Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Irish Muaythai Council 2011 Awards

• 17-01-2012 12:08am
    Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭

Irish Muay Council 2011 Awards:
    Category 1:
    Female Amateur fighter of the year is Megan Maher (Waterford).
    Category 2:
    Female Pro fighter of the year is Ferial "Felix"Ameeroedien (Bridgestone).
    Category 3:
    Male Amateur fighter of the year is Patrick O Connell (Hanuman).
    Category 4:
    Male Pro fighter of the year is Gary Ormond (Chupasart).
    Category 5:
    Underage fighter of the year is Gavin Sheehan (Sitjaipetch).
    Category 6:
    International fighter of the year is Stephen Hodgers (Louth Sjp).
    Category 7:
    Gym of the year is Chupasart.
    Category 8:
    Fight of the year is Robert McGivern (Langka)v James O Connell (Courage).

Congratulations to all these fighters for their dedication and hard work.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 stephen louth thai

ah ha nice 1 :-) well done to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭chprt

well done to all

some stiff competition for some of the votes for sure.

A personal well done to Gary Ormond, a great lad to train with, and to look after, thanks to his management team "Mark Tully management"

A thanks as well to all the lads that help me run the gym and never get a mention, I always get the praise and I reckon I do about 20% of the work getting fighters ready, so thanks to them.

well done again to all and thanks to the big lads in the IMC fro all their help over the year...

...ps john wheres my stove :)

paddy

www.onlinemathsgrinds.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Congrats to all!

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭Havo

Very surprised Ste Meleady didnt win anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Siamdragon

Sitjaipetch Muay Thai & Martial Arts Centre

BIG WELL DONE TO GAVIN SHEEHAN , STEPHAN HODGER , ANDREW DOYLE 3 of the Sitjaipetch team of fighters who just go Voted Awards by the Irish Muaythai Council
    Gavin Sheehan junior Fighter of the Year 2011
    Stephan Hodger International Fighter of the Year 2011
    Andrew Doyle for been in Fight of the Year 2011, which Andrew Won it was held in Cork last year in March on SjP Promotions Event for the IMC Irish Title against James O Connell well done to James as well always involved in great matches and since won an Irish title him self at a lower weight Class
    Well done from all the lads at the gym and its friends
    Well done to everyone else who received an award from the IMC this Year and thanks to the IMC for given our fighters the opportunities to achieve this awards
    Next Year these awards will be held before Christmas 1st December at a formal Dinner Fight night to a company the Awards which will be another step up in and raise the profile of our sport and its athletes the credit and recognition they deserve

SjP

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Sorry Lads I put Robert McGivern in at fight of the year with James O Connell, my mistake it should of being Andrew Doyle v James O Connell.
    Too many punches to the head I guess :o

No way Paddy, we're quits now :D

oisin or aisling please.... send it up mate :)

www.onlinemathsgrinds.ie

Hey paddy, Im starting to get worried...you even know the names an all.
    are you stalking me :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Eddy L

Congrats to all the winners.

Congrats to imc so professional and hard working.:eek:

Who chooses or how are the winners choosen.?.Just out of curiosity.

Haha SJP Hanumn Waterford and Louth seems to be a trend(neva seen the figthers in action prob well deserved).

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Langka

All the trainers vote!

Nomination forms are sent out by himself to every coach, then when i get them back, i tally the votes up and post up the results :-)

Eddy L just out of curiosity. My gym received 1 award and another gym received two yet you didn't name them in your remark about a trend. so much for at theory then.
    Back to the drawing board So Eddy L:D

me and Eddy are one in the same so leave us alone please, all joking aside I do enjoy Eddys posts.

small write up to say thanks to my gym
    http://chupasart.com/index.php/news

paddy

www.onlinemathsgrinds.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Eddy L

To be honest awards like this i do not think can be fair.It is just the coaches voting i mean theres obviously clicks between gyms so there going to vote for there buddies,thats jus the way it is.If the sport was big enough and had media following or something like that then it would fairer with them or fans choosing.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 CMT

Congratulations to all the winners. Nice to see the fighters and gyms being recognised for all their hard work each year. Its going to be another busy year for them again this year. Well done all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭Socialist_Pig

Eddy L wrote: »
    To be honest awards like this i do not think can be fair.It is just the coaches voting i mean theres obviously clicks between gyms so there going to vote for there buddies,thats jus the way it is.If the sport was big enough and had media following or something like that then it would fairer with them or fans choosing.

please stop trolling its getting boring at this stage.

the awards were voted between the IMC clubs.Do you honestly think all the coaches/fighters get on at an inter club level? They dont.people are like that.

the IMC are an offshoot of the thai governing body in thailand so if clubs want international recognition of a certain standard they have to join.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

please stop trolling its getting boring at this stage.

Careful with the back seat modding there. ;)

Actually I find Eddy's posts cut and thrust and sometimes a small bit OTT but I'm not about to moderate them yet and I don't think the IMC would look any better for it if I did (i.e. I don't think they'd want me to). He obviously has a good knowledge of the players involved and isn't a re-reg of another account - at least not obviously. While he's asking hard questions, nobody's afraid to answer them so game on IMO.

After this thread we're all aware that there's a voting process. I think that's a good thing. At least it's all above board and now that's public knowledge. I take Eddy's point that it's not ideal when you have a small number of coaches voting, but that's life on a small island with a small but rapidly growing sport. I don't see an obvious way around it.

As far as I can see from the voting, there was about 17 coaches asked to vote..

Thats not that small a number IMO. I think its better this way, and not the public vote, I often see on facebook... Please vote for me as fighters iof the year click here as many times as you like... or please vote the gym i train in to be top gym etc and I think its quite sad when you almost have to beg for votes like this, it becomes a popularity contest.

I was able to get to most of the fights this year, and I think most of the awards are fair and deserved, most of them are the same as who I voted for so I dont see that there can be clicks involved, sure most of main gyms won awards in it.

roll on 2012

amateur show in my gym 26th feb for all interested

www.onlinemathsgrinds.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Eddy L wrote: »
    If the sport was big enough and had media following or something like that then it would fairer with them or fans choosing.
    chprt wrote: »
    I think its quite sad when you almost have to beg for votes like this, it becomes a popularity contest.

As Paddy said it would just turn into a popularity contest if it was fan based voting, even if it was fighters voting too then the bigger gyms would just outvote the smaller gyms with bias being unavoidable really. All the coaches voting does seem to be the fairest way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Siamdragon

The Award are Voted for in the best possible way,
    They are Voted by people directly involved in the Sport who have Knowledge and experience, People who are bring this sport forward by all there hard work year after year, People who attend 99% of shows in Ireland. People who witness these fighters in Action not just heard about them watch video and other people’s opinions good or bad weather they win or lose its all about performance and character in and out of the ring.
    And as Stated already in previous posts it’s not a popularity contest
    Every Club gets to Vote equally and no one votes for there own fighters or Club,
    But the IMC Board has the Final approval Yes of course, as any other National Sports, body European or World organizations all over the World.
    So Hope this Clears up things any more Questions superstations and theory’s?
    But I really do think ye should focus your attention on what this post is about the fighters Muaythai and the good work the IMC has done for the Sport.
    The IMC is the National Body for Muaythai in Ireland, and that’s not going to change if people want to make a difference get on board get your vote and opinions heard like everything in life things can only be change from the inside with active people, not with people who put ego in front of national and international development nothing gets done by on lookers from outside. The IMC is growing at an amazing rate each year, and with our world body now so close to IOC inclusion our athletes will have some amazing opportunities in the Future something some of our vets and older fighters could have only dreamed about. This is the Work the IMC is doing, the Question is if you are a true Muaythai fan enthusiast is what are YOU doing to help?

Craig O’Flynn