Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin rock band sell Gerry Ryan T-Shirts!

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

fiinch wrote: »
    they're wetting themselves with laughter at this

I'm not surprised from such an uncouth shower of ruffians. By jove.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

If ye honestly think that any publicity is good publicity then you're sadly mistaken I'm afraid. Maybe amongst their own insular little set of fans and they might pick up a few more but outside of that forget about it.

Guess who owns most of the pubs and clubs that these guys are appealing to play in?? Middle aged 'mammys and the auld fellas..'
    Guess who all the main music promoters in this country would have been friends with?
    Finally, the hypocrisy is classic. "By the way if anybody can give us some work so we can buy illegal drugs... "

There's plenty of places for Dublin hardcore bands to play in, without having to worry about any middle aged mammies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭neilk32

Nailz wrote: »
    They sound a Grindy kind of Sludge, less punk than they appear to assume.

It's hardcore punk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

If ye honestly think that any publicity is good publicity then you're sadly mistaken I'm afraid. Maybe amongst their own insular little set of fans and they might pick up a few more but outside of that forget about it.

Guess who owns most of the pubs and clubs that these guys are appealing to play in?? Middle aged 'mammys and the auld fellas..'
    Guess who all the main music promoters in this country would have been friends with?
    Finally, the hypocrisy is classic. "By the way if anybody can give us some work so we can buy illegal drugs... "

You're dead right. Let us go forth now, and swear to offend no holy cows forever more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭fiinch

REVEALED:
    local band release latest design for people to cry over
    http://shop4lol.viralprints.com/composites/BasicWhite-4167.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Might buy one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

So whats the point in this thread?

Did you start it to promote the band and the t-shirt?

Have you got an opinion on the t-shirt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Sinfonia wrote: »
    Knobs. What's the point of trying to **** all over him when he's already dead? Who's it hurting?
    Also, hardly much of a statement when "the information is not new, it's been well documented in the media".

Dead Junkies everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

seanbmc wrote: »
    There's plenty of places for Dublin hardcore bands to play in, without having to worry about any middle aged mammies.

There is???? And are the lads making money from it??
    (And don't give me the 'Love of the music...it's not about the money...' answer. Been there :o)
    Nodin wrote: »
    You're dead right. Let us go forth now, and swear to offend no holy cows forever more.

You're both missing my point.. Whether they realise it or not they're biting off a big chunk of the hand that feeds. And they're looking for food :-)
    Johnny Rotten or Bob Dylan can insult anybody they want in the music industry - Mikey Rotten from Inchicore and Emmet Dylan from Blanch can't. They can insult Popes, Politicians and Used Car Dealers all they want but just don't insult the 'Inner Circle' of your own industry.

Probably the most influential DJ in the country, and the one most likely to pick up on their music if it's any good would be Dave Fanning. Can't see that happening now any time soon !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

(And don't give me the 'Love of the music...it's not about the money...' answer. Been there :o)

You're both missing my point.. Whether they realise it or not they're biting off a big chunk of the hand that feeds. And they're looking for food :-)
    Johnny Rotten or Bob Dylan can insult anybody they want in the music industry - Mikey Rotten from Inchicore and Emmet Dylan from Blanch can't. They can insult Popes, Politicians and Used Car Dealers all they want but just don't insult the 'Inner Circle' of your own industry.

Probably the most influential DJ in the country, and the one most likely to pick up on their music if it's any good would be Dave Fanning. Can't see that happening now any time soon !!
    Cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

mrmeindl wrote: »
    Fair play to them, that junky **** has had his beatification to be up there with the saint of ODs Katy French.

In fairness did Ms French ever pubically condem recreational drug user ???

(Or maybe she did seeing as how Id never heard of the Woman bfore she died)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Sounds like they're trying to rip off the early Manics ideas.

and even early manics were ripping off something from many years prior. not musically though, else it wouldn't have sold as well sooner promote australian tourism n stuff

come to think of it capitalism / disco / divas / crooners bigger than ever the scene is set for reintroduction of punk proper. Indeed more than ever would be utterly demoralizing if it didn't transpire... cmon kids. Why is the record label referred to as amateur instead of indie btw, is the original indie ethic really that dead / lauded. Shït times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

one of the band members is on fm104 now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭googsy

Wouldn't pay 5 quid for a t-shirt with a picture of Gerry Ryan on it never mind 25 !... The caption on the t-shirt should have read "We want to be famous like this guy"

Anyway all this talk of "hardcore punk" got me thinking about a poison idea..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    In fairness did Ms French ever pubically condem recreational drug user ???

(Or maybe she did seeing as how Id never heard of the Woman bfore she died)

She was made out to be a a martyr when she died. Tragic Katy is what the papers went with, constantly. Everyone and their dog in MediaLand was out to get whoever did this to poor Katy. I'm sorry but she did it to herself. As did Gerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

There certainly is. Gigs on quite frequently, and in numerous venues. Some of them tour Britain, even the States, presuambly with money earned from playing and selling records in the local scene. It's actually an incredibly supportive community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Trolling thread is closed.