Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Longest period you have gone without sleep?

• 15-01-2012 8:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭

What is the longest period you have gone without sleep?
    I have managed to stay awake 24 hours before.
    I wondered if anyone had managed to keep awake for days on end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

48 hours but I wouldn't recommend it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

MyKeyG wrote: »
    48 hours but I wouldn't recommend it.

That's incredible!
    How did you manage it?
    What did you take to keep awake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Near the 40 hr mark. Was not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

About 40 hours. Was tired all the time the second day but forced myself to stay awake so I could get to bed at 11 (my bed time) but then got energy at 11..typical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

48 hours, Monster with Jagermeister played a big part...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Does staying awake with the aid of illegal substances count?

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Nyan Cat

48 plus a few - several times. I just had the usual amount of tea/coffee - it leaves you pretty drained for days.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

72 hours. Wouldn't reccomend that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Does being in a coma count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Probably around 38ish hours? Was a mates birthday the one day, didn't sleep at all, and had to record an album the next day (which takes a lonnnng time). God that was horrible. I didn't do anything special, just drank water really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

I was awake for over 100 hour one week(had a few 10-20 minsk naps). I worked 4 nights 2 day shifts and 2 days of college over 5 days. I didn't feel so bad by the last day, but there was a few times i thought i wouldn't be able to go on but i was so broke i didn't really have a choice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I have stayed awake in a near zombie like state throughout various long haul flights and in 2011 when I went to Thailand I decided I would stay awake the night before so I'd be sure to sleep on the plane.

Basically I awoke on Monday morning around 8am and done my routine for the day, packing and preparing etc. I then stayed up all night nodding off for no more than half an hour. Had a shower on Tuesday morning to wake me up a bit and then went to Cork airport and flew to London around 12 noonish, my flight to Abu Dhabi was not until 11pm so I went into London for the day and called to visit my relations for a few hours as I had left my bags at the left luggage place in Heathrow. By now I was very tired as you can imagine and once I got on the plane I fell asleep for about an hour and woke from some stupid kids kicking my seatback and then stayed awake for the next 6 hours watching some movies before I landed in Abu Dhabi, I then had to transfer and that took 2 hours and I was then awake for the flight to Bangkok and slept briefly during the taxi to my hotel.

So from 8am Monday morning to the middle of the night early wednesday morning I was awake with only a small bit of sleep caught. However my plan achieved its aim and I slept like a baby and awoke normally in Bangkok without much jetlag! I was almost 40hrs awake! Never again though it was horrid.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭chirogirl

36 hours whilst being induced to have a baby, thankfully the birth was very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

About 42 hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Josephine O Beirnes

Spent two days in dublin airport after a flight was cancelled, then caught another flight, was up in the air around an hour when it came back after being struck by lightning, when we landed we were told we would be given accommadation, that never happened so had to stay in the airport till another flight arrived, 2 days with no sleep i was going ballistic, thought me eyes were on fire,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

49.5hrs in Las Vegas.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭cabbage kid

I got to 40+ a couple of times. This week alone I've gone 3 nights with no sleep. Sometimes sleep just doesn't come :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

At Indiependence last summer I kept going from the start of the festival on Friday till about 7am on Monday morning without a wink of sleep. I wasn't trying to prove anything, and I would have had a nap if I'd felt like, but there it just seemed like there was always something fun going on that I didn't miss want to miss out on, and the chemicals in my system weren't exactly conducive to nodding off.

I've seen people go a similar amount of time without sleep and completely lose the plot, but I was remarkably lucid the whole time and remember everything. I did feel extremely rough for a day or two afterwards though, and it's probably not the best of ideas from a health point of view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

My longest period was 8 messy days long.

Thursday morning 6am to Saturday night at 1am. Long....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

About 36 hours with a flu thing. I was hallucinating, and vomiting regularly, and my delirious mind convinced itself that if I fell asleep I would die.

So that was fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Superbus wrote: »
    I was hallucinating, and vomiting regularly, and my delirious mind convinced itself that if I fell asleep I would die.

Sounds like electric picnic

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Niles

I estimate around 40 hours, but eh, not advocating it.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

27 hours, followed by 4 hours kip, then back to work for another 10 hours. All to clean up a managers mess. Still ended up on the dole when cut backs hit. Others who chose not to take part in said clean up mind you, remained working for the company

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

About 3 fiddy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

50ish. Wouldn't do it again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Im actually a volunteer in asleeep diprivation esperiminht at thhhhhh moment and cvan honsly say i noticee no ill ef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

72 hours,was behind on a job and it had to be finished by said date.

• Registered Users Posts: 582 ✭✭✭emmabrighton

Not me but met a girl attending a sleep clinic who claimed she had not slept for 3 weeks. She said that she felt completely drained but her eyes just wouldn't stay shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

about 4days i reckon,though a lot of stimulants had been imbibed it must be said.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭travelledpengy

about 54 hours... you see crazy stuff when sleep deprived

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I saw a documentary about this: Fatal Familial Insomnia.

It's rare and only runs through a long bloodline of families, but it must be a terrible thing to have and live with.

The most I've gone for is probably 24 - 30 hours, so not that much.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Uhm 3 and a half days, tbh I was going for the world record :pac:

I was severely disappointed with that too. Think I could manage 5ish.

This is pretty coincidental though, as I'm planning on not going to bed tonight and just working on a LC project the whole way through 'til morning and then going to school.

I don't need much sleep. Can function pretty well on 3-5 hours a night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

two or three classes is my limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

'bout 80 hours once on a holiday in the Canaries, paranoid hallucinations are some craic!
    vodka and sleeping tablets sorted me out for a few hours, i was still on edge a bit when i woke up, but a few beers did the trick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

2 days and nights, so around the 48 hour mark I think. Surprisingly while active and out in the cold, wet conditions I felt exhausted but not too bad. As soon as I was back in a building doing administration before going home, I felt worse than I ever had before.

Slept for about 16 hours after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Bishop_Donal

One time I remember staying awake for 14 hours in a row! fcuking mental. I wouldn't recommend it (and only did it cos I was on the lash).

Normally I try to get at least 2 or 3 power naps every day. The jacks in work is very comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

45 hours. In airports for most of it. Freezing, paranoid, seeing things. Horrible. At one stage we were on the tunnel thing that brings you on to the plane and the ground started shaking. I thought it was vibrations from the plane. Turns out the ground wasn't moving, it was just me swaying with the tiredness.

• Registered Users Posts: 313 ✭✭Nyan Cat

I call bull on 3 weeks (not on the poster. On the girl that told him that!) because the longest scientifically recorded was 11-11.5 days.

That sounds horrible! Even 2 is draining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Skuxx

About 40 hours I think, I remember getting to a point around the 30 ish hour mark where I wasn't feeling tired anymore!!

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

60 hours

I was like a zombie
    Slept a full day after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

3-4 days, wouldnt recommend it :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

10 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

I've hit 3 days+ after doing some animal speed...wasnt very enjoyable....

havent done speed since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

It was about 39 hours, stressing over work made me not sleep and I suppose adrenaline gets ya through it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

People saying longer than 48 hours are full of ****.

Sykk wrote: »
    People saying longer than 48 hours are full of ****.
    people saying less than 48 hrs are amateurs:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Does being in a coma count?

This makes so little sense it's hard to know where to begin.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    This makes so little sense it's hard to know where to begin.

i think it's called an oxymoron:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

When her period was late .