Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2011/2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Don't feel any more annoyed after the game than I did beforehand. Didn't think we'd win today and don't think we'll finish top 4. Personally, u blame the board and their policies more than Wenger, but who can really say for sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

amiable wrote: »
    While I'm on it I think Arsenal need a centreback to play along side Vermaelen.
    Vermaelen is a beast of a player and he needs the defence built around him.
    Mertesacker isn't good enough IMO.

Ya wha?
    Are you just plain forgetting one of arsenals players of the season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

So signing a sub would help arsenal win the league from the position they are in now?

While I'm on it I think Arsenal need a centreback to play along side Vermaelen.
    Vermaelen is a beast of a player and he needs the defence built around him.
    Mertesacker isn't good enough IMO.

If they finally ever get to play together Koscielny and Vermaelen is up there with any other CB pairing in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

It's amazing how well Koscielny has come along this season. People were very quick to jump on him last season but I thought he was competitant enough. I didn't expect this sort of improvement though, I was expecting him to be a solid back up, not one of our top players. Think Wenger found a diamond in the rough there if he keeps it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

L'prof wrote: »
    Don't feel any more annoyed after the game than I did beforehand. Didn't think we'd win today and don't think we'll finish top 4. Personally, u blame the board and their policies more than Wenger, but who can really say for sure?

I'm still pretty confidant we will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Noo wrote: »
    Ya wha?

He just gets better and better - the tackle he made in the area dispossessing Rafael was superb and then the cherry on the cake was the great ball out to Rosicky which led to the equaliser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Noo wrote: »
    Ya wha?

Meh, he's on form but I'm still not convinced about him.

He's a bit like Martin Skertl who has been playing well for Liverpool this season but I think there's a lot better out there.

I was asked who I'd sign to improve Arsenal and that's what I think.

I genuinely don't see the sense in saying what Arsenal need is back up for RVP to push on.

The frustrating thing for you Arsenal fans must be that the team is not a million miles away from challenging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I love wenger and don't him to leave
    But I come back to what he said a month back it would be foolish to drop points cause we don't have a full back
    That's three games we lost cause we don't have natural full backs
    We needed someone on loan, wenger or the board or both, wouldn't pay a small fee and wages to lOan a player for a month to get us through
    So I blame wenger and board for the last three games, criminal trying to make do when we're chasing fourth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

But I come back to what he said a month back it would be foolish to drop points cause we don't have a full back
    We needed someone on loan, wenger or the board or both, wouldn't pay a small fee and wages to lOan a player for a month to get us through
    So I blame wenger and board for the last three games, criminal trying to make do when we're chasing fourth

While I agree with you. Who will he bring in? Not many decent players available on loan in January. Wayne Bridge maybe but he is the only one I can think of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,501 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

It's amazing how people (mainly opposition fans) still ignore how good kos has been. In fact, I think he's better at defending than vermaelen is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

It's amazing how people (mainly opposition fans) still ignore how good kos has been. In fact, I think he's better at defending than vermaelen is.

Who says its ignoring how good he is.

I've watched him play and I think he's playing well but he's not as good as Vermaelen IMO.

Who says its ignoring how good he is.

I've watched him play and I think he's playing well but he's not as good as Vermaelen IMO.

well in your original post about cb's you didn't even mention him.

And in any case I'm not specifically talking about you,you never hear pundits or anyone talk about him really. Perhaps that's a good thing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭emergingstar

jonny666 wrote: »

While I agree with you. Who will he bring in? Not many decent players available on loan in January. Wayne Bridge maybe but he is the only one I can think of

While I agree it would be tough surely they could have found someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Koscielny is the better defender. Vermaelen is the better footballer.

imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    It's amazing how well Koscielny has come along this season. People were very quick to jump on him last season but I thought he was competitant enough. I didn't expect this sort of improvement though, I was expecting him to be a solid back up, not one of our top players. Think Wenger found a diamond in the rough there if he keeps it up.

Last season when him and Djourou were in the middle Arsenal went something like 15 games unbeaten and rarely conceded.

I'd much prefer Vermaelen in the middle and Koscielny on the left if we have to play Per.
    Sagna-Vermaelen-Koscielny-Santos is on paper as good a back 4 as I can think of around at the moment. Some day!

lol at that

What a load of revisionist nonsense. Criticise him now all you want, but he's still the most successful manager in arsenals history.

AdamD wrote: »
    lol at that

Why?

There is a lot in there id agree with.

Meh, he's on form but I'm still not convinced about him.

He's a bit like Martin Skertl who has been playing well for Liverpool this season but I think there's a lot better out there.

I was asked who I'd sign to improve Arsenal and that's what I think.

I genuinely don't see the sense in saying what Arsenal need is back up for RVP to push on.

The frustrating thing for you Arsenal fans must be that the team is not a million miles away from challenging.

You answered what position you would sign not you who'd sign. Kos has been one of arsenals players of the season you can't just say oh we need to replace him with someone better without backing it up and suggesting who. Who would you sign that is available, that arsenal could afford, and that would do a better job than kos is doing right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

LOLworthy because of blinkered and inaccurate statements like this:
    The title wins - even though achieved in part with an inherited once-in-a-generation uniformly brilliant defence -
    Glossing over the indisputable fact that Arsenal's 'Invincibles' team - the only team in Premier League history to go a full season unbeaten (despite many a sugardaddy throwing around obscene amounts of cash to replicate such success since) - had a back 5 consisting of 4 players Wenger brought in via transfers and one player brought through the youth academy which Wenger was instrumental in making a success.

As Dunlop said, you can criticize him for his current lack of success. That is justifiable. However, to dismiss his past achievements by saying that he 'never knew' is just ignorance disguised as sensationalism.

I agree. I was a huge critic of him last season but he has really turned a corner this year after a few shakey early season performances. Now I get concerned when I don't see his name in the starting XI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Complete clear out needed.

Board must go.
    Manager needs to move on.

Things getting stale. We are so ****, it is untrue. We can't win the big games any more and have far too many average players.

It is even more amazing how well he is doing if you consider he has absolutely no help, no tactical training on the training ground and no experienced old players to help him.

He must be doing it himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

AdamD wrote: »
    lol at that

Why ?
    There is a fair amount of truth in it.
    What a load of revisionist nonsense. Criticise him now all you want, but he's still the most successful manager in arsenals history.

He might have been the most successful, but in the grand scheme of things he doesn't rank up there with the truly great managers of English football nevermind world football.
    He inherited a fantastic back 5, which had been built up primarily by one of his predessors.

His greatest single achievement was putting together the invincibles.
    Sadly in the subsequent years they were dismantled and he replaced them with lesser individuals.
    In his time he has found some gems and moulded them into fantastic players.
    His achievement in doing this were also highlighted by how some of them fared when they left the club.
    But he also found some lemons along the way.

But all of that was years ago and he has been living on his past glories for the last few years.
    He has failed misreably to motivate certain players and indeed build a team that fights for each other.
    The weak and fragile mindset of the team has been shown up on numerous ocassions.
    Some should remember the old saying "you are only as good as your last results".

If Wenger was with any of the big clubs he would have been axed a few years ago.
    I heard an ex pro commenting the other evening "there is no room for sentimentality in football" when discussing Trapatoni's so called refusal to select new players and wanting to bring the guys that got Ireland to the Euros.

I think it is about time Arsenal and Arsene started realising that as well.
    No one man is bigger than the club.

I am not allowed discuss …

God we need Sagna back...the Gilberto of our defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Yes, Wenger inherited a great back 5, but he brought them to their first league title in 7 years and first FA cup trophy in 5 years. How can you try and diminish Wenger's achievements by saying "ah sure those defenders were all there when he took over"??? I couldn't give a flying **** if he didn't make a single change to that team, he brought success to the club and made those players winners again. He then went on and assembled a completely new team and won even more trophies with them.

His only downfall, as I see it, is that he bought foreign players rarer than Brittish players, who quite possibly would have been more loyal to the club. Whether or not that was Wenger's choice or a financial nessessity I can't say for sure, but I'd be of the opinion that his hand was forced!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Dercola

Ok, so try to bear with me here as I don't have completely my own point my head. But ever since Wenger signed Silvinho to replace Winterburn. He always had someone in the shadows waiting to step up.
    Winterburn->Sylvinho->Cole->Clichy-> to Gibbs..
    Do we really have no one in the reserves or youth team that has the ability to cover for the first team and get some gametime? Granted, we shafted Traore, but after the 8-2 at united, I never wanted to see him line out for us again.. I'm just thinking ANYONE that will push Vermalen back into cb.

For example that Kid Yerrnes (sp) at right back.. Why is he not getting more game time, now that we have no other option? I know he's young, and gets pulled out of position alot, but Djourou isn't any better :confused:

The mind boggles at some of Wengers descisions at times..

I know its been said many times on here before, but Eboue should never have been sold. It must have been the players wish as I cannot fathom how Wenger would leave his squad that exposed in one window..

As for signings who would genuinely improve us this window?? Maybe throw AC Milan a million quid + wages and see can we get Taiwo on loan for a few months. Dude is quick & well able to get forward...
    And I feel we missed out big time with Cisse last week. Newcastle picking him up for 7.5 mill was an absolute steal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Dercola

Yes, Wenger inherited a great back 5, but he brought them to their first league title in 7 years and first FA cup trophy in 5 years. How can you try and diminish Wenger's achievements by saying "ah sure those defenders were all there when he took over"??? I couldn't give a flying **** if he didn't make a single change to that team, he brought success to the club and made those players winners again. He then went on and assembled a completely new team and won even more trophies with them.

His only downfall, as I see it, is that he bought foreign players rarer than Brittish players, who quite possibly would have been more loyal to the club. Whether or not that was Wenger's choice or a financial nessessity I can't say for sure, but I'd be of the opinion that his hand was forced!

I don't think him buying brittish would have changed much in that regard.. The likes of Rooney, Terry, Lampard, Ferdinand & Gerrard to a lesser extent, only stayed at their clubs because they are winning things... Rooney, Lampard & Rio all left their boyhood clubs.. Gerrard nearly joined Chelsea also a few years back if you remember.

The likes of Henry, Berkamp, Viera, Gilberto and so on. Gave everything to the Arsenal cause. And were really only moved on when Wenger felt he had got enough from them..

There is no loyalty in football anymore. Being homegrown or otherwise.. As much as I love Wilshire, and would love him to stay a one club man for his career. In a few years time, do you think he will stick around if we haven't progressed, and Barca or Real come knocking with the chance of winning trophies?? I know what I'd do if I was in his shoes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Yes, Wenger inherited a great back 5, but he brought them to their first league title in 7 years and first FA cup trophy in 5 years. How can you try and diminish Wenger's achievements by saying "ah sure those defenders were all there when he took over"???

I think the point people make when they say this is that he didn't need to worry about the Arsenal defense when he took over.
    That defense could manage itself and were as good as rock solid.
    Since then he has created one rock solid defense.
    I couldn't give a flying **** if he didn't make a single change to that team, he brought success to the club and made those players winners again. He then went on and assembled a completely new team and won even more trophies with them.

Yes but he hasn't won a trophy now in how many years ?
    Not alone that, his teams look weak and not able to win a trophy even against a team that was on course for relegation.

No his downfall has been his intransigence and pig headedness.
    He persisted with his so called youth policy and ended up creating weak teams over the last 4/5 years, when buying in a few seasoned tough pros could have added the necessary steel.
    Eventually his great young players get fed up and leave.

The last true leader the team has had was Viera.
    Players who showed a bit of bottle have been in short supply at Arsenal over the last few years and that has to be down to management.
    He refused to contenance buying a half decent keeper and it is only now four or five years later that one has shown up through the ranks.
    Will it now be the same for full backs ?

People say he did not have the money, but ffs he has had enough to blow on some frankly dodgy players.

He no longer appears capable of motivating some players, but yet they appear on the pitch.
    He has a backroom full of underperforming wastes of space which it appears can't be offloaded as no one wants them.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

jmayo wrote: »
    I think the point people make when they say this is that he didn't need to worry about the Arsenal defense when he took over.
    That defense could manage itself and were as good as rock solid.
    Since then he has created one rock solid defense.

Yes but he hasn't won a trophy now in how many years ?
    Not alone that, his teams look weak and not able to win a trophy even against a team that was on course for relegation.

No his downfall has been his intransigence and pig headedness.
    He persisted with his so called youth policy and ended up creating weak teams over the last 4/5 years, when buying in a few seasoned tough pros could have added the necessary steel.
    Eventually his great young players get fed up and leave.

The last true leader the team has had was Viera.
    Players who showed a bit of bottle have been in short supply at Arsenal over the last few years and that has to be down to management.
    He refused to contenance buying a half decent keeper and it is only now four or five years later that one has shown up through the ranks.
    Will it now be the same for full backs ?

People say he did not have the money, but ffs he has had enough to blow on some frankly dodgy players.

He no longer appears capable of motivating some players, but yet they appear on the pitch.
    He has a backroom full of underperforming wastes of space which it appears can't be offloaded as no one wants them.

Good post and sums up the nutty professor very well. It has taken far too long for the penny to drop with many but yesterday seems to have helped people make up their minds. His day is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Good post and sums up the nutty professor very well. It has taken far too long for the penny to drop with many but yesterday seems to have helped people make up their minds. His day is done.

While I do agree and have been one of his biggest critics in recent years do you believe sacking him mid season would be the thing to do? I do think he deserves a bit more respect than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭Sergio

While I do agree and have been one of his biggest critics in recent years do you believe sacking him mid season would be the thing to do? I do think he deserves a bit more respect than that.

I agree with your comments to a certain extent as the man has done wonders for the club in his 15 year tenure as manager but there comes a time when enough is enough and i think AWs time might be up.Its a tough game to be in managing one of the best teams in the world but im sick of hearing his excuses every week to poor performances and players not doing what there being paid to do.If managers dont get results then they get sacked simple as that,look at Neil Warnock last week for QPR.
    Weve lost 3 PL games on the bounce and for a club like Arsenal that isnt good enough anymore! Time for change at the emirates me thinks :mad:

I don't think he will be sacked at all. He is the Board's yes-man and is making money for them, however the fans are now on his case. If he does go it will be his own decision I feel. Hope he makes it at the end of the season as I couldn't face the same again with him in charge and he seems to be losing the dressing-room now too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Complete clear out needed.

Board must go.
    Manager needs to move on.

Things getting stale. We are so ****, it is untrue. We can't win the big games any more and have far too many average players.

That happening is very unlikely.If you want to completely clear out the team and board a far easier solution would be to support a different team.

Manchester City are probably the one to pick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Imo if Arsenal replaced the handful of players in the Arshavin Walcott Chamack Squillaci bracket and replaced them with (very) good players they'd be fine. Add to that a solid LB they'd be challenging for the title next year.

Loads of quality players in the side, players who do fight and not wastes of space like Arshavin, Kos/Mert/Verm/Woj/song/Wilshere/Ramsey/Arteta/Coq and a few others

If Wenger doesn't do a thing I see RVP gone at the end of the season, the way he looked into the empty seats are the end of the United game confirmed this for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

nuxxx wrote: »
    Imo if Arsenal replaced the handful of players in the Arshavin Walcott Chamack Squillaci bracket and replaced them with (very) good players they'd be fine.

While you are correct, it will be very difficult to offload the deadwood at Arsenal, most of our players are overpaid and it will be difficult to find clubs willing to match what we are paying them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

jordainius wrote: »
    While you are correct, it will be very difficult to offload the deadwood at Arsenal, most of our players are overpaid and it will be difficult to find clubs willing to match what we are paying them.

Yeah, just seen Arshavins on 70k a week, crazy money

Compared with Tevez on a quarter million a week sitting on his hole in Argentina?

He's not been performing well recently but he's a full international, highly regarded (well when we signed him anyway) in the supposed peak of his career. Did you really expect him to be on any less ?

greendom wrote: »
    He's not been performing well recently but he's a full international, highly regarded (well when we signed him anyway) in the supposed peak of his career. Did you really expect him to be on any less ?

Also, bear in mind he took a wage cut to join Arsenal. At the time everyone was commenting on what a shrewd bit of business Wenger pulled off.

The club just needs some of those great European nights and possibly a great FA cup run. Last truly great night we had was against Barcelona at the Emirates.

I can just picture Wenger in the dressing room after that game. He was probably complimenting the team, praising them for showing "character" for getting back into the game after they went behind before half time, telling them that they were unlucky, that they played the game in the right spirit and they played the game in the right style in terms of attacking/passing etc.

Probably telling them to keep doing what they are doing, to keep the faith, keep believing in what they are doing and that the breaks will start to go their way soon.

What is required at times is for the manager to tear strips out of them, scream at them that they are a useless shower of c**ts who are not fit to wear the jersey, make sure that it matters to the players. There's no fear of failure amongst our players because they know that Wenger will have their back and he will just put his arm around them and say "there there".

Sometimes Arsenal are beaten fairly and squarely by the better team, despite putting in a good performance (like the recent defeat to Man City.) By all means, praise and defend the players after games like that. But some of Wengers post game interviews when we don't win are just embarrassing. The players put in a lazy indifferent performance and we have to watch Wenger defending them and trying to find the positives.

Compared with Tevez on a quarter million a week sitting on his hole in Argentina?

If Arshavin was left sitting on his hole yesterday we would not have lost.

jordainius wrote: »
    But some of Wengers post game interviews when we don't win are just embarrassing. The players put in a lazy indifferent performance and we have to watch Wenger defending them and trying to find the positives.

I really wouldn't try to compare what he says in front of the cameras to what he says behind closed doors. He will always, always protect his players in public; He's more than capable of laying into them away from the camera eye, if that's what is required.

greendom wrote: »
    I really wouldn't try to compare what he says in front of the cameras to what he says behind closed doors. He will always, always protect his players in public; He's more than capable of laying into them away from the camera eye, if that's what is required.

I know and accept the (very valid) private V public argument. I'd like to think that Wenger lays into them when required, but I personally just don't see it (anymore. I don't think it all matters to Wenger now as much as it did before). I'm just making conclusions based on what I see on the pitch. Sometimes, its all so very lackadaisical, I don't see that in Ferguson or Mourinho's teams, and if teams managed by Fergie and JM do put in crap performances- they tend to go out the next game and put it right. Arsenal usually wallow for several games before they snap out of it, which makes me question what exactly happens behind the scenes.

If Arshavin was left sitting on his hole yesterday we would not have lost.

Don't talk ****e.

I know we would not have lost. Felt Wenger actually s*** on the eggs bringing him on and if he felt he would change the game then why did he not take off the useless Wally ?

Genuine question for the people who think Wenger should go.

When should he go?

It's a very very important detail with the obvious next question being, who should replace him?

Now I don't expect many people to have an answer to the second as readily to the first, but does anyone have an idea as to a shortlist of managers who could replace him?

For me I think we're nearing dangerous waters here. Of course, it's been sh1t lately but what are the alternatives?? For this team to compete we need a manager who can be successful in the premier league - technically there are five of them and they're at Man U, Liverpool, Madrid, PSG and Arsenal.

Now it would be silly to go on league titles alone, other managers have had success in premier league - Rafa spent loads of cash on 40 players, 3 of them really good, and ran Utd very close one year. Good in cups but won the big one with someone else's team. The main thing is he never topped United. How would he do with City and the current Spurs team up there too?

Then where are you? Hiddink, Houlier, O'Neill? It's a very very short list and bear in mind that clubs like Newcastle and Spurs have been frequently changing manager looking for the one that'll bring them up to where they want to be.

Knowing what you know now, would you swap Wenger for Villas Boas. The answer could be yes or no but it's close and this is a man who 6 months ago was touted as a revolutionary manager, the best since Mourhino hit the scene nearly 10 years ago?
    Unless you're City or Chelsea and can pay any wages and offer any transfer funds, is a managerial search not just pot luck really?

People say, 'well the board will search and find the right man for the job' but what about the efforts of boards of other clubs who haven't been able to? After 20 years and 15 managers, it finally looks like Tottenham are going to finish higher in the league than us. 20 years of fluctuations, searching for managers, false dawns and money spent. I was reading earlier about how bad a reflection it supposedly is on Arsenal that their wages are so much lower than ours. 20 years! 20 years of trying and it's all clicked over the last two seasons when they found a great manager, spend a couple of hundred million and one of their half-decent squad players suddenly turned into a genius. I don't begrudge Spurs this and I realise that they're not just about finishing above Arsenal, but you can't ignore that's it's taken them decades of trying different combinations of managers and players until they've now mounted something resembling a title challenge. Why will this be so much easier for Arsenal when we ditch Wenger? Incidentally, I'm also curious to see what happens when one or two of Spurs' star players move on and Redknapp takes the England job.

That's what happens with managers: for most clubs they're the same as players. Look at Chelsea and their revolving door, now they've had some success and a few brilliant managers(and a few failures in between). However Hiddink wouldn't stay, Mourhino probably would have left but we won't know and Ancelotti was given the boot. Perhaps the last two would have had long and successful careers at Chelsea if Roman hadn't intervened but would they have come to Arsenal without the promise of an infinite transfer budget in Mourhino's case or at least the strength of the squad and recent titles in Ancelotti's?

Can we attract these people to the club? Will they be in it for the long term?

I wanted to post about our performances and the race(?) for 5th but I've been at this for too long so that'll wait.

I just wanted to get the point across to Arsenal fans that they need to be careful what they wish for. Maybe Arsne does have his best years behind him but if it's him or the unknown then it has to be him. With a settled side that's lucky in terms of injuries and a preseason that doesn't involve having the guts ripped out of the team for once, you all know that he can put us back near the top. I think that till the financial fair play and home grown player rules kick in, you have to feel that's about the best that any manager will be able to achieve.

Wenger can do it and he might fail. Other managers might be able.

Also, as regards the very first question. Anyone who's anwser is that he's lost it and should go in the summer, could you just put that in your sig instead of telling us after every point dropped.

Keep the faith!!

I know we would not have lost.

No you don't, you just choose to believe that's what would have happened.
    why did he not take off the useless Wally ?

Wenger's explained that too. It may not be true but he gave his reasons.