Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ideas on somewhere to bring a girl on a date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

EddyC15 wrote: »
    A boat trip would be my answer too but you have to consider that it is January. Boating in the Summer is cold enough at the best of times, boating in Winter? Just bear it in mind.

If she's the active/outdoorsy type why not take her rock climbing on an indoor rock wall?

If you really want her: the 'your credit card and all the fancy shops and jewellers' trick never fails. 6 grand later, she's yours.

Yes but she will have to lean close for the warmth factor:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,649 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Feisar wrote: »
    Head to the Lenox Café for breakfast
    Off to Powerscourt Gardens followed by a trip to the waterfall
    Then back to yours for dinner wine and film - happy days.

Cooking isn't that hard. Just Make the dish twice this week for yourself.

Starter: French Onion Soup
    Main: Smoked Haddock Risotto
    Desert: Creme Brulee

Other ideas:

Dublin Castle
    Wax Museum
    Gigs are always good.
    Going for drinks is great, and it doesn't have to be the usual pints, vodka and cokes. Head to a bar that does really good cocktails e.g. Dylan in Ballsbridge.

Last summer I brought my GF out on a boat on a lake down home. Had a packed lunch on one of the islands. Lovely day rowing about the lake.

Was at a burlesque show last valentines, seriously good night. Made an effort and dressed in tux with tails and waistcoat.

If you want to talk to the person, they aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

If you want to talk to the person, they aren't.

****, I didn't think of that! But isn't 80% of communication non verbal:D

First they came for the socialists...

****, I didn't think of that! But isn't 80% of communication non verbal:D

yeah but talking is verbal. ;)

Mental Mickey 1
    Feisar 0

Mental Mickey 1
    Feisar 0

:D. My previous post was from someone who's NEVER been on a date.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭afrodub

Why not have a browse round the shops/ shopping centre,always a distraction and excuse for easy conversation,its warm and safe indoors, and helps to get to know each others likes and dislikes..just give Lidl a miss ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

knacker drinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Bring her to orgasm. Guaranteed third date.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭EddyC15

Gmol wrote: »
    Yes but she will have to lean close for the warmth factor:D

Smooth!

Bad Panda wrote: »
    Bring her to orgasm. Guaranteed third date.

Is that a nightclub?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭GASMANN

Well I hope to get there which is why I'm trying to think outside the box (sorry about using annoying office jargon btw lol) here and it's why cost is no object:D

you should start thinking of inside the box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Horse racing can be a good date

Spring for a VIP package at leopardstown
    Get all dressed up ,champers and watch and be seen from the VIP area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Zoo, bring a bag of live kittens to throw to the meat eaters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

PainTball in Wicklow on a cold January afternoon, near where they dump the bodies.

• Registered Users Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Rachiee

Theres a boat that does dinner and cruises up and down the canal its lovely cant remember the name though :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Bring her to Paris.

Venice stinks.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭afrodub

Rachiee wrote: »
    Theres a boat that does dinner and cruises up and down the canal its lovely cant remember the name though :o

Google :rolleyes:

kincsem wrote: »
    Painball in Wicklow on a cold January afternoon, near where they dump the bodies.

This isn't the freudian slip thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭frag420

Bring her to see Brown Thomas.........................the smelly dude that begs on grafton st, he will dance for smiles and pennies. It will show your humanitarian side.
    Then bring her to the jacks in burger king to score some smack, that shows your street side.

If she aint wet by then your doing it wrong.

frAg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Tombo2000

L Sullivan in Stoneybatter does excellent bar food, its a lovely traditional bar and has a great selection of international beers. The menus are all inside antqiue books.... You can take the LUAS there or walk along the quays. You could follow that up with a stroll through Smithfield to the Cobblestone to see some traditional music.

Sorry for not offering an 'ironic' answer; I presume I have in some way 'failed' here and and will be the subject of mockery......ah well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Since you didn't say location I'll assume you're in Waterford.

Kilmeadon Vintage Train
    Walk in JFK Park
    Bowling, Ardkeen
    Dunmore East Adventure Center
    Go Karting - Kiltorcan Raceway Kart Circuit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Glendalough sounds like a great suggestion,it's the only thing I miss about living in Wicklow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Tombo2000 wrote: »
    L Sullivan in Stoneybatter does excellent bar food, its a lovely traditional bar and has a great selection of international beers. The menus are all inside antqiue books.... You can take the LUAS there or walk along the quays. You could follow that up with a stroll through Smithfield to the Cobblestone to see some traditional music.

Sorry for not offering an 'ironic' answer; I presume I have in some way 'failed' here and and will be the subject of mockery......ah well....

Thats L Mulligans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Bringing a girl on a date next week, already went out with her there and was thinking of doing something other than the usual cinema/dinner/pub routine. Only thing is not got a fecking clue what:D Would like something really good cause she's fecking stunning but honestly haven't a scooby what!

Help:D

I thought the first word was "Banging". Thought you were going dogging. The suggestions confused me even more afterwards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

biko wrote: »
    Since you didn't say location I'll assume you're in Waterford.

Kilmeadon Vintage Train
    Walk in JFK Park
    Bowling, Ardkeen
    Dunmore East Adventure Center
    Go Karting - Kiltorcan Raceway Kart Circuit

I'm a Dub but go karting is a super suggestion:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

I'm a Dub but go karting is a super suggestion:)
    "You were right up my arse the whole time!"

Mutters quietly: "Fúckin' wish I was..."

I bet the OP is wishing he never started this thread now!!!?? It's gone mental. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Anonymous2020

hmmmmm, stopped reading after first 10 comments:cool:

Yeah, suuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuure ya did. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

There's this dark alleyway around this dock like area in Ringsend. I'ld say it'ld make the perfect location for the date. Just make sure you bring along some duct tape with you...

If not a drive into the wicklow mountains during the night time can be very romantic too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Tombo2000 wrote: »

you might as well take her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

'nudder vote for the zoo and you can finish that part of the day off by walking 10 mins up to the Hole in the Wall pub for their deadly tapas at an open fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Take her to the nearest STD clinic and get her thoroughly checked out - she could be riddled with the plague for all you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭toexpress

This might come under "dinner," but what about cooking a nice meal for her?

It's pretty romantic, and even if the food doesn't turn out fantastically, she'll appreciate the gesture.

Unless he is a dreadful cook and gives her some dodgy food and she ends up with the squits!!

Find out what her interests are and do something with that or tell us something about her interests and then maybe we can make a suggestion

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

BOHtox wrote: »
    A night in with Chinese or a pizza watching the Inbetweeners box-set.

Casa f*ckin Nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

The zoo is great fun! I love going there with my Boyfriend, pity he hates it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Ian64

Larry Murphy's hunting lodge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Bring her kick boxing and work up a sweat

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

Take her to church, preferably an all day sermon if possible. You could even go to the odd funeral and wedding just to mix it up a bit.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Take her to the Leprechaun Museum :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Hire out "A Serbian Film". Or something similar. She will think you are different from those manchild fools who took her to see Will Ferrell films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

http://www.dublinsightseeing.ie/ghostbus/index.aspx

She'll be hugging you out of fear and you cop the odd feel .. of other girl's boobies on the bus too.

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭shangri la

Any pubs in dublin city centre you wou recommend with a romantic setting and good food?

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭ladysarastro

Bring her dogging. Every girl loves a spot of dogging ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

Take her to bingo....God I love bingo !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,519 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Skydiving would be my choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

kowloon wrote: »
    Skydiving would be my choice.

Yes! perfect, that would be a perfect date, make sure you only pay for the one parachute as there is a recession afoot and you don't want to appear too keen on a first date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

This might come under "dinner," but what about cooking a nice meal for her?

It's pretty romantic, and even if the food doesn't turn out fantastically, she'll appreciate the gesture.

It's a brilliant idea on paper, but can have undesirable results if you're not that into the girl and she's quite into you; what seems like a fantastic way to impress with cooking skill, spend very little money, and be in a house with a bed already can be interpreted as a declaration of your seriousness about the girl.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

Thanks folks going with the idea to cook her something and have booked a luxury apartment for us to spend the weekend in to cook her something and *ahem* whatever else. Texted her the idea and she said yeah so basically....I'm in:D

Here's an artists impression of me right now.

http://www.huddleboard.net/hb/images/smilies/banana.gif