Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12-Jan 2012 onwards

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Ha sorry...

Anyway back on topic of the match. I said it in the match thread but deserves to be said again -

Jay Spearing is developing into a very very good player. Thought he was fantastic tonight, showed quality on the ball as well as off it.

If anything good is to come of Lucas's injury, it's that Spearing has been given a run in the team and it has done him the world of good. I predict he's going to be an important player for us over the next decade; a useful option or cover, the type of quality squad player a top team needs

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Yakult wrote: »
    Surely Carroll will score tonight.
    Good man!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

K-9 wrote: »
    2 Assists and a goal in 3 games for Carroll.

Kenny pretty complimentary of him in the interview.

Some difference 10 days makes.

Easily could have at least another assist or two based on tonight had one of the midfielders gambled a bit more, by making a Gerrard run from midfield into the box.

Morzadec wrote: »
    Ha sorry...

Anyway back on topic of the match. I said it in the match thread but deserves to be said again -

Jay Spearing is developing into a very very good player. Thought he was fantastic tonight, showed quality on the ball as well as off it.

If anything good is to come of Lucas's injury, it's that Spearing has been given a run in the team and it has done him the world of good. I predict he's going to be an important player for us over the next decade; a useful option or cover, the type of quality squad player a top team needs

I think he's a very good player.

Very underated by some but we look a lot more solid with him in the middle tbh. Delighted he's fit again.

Him and two from Hendo/Gerrard/Adam is fine by me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Ha sorry...

True, Spearing wouldn't have got much game time with Lucas fit, the odd Cup game and PL game.

All going well, the young lads coming up will get chances next season with Cups and ideally CL, or EC action. This season Kenny isn't taking any chances.

MotD on in 10 minutes if you've BBC1 London tuned in. Can't imagine the game being on early.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Lol Redknapp trying to save the day for SSN super dupper transfer day deadline. Only missing the car.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

True, Spearing wouldn't have got much game time with Lucas fit, the odd Cup game and PL game.

All going well, the young lads coming up will get chances next season with Cups and ideally CL, or EC action. This season Kenny isn't taking any chances.

MotD on in 10 minutes if you've BBC1 London tuned in. Can't imagine the game being on early.

I thought it was on at 11 or is BBC1 London different to BBC1 and I am completely unaware of it? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭jebidiah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,545 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Haven't seen the game yet but delighted with the result. About to watch MOTM.

Three great results now, and I'm hoping that the team is starting to gel and kick on from here.

Has Kenny pulled a master stroke by criticising them publicly after Bolton game and now giving them a big vote of confidence by doing no business during transfer window?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭ASOT

Love having a box with about 30 different bbcs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

The kick up the hole after the Bolton game seems to have hit home rather well so far.

Knex. wrote: »
    I thought it was on at 11 or is BBC1 London different to BBC1 and I am completely unaware of it? :o

If you have Sky HD, MOTM is starting in a minute on BBC 1 HD.

ASOT wrote: »
    Love having a box with about 30 different bbcs.

I've read that on some porn sites as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

He looks like a player who is incredibly well conditioned, shouldn't be too much of a problem to play in consecutive games

What annoys me about him though is, he seems to turn into a completely different player in the opposition's half. His decision making and crossing is terrible at times. He'll get back into his own half and he bocomes a beast again, it's very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,104 ✭✭✭mada999

Lol Redknapp trying to save the day for SSN super dupper transfer day deadline. Only missing the car.:pac:

haha.. he should get a hot air balloon for the craic!!:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Vudgie

murpho999 wrote: »
    If you have Sky HD, MOTM is starting in a minute on BBC 1 HD.

The filmon plus app also has the London BBC channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Breaking news on SSN: hazard spotted at Anfield

6794570991_38f09c9a62_z.jpg

Adam is so much better with a true DM playing beside him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

What annoys me about him though is, he seems to turn into a completely different player in the opposition's half. His decision making and crossing is terrible at times. He'll get back into his own half and he bocomes a beast again, it's very strange.

I agree, he's certainly nowhere near the quality of Cole or Evra, or even on the other side Johnson for us when it comes to play in the final third. And it is important as a modern day full back to be good at beating a man or crossing.
    I expect him to improve on this though, I'm sure he'll be working on that side of his game

Still he's a quality left back, his composure, passing both short and long, strength, speed and defending are second to none and there's not a left back in the league I would trade him for at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Ha sorry...

Spearing has the heart of a lion. He did well tonight.

BUT any team that has realistic aspirations of finishing in the top 4, cannot have a player like Spearing playing on a regular basis. He is good as a squad player but he is not good enough to fill the void left by Lucas.

And another point. And I hate been negative after a win, but Charlie Adam is not good enough for a top 4 team. I know that sounds harsh considering he assisted two goals tonight. He is capable of playing defence splitting balls, has a good eye for a long range pass. He is too slow on the ball though, puts alot of simple balls astray, and for every hollywood ball that is successful there are two or three that are wayward. He is fierce clumsy in his attempts at tackling. He is good enough as a squad player, and hopefully Gerrard will come into replace him again.

Henderson has impressed me alot lately. Solid on the ball, good eye for a pass, works hard and IMO is a way better option than Adam at the minute.

Our style of play tonight reminded me alot of the way we were playing towards the end of last season. Things are beginning to fall into place, and the new players seem to be developing an understanding with each other.

Also, fair play to Carroll, the three good performances on the bounce and happy to see him get a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,025 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Has any player moved from the 1st team squad during this transfer window?

6 Assists this season, 2 tonight.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Ryan Babel @RyanBabel
    P.S whoever uses my babelcopter for the last minutes bring the keys back when you done please #Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

awesome.

just seen some highlights there now.

Andy Carroll looks like a proper CF.

Adam looks like the player we bought from Blackpool, and not the player Rangers sold. this, by the way, has a lot to do with having a DM with him.

Henderson is looking tidy, and Dirk looks like Dirk again.

and Suarez is now back, coming into a team full of confidence and just 4 points off 4th.

if Carlsberg did weeks...

Knex. wrote: »

You can tune it in or the ould take out the card trick and switch it off and on again trick! Give it 10 seconds though.

The menu switches to the English EPG, 101 is BBC1 London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

And people say hes been a bad buy..
    Dodgy enough at times tonight but no one can argue he can/is an effective player...

Also thought Henderson showed some good movement tonight even if his crossing was off. Hel be a very good player in few years imho

Yep all with a proper DM beside him. Hopefully Spearing can keep fit and give us that balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

cheque-closed2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

I'm not feeling the Charlie Adam love at all... :(

djPSB wrote: »
    Spearing has the heart of a lion. He did well tonight.

BUT any team that has realistic aspirations of finishing in the top 4, cannot have a player like Spearing playing on a regular basis. He is good as a squad player but he is not good enough to fill the void left by Lucas.

And another point. And I hate been negative after a win, but Charlie Adam is not good enough for a top 4 team. I know that sounds harsh considering he assisted two goals tonight. He is capable of playing defence splitting balls, has a good eye for a long range pass. He is too slow on the ball though, puts alot of simple balls astray, and for every hollywood ball that is successful there are two or three that are wayward. He is fierce clumsy in his attempts at tackling. He is good enough as a squad player, and hopefully Gerrard will come into replace him again.

Henderson has impressed me alot lately. Solid on the ball, good eye for a pass, works hard and IMO is a way better option than Adam at the minute.

Our style of play tonight reminded me alot of the way we were playing towards the end of last season. Things are beginning to fall into place, and the new players seem to be developing an understanding with each other.

Also, fair play to Carroll, the three good performances on the bounce and happy to see him get a goal.

FFS....there's some amount of ****e in that! Just read that Speariing had his best game in a red shirt and you say it's not good enough.

Also Adam did very well, especially as his form has been poor and you still think he's no good! I always remember his performance against Chelsea and that showed what he can do...needs to do that more often!

Don't forget these lads have to learn what's required of them and up their level....manager has to choose right formation and tactics too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

also, i don't know if this is actually a corner turned for Carroll, but if it is, it's fascinating that it has taken this long.

it's like he's all of a sudden remembered he's a big strong bastard who can bully anyone he wants.

it's crazy how much of this game is in the head.

FFS....there's some amount of ****e in that! Just read that Speariing had his best game in a red shirt and you say it's not good enough.

Also Adam did very well, especially as his form has been poor and you still think he's no good! I always remember his performance against Chelsea and that showed what he can do...needs to do that more often!

Don't forget these lads have to learn what's required of them and up their level....manager has to choose right formation and tactics too.

I was say it's a fair shout to say Spearing and Adam aren't they standard required for a consistant top 4 TEAM but they would be for the SQUAD.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I was say it's a fair shout to say Spearing and Adam aren't they standard required for a consistant top 4 TEAM but they would be for the SQUAD.

Then they are good enough imo!

Spearing is improving too which is what you want to see at his age!

Did you watch the full game??

Adam always looks good when you watch the highlights of a game because it never shows the simple passes he puts astray or the poor attempts at long range passes. He was very poor in the first half. I am not saying he is not a good player, he is just not good enough as a regular starter in a team that wants to finish in the top 4.

Spearing had a good game tonight. I'm not denying that. But again he doesn't have the quality required for a team with Champions League aspirations.

Spearing is a good championship/lower PL team player.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭slingerz

Delighted for Carroll

Did you watch the full game??

Adam always looks good when you watch the highlights of a game because it never shows the simple passes he puts astray or the poor attempts at long range passes. He was very poor in the first half. I am not saying he is not a good player, he is just not good enough as a regular starter in a team that wants to finish in the top 4.

Spearing had a good game tonight. I'm not denying that. But again he doesn't have the quality required for a team with Champions League aspirations.

No as I said already I haven't seen tonight's game yet, waiting on highlights but I have read that Adam has played well tonight.

The thing is I have seen Adam play well for us, so he has the ability so it's consistency he needs to find, and that takes time when you step up to a bigger club and not have team built around you.

As for Spearing, he's a young lad, who is still learning and improving.
    If you admit that he had a good game tonight then surely he's good enough?

No as I said already I haven't seen tonight's game yet, waiting on highlights but I have read that Adam has played well tonight.

The thing is I have seen Adam play well for us, so he has the ability so it's consistency he needs to find, and that takes time when you step up to a bigger club and not have team built around you.

As for Spearing, he's a young lad, who is still learning and improving.
    If you admit that he had a good game tonight then surely he's good enough?

Just because he had a good game tonight against a very poor Wolves team, doesn't mean that he is good enough to play there every game.

When you look at the other teams competing for the top 4 places, they have players like Toure, Barry, Song, Romeu, Mikel, Parker even Tiote. I would hold Lucas in the same regard as any of these players, but Jay Spearing I most certainly wouldn't.

Quality play/ball from jose for the kuyt goal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Disagree with this. Spearing over the the last 12 months has reached a level of performance that has shown Kenny that he needs to be considered as serious contender for the first team. He has a good football brain and can play and contribute to the free moving passing style Kenny wants to encourage. Only have to look at the second goal tonight. Jay deserves his place, maturing into a mini mascherano but imho better on the ball

Major lift the the last 3 results, nearly like Kenny coming in again.

Ordinary players like Maxi suddenly become damn good! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

SlickRic wrote: »
    also, i don't know if this is actually a corner turned for Carroll, but if it is, it's fascinating that it has taken this long.

it's like he's all of a sudden remembered he's a big strong bastard who can bully anyone he wants.

it's crazy how much of this game is in the head.

It still looks distinctly average and a far cry from £35m. He's improved but it was at the stage where he couldn't really look any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Gerrard would have had a hat-trick from the knock backs that Carroll provided today. or another striekr if there was one coming in behind. He was not 35m brilliant but he does seem to have woken up a bit and I think it would make a huge difference for him once we play to his strengths.

Just because he had a good game tonight against a very poor Wolves team, doesn't mean that he is good enough to play there every game.

When you look at the other teams competing for the top 4 places, they have players like Toure, Barry, Song, Romeu, Mikel, Parker even Tiote. I would hold Lucas in the same regard as any of these players, but Jay Spearing I most certainly wouldn't.

You know what last season I would have agreed with you entirely about Spearing but then he got a new contract so obviously the people who work with him day in day out saw something in him and this season when he got the chance you can see he has and still is improving and learning his craft.

Not his fault opposition was poor tonight, a good game is a good game and he will gain confidence from it.

Also, your comparison to other players is poor....he's not at level of Toure or Parker yet but I'd rather have him in the squad instead of the likes of Barry as he is young and will only get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,286 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Disagree with this. Spearing over the the last 12 months has reached a level of performance that has shown Kenny that he needs to be considered as serious contender for the first team. He has a good football brain and can play and contribute to the free moving passing style Kenny wants to encourage. Only have to look at the second goal tonight. Jay deserves his place, maturing into a mini mascherano but imho better on the ball

I think comparing Masch and Spearing on ability is quite silly.

It still looks distinctly average and a far cry from £35m. He's improved but it was at the stage where he couldn't really look any worse.

Why are you obsessed with the £35m? Every time Carroll is mentioned you go on about the price.

The lad has had a rough time, had 3 good games now, got a goal tonight and his overall game has improved.

It's all steps in the right direction and what he has to do to look like £35m is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Why are you obsessed with the £35m? Every time Carroll is mentioned you go on about the price.

The lad has had a rough time, had 3 good games now, got a goal tonight and his overall game has improved.

It's all steps in the right direction and what he has to do to look like £35m is beyond me.

Because that's what we paid for him. :confused:

Fckin hell, the one week where the chap deserves a bit of a break.