Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bohemian FC Talk/Transfers/Rumours Thread 2012

• 16-01-2012 9:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭

So new year and a new thread.
    old thread located here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056171231

Any idea what our squad looks like?

I'm missing a good few

Sexton
    Pender, Heary, Lopes, Feely, Harney, McMillan
    Stewart, McEvoy, Buckley, Traynor, Wilson, Dixon, Moore
    O'Connor, Corcoran

Looks like Dave Rogers is training with us too. Has Ward signed? Any word on Hurley?
    There's still a good few of last year's player unsigned by any team: Burns, Cahill, Hurley

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

You missed out Joyce, think that's it.

We could do with a left back and another forward option. Obviously we need a back up keeper. These could come from the u19's though.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Keith Ward aswell.

With each signing I'm getting more confident of avoiding relegation!

Roll on the Setanta Cup :D

What position does Ward play?

Left or right wing I think

So wingers: Dixon, Buckley, Stewart, Wilson, Moore, McEvoy and now Ward

I think we have enough :o Obviously the likes of Buckley and McEvoy can play in te middle as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I think we have enough :o Obviously the likes of Buckley and McEvoy can play in te middle as well.

I think Ward, if this is the same Guy I'm thinking of (small guy from Dundalk) can play centre mid and also behind the striker. Wilson can play either wing I heard from a guy on Foot.ie.

The ones in bold, i'd say, will be the main wingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Surely Dave Rogers is over 35 now? Anyone know what type of condition he's in? He's had more clubs than Robbie Keane at this stage, although I heard it's always been his boyhood dream to line out fo..... (you know the rest;))

BOHtox wrote: »
    I think Ward, if this is the same Guy I'm thinking of (small guy from Dundalk) can play centre mid and also behind the striker. Wilson can play either wing I heard from a guy on Foot.ie.

The ones in bold, i'd say, will be the main wingers.

Yeah, Ward is who you think he is

McEvoy ain't a winger.

I'm fairly sure I've seen him lay on the left before, could be mistaken though. I'd say he'll mainly play in the middle anyway.

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    McEvoy ain't a winger.

He definitely has played left mid before. He played there in a friendly against Longford for one anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

So is Forrester definitely gone then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

That_Guy wrote: »
    So is Forrester definitely gone then?

Yea, he announced it on his facebook anyway. Looks like we have signed David Scully and Mulcahy though.

A few good signings it must be said.

http://www.bohemians.ie/news/4-club-news/1481-bohemiansie-exclusive-new-signings.html

Our Squad:

Craig Sexton GK
    Derek Pender RB/CB
    Owen Heary RB/CB
    Danny Joyce RB/CM
    Kevin Feely CB
    Neil Harney RB
    Evan McMillan CB
    David Rogers CB/LB
    Seán Stewart RW
    Ryan McEvoy CM/LW
    Keith Buckley RW/CM
    Stephen Traynor CM
    Dwayne Wilson ?RW/LW?
    Lee Dixon RM/LM
    Karl Moore LW
    Keith Ward CM/AM/LW/RW
    John O'Connor ST
    Dinny Corcoran ST
    David Scully ST

Interestingly enough, Roberto Lopes hasn't been confirmed yet. No word on Burns, Cahill or Hurley yet. Still a few rumours floating around the place, Dave Mulcahy, Matt Gregg maybe I'm forgetting a few too

Well Callaghan met the challenge of getting a squad together pretty damn well, I'm impressed.

Re: Lopez, Callaghan said we'd signed 7 of the kids from last season and there's only 6 listed, could be a mistake.

Very young squad that but will be nice to see a lot of the young lads get a run out on a regular basis.

Callaghan seems to be making all the right noises it has to be said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

Best Of Luck to bohs this season - glad ye found a solution to your current difficulties(however temporary) . Cant wait to get back to dalymount.

Delighted with the squad we have,

If Mulcahy signs plus another striker and maybe another keeper I'd be delighted.

I heard Lopes had definetly signed so he was probaly left out by accident

Edit- double post

If budget allows, a sub goalie, a left back, a stiker, a centre mid in that order.

What's been linked has been pretty similar. Matt Gregg. Kevin Williamson, no striker linked really and Dave Mulcahy. Maybe we've a few youth strikers. Eoin Fowler looked decent enough last year for a young lad.

We've signed Peter McMahon from Drogs.

from a drogs man
    "I wouldn't be expecting a whole lot from him.Fairly poor player with a poor attitude.Always try fancy flicks and stuff and never come off.Very frustrating to watch.Also is he takes any corners expect them never to beat the first man"

Robbie Gaul also confirmed on his Facebook

Any info on him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

Q and A with the new manager today (Wednesday) in Dalyer

Any info on him?

played with drogs last year. defender i think, not too sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

Also theres a punk rock benefit gig this Saturday in Dalymount being put on by the Bohs Skins and Punks group.

https://www.facebook.com/events/299952906713164/

Money raised goes to the GST

404359_10150489470636993_693741992_9081812_76427617_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Bohs drawn against Portadown in the Setanta Cup...

Disappointed with our draw but at least it's a confirmed fixture :)

Missed the Q&A last night, anything interesting come up?

From the forum-

Poor turnout.

Callaghan spoke well. Good plans for the club built on youth. Impressed with the way he feels we should take every competition seriously and aim to finish at least as well as last season. Probably a tough ask but he appears to have high standards.

Confirmed we have a squad of 24 signed players incl the 7 younger lads from last year.

In talks with one or two more.

Very, very tight budget.

Rogers won't be signing.

Bohs play Killester tonight at Dalymount. 7:30pm kick off.

http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/7367/bohemians-to-face-killester/
    Aaron Callaghan's new look Bohemians will face Killester United in a friendly at Dalymount Park on Wednesday night. (Kick-off, 7.30pm)

Bohs have had a healthy start to their pre-season programme, defeating First Division Wexford Youths 2-1 at Ferrycarrig Park last Friday, and defeating a Garda side 3-0 at Westmanstown on Sunday afternoon.

Killester, who reached the semi-finals of last season's Leinster Senior Cup, should provide strong opposition for the Gypsies who have a Setanta Cup clash with Portadown looming next week.

Have 5-a-side tonight so I'll miss it, hopefully we play something indicative of what we'll be lining out this season with, especially with Portadown next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭Squelchy

Anyone know if 2012 season tickets have been sent out yet? Ordered it like 3 weeks ago.
    I see I can go tonight on last year's anyway :cool:

Squelchy wrote: »
    Anyone know if 2012 season tickets have been sent out yet? Ordered it like 3 weeks ago.
    I see I can go tonight on last year's anyway :cool:

Havn't got my new membership card either. Won't be going tonight, went to the last 2 friendlies. Will be back for Portadown! :)

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    Havn't got my new membership card either. Won't be going tonight, went to the last 2 friendlies. Will be back for Portadown! :)

I reckon I'll split at halftime. Depending on how friggin' cold it is.
    I'll be back Monday too.

Bohs winner was nice.

Going to be a long season though (to speak the obvious).

This Keith Ward fella seems to be playing well, what did you think of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

any team news for the sellatanta cup?

Team starting last friendly game s the closest bet.

1.Craig Sexton
    2.Owen Heary
    3.Luke Byrne
    4.Derek Pender
    5.Evan McMillan
    6.Danny Joyce
    7.Karl Moore
    8.Roberto Lopes
    9.Dinny Corcoran
    10.Keith Ward
    11.Peter McMahon

I reckon these two games will give us a closer idea of what to expect for the season.

Don't expect us to win, but a good performance would be nice :).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

T

Agreed. Something approaching the sort of work rate and determination last year's team showed would be good. I'm sure Aaron would be delighted to pick up a result to start.

Well Aaron was with UCD and they arguably play some of the best football in the league. If he can instill some of that philosophy into the minds of the current players then I won't mind too much about the result as long as they're working their socks off for each other.

Can't wait to get to Dalymount on Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Corey Davidson - any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

born2bwild wrote: »
    Corey Davidson - any good?

No idea but was one of around 4 of the u19s that Heary mentioned as hopefully stepping it up this year in this interview:

First competitive game of new season tomorrow! Anyone else feel like a child on Christmas Eve? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

If I get into work early enough I can make this, going on my own though :(

Plus I'm off chips and currys so Bohs better win!

Anyone know how much tickets are tonight?

Devastated I won't be able to make it tonight. Our first game in 4 months or so and I'll miss it. I'll probably only miss a handful of games this year... devastated this is one.

I reckon that last year's membership and season tickets will be accepted if you have one. No idea how much it will cost otherwise...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Devastated I won't be able to make it tonight. Our first game in 4 months or so and I'll miss it. I'll probably only miss a handful of games this year... devastated this is one.

I reckon that last year's membership and season tickets will be accepted if you have one. No idea how much it will cost otherwise...
    Do Bohs accept season tickets for cup matches? Sorry, out of date season tickets?

No, but if you renew your membership and haven't been issued a new card you can use the last years.

Don't know if they're valid for cup games.

The Setanta Cup is covered by season tickets and Membership Cards.

If you have renewed it but haven't been issued with another one you can use last year's.