Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going grey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm very fortunate so far. 26 and not a single grey hear nor any hint of receding.

I don't know how I would feel if I started going grey. I've never liked my hair, have to keep it short because it's very unmanageable, but I still think I'd rather have it than not.

My dad started going bald at 19 and had an awful comb-over by the time he was my age, so I've dodged that bullet. He's in his 50s now and what little hair he has left is still not grey though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I'm a woman and I got my first grey hair at 18, nothing since but I'm probably going to be grey by 30 which doesn't bother me what so ever.. in a few years time people will be giving their seats up for me on public transport, score.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

Noticed grey hairs when about 18 or so. Have black/brown hair so was more noticeable I suppose. I'm 26 now and in the last year the number of grey hairs has increased at least tenfold. I don't mind it, would never be arsed dyeing my hair. No sign of baldness yet though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm more or less completely grey now. Started in my 20s. It has diminished my overall sexiness by about 15% which is unfortunate but acceptable as, being married, I can longer accept the deluge of sexual propositions that come my way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

im 32, going grey in spots lately, all down to stress (mainly from the stress of work) wifey says i look distinguished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

mid 30's and I've noticed I have 1 or 2 greys appearing in my beard. Head has escaped thus far. A grey beard would be cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

jester77 wrote: »
    mid 30's and I've noticed I have 1 or 2 greys appearing in my beard. Head has escaped thus far. A grey beard would be cool!
    That would be class actually. My grey hair is longer than the rest of the hairs on my head for some reason??:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

That research about WNT Protein is interesting. It'll be funny if grey hair becomes something rare and old fashioned in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭bgo1

Wet gel seems to disguise the greys nicely..premature greying is the only premature thing iv experienced so i should be thankful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭stephen1968

the ladies love a mature man which i have found,i have black with a mature mix of grey,used to have a beard which had grey bits,shaved it off after been called father christmas, been slowing going grey since 29 but still have a fair bit of black at 43......:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Got my first white hair at 17. Thankfully I love dying my hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

thank christ !

i thought this was gonna be about grannyporn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Don't worry, I'm 27 and recently sprouted a single grey *cough* downstairs hair :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

23 no grey hairs. Unlikely to happen for a while yet, my older brother's in his 40s and his hair's the same colour as mine. My dad's nearly 70 and he's only beginning to go grey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I'm 26, and going grey. Jet black hair, apart from the significantly greying bits

Deal with it. or dye it and get ridicule....

I am 26 too. Got a few grey hairs on my chin. Bro noticed one or two grey hairs on my head.

Op, dont worry :) its pefectly normal. A barber told me once that the average guy can get the odd grey hair starting from the age of 18.
    Only the few get it bad. Like a guy i used to goto school with. Grey as a badger since he was 22. I just dont know why he doesnt dye it :confused: ... getting grey hairs does not mean you'll be fully grey in 2 years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Was at the barbers today and my heart sank as he sneakily used the trimmer to shave an errant hair off my ear.
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im 31 in a couple of weeks and going grey fast. however my 2 brothers (1 older and 1 younger) are going bald.
    i'd rather go grey than bald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

23 no grey hairs. Unlikely to happen for a while yet, my older brother's in his 40s and his hair's the same colour as mine. My dad's nearly 70 and he's only beginning to go grey.
    Are you the youngest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Finding the odd grey hair, I'm 24, just pluck them out with tweezers, painful but worth it:o I think I look too young for grey hairs:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I use Just for men after each cut.
    3/4 of the required time, to fade the gray a little.

I dont care how people react to that. But my other half loves how I look . I look quite good. Better than most yokes tramping the streets .
    And still get chatted up by young wans when im out.. Not that im interested. But hey. Its nice to know ye can still pull if you wanted.

Result.

Be subtle about it though. Keep it in for to long and your hair looks dyed.

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I use Just for men after each cut.
    3/4 of the required time, to fade the gray a little.

I dont care how people react to that. But my other half loves how I look . I look quite good. Better than most yokes tramping the streets .
    And still get chatted up by young wans when im out.. Not that im interested. But hey. Its nice to know ye can still pull if you wanted.

Result.

Be subtle about it though. Keep it in for to long and your hair looks dyed.

Never tried it but after what you said may give it a go....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I am a girl, my mother started going grey at 18, I was absolutely petrified as I had never dyed my hair, I'm 21 next week and not a grey in sight thank gawd. Lads use dye if ye are worried about it or ye are going grey rapidly at a young age. In all honesty though I'd prefer if ye left it alone;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Did Fabrizio Ravenelli no harm. He was grey at the age of 3 and looked about 50 when he was a teenager, embrace it like he did.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I am a girl, my mother started going grey at 18, I was absolutely petrified as I had never dyed my hair, I'm 21 next week and not a grey in sight thank gawd. Lads use dye if ye are worried about it or ye are going grey rapidly at a young age. In all honesty though I'd prefer if ye left it alone;)

changed me mind now......;)

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

I just found a grey hair on the side of my head. How long now before I'm mostly grey? Is this a sign that I've peaked and now my body is in decline? Why does it even happen? I'm a man, 25.

I think your over re-acting a little bit, don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I've been spotting a few grey hairs myself recently. Mainly in my beard. I'm pretty sure that if my beard goes grey, I'll become wise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

The sooner I go grey/white the better - I hate being ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Your father hit the target in his late 40's ...tell me you got younger siblings.
    Respect to that man.

mattjack wrote: »

Your father hit the target in his late 40's ...tell me you got younger siblings.
    Respect to that man.

my da turned 90 yesterday and im only 32, he started going grey when he was around 40

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

hairyslug wrote: »
    my da turned 90 yesterday and im only 32, he started going grey when he was around 40

Hows the new delivery ?

hairyslug wrote: »

Hows the new delivery ?

keeping me busy and will be the reason i will have a full head of grey hair or end up in the madhouse, great craic though

deathrider wrote: »
    I've been spotting a few grey hairs myself recently. Mainly in my beard. I'm pretty sure that if my beard goes grey, I'll become wise.

ok how old are you again father christmas.........:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

Spotted first grey hair when I was about 18 maybe. I'm 22 now and can see a few quite easily. Probably isn't too noticeable if you're not looking, but then again I never asked anyone!

My dad went grey young, I can only ever remember him having grey hair, so I'm not really surprised.

I'm not gonna complain about it as long as I'm not going bald!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Respect to that man.

I do, actually.