Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keeping Things Simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Bah, I don't need to choose to go for long stretches of time without sex...

What a ponce!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

--LOS-- wrote: »
    I would consider myself pretty low maintenance. I however do not see the point in fasting and abstinence :confused:
    Do you think you would enjoy the peaks of life if you never had to go through any of the troughs? That's one principle behind abstinence.

Or to quote Dolly Parton, if you want rainbows,you have to put up with the rain.

And yes, I did just quote Dolly Parton!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

Peetrik wrote: »
    Well yes because she would believe in an invisible benevolent zombie that could communicate with her telepathically but chooses not to do so because she thinks that proves he exists.... in short... she would be crazy

It's known as discrimination based on a person's religion or beliefs. It's sad that you can't believe in a God or tell others you are christian without people forming opinions on you, labelling and discriminating against you.

It's sad that you can't believe in a God or tell others you are christian without people forming opinions on you

Uh-oh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

later10 wrote: »
    This girl moved into my house a few weeks back who I guess some people would describe as a little alternative. She's not religious, per se, but maintains a very simple way of life: she regularly fasts, rarely wears make up, and the other day told me she often chooses to go for long stretches of time without having sex. And believe me, this girl is attractive, she could have her choice of men.

It's a way of life I've started to find really fascinating. As I hang around with her, I can see a definite benefit to maintaining almost monastic levels of simplicity in your day to day living. I fasted a few days back (for the craic, like) and walked about twelve miles on my own. Although the following isn't the primary aim of ascetic living, I can't remember the last time I felt to appreciative of my life. It was almost like a re-tuning, if you like. I began to see some previously important matters begin to diminish.

I can really see the benefit of maintaining simplicity in your life. Retreats, vows of silence, abstinence, renunciation of certain luxuries: is it something many of you ever think about?

Fair play to her. She knows what she wants out of life.
    That lifestyle is not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Ill agree , my 1 week fast at the end of every month is quite blissful , as i swap down to rolling tobacco and keep my car with the orange light on , I feel at peace with myself. It brings me back to a simpler age and even little things like finding out theres a can of bav at the back of my fridge or I have a 5er i forgot in a pair of dirty jeans excite me to no end.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

I didn't say I was 'expecting her' to be having sex at all. We were talking about her lifestyle and she told me she chooses to go for stretches without having sex. It's a conscious, spiritual decision as opposed to simply 'waiting for the right guy'.

Have to say I never felt the 'sex is love' vibe myself; for me sex is fun. From that point of view, abstaining from it sounds interesting in an almost ascetic sense, or in terms of simply appreciating it all the more when you choose to let it happen. I imagine it's quite liberating both to feel that sort of control over your passions and to later allow yourself enjoy it completely.

Well your a man like most men they are no different from cave men, you use your male organs to play and to have fun with. In general men seem to be weak, they let themselves be controlled by hormones. I control myself, my body and my life, it's not rocket science and you don't need much discipline at all. I think there is few women influenced by hormones and see sex as fun

So shes Christian or has those values and has a vow of chasity, then that is her beleifs. I admire her because she is different to most others, she is being true to herself and standing up for what she believes in. I know alot of people especially young people would view her as 'weird' because she is different instead of admiring her difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Do you think you would enjoy the peaks of life if you never had to go through any of the troughs? That's one principle behind abstinence.

Or to quote Dolly Parton, if you want rainbows,you have to put up with the rain.

And yes, I did just quote Dolly Parton!

ye ofc, like I said I'm fairly low maintenance, I was never spoiled as a child etc either so I appreciate things. However you were talking about abstinence from sex, in a long term relationship anyway I don't see how that is beneficial.

Well your a man like most men they are no different from cave men
    Sorry, I'm really not interested in exchanging insults here, or humouring your archaic view of men as cavemen.
    you use your male organs to play and to have fun with. In general men seem to be weak, they let themselves be controlled by hormones.
    Lots of people allow themselves be controlled by hormones, the notion that women do it any less than men is sexist; I'm guessing you're about 30 from your username, but you sound closer to twelve. Do you wear one of those "boys are stupid" t-shirts as well?
    I think there is few women influenced by hormones and see sex as fun
    Only few women who see sex as fun? I don't think you're very tapped in to female sexuality then.

Do you seriously think that seeing "sex as love" has anything less to do with hormones or other biological commands than seeing it as "fun"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Only few women who see sex as fun? I don't think you're very tapped in to female sexuality then.

Do you seriously think that seeing "sex as love" has anything less to do with hormones or other biological commands than seeing it as "fun"?

to be fair, while badly worded i think they have a point, women that treat sex the same way men do are called 'sluts' , a lot of women dont just have sex for fun, they deny themselves fun and reserve it for use to gain power, influence, money or companionship.

• later10 wrote: »

to be fair, while badly worded i think they have a point, women that treat sex the same way men do are called 'sluts' , a lot of women dont just have sex for fun, they deny themselves fun and reserve it for use to gain power, influence, money or companionship.

U need to meet more women . Geez

• later10 wrote: »

U need to meet more women . Geez

Excuse me there Missus. Misquoting me once is bad enough, but twice?

Eric Cartman said that! Otherwise, my sentiments exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

It's known as discrimination based on a person's religion or beliefs. It's sad that you can't believe in a God or tell others you are christian without people forming opinions on you, labelling and discriminating against you.

Its known as forming an opinion on anyone that tells me that voices in their head tells them to do things.
    I'm not having a go at you here, you are more than free to walk the path of the Jedi or chat away to a god in your head. best of luck with that. However people will form opinions on you if you insist on trying to tell them about it, thats just life.

Peetrik wrote: »
    Its known as forming an opinion on anyone that tells me that voices in their head tells them to do things.
    I'm not having a go at you here, you are more than free to walk the path of the Jedi or chat away to a god in your head.
    In fairness, while I'm not sticking up for that poster, you have to appreciate that the God meme is a lot more complex and ingrained in human societies than any simple comparison with the Jedi.

If people are brought to question God in a constructive and less hostile manner, you'd actually be surprised the extent to which they'd admit their doubts,or see things from your perspective.

Attacking belief in the way most of the most tiresome atheists do is a bit like smashing a pile of acorns with a sledgehammer. Soon all you are left with is a heap of thorny nuts.

I get the feeling that people who do this are less interested in convincing others of truth than in ridiculing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

im lost with this thread now, what started off simple just became complicated.

Atheism for some, miniature Tibetan flags for others!

what happened to keeping it simple.

Take shorter walks next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

the God meme is a lot more complex and ingrained in human societies than any simple comparison with the Jedi.

Ah I know, its a very old superstition, but so was the flat earth theory, just because an idea has been around for awhile doesn't mean it shouldn't be challenged.
    The comparison was simpily to illustrate that I consider them to be the same thing, in the sense that they are both imaginary, I hadn't really put a lot of thought into it.
    If people are brought to question God in a constructive and less hostile manner, you'd actually be surprised the extent to which they'd admit their doubts,or see things from your perspective.

Possibly, again I'll stress that I'm not having a go at them, believe whatever makes you happy as long as it doesn't affect me, but if someone tries tell me about their invisible friend then they can expect some ridicule :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

That's it,this weekend i'm just going to go out the door,leave my phone on silent and walk.

isnt that what forest gump did?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

isnt that what forest gump did?

He ran,if i done that i'd get to the corner of the road and struggle to walk back.