Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12-Jan 2012 onwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

MD1990 wrote: »
    i so sick of every English player saying everything is decent lol
    Don't come to Cork any time soon then either :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

PaulieC wrote: »
    Don't come to Cork any time soon then either :pac:

Best avoid Limerick and Clare also.

Daysunt. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭AwayWithFaries

Maxi is sh1te, but he masks it with the odd goal here and there.

Yeah but what we are lacking all season is "the odd goal here and there" so it would definitely pay off giving him a bit more game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Maxi is sh1te, but he masks it with the odd goal here and there.

Thats a bit harsh.

He's a good bit better than you seem to give him credit for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Fairly sure this jersey was posted ages ago, but this is the rumoured jersey Johnson was doing pics for today.

419243_365914640107218_118450714853613_1179029_1480249274_n.jpg

Happy they went back to a more retro crest if it is true. Does look a bit like a Welsh rugby jersey though.

430618_341938472518506_161581393887549_970437_945740730_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Do you genuinely not get Johnsons point?

I'll explain it nice & simply for you......

The whole thing about racism is that we're all the same, black, white, yellow, orange, green, blue.

All. The. Same.

Love. Peace. Compassion. Etc. Etc.

the+same.jpg

As such, if there is a wrong commited (like racism), we should all be disgusted about it.

Equally.

What McGrath was saying basically was, it was alright for Gerrard, Carra etc to wear show their support of Suarez by wearing a tshirt. But it wasn't ok for Johnson, because he is black.

Surely if Johnson feels that Suarez was unfairly treated (which he clearly does), he is equally entitled to show his support for his colleague? And shouldn't be singled out because of the colour of his skin?

You up to speed yet?

I dont agree.

McGrath knows Johnson would legitimately be the only one who could have had experience in this situation, i.e. racism against a black person. Im not saying I agree fully with what McGrath said, but his reason for saying this about Johnson is reasonable IMO.

Also McGrath didn't 'basically' say it was alright for Gerrard, Carra etc to wear t-shirts. He said nothing of the sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Thats a bit harsh.

He's a good bit better than you seem to give him credit for.

He's not sh1te he's just not good. His recent display against United in the FA Cup was tragic and i'm not surprised we haven't seen him since. He gets into good positions in the box i suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Knex. wrote: »
    Fairly sure this jersey was posted ages ago, but this is the rumoured jersey Johnson was doing pics for today.

Happy they went back to a more retro crest if it is true. Does look a bit like a Welsh rugby jersey though.

Which of those two pics is the one rumoured to be the one?

The top one with the eternal flames and a yellow crest and white trim or the bottom one?

If the eternal flames were on the bottom one, I think it would look great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Sasquatch76

Soon we may be facing a Rafa Chelsea team. Trailing 2-nil at half time are you going to be saying "well if Rafa was here, he'd do this and do that"?
    Yeah, that's exactly what I'd say.:rolleyes:

You can have moved on from something and still hypothesise you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Those tops are fake. Zero chance they will remove the 5 stars from the jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

they look like shirts from the 70's or 80's
    pretty **** if real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

The collar on that thing is absolutely horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Super injunctions are wonderful things for rich footballers....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

427378_353657251345243_319308478113454_1104780_233489264_n.jpg

Another version, with a red collar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Paully D wrote: »
    Super injunctions are wonderful things for rich footballers....

Huh?

Is this some more in the know stuff?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Nice one, Glen ffs!!! :rolleyes:

Kess73 wrote: »
    Which of those two pics is the one rumoured to be the one?

The top one with the eternal flames and a yellow crest and white trim or the bottom one?

If the eternal flames were on the bottom one, I think it would look great

Hadn't noticed they were different until you said it! :o

Agree with the eternal flames on the bottom one idea though.

Edit: Think the top one is the one rumoured to be worn by Johnson and the bottom one was the imitation one we'd seen posted before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

This one I like.

thats a lot better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Too Red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

They look more like team merchandise than actual jersey's. I am more interested in seeing the away jersey though, it's going to be hard to go wrong with the home one.

Pay big money for Javi Martinez and Llorente in the summer, tell them we'll be in the Champions League the following summer!

monkey9 wrote: »
    Pay big money for Javi Martinez and Llorente in the summer, tell them we'll be in the Champions League the following summer!

I'd settle with just Llorente...him and Suarez up front is mouth watering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Turtyturd wrote: »
    i want Munian!!! he was MOTM tonight imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Yeah Llorente is a class act. To think the BBC were saying he is the Spanish Grant Holt, yeah right.

i think we really need to stop buying overated british players
    & search Europe for some quality players at low prices

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

after they played united off the park tonight and after atletic's likely champions league qualification and after the three to them play for spain in euro 2012 the costs for munain, llorente and javi martinez will skyrocket

we have missed the boat on those lads, out of our league now

we hired the likes of comolli so we could sign those type of players BEFORE they lit up the world stage - another sign of our total muppetry in the transfer market last season

let's put it like this

this time last summer we would have gotten munain(15), llorente(30) and javi martinez(25) for the price we paid for carroll, henderson and downing

their respective values now are munain (35) llorente (40) javi martinez (35)

our lads are carroll (12) henderson (10) and downing (8)

great business last summer kk and dc.....

Yeah Llorente is a class act. To think the BBC were saying he is the Spanish Grant Holt, yeah right.

Spanish Zigic according to Brian Kerr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Llorentes' picetag just went up, if there's any chance we go shopping in Bilbao bring back Munian aswell please.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Why would Llorente leave a 5th place Spanish side for a 7th place English side?

A step down IMO.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

We need to play a game quickly, all this transfer talk is just depressing me.

this would be my team for Sunderland

______________Reina_____________________

Johnson_____Skrtel_____Coates______Enrique

______________Spearing____________________

Downing_________Gerrard____________Bellamy

________________Suarez_____________________

________________Carroll_____________________

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

________________Carroll_____________________
    Yeah we need to start playing Coates more, he has serious potential. If Gerrard is fit I would like to see him behind Carroll with Suarez and Downing on the wings with Spearing and Henderson in centre. Would like to see Henderson getting some game time in centre midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

________________Maxi / Doni_____________________

I'd choose almost the same team. FYP :D

Yano, just for the craic like.

Edit: Only up until Stephens Day, just enough to leave you depressed but not the full amount to make you cry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

djPSB wrote: »
    Sure didn't Torres go to Chelsea.

We were ahead of Liverpool when he came. He upgraded to a club that has the ability to challenge for major honors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Edit: Only up until Stephens Day, just enough to leave you depressed but not the full amount to make you cry.

Poor Downing, lol

Hitting the woodwork is a miss, close but a miss all the same.

The goal's big enough, we need to be hitting it more. So many attempts hitting the frame of the goal only servers to highlight how **** we've been in front of goal, feck all to do with bad luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

has any actual date been given for the new kit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,199 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I dont really want us to go spending a fortune on Llorente. I like him a lot, and I really wanted us to go for him when we had Torres, but as we are, I'd prefer someone a lot more mobile. Our lack of pace is horrifying, and this would only add to it.

If we had money, id love both him and Muniain, or another nippy striker, but if we're only shelling out on one, I'd definitely be looking at his clubmate instead.

eldwaro wrote: »

Don't think so but it's usually around May. I assume the Adidas deal will run out on the last day of the season so expect it sometime around then.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

Don't think so but it's usually around May. I assume the Adidas deal will run out on the last day of the season so expect it sometime around then.

it would seem to be one of the closest guarded secrets in the world right now!

eldwaro wrote: »

Warrior will be our new kit suppliers officially on July 1st, so i'd expect us to get our first look at/be in a position to buy next seasons jersey on that date!

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    I dont really want us to go spending a fortune on Llorente.

Perhaps not him specifically but we definately need someone of his callibre. It'll take a fist full of dollars but that type of player is exactly what we need.

Aunties with balls and all that but where could we be this season with someone like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

"It's sad somebody is having a pop at me" - McGrath. Maybe don't take a pop at others then!

In other news, Gerrard and Johnson are expected to be fit for Sunderland.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

K-9 wrote: »
    "It's sad somebody is having a pop at me" - McGrath. Maybe don't take a pop at others then!

In other news, Gerrard and Johnson are expected to be fit for Sunderland.

In fairness McGrath grew up and played in a very different england than it is today. It just highlights how utterly retarded and juvenile those t-shirts were in the first place. Johnson should have shut his mouth tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,199 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

jank wrote: »
    Johnson should have shut his mouth tbh.

Indeed. If he was going to say something, it should have been weeks ago. Bringing it back up now is just more bad publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Yeah we were but Carlo has the ability to turn a season around, Carlo turned our season around 2010-11 and we ended up finishing second.

AVB showed no signs of improvement and lost the dressing room.

The part in bold is just Absurd.

here's a fact, i've looked through the last few pages of your post history and there isn't one page it seems where you havent posted on the liverpool thread or a liverpool match thread.

The last 15 posts from you- 7 are on the liverpool thread, nearly half. in the same 15 posts, you posted once on the chelsea thread.

think you are the absurd one here pal. if you actually are a chelsea fan, post more there and less here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭Sappy404

donfers wrote: »
    after they played united off the park tonight and after atletic's likely champions league qualification and after the three to them play for spain in euro 2012 the costs for munain, llorente and javi martinez will skyrocket
    Llorentes' picetag just went up, if there's any chance we go shopping in Bilbao bring back Munian aswell please.:)

There were strong rumours of attempts to buy Llorente before we bought Carroll.

We were apparently scouting Munain Last year too before the summer. Who's to say we didn't attempt to sign him?

Javi Martinez was worth a reported €40m last year. We weren't exactly in the market for a hugely expensive central midfielder then.

Are we seriously going to start moaning about Comolli and Kenny not signing every half-decent player as soon as they have a decent match against a premier league club? Do you honestly think the price tags of players skyrocket as soon as they have a decent game against English opposition? They've been excellent and expensive for a long time. Just because this one was on telly in the UK won't make a difference.