Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Unionists in the Republic?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭The Assistinator

the mer wrote: »
    sorry i didnt mean to offend just wondering why we still call areas protestant or catholic
    no worries no offence taken i was only responding to post above that i quoted and i dont mean to cause offence in doing so to anyone i dont mind either way how many religions are in the area or how many of each there is.
    i live in this area just thought it needed pointing out people cant just make something up for the sake of it;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

the mer wrote: »
    im sorry but does what majority of religeon live there really matter :(

It mattered at the time of the Boundary Commission which is why a good chunk of East Donegal was originally planned to be in Northern Ireland, based on large Protestant and Presbyterian populations.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

awec wrote: »
    Well, I try to stay out of these arguments but felt I had to respond to a post that was nothing other than blatant lies.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-18975049

http://www.u.tv/News/Intimidation-campaign-behind-arson/8a5cef80-0003-4fef-89e9-aaebed1f0ae2

2 stories in the past few days of homes being attacked because the occupants are protestant / unionists.

And these are not isolated incidents.

There is also the recent case of the Sinn Fein minister being found to have discriminated against candidates because they were protestant.

There are people attacked on both sides purely because of where they worship or who they vote for. To suggest that it solely happens to one community is laughable and displays a distinct lack of understanding of anything that goes on (or else some misty eyed poetic head in the sand type outlook on it).

It's disgraceful. Everyone should feel safe in their own home. Unfortunately there are filth on both sides that can't see this. :(
    Ah those poor loyalists.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2004/jan/10/northernireland.race
    Not far from the red, white and blue paving stones, the Ku Klux Klan graffiti and the "Chinks out" notices scratched outside south Belfast Chinese takeaways, Hua Long Lin was at home watching television when a man burst in and smashed a brick into his face. His wife, also in the room, was eight months pregnant. The couple had moved into the terrace two weeks before. Neighbours expressed regret but one white family told a community worker they couldn't offer a Chinese family friendship in public or they would be "bricked" too.
    "It's like Nazi Germany," they explained.
    Northern Ireland, which is 99% white, is fast becoming the race-hate capital of Europe. It holds the UK's record for the highest rate of racist attacks: spitting and stoning in the street, human excrement on doorsteps, swastikas on walls, pipe bombs, arson, the ransacking of houses with baseball bats and crow bars, and white supremacist leaflets nailed to front doors.
    Over 200 incidents were reported to police in the past nine months, although many victims don't bother complaining any more.
    But in the past weeks, fear has deepened. Protestant working-class neighbourhoods are showing a pattern of orchestrated house attacks aimed at "ethnically cleansing" minority groups.
    It is happening in streets run by loyalist paramilitaries, where every Chinese takeaway owner already pays protection money and racists have plentiful access to guns. The spectre of Catholics being systematically burnt out of similar areas during the Troubles hangs in the air.
    So-called peace walls between Protestant and Catholic communities are graffitied with swastikas and signs that read "keep the streets white".
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland-politician-anna-lo-warns-of-racist-threats-by-loyalist-farright-groups-14371896.html
    Northern Ireland politician Anna Lo warns of racist threats by loyalist far-right groups

A Hong Kong-born politician who champions the causes of ethnic minorities in Northern Ireland has been warned she is under threat of attack.
    The Alliance Party’s Anna Lo, who has lived in Belfast for nearly 35 years, is the only member of the Northern Ireland Assembly who is from an ethnic minority background.
    Yesterday, as Assembly members discussed a spate of racist and sectarian attacks in the region, she revealed she had been warned by police of a threat to attack her.
    Ms Lo later said she also knew of threatening letters sent to Polish and Islamic centres in Belfast by loyalist far-right groups threatening to bomb at least one of the premises.
    “People from ethnic minority communities are very frightened,” she said.
    Ms Lo represents the south Belfast area where a series of attacks on Romanian families forced more than 100 people from their homes with most eventually leaving Northern Ireland.
    It emerged last week that Ms Lo received threats in two letters and two emails but yesterday she told the Assembly she had now been warned by police of further threats.
    “Myself and a large number of ethnic minority people this weekend and today have received serious threats upon our safety,” she said.
    “I have never seen ethnic minorities so fearful in Northern Ireland.”
    She appealed for the First Minister and Deputy First Minister to speed up efforts to agree a new government strategy to tackle racism and sectarianism.
    Last night, Ms Lo said she was visited by police and told they had received a threat to attack her home.
    She said police were told that a Chinese business, which has been targeted in the past, would also be attacked.
    The Police Service of Northern Ireland said it could not comment on individual cases.
    http://www.thenews.pl/1/10/Artykul/56758,Loyalist-terrorists-target-Poles-in-Northern-Ireland
    'Loyalist' terrorists target Poles in Northern Ireland

13.10.2011 13:59

A 30-year-old man is being questioned by police after a Polish couple in Antrim, Northern Ireland were targeted by bombers claiming to be 'British Loyalists', as racist attacks against foreign nationals increases in the area.
    A pipe-bomb was discovered on the windowsill of a property in County Antrim, north of Belfast, on Wednesday morning.
    The bomb was defused without injury. A loyalist group later claimed responsibility for the action, via a phone-call to the BBC.
    The incident has caused acute consternation among the Polish community in the area after threatening graffiti appeared in the town of Antrim in the wake if the attack.
    “Foreign Nationals WILL be targeted,” one slogan declares in the estate where the crime took place.
    A number of attacks on foreigners, not just Poles, have been reported in the area recently, according to Ulster Unionist Party councillor Adrian Watson.
    “Last week a mob attacked a house belonging to foreign nations,” he told the Belfast Telegraph.
    Indian and Chinese communities have made Antrim their home for some decades now and since 2004 the town has been attracting those from Central and Eastern European nations within the EU.
    Ken Wilkinson of the moderate Progressive Unionist Party told the BBC that he was “disgusted” that the assailants were, “claiming this in the name of loyalism.”
    Maciek Bator of Northern Ireland's Polish Association, noted that many local residents had been supportive of Poles in the wake of the incident, but underlined that “some people will move out this area, and some will decide to move out of Northern Ireland.”
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/8104978.stm
    More than 100 Romanian people have fled their homes in Belfast, saying they feel intimidated after a series of attacks. BBC News examines the problem of racism in Northern Ireland.
    When the police in Northern Ireland started recording racially motivated crime in 1996 there were just 41 incidents.
    Last year there were nearly 1,000.
    In part the increase in the number of incidents can be explained by the increase in the ethnic minority population.
    There was a growth in the number of migrants coming to Northern Ireland following the paramilitary ceasefires and the accession of central and eastern European countries to the European Union.
    Northern Ireland's established Chinese, Indian and Vietnamese communities were joined by thousands more ethnic minorities from across the world.
    However there is also the suggestion that a legacy of Northern Ireland's sectarian conflict is a "culture of intolerance" that leads to violence against people not just of a different religion but also those of a different ethnic background.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Combat_18
    C18 has long been associated with loyalists in Northern Ireland. On 18 June 2009, graves belonging to numerous people, including Provisional Irish Republican Army hunger-striker Bobby Sands were desecrated with C18 graffiti.[16]
    Racist attacks on immigrants continue from members of C18.[17] Weapons, ammunition and explosives have been seized by police in the UK and almost every country in which C18 is active.
    My fucking heart goes out to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Entertaining thread. What's missing from most of the unionist responses is the fact that Ireland is still richer per capita than the UK.

What's that you say, because of the multinationals. Partially, old bean; however the multinationals are here because of Irish independence, that is to say London is not very good at distributing the wealth, or industry, within Britain, or even England. Ask those up north. London left the north rot, and would have left Dublin rot too. There would be no IDA, Google et. al would be in London. They don't even try to get industry for Liverpool or the North West - an area poorer than anywhere in Ireland.

Our tourism industry would be second fiddle too, our agricultural sector left to rot, state capital and infrastructure neglected. Would the UK have built Ardnacrusha, or completed rural electrification, or built Dublin airport, or created a seperate state airline for Ireland? No. London would only care about any infrastructure for Ireland if Irish MPs held the balance of power.

The other category error unionists make is seeing England as efficient, it isn't.

Not only would Dublin airport have been built, there would be a ****ing train to it as well, with an all singing all dancing NHS hospital near by to provide emergency A&E care if needed.

And why would Ireland fare any worse than Scotland or Wales? http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/8730055/Government-spending-gap-between-England-and-Scotland-widens.html#

Not only would Dublin airport have been built, there would be a ****ing train to it as well, with an all singing all dancing NHS hospital near by to provide emergency A&E care if needed.

And why would Ireland fare any worse than Scotland or Wales? http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/8730055/Government-spending-gap-between-England-and-Scotland-widens.html#
    Pity about the millions killed or driven out eh? And Ireland's population did indeed decline markedly compared to either of those soon to be indepenent countries.

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Doc Ruby wrote: »

Wow.

Didn't think someone could possibly misunderstand a post so bad.

Can you tell me how "there are filth on both sides" translates to "poor loyalists" ?! :pac::pac:

How on earth did you get to that in your head? Quite the jump! I'm embarrassed for ye like.

Wow.

Didn't think someone could possibly misunderstand a post so bad.

Can you tell me how "there are filth on both sides" translates to "poor loyalists" ?! :pac::pac:

How on earth did you get to that in your head?
    Are you a racist?

Are you a troll?

If you aren't a racist, I have no idea how you could support loyalist factions, which are irredeemably linked to the protestant groups in the north. Its not my opinion, its a fact. I don't care what parish you show up for, the bottom line is these miserable quims are trying to build a society that would leave apartheid Africa weeping. Any, and I mean any support for these bollockses needs to be put down.

Its not a culture, its a boil on the arse of humanity.

If you aren't a racist, I have no idea how you could support loyalist factions, which are irredeemably linked to the protestant groups in the north. Its not my opinion, its a fact. I don't care what parish you show up for, the bottom line is these miserable quims are trying to build a society that would leave apartheid Africa weeping. Any, and I mean any support for these bollockses needs to be put down.

Its not a culture, its a boil on the arse of humanity.
    So thats "yes, I am a troll" then.

You're trying too hard.

So thats "yes, I am a troll" then.

You're trying too hard.
    Argue with the articles, laddie. Play the ball, not the man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,298 ✭✭✭Duggys Housemate

Rawhead wrote: »
    We where still in the middle of rural electrification when the USA was putting men on the fcuking moon and you think that we would be an industrial powerhouse left to our own devices.

As for my grandfathers being horrified at me, they would be a lot more horrified if I was a dumb, ignorant revisionist who believes that the brits held this country back and not the ignorant, insular clowns who take Irish names and spout socialist sh1te.

There is no gap with Scotland. Scotland would have oil, and therefore subsides England. The UK might have built Dublin Airport in 1978.

The UK might have built Dublin Airport in 1978.
    Yeah and they might have fed everyone in Ireland instead of exporting the profits of agriculture. What a pile of shite.

I don't know if Irish unionists follow the news but the UK is also back in recession.

Anyway I didn't get much of a rebuttal to my post, but it's clear that Ireland would not have attracted multinationals etc. without the IDA.

I estimate with English type schooling, a London government who would have gotten around to giving Ireland some industry sometime after Liverpool, Newcastle, Manchester, Bristol,....Trulo we would have a GDP per capita half that of Northern England.

Argue with the articles, laddie. Play the ball, not the man.

How can I argue with someone who doesn't understand what I say? That's just me wasting my time.

So far you've jumped from me saying "both sides are at it and both sides are filth" to me somehow supporting loyalist groups and being a racist. :confused: An amazing jump, one that really has no logic behind it and it hurts my head to even try think how you got from A to B there.

And, it's not worth it. I think you're a lost cause either way. ;)

Anyway, to the original post, nope, Ireland shouldn't join the UK. :)

So far you've jumped from me saying "both sides are at it and both sides are filth"
    False equivalency. Its like someone saying "oh but you can get shot in China for complaining about the party but the USA is worse because censorship". Fix the plank in thine own eye etc.

What?! :pac:

He said that republicans aren't sectarian. I showed proof to show that some are. I never denied that some loyalists were sectarian. You jumped to that conclusion all on your lonesome.

This is actually a ridiculous argument. Seriously. Can't believe I'm even having it. :pac:

I don't know if Irish unionists follow the news but the UK is also back in recession.

Anyway I didn't get much of a rebuttal to my post, but it's clear that Ireland would not have attracted multinationals etc. without the IDA.

It didn't need a rebuttal to be honest, it was rubbish.

There are Scottish, Northern Irish and Welsh equivelants to thehttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regional_development_agency IDA, who concentrate on bringing jobs to the regions, through companies like Honda, Toyota and Nissan, rather than just letting companies like Microsoft use the country as a http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/publish/article_10005150.shtmltax haven.

It doesn't matter whether a country's GDP is huge, growing or in recession. All most people care about is paying the bills and putting food on the table. Ireland currently has a 15% unemployment rate, the second highest in the EU. Personally that concerns me more than whether or not Google's creative accounting is currently keeping the country out of recession.

It didn't need a rebuttal to be honest, it was rubbish.

There are Scottish, Northern Irish and Welsh equivelants to thehttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regional_development_agency IDA, who concentrate on bringing jobs to the regions, through companies like Honda, Toyota and Nissan, rather than just letting companies like Microsoft use the country as a http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/publish/article_10005150.shtmltax haven.

It doesn't matter whether a country's GDP is huge, growing or in recession. All most people care about is paying the bills and putting food on the table. Ireland currently has a 15% unemployment rate, the second highest in the EU. Personally that concerns me more than whether or not Google's creative accounting is currently keeping the country out of recession.

The RDA were created in 1998 - probably given the name based on the IDA - and are now abolished. Great.

Ireland's unemployment is temporary but the question is whether we would be worse as a region under the UK. The answer is yes because all regions of the UK bar the south are de-industrialised, power has historically been centralised and London gets most of the economic activity.

Going forward Ireland's trend growth is expected to be higher than the UK.

As an aside to Irish unionists, you can live in the UK you know?

The RDA were created in 1998 - probably given the name based on the IDA - and are now abolished. Great.

Ireland's unemployment is temporary but the question is whether we would be worse as a region under the UK. The answer is yes because all regions of the UK bar the south are de-industrialised, power has historically been centralised and London gets most of the economic activity.

Going forward Ireland's trend growth is expected to be higher than the UK.

As an aside to Irish unionists, you can live in the UK you know?

London gets all the economic activity because that's where the head offices and banks are.

The thing I really fear in Ireland is employment. Where are the jobs going to come from? other than food, the country has major manufacturing base, no money to spend on infrastructure and enough houses and offices to last us for the next thousand years.

other than food, we don't make an awful lot in Ireland.

What?! :pac:

He said that republicans aren't sectarian. I showed proof to show that some are. I never denied that some loyalists were sectarian. You jumped to that conclusion all on your lonesome.

This is actually a ridiculous argument. Seriously. Can't believe I'm even having it. :pac:
    Of course some Republicans are sectarian. Many more unionists are not just sectarian but racist, homophobic, and probably wife beaters into the bargain. The very fact that these creatures are on a part of the island that calls itself Ireland is an insult to all right thinking people. And by Buddha's brass boobs I have the facts to back it up, some of which I have already linked to. Plus I have a metric fuckton more if you want them.

False equivalency, its the rope that will be used to hang the hatemongers.

Mod note: user banned for that gem.

London gets all the economic activity because that's where the head offices and banks are.

The thing I really fear in Ireland is employment. Where are the jobs going to come from? other than food, the country has major manufacturing base, no money to spend on infrastructure and enough houses and offices to last us for the next thousand years.

We make plenty, we are an export power house.

exports=/=manufacturing and jobs.

How many people does it take to manufacture and sell software? Once it has been developed in San Jose and sold to an Irish subsidiary after that it is all downloaded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Of course some Republicans are sectarian. Many more unionists are not just sectarian but racist, homophobic, and probably wife beaters into the bargain. The very fact that these creatures are on a part of the island that calls itself Ireland is an insult to all right thinking people. And by Buddha's brass boobs I have the facts to back it up, some of which I have already linked to. Plus I have a metric fuckton more if you want them.

False equivalency, its the rope that will be used to hang the hatemongers.

Doc, welcome back after the ban, free the boards one and all that. I haven't seen one of your posts for ages but you always give me a good laugh.

I always presume that you have your tongue firmly in cheek and are giving us all a good laugh at the people who take you seriously's expense, the alternative is just too frightening to contemplate.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Export power base my arse. Our most valuable export is our people.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

London gets all the economic activity as a consequence of history.

ATM as far as I know we have the capability to produce enough food for 6 times our population and given the trend of an increasing population around the world, and the small bubble in agriculture ATM, that's a good thing. Though there is little money in small farms nowadays.

The British actually destroyed our export driven agricultural economy after they left (though they certainly exploited it when they were here ;)) as well as our whiskey economy.

We have to fill a niche. The Swiss bank, we should want to be better in the technological industry. We have plenty of potential in it yet we're doing little about it ATM though we do have pharmaceuticals (yet we don't own them) and be looking towards an export driven economy.

If you look at an industrial powerhouse like Germany on the other hand, they can't really sustain that. It's mostly high end manufacturing that Germany does and they can't sustain that. The workers aren't on the best of wages and IIRC the unions have signed an agreement which guarantees their wage level only up to 2013. Those jobs will have to move eventually, paying Hans 300-500 Deutschemarks a week, he ain't going to be happy, whereas the likes of Vietnam and other South-East Asian countries will start taking these jobs eventually. They have been shielded from the global recession, at our expense somewhat as well becuase they have capitalized banks and cheap credit. That won't last either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

What did we achieve in the period between independence and joining Europe?

We survived because ten of thousands emigrated every year and thus relieved the burden on the country. We are two generations removed from a peasant race. Next time one of the grand cycling tours is on TV, have a look at the fabulous towns and villages across Europe that where built hundreds of years ago, when we lived in mud houses.

I'm glad we got rid of the British and had a chance at governing ourselves, but alas we managed it for only 90 years.
    Rawhead, I'm wondering if you have ever wondered why we Irish are so incapable and have you got some theory or idea as to what causes this, actually, since you probably know your own family better than you do other people why you think your own family are a bit slow or thick.
    Do you think it's genetic, did your kids inherit their incompetence from you and you your ineptness compared to other Europeans from your parents, or do you think there is something in the air or water here that causes this what could only be called mild retardation in people?
    When you travel abroad do you find your kids become less incompetent or inept and better able to function normally after being exposed to the "continental" or British air and water??

I'm only asking because if like you I thought my children were a bit thick I would be very worried and want to know why this is and if there was something I could do about it so they had a better chance of being successful in their life and as capable as the brighter British, German, French etc.. kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Ah Unionists, the skidmarks of society :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭Sound of Silence

What did we achieve in the period between independence and joining Europe?

We survived because ten of thousands emigrated every year and thus relieved the burden on the country. We are two generations removed from a peasant race. Next time one of the grand cycling tours is on TV, have a look at the fabulous towns and villages across Europe that where built hundreds of years ago, when we lived in mud houses.

I'm glad we got rid of the British and had a chance at governing ourselves, but alas we managed it for only 90 years.

Nothing better than logging onto Boards to read some more self-deprecating sh*te.

You'd swear that the Irish have a gargantuan monopoly on self-hatred. Next we'll want to meticulously strip apart our DNA to find out once and for all if the British really were right, and that we really are retarded and genetically inferior throwbacks to our knuckle-dragging Ancestors.

Even as a dyed in the wool Nationalist, I often wonder if we're beyond salvation as a Nation and as a people when our very own Countrymen regularly question our own genetic integrity.