Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you think the world will end on 21st of december 2012?

• 20-01-2012 9:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭

I'm almost 100% sure it wont.Is there any scientific proof whatsoever that would lead us to believe the world will end. I'm fairly sure the only ''proof'' the world will end is that the mayan calendar ended on that day( what if they just ran out of paper ..or stone slabs or whatever they used back then:confused: ) and I think the only other reason people belive itll happen is because they made a really terrible movie about it. Anyone actually belive the world will end?

Will the world end on 21st december 2012. 190 votes

Yes.
    0% 0 votes
    NO.
    12% 23 votes
    Atari Jaguar.
    87% 167 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

No
    /thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

It's my birthday the following day so probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

No, if you do then you're an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Get ****ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

i will bet 100,000 grand with any man here ( or woman) that it wont.
    I will give you 10-1 odds aswell.

any takers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

All that ends is the Mayans calendar.

They had 2 and all their priests did was meet up regularly and try and get the 2 in line with each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

No, its all bogus. I listen to a lot of Coast to coast AM and the one thing all the proponents of the 2012 End of the world or great awakening hypothesis have in common is a book they're selling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Owl Tickler

Only someone with really low mental capacity would believe this. The same idiots who believe in ghosts, tarot cards, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

The world will end two days before the day after tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

Take a chance and put up the tree and decorations

Not sure about buying Christmas presents thou

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Not a hope :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭noel farrell

its what makes the grass grow in texas and ireland..... bullsh..e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

The White Witch of Cobh, a witch from Cork, said it will begin on the 2nd of February.

http://corkindependent.com/stories/item/7001/2012-3/Apocalypse-now
    Are we likely to see the horsemen of the apocalypse riding down Pana next month? Perhaps not, but a Cork witch says next week could be the beginning of the end of times.

The White Witch of Cobh, Helen Barrett told the Cork Independent this week that while 21 December has long been established as the end of the world, Thursday 2 February will herald the start of a "great war in the sky" predicted to end the planet’s existence.

She said the answers of the universe and the fate of mankind in the next year were to be found in the Spanish ‘de cades’ writings of the 1700s, and not the popular belief that the end of the world has been predicted by the Mayans.

According to Helen, known as the White Witch of the Isles, Thursday 2 February will see the beginning of the end, in a concept shared by a number of ancient cultures across the globe.

“Someone, somewhere told these ancient civilisations about the end of the world. A signal was sent out – but by whom, you ask.
    “One thought travelled across the globe at the same time – how else could these societies all reach the same conclusion at the same time?”
    She said a cross could appear in the sky in coming months which will mark the beginning of a battle between good and evil.

“Each side will make themselves seen – that is for certain. One from the left and another from the right. The tension will build in the months leading up to 21 December. It starts this February.”

• Registered Users Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Look at that stone disc with the calendar that goes up to 21 December 2012. Close examination will show that a bit is chipped of. That's where it said "Disc 1".:)

Dig a little around that temple in Guatemala and I bet there's a Disc 2 that goes up to 21 December 7012, and a disc 3 ---:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Why would it end?

Most importantly, why does the world have to end at all? Everyone who's whinging about end of the world never answered a question: WHY does the world have to end?

It's all bull**** and scaremongering to make money of fools who are easily scared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭boodee

According to scientists, they voted the movie of same name as the most unlikeliest way the world will end.

If it does it'll finally put a stop to all the moaning and total clarification for the thread about world over population.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

My calendar runs out every year and yet the world prevails.
    But didnt the world end at midnight 1999 with the computer bug thingy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Muse007

R.E.M. knew it 25 years ago....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzqiPvGrkTo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

No, but this is a dam good opportunity to make some money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

No, but this is a dam good opportunity to make some money.

Agreed its in all our cultures everyone knows about 21/12/12, organise some world ending party for the 20th tickets only and you could charge what you like as it is the end of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I have a far better chance of wining the euro lottery than the world ending.

OH HANG ON....:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

bleg wrote: »

Will you change your mind when meteor xx13b-4a appears in deep space on April 1 headed in our direction?

It's coming, I'm tellin' ya...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

The White Witch of Cobh, what kind of wacky backy has she been puffin on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Year_2038_problem

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Arrrrrrrrrgh its happening again:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭brimal

The poll should have been made public so we can see who are the idiots choosing 'Yes'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'd definitely say something might happen maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

I've started building an underground bunker in preperation for fathering my daughters kids for the apocalypse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Which one ?

I wonder if the world ended would we still have to pay the bondholders. I bet somehow we would.

I can envisage the birth rate increasing across the globe on that night ...

Will that be due to spontaneous eruption of rape and pillage.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

If the polar methane boils off around that time, then yes.

Otherwise, no.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    If the polar methane boils off around that time, then yes.

Otherwise, no.

If I was a betting man I would say yellowstone, the Earth is rather active at the moment, there was 4 mega quakes last year which is rare and apparently the land around yellowstone has being rising 3 inches a year for the last 5 years.

If that super volcano blows it truly is the end of days.

But then again it could settle down again,,"nobody knows".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Did anyone ask Santa?

gurramok wrote: »
    Did anyone ask Santa?

He's on vacation til three days after this feckin apocalypse. Typical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Unless the sun suddenly runs out of fuel I would say we will be grand, mores the pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

bleg wrote: »

Reported for personal abuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,442 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

It'ld be pretty cool if it did end.

Well the survivalism forum should see an uptick in posters, that's for sure. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Well the survivalism forum should see an uptick in posters, that's for sure. :D

Finally I can put into use what I learned from watching all those Bear Grylls videos!

Just don't end up like this guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

tacofries wrote: »
    i will bet 100,000 grand with any man here ( or woman) that it wont.
    I will give you 10-1 odds aswell.

any takers
    Why would anyone who does think the world is going to end take that bet? Even if they win, they lose.

Ye think they're stupid or something?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

So the Mayans are extinct, did they forecast their own extinction?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Its only thought to be that date because the Mayans ran out of rocks to carve the dates into.

Nah. They never seen it coming.

<gets coat>

You mean 9 months later.

Reputedly they did in fact predict the time and location of the arrival of the Spanish, they just got the details a bit muddled up, like benevolent god-being instead of ruthless conquering army. I can't find a reputable source for that now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

I trolled this thread by voting yes :D