Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

student grant rates as mature student, HELP HELP HELP...

Options
  • 22-01-2012 4:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13

Hi guys,

I was wondering if anyone out there could help me? I am a mature student who has got a place in college and have applied for the student grant. I recieved a letter from my loacal authority recently to say that I have been awarded the NA1 grant? and the special rate of maintenance grant of (2980). The NA1 grant is (3120) which equals (6100).

My question is this: is 2980 euro all I have to "live" on? Or are the two combined somehow? I am thinking its only the 2980 bit that I will recieve? If so I'm knackered as I have kids. I live in Waterford and go to college in Carlow so I am classed as "non adjacent" I think?

I am sorry if this seems like a slightly mixed up question, but I am at sixes and sevens and cant seem to get a definite answer from other forums. I am giving my local authority a call in the morning.

I have asked some people in college and they seems to be getting a maintenance grant of 6100 which is what my 2 grants total, so I am guessing that I have 2980 to live on?

Arrggghhhh sorry if i've been asking an easily answerable question, but I am pulling my hair out now. If 2980 is all I am entitled to I may have to quit college as I will definetly not be able to afford it on that kind of money :mad: