Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Team Fortress 2 advice

Options
  • 19-01-2012 10:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 54,383 ✭✭✭✭

I just started playing this today, I dont have a clue of what Im doing thou lol

Its not somthing I usally play coming from a background of cod and bf

Does anyone have any helpful videos?

Can you upgrade your guns or how does that work?

Why do I have to right click after I scroll to change guns?

And a host of other questions

Basically TF2 for dummies is what I need lol

Comments

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,518 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Welcome to TF2, you're in for a treat.
    HL2 era source games let you scroll to select your weapon but click to select. This made sense in HL2 when you had lots of weapons. You can turn it off in the settings. Also Q let's you switch back and forth between your current and last weapon quickly.

You can't upgrade your weapons like on CoDField, you can unlock new weapons by earning achievements and more recently by trading/buying/crafting them or via random drops. The new weapons don't change the balance of the game really, they merely provide more options. There isn't a better rocket launcher, but there is a faster one that does less damage.

The various classes are great. They are all amazingly balanced. Sniper vs spy, engie vs demo (or spy), slow heavy vs fast weak scout...

Start with soldier perhaps. Aim for the feet and finish your opponent off with a second rocket when they are about to land. Learn to rocket jump. hold crouch as you hit space to get extra air.