?

Haven't done much trainng lately and unsure if I will be fit enough for it, especially with the recent temperatures we are having.

There's a map of the route up on Blackwater GAAs website at this link http://blackwater.gaa.ie/?p=3373 but I haven't got much more detail......

Just a an update on the Kilmore Quay Seafood festival 5k road race. Last year we had our biggest entry ever. The big crowd made it very hard to manage though. This year we are splitting the event in to two races. There is a ladies race at 7:10pm and a men's race at 7:30pm. We will have the free u/14 800m race at 7pm. You can book on-line for a tenner at the active web-site.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Kauto Star

Fair play to Blackwater GAA on their first 10k race. It was a really tough 10k which felt like uphill all the way.
    Was organised well and there was a fantastic spread put on after it, range of sandwiches, oranges, strawberries and cream, cakes, scones, coffee, water, absolutely lovely. Great way to enjoy a tough race and fair play to all who contributed with the food.
    Hopefully plenty of money was raised and the race will be continued next year

Kauto Star wrote: »
    Fair play to Blackwater GAA on their first 10k race. It was a really tough 10k which felt like uphill all the way.
    Was organised well and there was a fantastic spread put on after it, range of sandwiches, oranges, strawberries and cream, cakes, scones, coffee, water, absolutely lovely. Great way to enjoy a tough race and fair play to all who contributed with the food.
    Hopefully plenty of money was raised and the race will be continued next year

Have to echo your comments there - well organised race over a tough course and the feeding after was some of the best I've seen on the Wexford circuit or anywhere really (the strawberries and cream went down a treat and I consoled myself that it was some of my five a day :D).

On another note, the SBR Summer league is starting on Wednesday July 2nd at 8pm in Ferns and will run for eight weeks, with the league moving around to other towns like last year. Full info is on www.sbrclub.com or Sliabh Buidhe Rovers' facebook page - the league is open to everyone and are always good races whether you're looking to break into road running or looking for a competitive race against club runners :)

Here's a ''map my run'' link to the race route for this Sundays Jim Carton memorial five miler.....it is a very scenic route and I ran it for the first time last week, but anyone thinking of doing it, be warned it's a VERY tough road race.... hope this helps :)

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/458704198

• Registered Users Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Hi folks, I know its early days but the the Ben5k is now open for registration. Another for the Wexford Race Calendar. You can register by clicking the logo below. Its a 100% Charity Event with all proceeds going to Crumlin Hospital for the treatment and care of children battling cancer.
    ben5kactive.jpg

On-line entry open until mid-night tomorrow (Thursday). Just click on the picture.
    [URL="https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/506858/313958.png[/IMG][/URL]

Trip to Cullenstown

Hi does anyone have any info on the Trip to Cullenstown 5K thats part of the Phil Murphy Weekend in Carrig-on-Bannow, I think it was a 12K in previous years. Just wondering is there's usually many runners or what is the course like...Thanks.

Trip to Cullenstown

Hi does anyone have any info on the Trip to Cullenstown 5K thats part of the Phil Murphy Weekend in Carrig-on-Bannow, I think it was a 12K in previous years. Just wondering is there's usually many runners or what is the course like...Thanks.

Hey Cooldog, I've very little info about it, but road and cross county secretary JM was telling me the 5k will take place on the same roads as the 12k and he says it'll be a tough 5k.... gulp :) It'll still go to Cullenstown seemingly and is a lovely scenic part of the county.

They usually don't get a large turnout for it - I ran it two years ago but spectated last year. It's mostly club runners or locals/holiday makers who do a bit of running to keep fit - I'm fairly sure there wouldn't have been anywhere near 100 in it last year.

Just a heads up - anyone looking for a nice 5k route

I'm helping organise a fun run in aid of Haiti on Sunday July 27th in Gorey.

It'll start at 11am outside Ballyloughan business park (which is on the Arklow road). Registration takes place on the morning from 10am in Redmonds Home and Garden Centre, which is at the start line. Entry is ten euro.

Full info is on the event page on facebook - Gorey 5k fun run.

It's a great route, with slight drags for the first mile, but the rest is either downhill or flat so there should be some PBs posted :)

We'll have full results and pics posted on FB after the race.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭66_Lad

Just noticed the Murrintown NS 10k is on again this year - Sunday 21st Sept 2014 at 12pm. DMP Athletic Club support the event. Can register online at runireland.com or on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

We are pleased to annouce this year's Oylegate Half Marathon and 10km road race will take place on Sunday the 31st of August 2014.
    This year's half marathon course is a new flat course. The best in the South East!
    Event schedule and times
    All entrants should park at Oylegate/Glenbrien GAA club
    Half Marathon start 10:00am
    10K race start 10:30am

http://www.active.com/enniscorthy-wexford/running/distance-running-races/oylegate-half-marathon-and-10km-2014