Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Brands we dont see around any more

• Registered Users Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

Petro Motion !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

The KVI brand was Crazy Prices wasnt it?
    That reminds me of Quinsworth's Yellow Pack range. F#ckin awful stuff. Alright for tissues and stuff, never food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

canada dry

the news of the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Pogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Kappa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Mr. Kipling.

Whatever happened to his exceedingly good pies?

In McEnroe's voice.."you cannot be fffin serious"?? I've sworn I ate a couple of them around Xmas time but i might have seen double at the time and could not read the packaging properly :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Johro wrote: »
    That reminds me of Quinsworth's Yellow Pack range. F#ckin awful stuff. Alright for tissues and stuff, never food.
    You get the same again today except it comes in white.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

LA Lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Russell

(Brand)

Sorry! (but not much)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

John Giles Sports

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Stripey Cat

Shell and Statoil changed to Topaz because they are share holders in the Corrib natural gas field, and the protests and boycotts were hurting their sales.

Topaz is an independent licensee of Shell, that is, they buy all their petrol from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

After seeing E.T, folks brought us to King Burger on O'Connell St -haven't seen nor heard of 'em since.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Maedbhish

Jif. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

Bn biscuits

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Maedbhish wrote: »
    Jif. :(

Became Cif.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Underdraft wrote: »
    Peperami

Still around within the last year or so anyway... or maybe it was the Uk
    saa wrote: »
    Kappa

They're still doing the Six Nations jersey for Italy

I can't think of many brands TBH...

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Maedbhish

Became Cif.:)

I remember the ads. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my local costcutter sells radion powder

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Leyland vehicles, Bedford lorries, ERF lorries, Bell containers, B&I containers, P&O containers, Scammell lorries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,739 ✭✭✭pawrick

still able to get black jacks btw and commodore is still around sorta

http://www.commodoreusa.net/CUSA_C64.aspx

high sours? haven't seen them in about 15 yrs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I was reading today that Kodak have filed for bankruptcy. I was very surprised as it's a giant of a company that even managed to coin a phrase, "a Kodak moment"

It got me thinking about what other brands are no longer with us;

The Our Price chain of record stores.
    AIWA. Once a very popular Hi-Fi and Walkman clone maker.
    and Radion Washing Powder! :D

Any others?

This one (thankfully)

fiannaFailLogo.jpg

It apparently shrank and then disappeared completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

kfallon wrote: »
    Anyone remember Yellow Pack, Quinnsworth's own brand? The nightmare for every kid:

Me: Any coke in the fride Mam?
    Ma: Yeah
    Me: *opens fridge, sees Yellow Pack coke*
    Me: It's ok I'm not thirsty anymore :(

Maurice Pratt was the guy that used to advertise it,always remember those ads before and during "where in the world and glenroe" happy days they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Tango. I think I saw it in a bargain shop in Swords a whole back, but that was about it. Used to always get a can of it on the way home from school, none of it around here these days..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭kelty

neil_hosey wrote: »
    fruit of the loom..
    I bought a pair of fruit of the loom jocks during my recent trip to Mexico city. So their still around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,048 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

3 hands washing up liquid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Lucky Charms breakfast cereal

Haven't seen it in years

Did a course in Belfast and with my bogger culchie accent they kept asking me to do the "you'll never take me lucky charms" line, there was a leprechaun who did the ads

***** :mad:

Oil of Ulay became Oil of Olay

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Perri crisps

I used to have great luck with those promotions where you could get ten pounds or a voucher for a free pack in the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,048 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Siemens mobile phones

I was a loyal customer and owned quite a few

Oh most everyone else had their Nokia 3310 but I was very happy with my Siemens

Google tells me this division went bust in 2006. They are missed :(

Siemens sold their mobile phone business to BenQ of Taiwan, who let BenQ Mobile go to the wall as BenQ wouldn't fund BenQ Mobile anymore.

I think Siemens were the first mobile phone maker to have a colour screen on one of their phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Datsun cars

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭have_a_go_hero

andy gray? richard keys? ron atkinson?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Katy Brand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

7/11 stores.

Now that's going back ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Is that an American brand?

Were those stores ever in Ireland?

Homestead, Homestead, brings value home......
    I liked that ad. Haven't seen their products in a long time.
    They were a bit like St Bernard, produced a bit of everything, from soup to salt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

you mean 7/11?
    yup they are american and were over here. Talking late 80s / early 90s. Shop down the road from me, which is now a takeaway, was a 7/11. Think it pulled out in 1991 or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Kangaroo runners. Had a little pocket on the side.

No sign of them in Ireland but they're still available in other countries and on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

Anyone say Virgin Cola yet?

Well then, Virgin Cola

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I remember drinking Virgin Cola in Virgin Cinema on Parnell Street in Dublin where Cineworld is now.

It was feckin lovely.

snubbleste wrote: »
    Dunno if these are around anymore, it's just I haven't seen them

Canada Dry
    Virgin Cola
    Blueband margarine
    Minitel
    Opal Fruits
    Jif
    Entenmann's cakes
    Diet Lilt
    GoldenDiscs
    Monarchy of France
    Netscape navigator
    Those big tins of meat from the EU meat mountain..does anyone remember those?

I guess there was

"P.M.P.A."

(to the tune of YMCA)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Perri crisps

I used to have great luck with those promotions where you could get ten pounds or a voucher for a free pack in the bag.

Aye that was kickass. I don't think anyone I know paid for more than 10% of their crisps once the winnings were taken into account.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

Ford Trucks

Ford Tractors

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

i am living in South Africa

Omo and Tab are still going strong, Omo is one of the top brands for washing powder here

Are sparkles and fat frogs still around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

gsxr1 wrote: »
    not missed

• Registered Users Posts: 32 kevjob

Radio Nova! I used to love listening to the breakfast show!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Kodak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Elbow

Lucky Charms breakfast cereal

Haven't seen it in years

Did a course in Belfast and with my bogger culchie accent they kept asking me to do the "you'll never take me lucky charms" line, there was a leprechaun who did the ads

***** :mad:

Oil of Ulay became Oil of Olay

Lucky Charms are still around!

Was wandering around supervalue a few weeks back and there was one lonesome box (for nearly 8 shagging euro!:eek:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

toexpress wrote: »
    Do we all remember Findus French Bread Pizzas I used to love those. In fact I want one right now if anyone has one in the bottom of a freezer let me know (I dont care HOW out of date it is)

Lol I loved them, bleedin massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭Terrontress

LighterGuy wrote: »

you mean 7/11?
    yup they are american and were over here. Talking late 80s / early 90s. Shop down the road from me, which is now a takeaway, was a 7/11. Think it pulled out in 1991 or something.
    I think they are Asian. Maybe Japanese or Taiwanese. I have seen them all over Hong Kong, Japan and Thailand.