Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Second hand Tractor

• 20-01-2012 12:31pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭

Hello

I currently have a massey 135 and am considering trading it in. The main reason i am considering trading it in is because i feed out round bales of silage and it just is not strong enough.

I do not have alot of money to spend and will be using the tractor for bale feeding, topping transport box etc. I require a strong lift at the back, easy start, pto. I am part time farming on a small farm and use the tractor 4 - 5 times a week.

What are your recomendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭tanko

I bought a MF590 ten years ago, it has 9000 hours now. I use it around the yard for bales etc. It never let me down and will lift any bale. A 290 is good too and faster on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

restive wrote: »
    Hello

I currently have a massey 135 and am considering trading it in. The main reason i am considering trading it in is because i feed out round bales of silage and it just is not strong enough.

I do not have alot of money to spend and will be using the tractor for bale feeding, topping transport box etc. I require a strong lift at the back, easy start, pto. I am part time farming on a small farm and use the tractor 4 - 5 times a week.

What are your recomendations?

something like this maybe, we had a few of them and they were good tractors
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2814001

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Have to agree vanderbadger, cheap, cheerful, with powersteering and loads of parts to be got for them.

something like this maybe, we had a few of them and they were good tractors
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2814001

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

what is your budget including your trade in roughly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭chickenfarmer

we bought a 2nd hand 2wd 1990 Renault 77-12 a few years back. Now it wasn't in 100% mint condition but wasn't too bad either at the same time. It has seriously impressed me. We have a JD 3050 for the heavier work but the Renault is holding its own with it. It has drawn in fusion made bales where a ford 6610 failed. Very easy around the yard with a scraper due to its short nose and shuttle gear box. I have since seen a few of them coming up on DoneDeal for handy money. I don't regret getting and love driving it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

what is your budget including your trade in roughly.

I might have approximately 4grand plus the trade n. it's a 1976 massy 135. A little rough around the edges. i have 3 cattle to sell before summer so i will know then.

ok lets say you get 3 grand for the 135 that givesyou 7000. you could buy something fairly decent with that.
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2890879

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2732079

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2739969

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2865279

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2894335

they are all good buys and will always be worth there money if you come to trade in down the line.:)

Thanks for the replys fellas. I will not b going to far from your recomendations.

Just one question on reviewing your answers, some of the models are 2wd vs 4wd. Are their pros cons to choosing one over the other?

it depends what you need. 4wd will obviously go more places than the 2wd. but perhaps when your only used to a 2wd 135 you wont need a 4wd. it really depends what kind of ground you have. 4wd is always handy to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

ok lets say you get 3 grand for the 135 that givesyou 7000. you could buy something fairly decent with that.
    http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2890879

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2732079

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2739969

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2894335

they are all good buys and will always be worth there money if you come to trade in down the line.:)

Lookin at those machines above, all good stuff and plenty of tractor for the money however some are 90 & 100 hp, probably a big step up for restive considering a MF 135 is 47hp?

I think fuel economy is becoming more of an issue also on farms.

For that money you are probably going for something 20 years old and 75 hp is loads of power for what are looking for. Go for something relatively common which is easy to fix and cheap spares available. Ford, Fiat, MF, Zetor. Stay away from IH & case.

The Zetors have very comfortable cabs compared to for example MF 265. I wouldn't recommend a MF 290 /690 as they can be hard to start. MF 675 is OK , but cabs prone to rust on the 6 series massey. Fiat 70/90 or something like that is indestructible.

4 wd will add €1-2k to price - mite be worth it if you're feeding out on the land and it gets mucky around the feeder. However I think if you need 4wd to go out on land you shouldn't be going out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭limo_100

we do put the fusion bales of silage in the shed with a mf135 does the job used ta bring the bales home aswel before we bought the new tractor. 135 is one of the best tractors ever made.
    dont rush in it cause you wont need it til next oct. if woz in your position id go for a 2wheel drive mf390 it would do ya for 20years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Donegal09

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2899828
    Ya cant go wrong with a loader for about the yard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

jimmy, why do you say stay away from ih or case. theres an 885 and a case around ours and we never had anissue with either of them. The case is a 135 and had a 140 but 140 drank nearly twice the amount when running a full day. we seriously cant fault the tractors and its the 885 that does all the general work around the place.we have had nearly every other brand of tractor round here (no zetors) and those two have been the ones that lasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

1chippy wrote: »
    jimmy, why do you say stay away from ih or case. theres an 885 and a case around ours and we never had anissue with either of them. The case is a 135 and had a 140 but 140 drank nearly twice the amount when running a full day. we seriously cant fault the tractors and its the 885 that does all the general work around the place.we have had nearly every other brand of tractor round here (no zetors) and those two have been the ones that lasted.

The older 13/1494s (rebadged David Browns) are meant to be more reliable then the full ih 885s etc, They are very cheap at the minute, there are a good few restored ones coming on the market, parts are very very cheap for them. They come in at 72hp for the 1394 and 82ish for the 1494, and both come in either 2wd or 4wd.

1chippy wrote: »

Yeah fair enough, ye had a good run with the case & IH. We had a bad run with an IH 785 bout 15 years ago. Tractor was about 6 years old at the time with average hours. Had to replace the clutch 6 months after buying it then had to do the engine the next year. Kept getting stuck in gear - linkages issue. Smokey and couldn't keep fumes out of the cab (Std cab not XL) Lost confidence in the machine at that stage and traded it in for an MF after about 18 mths.

Must say twas a nice tidy machine around the yard though, very manoeuvrable, good lift etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

We have a 1985 1494 2wd, got it 2 years ago and cannot fault it. No problem with bales,slurry etc , a good tractor can be got for decent money nowadays

limo_100 wrote: »
    we do put the fusion bales of silage in the shed with a mf135 does the job used ta bring the bales home aswel before we bought the new tractor. 135 is one of the best tractors ever made.
    dont rush in it cause you wont need it til next oct. if woz in your position id go for a 2wheel drive mf390 it would do ya for 20years

I use the 135 to bring the bales home as well, however it can depend a lot on the condition of the meadow when baled. As to make it transportable it has to be wilted almost to the point of haylage.

I have been made an offer of a MF 550, what are peoples opinions? Is it much stronger than the 135? Will it cope better?

http://www.tractordata.com/farm-tractors/004/7/1/4712-massey-ferguson-550.html

See link above for some info on the 550. Roughly same HP, same engine, as 135 but is longer & heavier so should cope with a bale a bit better. Linkages are a little stronger also. These cabs usually have only 1 door in and they open down the full length of the cab. As a result they are heavy and hinges / door closing / opening can be problematic.

Depends on price & condition & personal choice. Personally I think you should go for a little more HP & weight to cope with bale easily but its your choice

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2922374?cid=2922374&

This looks like a lot of tractor for the money?

jimmy G M wrote: »

http://www.tractordata.com/farm-tractors/004/7/1/4712-massey-ferguson-550.html

See link above for some info on the 550. Roughly same HP, same engine, as 135 but is longer & heavier so should cope with a bale a bit better. Linkages are a little stronger also. These cabs usually have only 1 door in and they open down the full length of the cab. As a result they are heavy and hinges / door closing / opening can be problematic.

Depends on price & condition & personal choice. Personally I think you should go for a little more HP & weight to cope with bale easily but its your choice

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/tractors/2922374?cid=2922374&

This looks like a lot of tractor for the money?

Is €8,500 to much for Fiat 70 90. The wheels are well worn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,427 ✭✭✭Suckler

We have a 550, in reality they aren't up to handling fusion bales, far too light. The cab is a one door version, that has been described as "an ignorant **** of a door" due to its weight. Cab rusting is a major problem, aull lad is currently replacing the cab on it. Side window and rear window both fell off due to rust. Same engine as 135 Perkins AD3.152. Needs little looking after keeps chugging away.
    Hydraulic steering make it nice and easy to handle, used for mowing ( drum mower) and running the haybob is the heaviest use she gets.
    Used to lift ordinary bales in, not a hope with chopped bales.
    We find it a handy light tractor around the place but replacing it with 4WD machine soon.

Is €8,500 to much for Fiat 70 90. The wheels are well worn?

A 2wd I presume, what year n condition, hours, etc? Sounds a little on the high side? I'd say 6 to 7k? Do you really need 100% grip on tyres? Depending on what you are at you could get away with 30 - 40% grip for a good few years.

Is this the tractor by any chance?

http://www.donedeal.ie/find/tractors/for-sale/Ireland/70%2090?source=all

A 2wd I presume, what year n condition, hours, etc? Sounds a little on the high side? I'd say 6 to 7k? Do you really need 100% grip on tyres? Depending on what you are at you could get away with 30 - 40% grip for a good few years.

Yes that is the tractor. I probally would not need full grip on the tyres, my main problem is lifting the bales. The add says 1988 with 3006 hours on the clock in one of the photos.

Thanks for replying i will probally make enquires later in the week. I work in the county of Roscommon near where this tractor dealer is located.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 landybeast

Looks clean, auction number on bonnet and no pickup hitch prob dutch import. 8500 + tyres + pickup hitch = very close to 390 3 stick model prices :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 22 golfcruiser

I'd stay with massey if I was you. 690 would be good enough for moving bales etc. Don't think you'd need to as high as a 699 ( 6 cylinder)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Fiat would be a good buy, 6 series masseys are rotten rust buckets and geting very old too, some are very hard to start and can give plenty bother too, uncle had a 675 and it was an incredible bag of sh*t, internationals are fine someone said steer clear???? i have a 474 and its a great wee tractor, well capable of round bales, For a tractor thats easy to repair, cheap to buy, incredibly easy to start even on cold mornings, roomy comfy cab, power steering etc etc etc Zetors your job ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Yes that is the tractor. I probally would not need full grip on the tyres, my main problem is lifting the bales. The add says 1988 with 3006 hours on the clock in one of the photos.

Thanks for replying i will probally make enquires later in the week. I work in the county of Roscommon near where this tractor dealer is located.

the dutch hitch is a nuisance, i had a 90 90 from holland there a few years ago, i eventually had to get irish type hitch for it as the other yoke would drive you mad when you are in a hurry. dealer will probably gloss over it but for that money if it hasnt a right hitch forget it

stay miles away. looks like a right heap of ****. stupid dutch hitch. and missing side door and side window. very expensive for it is and what it needs. that would eat up money when a new door and the side window and rubbers and a new pick up hitch would be put on. the only place that tractor should be going is out for export. its on the expensive side even it had the things above since its not 4wd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Try to sell 135 yourself be realistic if it is clean it might be worth 2500 euro the bubble has burst on these as well I stick with a 2WD if you have managed to bring in bales with135 land cannot be too wet. If you have a shed to park it in there are some clean MF690 or 675 around or if not a 390 red top or a ford 6610 or 5610