Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor Driving with no experience?

Options
  • 19-01-2012 2:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 17

Hi,

I am flying out to Oz next month, tickets booked. Unfortunately Ive just been diagnosed with mild arthritis (in my mid 20's!!). This is a problem as certain types of work will make the condition worse i.e., fruit picking, construction laborer etc. I have been told that tractor driving would be ideal. The problem is I have no experience nor have I driven one before.

How does one go about getting such a job with no experience? Is there a course I could do that would help? Is their a particular licence I need to get in order to drive a tractor? Any advice on this would be hugely appreciated!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Driving a tractor is normally part of a job and not at job in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Dont totally agree with the tractor normally part of the job, I know guys doing wheat harvest and that only involved driving tractor, not sure 14-16 hours sitting in one place would be good for arthritis though

• Registered Users Posts: 17 msc1

Cheers for the feedback! Yes I've seen job adverts where driving a tractor is part of a job requiring a host of other activities including fencing, farm hand etc. I've also seen adverts for jobs which seemed to involve just driving tractors. I have come across one or two job adverts for drivers where experience was only "preferential" but not essential. This gives me hope!