Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Rage incidents. Any experiences?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭quietriot

Cheers Chuck!

The guy in question deliberately tried to cut me off. I considered a light slap on his window to be fair warning that his actions were dangerous and likely to cause injury. When the fool deliberately repeated the same silly move and laughed as he did so, then his wing mirror was fair game.

My guess is he wont repeat such idiotic behaviour.:D
    Or he'll run the next one down and do damage to his flimsy little pedal bike and maybe the cyclist himself :)

It'd be one less cyclist off the road anyway and given the driver would be punished, I suppose he'd become somewhat of a martyr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

quietriot wrote: »
    In any argument or petty battle, whether spoken or not, the first person to bring violence to the table is automatically the loser.

I would have thought deliberately trying to knock a (motor)cyclist off his vehicle is an extremely violent act (or at least an act with vicious intent) .
    Fourteen wrote: »
    your behaviour was equally idiotic though, tbh.

As above.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭My_left_leg

Any near miss between a cyclist and a car could have been fatal for the cyclist, that doesn't justify them damaging the persons car, especially since them doing so is them saying that they were in the right and the car driver was in the wrong when the facts surrounding the incident might point draw the opposite conclusion to an objective observer.

I'd never instigate violence, but if someone intentionally damaged my property and I knew that reporting it to the Gardai would be useless, I'd damage them personally.

In any argument or petty battle, whether spoken or not, the first person to bring violence to the table is automatically the loser.

WRONG!
    I can assure this idiot was the loser that morning. I was long gone through traffic before the fool realized what had happened. I accept violence is not the answer, but the look on his face was priceless!

I would have thought deliberately trying to knock a (motor)cyclist off his vehicle is an extremely violent act (or at least an act with vicious intent) .

As above.
    I don't see anybody being deliberately run over. He's talking about being "cut off", not an intentional attempt on his life by someone in a car.

If you think someone in a car driving legally and as per their legal rights on a road that they've paid tax toward deserves their vehicle damaged for an interaction with a secondary road user, then your views are unbalanced.

If someone on a cyclist was continually cutting out dangerously in front of a car driver, is that cyclists property then fair game for the car driver? They're very similar and if you believe the former and not the latter then something isn't adding up.

Update: Don't worry about replying. We're now talking about a hypothetical as the user in question posted a fantasy/fiction, not something that happened and his subsequent behaviour. We could argue about hypothetical situations until we're blue in the face but it's fairly pointless :)

WRONG!
    I can assure this idiot was the loser that morning. I was long gone through traffic before the fool realized what had happened. I accept violence is not the answer, but the look on his face was priceless!
    Oh, he didn't hear his wing mirror being broken off?

I thought your story sounded like a little sensationalist lie, and now I know it is.

Thanks for clearing that up.

As above.

i can assure if the same set of circumstances arose tomorrow morning, i would do exactly the same thing. i am in no doubt i taught that fool a much needed lesson.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Fourteen

As above.

doesn't change the fact that he also behaved like an idiot. at all. neither of them were right, both very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 birdlake

Of men and women, in Ireland
    Young males make the least quantity of claims, with significantly higher claims per crash. Hence the cost of insurance for young males. They're more dangerous drivers because when they crash, it causes a lot more damage than when the same aged female crashes.

Young females have the most amount of crashes, but the claims are significantly lower than their young male counterparts.

As age increases, the genders eventually swap over in terms of the amount of money claimed per crash and the males premium is then cheaper than his female counterpart.

They've now scrapped the ability for the motor insurance industry in Europe to price based on gender, despite there being sufficient evidence to do so. Well, who cares about the evidence when you can wonderful gender equality for all?!

As interesting a read your summary of the Irish Motor Insurance industry is, my comment was more of a gentle 'you're unbelievably sexist' nudge but thanks for the info, most enlightening...as a young lady driver I will do my best to try not descend into the bewildered, clueless and downright dangerous road user you speak of as I age. :cool:

i can assure if the same set of circumstances arose tomorrow morning, i would do exactly the same thing. i am in no doubt i taught that fool a much needed lesson.:D
    What's that? That cyclists are petty little people who can't afford an actual vehicle? Because that's all I got from your little fantasy tale of bravery :)

Oh, he didn't hear his wing mirror being broken off?

I thought your story sounded like a little sensationalist lie, and now I know it is.

Thanks for clearing that up.

Of course he heard it! LOL
    Haven't you ever been inside a car when it's been struck with something? Even something fairly small?
    My point was the poor fool didn't initially realize who/what had happened, such was his surprise.
    It was only when I looked over my shoulder, smiled & waved at him that he knew hel'd been had.

the look on his face ...........:D

Is it not illegal for cyclists to not use the cycle lanes designated with solid white lines?

I'm sure I read that in the Rules of the Road book recently.

In theory, yes. However that law was due to be overturned by the previous government but they got the boot before they got around to it. Apparently the current government are due to get rid of it at some stage.

Have a look at this thread for myriad examples of rubbish, dangerous and completley unusable cycle lanes.

Thread's taken a bad turn.

It'd be nice if we could stick to our experiences wouldn't it lads/ladies?

What's that? That cyclists are petty little people who can't afford an actual vehicle? Because that's all I got from your little fantasy tale of bravery :)

Please don't extrapolate to all cyclists from the supposed actions of this guy.

birdlake wrote: »
    As interesting a read your summary of the Irish Motor Insurance industry is, my comment was more of a gentle 'you're unbelievably sexist' nudge but thanks for the info, most enlightening...as a young lady driver I will do my best to try not descend into the bewildered, clueless and downright dangerous road user you speak of as I age. :cool:
    I'm sorry, you tried to state that the Irish insurance industry disagreed with me, when it actually doesn't. Now you're back-peddling on your statement? It wasn't a "gentle nudge" towards something else, you made a statement that you believed the Irish insurers disagree with what I said - about women having more little accidents/"fender benders" than men. I've subsequently said they do not. You're wrong, move on.

Oh and I'm sure there's absolutely no descending required :)

that was back in my Uni days, as a TCD undergraduate.
    I now drive a very nice 5 series, and also enjoy cycling at weekends.:D

birdlake wrote: »
    ...as a young lady driver I will do my best to try not descend into the bewildered, clueless and downright dangerous road user you speak of as I age. :cool:

Please don't extrapolate to all cyclists from the supposed actions of this guy.
    Believe me, I wouldn't. In fact, most cyclists seem to be getting better (more hi-viz being worn, more helmets being worn, more hand-signals being made on the road, etc). I wasn't aware of the incidents with cycle lanes as I don't use them myself, from my own POV I just saw an amenity being provided and a bunch of people thinking they're too good to be up there with the "recreational folk".

It did wind me up that someone felt entitled to do damage to somebody else's property on the back of a petty argument though. Wing mirrors can be expensive even for plastic ones, a few hundred euro justified for a petty argument? I don't think so.

Believe me, I wouldn't. In fact, most cyclists seem to be getting better (more hi-viz being worn, more helmets being worn, more hand-signals being made on the road, etc). I wasn't aware of the incidents with cycle lanes as I don't use them myself, from my own POV I just saw an amenity being provided and a bunch of people thinking they're too good to be up there with the "recreational folk".

It did wind me up that someone felt entitled to do damage to somebody else's property on the back of a petty argument though. Wing mirrors can be expensive even for plastic ones, a few hundred euro justified for a petty argument? I don't think so.

i can assure it's not just wing mirrors matey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Is it not illegal for cyclists to not use the cycle lanes designated with solid white lines?

I'm sure I read that in the Rules of the Road book recently.

Yes, provided they are properly signed.
    However, the minister for transport did promise to repeal this law at least a year ago (and hasn't got around to it) because it doesn't make any sense. It would be very difficult to prosecute anyone for not riding in those cycle-lanes though as the law-makers themselves have agreed that it's a dangerous and useless law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Back in the days when i used to cycle into TCD from Rathmines i was deliberately cut-off by some idiot. Naturally I slapped his passenger window and gave him the mandatory hand gesture. I overtook him slipping through the lanes in slow heavy traffic. He overtook me as the traffic freed up, and to my surprise he again attempted to deliberately block my passage.

I held back and waited. I stayed behind a Dublin bus. He probably assumed I had turned off. My chance came when again he got stuck on a red. I cycled through and with my lovely new mountain boots I aimed the heel at his wing mirror.

BANG! BULLSEYE! I nailed it. Oh! My joy. The whole thing came off, and was left hanging by a few wires.

As i looked over my shoulder he was screaming & waving furiously.
    Hehe! 20 years later I still smile when I think of that fool's face.:D

I don't believe there's a grain of truth in that post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Was driving back from a wedding yesterday and there was this fucking mong driving about 8 feet from my bumper at 100KPH so I decide I'll make him realise what he's doing is dangerous and as we approach a 60KPH sign I wait til I'm about 20m from it and brake briskly to comply with the law.

He came dangerously close to the back of my car and knew the message I was giving him. Anyway he sticks up his middle finger at me so I retaliate making the wanker action out the widow. What next? He gestures me to pull over....

That was a stupid thing to do. Why didnt you just let the wanker pass you? You created the situation and could easily have caused an accident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Have to agree. Kicking off someone's wingmirror is knackerish behaviour in the extreme. If a cyclist did that to my car, they'd be lucky to survive my revenge and I'm not even joking! Scummy behaviour.

That's your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Maldjd23

This evening in town sitting at a set of red lights. Lights go green and as i was about to pull away i noticed a lad crossing the road...very very slowly, polite chap that i am i braked to let him finish crossing. Once he reached my car he pretty much stopped! Walked even slower, cars behind me started beeping, i beeped him as in WTF are you doing? It was weird. Anyway he finally finishes passing me car and next thing he puts on some angry face, turns to my car and throws his packet of tayto at my car!!...I drove off giving him the finger...Bloody strange...

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Have to agree. Kicking off someone's wingmirror is knackerish behaviour in the extreme. If a cyclist did that to my car, they'd be lucky to survive my revenge and I'm not even joking! Scummy behaviour.

Attempting to block a cyclist's passage with a car. That's knackerish IMO.

Maldjd23 wrote: »
    This evening in town sitting at a set of red lights. Lights go green and as i was about to pull away i noticed a lad crossing the road...very very slowly, polite chap that i am i braked to let him finish crossing. Once he reached my car he pretty much stopped! Walked even slower, cars behind me started beeping, i beeped him as in WTF are you doing? It was weird. Anyway he finally finishes passing me car and next thing he puts on some angry face, turns to my car and throws his packet of tayto at my car!!...I drove off giving him the finger...Bloody strange...

what flavour tayto was it?

Attempting to block a cyclist's passage with a car. That's knackerish IMO.

Just stop it. Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Maldjd23

what flavour tayto was it?

Salt and Vinegar apparently...The Mrs noticed!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

In an attempt to drag this thread back from the abyss...

Was on a 52-seater coach 10 or 15 years ago between Macroom and Cork - a private hire that our club used every week and we were returning to Cork on a Sunday evening. Suddenly a Micra passed us and then cut in front of us and stopped! Our driver jammed on the brakes and the Micra driver jumped our and started shouting at our driver - claimed the bus driver had cut him off but none of us had seen it and our driver was our regular, steady guy - I never saw him cut anyone off, that day or any other...

Anyway, yer man started banging on the driver's window, then ran around and started kicking the door and roaring at the driver to come out - he then tried to open the boot of the Micra while our driver tried to get the bus into reverse - yer man came back, kicked the headlight of the bus back into the front of the bus (but didn't break it) and then kept trying to get the boot of the Micra open while running over and back to the bus to stop us 'getting away'...

At this stage we were on the phone to Ballincollig Garda Station and then yer man ripped the windscreen wiper off the bus - the blade and the arm - by breaking the 'knuckle' where the wiper arm was attached to the front of the bus - he then turned the wiper around in his hand and while holding the blade he proceeded to smash the windscreen with the heavy joint or knuckle end - hit it a good few times and the whole windscreen fractured into small parts but stayed in place, though many of us at the front (incl. our driver) were covered with tiny pieces of glass...

I stopped running when I reached the fifteenth row of seats (I had been in the front row), and finally the traffic behind us realised something was wrong and gave us some space - our driver got it into reverse and we backed up a couple of feet before pulling out against oncoming traffic af making our escape as oncoming cars swerved into the hard shoulder while seeing an oncoming bus and a maniac waving a bus wiper!

We returned to Cork under Garda escort....

No idea what he had in the boot of the Micra (he never managed to get it open - faulty lock or just rage), but the woman in the passenger seat and the girl in the back seat didn't even turn around to see what was going on... clearly not the first time Daddy had lost it....

Scary...:eek:

D1stant wrote: »
    That was a stupid thing to do. Why didnt you just let the wanker pass you? You created the situation and could easily have caused an accident

Continuous white line and not enough space and I was doing the limit. I always let people pass me if they seem in a rush and I'm not. I did not create any situation - the tail gater created it.

This dickhead was putting me at risk by tail-gating. Remember I have been in two write-offs from similar fools.

Do you have trouble understanding this?

Would you like me to draw it with crayons and drama so you get it?

WallyGUFC wrote: »

you clearly have neither read nor understood my account.
    as i kicked off his wing mirror he was stuck at a red light, about 3rd or 4th behind the front car.
    being on a bike allowed me to slip between lanes of traffic and quickly move off. he was stuck with his (wing-mirrorless) car, so what could he do? abandon his car and chase after me?:eek:

crikey we got some pretty obtuse posters in here tonite!:(

Maldjd23 wrote: »
    Salt and Vinegar apparently...The Mrs noticed!!

darn!

FWIW here is where I braked from 100KPH to 60KPH

and here is where i got a box in the face and he got a boot in the balls.

Plenty of shite male drivers out there too.
    I decide I'll make him realise what he's doing is dangerous and as we approach a 60KPH sign I wait til I'm about 20m from it and brake briskly to comply with the law.
    I have been in two write-offs

There sure are Chuck, and you're one of 'em it would seem.

Two penalty point attracting offenses your behaviour comes under:
    Driving without reasonable consideration
    Driver found to be driving carelessly

From the penalty points chart here http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Licensed-Drivers/Penalty-points/Types-of-offences/

It's one thing to shake your fist in anger or give someone the finger, braking like an idiot to put the ****s up someone at 100kph is another thing. If someone is going faster than you in the overtaking lane, even if they're breaking the speed limit, move over and let them by. Doesn't matter how they're behaving, you're on a motorway/dual carraigeway and a collision at 100kph will not only affect you and him, but potentially scores of innocent people just using the road themselves. -- had something else I read in my head about the motorway/dual carraigeway. Point still stands for single lane roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Well to be fair, the other chap is less likely to do the same thing again isn't he?
    Lessons are only learned through pain.

I'm not sure if I should even engage a person who is so sexist and deluded that he claims that he's only ever had problems with female drivers but I'll play for fun.
    There sure are Chuck, and you're one of 'em it would seem.

You're talking shit.
    Two penalty point attracting offenses your behaviour comes under:

No it doesn't. I have never even received a penalty point. I'm willing to have this proved by a third party to substantiate my position. Have you ever received a penalty point?
    It's one thing to shake your fist in anger or give someone the finger, braking like an idiot to put the ****s up someone at 100kph is another thing.

I did not brake like an idiot. I braked from 100KPH to 60KPH as I approached a sign. If the person behind me is still doing 100KPH when I brake he is the one being an idiot.
    If someone is going faster than you in the overtaking lane, even if they're breaking the speed limit, move over and let them by.

I always do. I use the overtaking lane to overtake only.
    Doesn't matter how they're behaving, you're on a motorway/dual carraigeway and a collision at 100kph will not only affect you and him, but potentially scores of innocent people just using the road themselves.

You have poor reading comprehension. The above bears no resemblance to the incident.

Go work on your reading comprehension and I'll see if you're worth taking seriously because at the moment you're not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

Caliden wrote: »
    Well to be fair, the other chap is less likely to do the same thing again isn't he?
    Lessons are only learned through pain.
    unfortunately he is likely to do it again i would guarantee it.
    sorry chuck but you were as foolish as he was. i used to carry the same opinion as you (except iv only become a stubborn **** holding my ground) but by tailgating he has already shown complete disregard for his own and anyone elses safety. maybe you couldnt pull in but brake testing him wasnt smart either. if you did crash id say neither of you would have got a penny from insurance as both of you were careless/dangerous.
    take his plate and report him if it bugs you that much, an official warning would have much greater effect than a brake test. Plus it will be recorded against him for when karma eventually catches up with him... and a driver like that it would

I'm not sure if I should even engage a person who is so sexist and deluded that he claims that he's only ever had problems with female drivers but I'll play for fun.

Off on the offensive, are we? I wouldn't bother really, water off a ducks back, however more proof that you may have a little problem with your aggression. With regards to the "sexism" thing, well apparently if I met you on the roads, I'd have an experience with a bad male driver to tell people about and counteract the others. Maybe someday, eh? Then again, encountering your aggressive, point-proving driving might not be worth the risk just to tell the story afterwards :)

You're talking shit.

No. You're quite proud of your reckless behaviour that could have seen you, the other driver and an immeasurable amount of innocent people in an accident and killed or badly injured. You've written off two cars and I don't know many people I would call "good, safe" drivers who've written off two in their life to date.

"But it was their fault!" I hear you cry, yeah yeah, save it for the insurance companies buddy.
    No it doesn't. I have never even received a penalty point. I'm willing to have this proved by a third party to substantiate my position. Have you ever received a penalty point?

The point wasn't that you received a penalty point, but that the behaviour you described is punishable by penalty points should you be caught engaging in it.

Had a garda seen what you were at, there is a chance you would have gotten points under either or both offenses. That is the point. I did not insinuate you had points and I don't really care for your proof that you haven't, your attitude and behaviour would indicate that worse is coming your way if you don't sort out your rage.

No, I've no penalty points and I never have had one. I'm a good, safe driver and don't tend to risk the lives of everyone around me to prove a point to someone at 100kph.
    I did not brake like an idiot. I braked from 100KPH to 60KPH as I approached a sign. If the person behind me is still doing 100KPH when I brake he is the one being an idiot.

No, you broke like an idiot. You saw a sign and intentionally waited until the last moment and jammed on the brakes like an idiot, to put the ****s up him or "teach him a lesson/the law/whatever you said" when in your own words, he was about 8 feet from your car.

You're driving a metal box at 100kph capable of killing you and everyone around you should something go wrong. It's not something to be ****ing about with.

Calm yourself down and take driving a bit more seriously, if not for yourself, then for the innocent people on the roads with you.

The rest of your post was kind of aggressive rambling so I've no intention of addressing it.

Off on the offensive, are we? I wouldn't bother really, water off a ducks back, however more proof that you may have a little problem with your aggression.

No problems with aggression here. I have a perfectly clean criminal record. I'm actually a pasive type of guy.
    With regards to the "sexism" thing, well apparently if I met you on the roads, I'd have an experience with a bad male driver to tell people about and counteract the others.

Your sexism is indefensible. Look at your idiotic post claiming that you've only ever had problems with female drivers. Sexist BS is sexist.
    You've written off two cars and I don't know many people I would call "good, safe" drivers who've written off two in their life to date.

I have not written off two cars ever. Once I was stopped at road works and the guy who hit me wasn't paying attention and crashed into the back of me. He had to pay for the replacement of my car because he was 100% in the wrong. If you want I will give the details to a third party to prove this fact.

The other time I was hit from behind by a van near Patrickswell in Limerick as I had to slow because a tractor was blocking my way. Got smacked from behind by a white car-van and pushed to the other side of the road into on comming traffic that I narrowly avoided. This can be proved too by a third party if you so wish.
    "But it was their fault!" I hear you cry, yeah yeah, save it for the insurance companies buddy.

See above and swallow your fail.
    No, you broke like an idiot. You saw a sign and intentionally waited until the last moment and jammed on the brakes like an idiot, to put the ****s up him or "teach him a lesson/the law/whatever you said" when in your own words, he was about 8 feet from your car.

I braked in time to comply with the law. I drive as if the person behind has a dash cam so, trust me, I was well within the parameters of safe driving.

Okay Mr Sexist?

overshoot wrote: »
    unfortunately he is likely to do it again i would guarantee it.
    sorry chuck but you were as foolish as he was.

I have been in two write offs from people who don't pay attention to the vehicle in front. I fully accept that I become angered when someone drives so close to me that they have no hope of stopping in the event of an unexpected incident like a child running out in front of my car.

The tail-gater is the folloish one not I.

I wish the Garda Traffic Corps would get these gobshites I really do.

No problems with aggression here. I have a perfectly clean criminal record. I'm actually a pasive type of guy.

Pretty clear problems with aggression Chuck, maybe not to yourself, but anyone who read your initial post would get the image of an aggressive person. Starting **** on the roads, getting out and going physical over it and now you're here getting aggressive 'cause someone called you out on it.

I mean, that's not the behaviour of a passive person, I'm afraid to say.

Your sexism is indefensible. Look at your idiotic post claiming that you've only ever had problems with female drivers. Sexist BS is sexist.

No, I'm sorry. I didn't say "all female drivers are bad at driving", that's sexism. What I did say is that all experiences I've had with bad drivers that could have lead to an accident involved female drivers. That's not sexism, that's speaking from experience and not generalising. But hey, you want to be the knight in shining armour, right? The male champion of sexism :)
    I have not written off two cars ever. Once I was stopped at road works and the guy who hit me wasn't paying attention and crashed into the back of me. He had to pay for the replacement of my car because he was 100% in the wrong. If you want I will give the details to a third party to prove this fact.

The other time I was hit from behind by a van near Patrickswell in Limerick as I had to slow because a tractor was blocking my way. Got smacked from behind by a white car-van and pushed to the other side of the road into on comming traffic that I narrowly avoided.
    I honestly don't care for your stories tbh, I'm not a guard/insurance agent/a woman you're trying to impress.
    I braked in time to comply with the law. I drive as if the person behind has a dash cam so, trust me, I was well within the parameters of safe driving.

I can go 200kph down a road and hit the brakes in time to be at 50kph by the time I pass a sign, I can do it safely by breaking early and evenly or I can do it dangerously, by breaking "briskly" as you'd like to describe it. One is good driving, the other is not.

It's ok though Chuck, as I told you, you don't have to justify your crazy behaviour to me, it wasn't me in the car behind you. I'm just trying to get the message across that safe driving is the best foot forward, regardless of how others on the road are driving. We don't need to teach people lessons in our cars, that's for the law to do and even though you were in the back arse of nowhere and presumably no Gardai to be seen, you should let them handle it instead of going vigilante on people.
    Okay Mr Sexist?

More baseless aggression.

I found this for you http://www.angermanagementireland.ie/ . It sounds like just the thing you need:
    • take responsibility for their behaviour
    • avoid confrontation
    • identify and challenge their irrational thoughts and beliefs
    • learn how to assert themselves in a non-aggressive and non-abusive manner.

Best of luck with it, a calmer Chuck on the roads benefits all of us :)

Pretty clear problems with aggression Chuck, maybe not to yourself, but anyone who read your initial post would get the image of an aggressive person. Starting **** on the roads,

Yet again your poor reading comprehension fails you. I did not initiate nor call for any aggression in this situation.
    No, I'm sorry. I didn't say "all female drivers are bad at driving", that's sexism. What I did say is that all experiences I've had with bad drivers that could have lead to an accident involved female drivers.

So sexism isn't sexism in your reality? Lol, stop embarrassing yourself. You think you have only ever had bad experiences with female drivers i.e. you're a sexist - do you hate women drivers?

Chuck, a number of people have pulled you up in this thread over the conduct you described in that incident. I suppose everyone is wrong and you're right, yes? I'm sorry but no.

I honestly do not understand why you're still beating your little sexism drum, when no actual sexism was exhibited. Grasping at straws, it would appear. It only comes across as extremely insecure, I will say though. I also won't engage you on the women drivers point, that's completely irrelevant to the thread.

I'm not going to discuss the matter any further as you've clearly got the blinkers of rage on and aren't willing to accept that you're wrong on this matter. That's fine, you're entitled to your opinions, I just hope you wake up to reality before your aggressive road behaviour causes any more damage. Don't fight to get the last word in either, you've already been aggressive enough in this exchange. G'luck.

I've a number of roundabouts between my house and the locations I regularly visit and find that almost every single day a woman will pull out on top of me when I'm going around the roundabout.
    The amount of times it happens is unbelievable and it's always women.
    In fact, to be honest, I've never had an incident on the roads involving a man.
    I've had hundreds of near misses, I've been driven into, I've had to do evasive maneuvers, etc. at the hands of woman drivers driving carelessly or recklessly.
    I usually try and drive right up beside them quickly to give them a bit of a fright,
    When we start taxing cyclists like we do motorists, then they can have a say on how the roads are used.

In keeping with your other rubbish posts you have a poor understanding of taxation.
    however the state of Irish drivers (particularly women and the elderly

I don't really care for the opinion of an extreme sexist such as yourself. If anything it just highlights that you have poor judgement when it comes to these matters.

Have a nice day Mr Sexist with poor judgement. No reply required. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭CaliforniaDream

Well AH any experiences of road rage?

I was a little taken aback but my anger was still there so I say 'Is this want you want?' So I walk towards him and launch a full force kick to his crotch connecting with his balls and say 'IS THIS WHAT YOU ****ING WANT' and he starts to back away...

I'm not the fighting type but I'm also not the backing down type and after the kick he starts backing off and that's the end of it.

Btw dude, if you're reading this you punch like a little girl, I don't even have a mark on me.

So AH folks, share dem road rage stories.

You come across like a complete idiot here. He may punch like a girl but at least he threw a punch.
    You did the most feeble and feminine thing by going straight for his crotch.

In future, slow down safely, let the car pass and get on with your life. No need for both of you to drive stupidly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Continuous white line and not enough space and I was doing the limit. I always let people pass me if they seem in a rush and I'm not. I did not create any situation - the tail gater created it.

This dickhead was putting me at risk by tail-gating. Remember I have been in two write-offs from similar fools.

Do you have trouble understanding this?

Would you like me to draw it with crayons and drama so you get it?

Drama. LOL

Over aggressive reaction to an honest comment.

Teaching someone a lesson by braking sharply and risking an accident. Stupid. And you revert by implying I'm thick - Wow

Teaching someone a lesson by braking sharply and risking an accident. Stupid.

I braked to comply with the law.

He was far too close to me if I'd had to emergency brake he could have caused a devastating accident.

As said earlier I was hit before and the impact was so great that I ended up on the wrong side of the road facing oncoming traffic - a very frightening experience I'd like to avoid.

I'm an extremely cautious driver and have a full clean licence and have never even gotten a penalty point yet you decide that I'm the dangerous driver?

Think about it.

In future, slow down safely, let the car pass and get on with your life. No need for both of you to drive stupidly.

As said before I always let cars pass - it doesn't bother me in the slightest but on this occasion there was a continuous white line and not enough room.

Read the thread properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭fearcruach

You're actually proud of that, really? You took something non-physical and made it physical, twice in one incident, the second time causing criminal damage to the car of someone who paid tax on it, to provide the road that you were cycling on (and paid no part of)?

I'd be embarrassed if I were you. That behaviour is absolutely pathetic.

Just to clear this fallacy up. It's Motor tax, not Road tax. No amount of car ads are going to change that. You don't go to the local Road Tax Office to pay it, do you?

Also, it's not ringfenced for building roads. It goes into the general tax pool. So if the cyclist is paying his income taxes then he has paid for the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I have a short fuse when driving,especially when people do extremely stupid things on the road and then think someone else is in the wrong.

The only time I really lost it was when a guy in a van pulled out in front of me on a roundabout when I was only feet away from him & he gave me the finger when I blew at him.I lost it at that point and ended up chasing him until I lost him at some traffic lights which he tore through as they turned red.
    If someone makes a mistake on the road & apologises fair enough but to act like a dickhead really gets me going.

A funny story involving road rage happened a few years ago when a crew of us were unloading stuff on the roadside in Mayo.There was a stop-go system in operation but one asshole kept blowing & shouting out the window and how dare we do our work and hold him up.One of our lads walked over and leaned on his car pressing it down as hard as he could.This guy is 6'5" and huge.Yer man in the car turned white and started babbling apologies.
    Seems like those incidents were common on that stretch of road-the site agent told us he got a call just the week before 'cos one of the lorry drivers was in a fist fight with another uppity impatient bollix in a car who gave him grief.