Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The most epic wedding you've ever been to?

• 21-01-2012 10:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭

I'm trying to plan a wedding, but between the Bridezilla-industrial complex and me and the OH both having 40+ first cousins, I'm seriously considering running off to Vegas for a weekend. I am a little concerned however that my godfather and brothers may disappear into the casinos, never to be seen again.

What's the most epic wedding you've ever been to and why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

So many and i hated everyone of them.

The best ones I was at was the simple ones and in Dublin which meant I didn't have to book into a hotel to add to the already huge expense that a wedding invite ensues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭BrianJD

2 days at my brothers wedding in Lithuania. A member of the Irish crowd and a member of the Lithuanian party had a whistle and a local spirit (Jameson and Vodka). If they came to you and blew the whistle you had to have a shot of their product. Hence 2 days and a show of strenght between two nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

My own..:)

Wife is looking over my shoulder atm..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

My own was pretty good.
    Im an atheist and my wife is a tad hippy dippy / wiccan so a church wedding was off the cards from the get go. We did the registry office on a Friday with zero fuss, just parents and a nice dinner in a restaurant.
    The next day was the wedding proper. We had a pagan hand fasting in my mother in laws gorgeous back garden, my dog was 'best man' complete with collar and tie and we had "The cafe orchestra" (Cheapish cos i know em) in a marquee. We had a keg of guinness with a donations box beside it, heaps of cold buffet, a mobile chip van and every body bought their own drink. It was an amazing day and cheap by any standards. Infact I bought this here imac im typing on out of the difference between cost and money earned from gifts.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

My own, my aunt tried to get her son arrested.It didnt help that he was a Garda either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭RickRoll

Ken and Deirdre Barlow's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

It involved one of the Brides Maids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Mine. In Spain for a week long session with 80 of my best friends and close family.

An epic wedding can't really be planned for, it depends on the people who attend being good craic. I've been at weddings which cost €50k + where everyone went home at midnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

My uncles wedding in Rome, I was sitting with my sisters and my cousins, all the tables had loads of bottles of wine and I was the only one over the age of 18 at the time and the only one who drank wine. Free wine= good wedding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

Having been at numerous weddings I can't remember a memorable one.
    Possibly the memorable ones are the ones I can't remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Lollers

Of the ones I've be to its been a wasteful 70 grand on gaudy flowers, cake, reception, thousands worth on awful one day only wear dresses, wedding planners and a church they do not believe in. Peak of their life and it ain't getting any better from there.

I once saw a DeLoren being used as a wedding car. So that was a best wedding I've been to even though I was passing by on the Luas and looking out the window at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

44leto wrote: »
    So many and i hated everyone of them.

The best ones I was at was the simple ones and in Dublin which meant I didn't have to book into a hotel to add to the already huge expense that a wedding invite ensues.
    connundrum wrote: »
    An epic wedding can't really be planned for, it depends on the people who attend being good craic. I've been at weddings which cost €50k + where everyone went home at midnight.

Yeah, the most expensive wedding I've ever been to was also one of the least memorable. I can't say I've ever been to a wedding I would consider truly epic or memorable, TBH. I have more fun at our family cookouts than I've had at most weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I hate weddings.

The best one I was at though was in Jordan, in a five star hotel by the Dead Sea. It was outdoors, with fireworks. And about 600 people. Music and belly dancers and about 5 courses. Was a super night. Especially after spending the week before visiting Petra and all of that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

The best one I've been to was two of my best friends' (a couple). It was done on a reasonable budget, included a totally campy 80s band in dress up, ridiculous party favour and a bride who could not give two flying fucks on the day whether her bridesmaids' shoes matched their dresses once the pics were taken. The couple, who are great craic, added their own personality and it made it a great night.

Compared to gaudier, throw-money-at-everything weddings I've been to, where the brides look the same, the food is the same, the bands are the same, the venues look the same, and 50 grand is spent on a bit of flash with no heart, I'd take my friends' wedding any day.

Be yourself, think about yourself and what you like (hate all this shite I've heard at family weddings that you can't do this, that or the other, because old Aunt Sue who doesn't like anything wouldn't like that). By all means, Rosie, look after your guests but make sure it's a wedding you and your OH want, not the wedding you're expected to have.

There will often be plenty of people looking to put their oars in with a million opinions and they will take over your wedding if you let them. Tell them to fudge off and have a bit of craic with preparing something you want, while never expecting that what you want is *exactly* what you'll get. Often what you get instead is more fun than what you might've imagined.

Good luck with the nuptials and congratulations. :)

Yeah, the most expensive wedding I've ever been to was also one of the least memorable. I can't say I've ever been to a wedding I would consider truly epic or memorable, TBH. I have more fun at our family cookouts than I've had at most weddings.

This was the point I was trying to make. :) If you're a cookout lover at heart, you'll most likely be a cookout-type wedding lover. Don't buy into any of the BS that says a wedding has to be a certain way--do it your own way and feck the begrudgers!

I'm trying to plan a wedding, but between the Bridezilla-industrial complex and me and the OH both having 40+ first cousins, I'm seriously considering running off to Vegas for a weekend. I am a little concerned however that my godfather and brothers may disappear into the casinos, never to be seen again.

Invite the first twenty of us here, we'll provide the entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I was a guest at a friend's wedding that started in the Dublin Registry Office and ended more than a week later after an elaborate three-day ceremony in India.

Crazy Indian weddings in Guyana & Suriname that go on for days fuelled by vast quantities of rum and the incredible seven curry served on water lily leaves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

mattjack wrote: »
    My own, my aunt tried to get her son arrested.It didnt help that he was a Garda either.
    Tell us more! :pac:

I from a big family and a big extended family also the job I am in means i get invited to a lot of weddings, so i have been to more then 50 of the things.

But the expense of a wedding invite always did my head in especially due to the fact I never really enjoy them. It is fair to say a wedding invite if you include the stag can set you back at least 500 euros, but that is a low estimate.

Millicent wrote: »
    The best one I've been to was two of my best friends' (a couple). It was done on a reasonable budget, included a totally campy 80s band in dress up, ridiculous party favour and a bride who could not give two flying fucks on the day whether her bridesmaids' shoes matched their dresses once the pics were taken. The couple, who are great craic, added their own personality and it made it a great night.

Compared to gaudier, throw-money-at-everything weddings I've been to, where the brides look the same, the food is the same, the bands are the same, the venues look the same, and 50 grand is spent on a bit of flash with no heart, I'd take my friends' wedding any day.

Be yourself, think about yourself and what you like (hate all this shite I've heard at family weddings that you can't do this, that or the other, because old Aunt Sue who doesn't like anything wouldn't like that). By all means, Rosie, look after your guests but make sure it's a wedding you and your OH want, not the wedding you're expected to have.

There will often be plenty of people looking to put their oars in with a million opinions and they will take over your wedding if you let them. Tell them to fudge off and have a bit of craic with preparing something you want, while never expecting that what you want is *exactly* what you'll get. Often what you get instead is more fun than what you might've imagined.

Good luck with the nuptials and congratulations. :)

Thanks!

Luckily I am too old, broke, and stuck in my heathen ways to care about protocol for stuff like this. ;) That said, I am curious about what people have found enjoyable about weddings, because I mostly remember the expense around attending them.

Thanks!

Luckily I am too old, broke, and stuck in my heathen ways to care about protocol for stuff like this. ;) That said, I am curious about what people have found enjoyable about weddings, because I mostly remember the expense around attending them.

Never your wealth is the madness within.Enjoy your day.....

myself and Millicent will share a room

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

What ever happened in the movie Bridesmaids, just do the exact opposite,

And dont for the love of god have the wedding in some other country that has no association with you and your hubbietobe.
    Just so you can say, oh I got married in such and such a country. eg Italy. Nobody cares. And you still sound like a twat. Its was twatty in the best of times and its still twatty in the not so good times.

And yes im not married lol, Best of luck in future by the way!!

Domo230 wrote: »
    Never been to a wedding. They sound ****e.

I did go to one where I remember that the reception was a lot of fun.

Unfortunately, I was in that wedding, and between the hideous bridesmaid's dress that was two sizes too big for me, the 9 hours I spent shopping with the bride in order to find the aforementioned dress in the perfect shade of lilac, and the horrible mandatory bridesmaid's updo that was ugly and expensive, I can't say that it was my favorite wedding experience. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

I was at a wedding in a barn (well an enormous modern farm building). The novelty of not being in a hotel gave it great atmosphere. Awesome stage and lighting brought in and an impressive temporary bar and catering were set up and the place decorated really well, hard to describe but struck the balance between 'barndance' and glamour if that makes sense. Now this family owned the farm so not really something just anyone could do but it showed whats possible with a bit of imagination. The money saved seemed to be spent on the band (brilliant) and food so not really a cheap option either, but definitely a night to remember. Never seen so many people young and old up dancing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I cannot pick one memorable wedding out of all I've attended. They've all merged into one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Just remembered another epic wedding from long ago where the brides (it was a double wedding for two sisters) turned up about two hours late. I should have known from the rehearsal two nights before that it was going to be a nightmare because of the huge party of bridesmaids, maids-of-honour, ring bearers and flower girls.

I was the organist so had to fill the time playing. The organ was a vintage Wurlitzer that I enjoyed playing but after about an hour a strong smell of smoke started to fill the church. It turned out that it was dust in the organ that was burning. I had to switch to the piano to allow the tubes in the organ to cool, though by the time the brides arrived I was able to use the organ for the ceremony.

I previously wrote about an epic toast that I gave at a wedding two summers ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Thinking about it, there are a few things people say to me when remembering my wedding:

How relaxed it was
    How well organised it was (we'd a planner looking after everything)
    The fact that there was no awkward waiting around time
    Did we even have a band?! (there was a bloody band :rolleyes:)
    The deal we did with the hotel for drink (everyone paid €25 each and then there was an open bar)
    The night after the wedding

In conclusion, I can see that they loved not having to think for themselves, they didn't even notice the band who played for 2 hours (?!), they like to drink (and love a bargain).

There was loads of things we had apart from that i.e. piper and drummers, guitar players, beautiful church singers, fireworks, poolside dinner etc etc. People will enjoy and remember what they want :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I've been to alot of weddings - some even held as black tie and in Manor's - the most outstanding wedding I have been to was held in our local community centre, instead of giving out evening invitations, the Priest announced after mass that everyone was invited. It had never been done before and the atmosphere was so fantastic. But that was a good number of years ago.

The best advise I can give you is to go with your gut instinct. This is your and your future husbands day - I hope it goes well for you.

Invite the first twenty of us here, we'll provide the entertainment.

Oh dear. :p

OK, speaking of entertainment...

WTF? :eek:

Spill it, man!

My brother's - he married a Jewish girl and boy can those Jews throw a good party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

My sisters. She married a South African, 3 1/2 weeks in SA...incredible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Best wedding I've been to was in a registry office, dinner afterwards (about 20 people) then on to a pub for a session. We got the bus (just the regular non fancy bus) to the nightclub then afterwards.
    It was just a great day and night with friends, with a little marriage ceremony in the middle of the day. Perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

My own - great food, 4 awesome cakes made by various family members who are master confectioners, had two photographers (one pro and one an uncle who did an even better job for free), brothers band was awesome and kept playing till 3am and reception was filled with musicians who each played (musical family), Dress was picked for me by staff in a fantastic boutique (also my photo now hangs in their shop as noone else had the colouring to suit this particular designer dress) and bridesmaids, flower girls dresses matched for me, staff of hotel joined us and band in an after party session of music, sandwiches and dancing until 8am, wedding by an absolute gem of a celtic monk in a castle (a castle where there was never a wedding before and staff went out of their way - big time) by handfasting, readings personal and read by family members who adore us, flowers made by neighbour so heavy with real flowers I was afraid to throw mine, more photos in another castle, photos on the mayor of dublins 4 black arabian stallion horses and carriage (provided by hotel coz usual horses at a show---for free!!) Sun was unusually hot for time of year!

Every second of the day was beyond awesome! No wedding I have ever been to has come close to it- people still talk about it to this day!

What was better? Staff of said hotel ringing us on our anniversary and giving us honeymoon suite and a meal for free so that they could see the photos!!!!

'Nuff said.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

I hate weddings.

The best one I was at though was in Jordan...

Ewww, she rents out her vadge for weddings now? Is there anything that woman won't do for attention. :rolleyes::p

EDIT: Just call me the Thread Killer. :pac:

So now I have another generation of weddings to embrace and behave as if they are a special. I am making a stand, I am not going to any of them, I mean it I am so sick of them.

A wedding party is the ultimate chore.

44leto wrote: »
    So now I have another generation of weddings to embrace and behave as if they are a special. I am making a stand, I am not going to any of them, I mean it I am so sick of them.

A wedding party is the ultimate chore.

I don't get why people feel like they are obligated to go? It's nice to be asked and all, but it's expensive. Sending regrets and a gift is perfectly acceptable; I haven't been to a wedding in the last four years simply because I couldn't afford it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

Hmmm.. suspiciously skewed ratio of 'my own'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Hmmm.. suspiciously skewed ratio of 'my own'..

True but mine WAS awesome! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

I've only been to one wedding :( anyone want to take me to an epic wedding?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

BrianJD wrote: »
    2 days at my brothers wedding in Lithuania. A member of the Irish crowd and a member of the Lithuanian party had a whistle and a local spirit (Jameson and Vodka). If they came to you and blew the whistle you had to have a shot of their product. Hence 2 days and a show of strenght between two nations.

Pics of the bride please, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

My cousin's one that had a free bar when I was 15. Great night involving too much Heineken followed by robbing a lot of my da's pints of Carlsberg(according to Ma, I don't remember it and I detest Carlsberg) and then tearing it up on the dancefloor before absolutely destroying the hotel room in vomit. Great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I don't like to see wedding invitations coming in the door. I've had far better nights out than at most weddings I've been to. Of course you don't have to accept the invitation but for the most part you are obliged to. Between clothes, present, hotel and drink money plus the next day session (which is always better than the night before) it usually sets us back the guts of a grand as a couple attending.

We went to Vegas to get married last November along with ten friends. Service was over in 15 mins, another 15 mins or so of pics and that was it. Went on to have a fantastic meal in the Venetian and had a good session afterwards. We had four days in Vegas in total then went on a road trip ourselves for the guts of a week down to Arizona and took in the last leg of Route 66 and the PCH, ending up in San Fran. Stopped off when and where we felt like in some of the most amazing places with beautiful scenery.

When we came back we threw an evening reception. Herself got to wear the dress again, there was no fuss or hassle on the guests, we had top end finger food, plenty of drink and a really good band - not your typical wedding band sh1te.

Whole thing cost us €15k start to finish which was at least half the price of a traditional wedding here.

• Registered Users Posts: 783 ✭✭✭jockeyboard

To those people that say 'oh we had a great day, everyone said they had a fantastic time'-of course they said that, as the truth would hurt 'i wish i was spending the money that it cost to attend here on something i wanted'
    also, 'people haven't stopped talking bout it since' seriously?? What a joke, and how sad are you that you beleive it.

Of all the weddings i have been at, probably about twenty, none of them stand out at all. All the brides looked lovely, grand food, good laugh, bit of a dance. Oh, and empty fooking pockets after.

The only way to have a wedding to remember is perhaps a run away bride, some pole dancers as the entertainment or releasing birds of prey in the ceremony.
    (by the way, i am married)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

amdublin wrote: »
    I cannot pick one memorable wedding out of all I've attended. They've all merged into one.

Thats it exactly - most weddings are the same boring long day where you pretend to be enjoying the church, the dinner and the strangers. It only gets good when it becomes a nightclub and cocktail sausages come out.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭have_a_go_hero

i work as a barman in a hotel...so iv ''attended'' about 150 weddings and i must admit that there are about 10 standout weddings in my head possibly due to me being one of the few sober people there....the ways in which they stood out are (ranked in order of importance)

1. Talent - always makes the nights work go better

2. Band - the guys from the late late show are epic along with a few more love to see them coming back

3.Fireworks- always a buzz about the place when the ''special suprise outside'' is announced at midnight!!

im sure there are more reasons too but i just cant think of them!!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Never been to any worth mentioning, but Congratulations Rosie :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

A New Year's Eve wedding-
    There was a brilliant band the groom knew from a bar he worked in, the New Years countdown was done to the tune of a very strange medley.

The great things were:
    -It was a very small church, very private and comfortable, not loads of empty seats or a huge crowd.
    -Hotel was lovely, food brilliant, great band, great craic.
    -After the dacing was over, the bride and groom stayed up most of the night singing songs and having a laugh with the attendees in the Resident's Bar. It really was a brilliant night/morning*.

*Though I'm not sure I'd want to spend my wedding night singing and drinking with family and friends when there's a honeymoon suite upstairs. Each to their own though!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I don't like to see wedding invitations coming in the door. I've had far better nights out than at most weddings I've been to. Of course you don't have to accept the invitation but for the most part you are obliged to. Between clothes, present, hotel and drink money plus the next day session (which is always better than the night before) it usually sets us back the guts of a grand as a couple attending.

We went to Vegas to get married last November along with ten friends. Service was over in 15 mins, another 15 mins or so of pics and that was it. Went on to have a fantastic meal in the Venetian and had a good session afterwards. We had four days in Vegas in total then went on a road trip ourselves for the guts of a week down to Arizona and took in the last leg of Route 66 and the PCH, ending up in San Fran. Stopped off when and where we felt like in some of the most amazing places with beautiful scenery.

When we came back we threw an evening reception. Herself got to wear the dress again, there was no fuss or hassle on the guests, we had top end finger food, plenty of drink and a really good band - not your typical wedding band sh1te.

Whole thing cost us €15k start to finish which was at least half the price of a traditional wedding here.

Yeah, that's kind of what we had in mind...Although I am sorely tempted to organize a BBQ at my parents' place, bring in a keg and a few cases of wine, and call it a day.

Go for it. Sounds like great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

My boyfriend's cousins wedding in Kerry- I'd never been to Kerry before. Never drank so much in my life.

You've never been to a wedding til you've been to a Kerry wedding